Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wonder what's happening on Pigeon now?, 12 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Faraway (Hardcover)
I bought this book along with Man and Boy, at Glasgow airport a couple of weeks ago. By the time i was in Newark i'd finished "Man and Boy", and thought i would get stuck into "Faraway" - 6 hours later i was still waiting for my flight - i didn't care - i was so engrosed in the book - over the years i have read and loved all Lucy's books, but Faraway is something different - these are real people and i think Lucy has dealt with their stories honestly and sensitively,she paints a vivid picture of, kastom, the Hepworth family history and her own family's experience in the reef islands. I would love to have heard what both Diana and Ben felt about the book! - Lucy has given her boys a great adventure and her readers a lot of pleasure - thanks Lucy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faraway- an understatement- we are so sheltered, 19 Nov 2002
This review is from: Faraway (Paperback)
Lucy Irvine - inspirational. This is an extraordinary book of three extrodinary lives. The Hepworths, the Irvines and the ever-present Reef Islanders and their Kastoms. Lucy not only does each person justice in this book but she is able to be honest and compasionate to all - no matter their beliefs or history which is why she was able to bring to life their individual histories in such depth. What we call civilisation could reap the benefits of this attitude and will. I found myself humbled with every page of the book and yet knew that I would not have the wonderful courage that Lucy and the 'characters' of the book posess to go through it myself. The best read for a very long time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why not get away from it all?, 10 Feb 2003
This review is from: Faraway (Paperback)
We all dream about getting away from it all - the rat race and all that. So why not read about it from someone who did?
This is the fasinating story of Lucy Irvine's account of living on a remote island at the invitation of some who did just that - over fifty years ago!.
Brilliantly told by someone who knows what it is to live on a desert island, Lucy Irvine's account of the life of Diane Hepworth (and of her own experiences on Pidgeon Island) touch the adventurer in all of us.
Read it - and then think about how you'd like to psend YOUR life. Terrific stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magnificent, bizarre, and true, 18 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Faraway (Hardcover)
I have always dreamed about leaving what Lucy Irvine describes as the Big Bad Mad Outside World behind and just taking off into the wild blue beyond. Lucy Irvine did just that, twice, once when she was a wild young thing,, with few responsibilities and then again later when she was a single mother with three children. She thought she was taking them to a kind of Paradise, safer than her first island, but it proved otherwise. Nevertheless the kids had a fantasic time and the author viewed objectively not only her own family's experiences on the island, but those of the Hepworth family, which inovolved researching the history of forty years of life 'away from it all',and finding out about their often troubled relations with their nearest neighbours, who live the ultimately simple life. Lucy was allowed to witness Initiation Rites among 'primitive' Islanders and to learn about Outer Solomon Island Magic and Medicine, and her children learned how wonderful life can be just climbing wild fruit trees and diving under a brilliant ocean to catch their own fish suppers. If you want a read to boggle your mind, try this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extraordinary, 18 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Faraway (Hardcover)
We all dream, but how many of us realise our dreams? Both of the women involved in this book did exactly that. What's more, we get a glimpse in here of people who are still living life much as they did 3000 years ago. There is a degree of Hell in Paradise - but there's also pure joy. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, addictive, 10 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Faraway (Hardcover)
Three stories in one (Diana & Tom's story, Lucy's year on an island with her children, village life and customs of the locals) all cleverly intertwined to fascinate the reader and make the book difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensitive portrayal of ex-pats and Melanese village society, 20 Nov 2000
This review is from: Faraway (Hardcover)
I even enjoyed Lucy Irvine's "Castaway", but with the passing years she matured into an even greater writer. I did not find anything egocentric in her book, only a mother's concern for her boys and the ability to enter the minds of colonial Brits and the ones of traditional island society which are both about to disapear. On a dreary November's day I cannot image any better read than this. But who would actually like to trade places with her ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, very good, well deserving of 5 stars, 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Faraway (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book. Very individual and apart from the herd. I haven't read any of her other books, but after this, I really would like to have a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly wonderful reading experience, 6 stars in my opinion., 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Faraway (Hardcover)
Lucy Irvine's dauntless spirit shines through once again in this amazing view of tropical island life through the eyes of a european. I was genuinely riveted by this fascinating story, and recommend it to anyone with a passion for quality storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A biography and a bit more...., 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Faraway (Hardcover)
Lucy Irvine has managed to combine her life on a remote island, with an informative biography of a very inconventional couple (Tom and Diana Hepworth). She has managed to combine her literary skills (which are obvious) with that of investigative journalist (for once, the phrase "investigative journalist" should be taken as a compliment!). It would have been to easy (and boring) to take Tom Hepworths diaries/writings, and copy them verbatim, but instead, she visited Pidgeon Island and research the whole thing, usings Tom's writings as a backdrop rather than the complete definitive account of what happened. I do not know what Diana Hepworth thinks about this book, but I feel that her trust was justified and she should not be disappointed in the final result. This book, to an extent is two books in one and this makes it all the more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faraway
Faraway by Lucy Irvine
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews