Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healthy eating
This excellent book is packed with useful and imaginative ideas for busy parents who are concerned about giving their children a healthy diet.I thought the book was entertaining to read as well as being informative and practical.
Published on 5 Oct. 2005 by Jo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Condescending and irritating
This cover of this book is really cute and I was immediately interested in getting stuck in. The main aim of this book is to find simple and easy ways to get your children to eat more fruit and vegetables without the hassle of tantrums. This book was originally published in 2005 under the title The Art of Hiding Vegetables: Sneaky Ways to Get Your Kids to Eat Healthy...
Published on 9 Dec. 2011 by josie82


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Healthy eating, 5 Oct. 2005
By 
Jo (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
This excellent book is packed with useful and imaginative ideas for busy parents who are concerned about giving their children a healthy diet.I thought the book was entertaining to read as well as being informative and practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really excellent self-help book, 27 Sept. 2005
I think this book really is the best on the market. My two children are really fussy eaters, but after consulting this book I tricked them into eating cabbage, spinach and brocolli! There are loads of useful tips and some delicious recipes. I can image that the lady who wrote the book is really speaking from first hand experience. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!, 4 Oct. 2005
By 
This is a fabulous little book. It takes a realistic view about children's and parents' attitudes and does it with humour and style. The authors acknowledge that no one solution is going to work for all children; What puts one off will enchant another and only an individual parent will know what's worth trying and what will be a waste of time. It therefore give plenty of options and some very useful advice too.
it's definitely worth it even if it only gets your kids eating one more portion of fruit or veg a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 17 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
"This is a guide to getting healthy food inside your kids with or without their co-operation - covering all areas from recognising what is actually healthy food, how much to call a portion, which foods are the most suitable for undercover healthy sabotage, the psychology of children at mealtimes, and a load of great tips on how to do healthy when you are pushed for time and energy. Full of practical ideas that will work in a busy household with a realistic budget, saving time and effort, with ideas for breakfast, snacks, main meals, lunchboxes, parties, eating out and holidays." Primary Times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great, fun read that is also very useful, 21 Sept. 2005
By 
Mrs. K. Bali "karinab936" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The authors of this little gem I discovered by accident have got the balance just right. Yes, it is about how to get kids to eat healthy food BUT it isn't 'more of the same, expert telling parents what to do' sort of book. It is written with humour and understanding that it is hard being a parent, especially a working parent, and to still feed your children well. I read it and felt normal, not guilty, and was encouraged to try new things on my children gradually. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Condescending and irritating, 9 Dec. 2011
By 
josie82 (Fife, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This cover of this book is really cute and I was immediately interested in getting stuck in. The main aim of this book is to find simple and easy ways to get your children to eat more fruit and vegetables without the hassle of tantrums. This book was originally published in 2005 under the title The Art of Hiding Vegetables: Sneaky Ways to Get Your Kids to Eat Healthy Food.

After the acknowledgements there is a 'note to readers' which reads, in my opinion, like a disclaimer against being sued. Perhaps I'm being a little cynical but it really made me wonder what kind of stuff was coming up if the first page is practically a warning about what's inside!

The book itself is split into 2 parts. The first part is called Healthier Eating for Busy Families and contains the chapters: Why are fruit and vegetables so important?; Choices choices; Let them eat veg!; Habits and psychology and Saving time and effort. The second part of the book is called Putting it into Practice and contains the recipes as well as a menu planner. The recipes are the majority of the book.

I personally thought that the authors were really condescending and almost expected parents to be really stupid when it came to feeding their children. Their attitude overall annoyed me and I'm pretty sure that most of the advice they are administering is total rubbish.

The recipes themselves are varied and are well laid out. There's the list of ingredients, the time the recipe takes, how many it serves and bullet pointed instructions. There's also sometimes extra serving suggestions and a little introduction about who it's for. While much of the food sounds delicious I just can't help thinking that not many fussy kids would go for things such as spinach dumplings with tomato, red pepper and lemon sauce topped with parmesan cheese or rhubarb and elderflower syrup cake. There's also a lot of basic recipes included and ways to `hide' veggies in food that I'm sure most parents will have heard of if not tried.

Without the pseudo science bit this is really just a cookbook for children. There are no pictures in this one and I honestly think there are much better books for your money out there. 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I heard about this on Woman's Hour, 25 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
My kids won't eat greens. it's a simple as that. Everyone says they have to. The experts say I have to give them to them. But they won't - and I mean kicking and screaming and tantruming won't - eat them. then I hear about this book and I order a copy and it is brilliant. I've only been trying it for two days but already I've got broccoli, carrots and sweet potato down them. Fantastic.
it is a very well written, funny, intelligent book. It is also practical. And best of all, it is real. Don't let the experts try to rain on this one - it is a real book for real parents who know the real struggle to feed 'em their greens. Well done. Good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but a bit hit and miss, 14 Sept. 2011
By 
n7misc (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
So - this is useful in so far as it has some good recipes, doesn't make you feel like an idiot because your kids aren't over keen on veg and has some useful information about habits... but it's a bit contradictory and for me a bit too 'worthy'. It's catering to a rather harassed market of parents who feel guilty - and I guess this will lessen that feeling - but it doesn't seem to have much in the way of real research behind it (like most 'nutrition' guides - there seems to be a sense that we're all too stupid to realise that this is not a science).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad little cookbook, 27 Nov. 2011
By 
Stracs "Stracs" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have a 4 year old and, whilst we are lucky in that he is a fairly unfussy eater, still I thought it would help give me ideas on getting more veg into him. And overall I liked the book for this purpose. The most useful thing about it for me is that it contained information on how much and of what food type children should eat - information which it is actually not that easy to find.

The recipes in the book are easy to follow and relatively simple. There is a nice range of different types of food/recipes including homemade sauces like tomato sauce, some nice puddings, risottos, pastas, fajitas and so on. Its a nice range and not just the usual recipes you get in books aimed at kids.

My only criticism really is the format of the book. It is paperback, which is never ideal for a cookbook as it invariably gets messy. Also it is black and white with only scattered drawings throughout rather than full colour photos, which is always my preference for a cook book. However, if you leave that aside, the book does what it says, with plenty of recipe and saving time ideas which are really helpful in getting your kids to eat 5 a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful and Informative!, 12 Aug. 2011
By 
Karen Baxter (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Purchasing "5-a-day For Kids Made Easy" could be one of the best investments for your children you'll every make, in fact it's a pretty good investment for the adults in your family too.

Karen Bali and Sally Child have included a wealth of information relating to healthy eating, all written in an easy to read and understand format.

Here are just some of the subjects covered:

Food Groups and what they do
The benefits of fruit and vegetables
Making sense of 5-a-day
Portion sizes
Seasonal produce
Advice on how to include fruit and vegetables into your meals and pursuade your children to eat them.
Shopping for fruit and vegetables
Using your freezer
And much more

Following this information comes the 100 plus recipes covering:

Breakfast/Snacks/Main meals/Desserts/Drinks/Packed lunches/Parties/and lots more ...including a very useful two week menu planner at the back of the book.

An excellent book and a worthwhile purchase that your family will thank you for when they are brimming with health and vitality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews