Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNNERVINGLY INSPIRATIONAL
This is a story of one man's passion for a cause and his in fatigable struggle against forces of evil. He fights fire with fire by taking on the army from the Lords Resistance Army (LRA) led by Joseph Kony - murdering them to protect the children of Uganda/Sudan.

It's surprisingly well written and from the very start we are introduced to the struggles faced by...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by Rocke Harder

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Having seen the marvellous film 'Machine Gun Preacher' that was based on Sam Childer's story I purchased this book as it was unavailable from my library! It was very disappointing as he is no writer. May have benefitted from a ghost writer!
Published 19 months ago by jeanieb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNNERVINGLY INSPIRATIONAL, 28 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a story of one man's passion for a cause and his in fatigable struggle against forces of evil. He fights fire with fire by taking on the army from the Lords Resistance Army (LRA) led by Joseph Kony - murdering them to protect the children of Uganda/Sudan.

It's surprisingly well written and from the very start we are introduced to the struggles faced by the impoverished rural people of the Sudan. Sam Childers hates bullies and kicks sand back in their faces. He does it big style in the Sudan.

He is a gutsy and brave man.

I do question how a Christian can take up the gun and kill his enemies and I haven't worked out the theology on that one. But the book is an inspiration - showing what can be done by a man with passion and commitment.

Good on you Sam Childers - may God be with you. If only the governments of this world stood up to evil in the way you have done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, 6 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. No nonsense straight to the point honest and life changing. It is an inspirational read and just shows how one man can have a massive difference on an individuals life. Also shows how God can change somebody's life around by having faith in him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Made me laugh, made me cry, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hats off to this guy. Gripping tale of real life biker heavy dude turned evangelical hero.. risked his life against Kony and co (Kony even put a price on his head) to save children. Incredible story about how good can prevail in the midst of darkest evil. Utterly life-affirming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very interesting and well written true story.bough this after watching the film,machine gun preacher which is an excellent film also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart wrenching, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Another Man's War: The True Story of One Man's Battle to Save Children in the Sudan (Kindle Edition)
Emotionally a hard book to read, but absolutely amazing. Thank God for this man and his unconditional love and devotion to protect the vulnerable and innocent! But it shouldn't be another mans war it should be everyones war, especially those in authority!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a great true story of how one man rescues children from negative forces. It also tells one man's return from drink/drug excess. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best read in years., 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fantastic read. everyone who has ever doubted the power of determination needs to read this book. I still have problems believing it is actually true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having seen the marvellous film 'Machine Gun Preacher' that was based on Sam Childer's story I purchased this book as it was unavailable from my library! It was very disappointing as he is no writer. May have benefitted from a ghost writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars indifferent, 24 Dec 2011
Although I very much like this book, its a very strange way to write a book. You are thrust to different points within sam childers life, and can loose where you are. Its as though some one is talking and remembering things as they speak. But this is a fantastic story, and it makes you think of how good no matter how life is hard for you, life is. I'm glad i brought this book and i would recommend anyone to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique story, 4 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want a review of a man comiited to fighting(literally) for good, this is for you.
An honest story and touching, and gives some information not in the more famous film, machine gun preacher
Quite a bit about Sam's personal political views, not much preaching or theology in the book.
He mentions some of the types of atrocities committed by his enemies, mainly the Lord resistance army.
The book helps you get inside the mind of the writer and brings home the need of the children in this land.
I enjoyed reading the story and look forward to a sequel.
Only problem was Amazon took too long to deliver and I had to order it from a third party in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews