Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent return to form.
Last year left me somewhat disappointed by Electric Six's album 'Zodiac'. The album was clearly an identity crisis of throwback pop tunes and pure gibberish in some cases with the odd exception as mentioned in my review of that album. However, this album is far, far superior to Zodiac in every single way, the band's sound has matured somewhat now featuring other artists...
Published on 12 Oct. 2011 by F. Longden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much product?
This is Electric Six's fifth cd in five years and to be honest they are starting to scrape the barrel. The tunes are not up to the usual standard and are almost parodies of early eighties electro tunes. They need to step back and write some better songs, quality over quantity.
Published 19 months ago by Mr Anthony Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent return to form., 12 Oct. 2011
By 
F. Longden (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heartbeats & Brainwaves (Audio CD)
Last year left me somewhat disappointed by Electric Six's album 'Zodiac'. The album was clearly an identity crisis of throwback pop tunes and pure gibberish in some cases with the odd exception as mentioned in my review of that album. However, this album is far, far superior to Zodiac in every single way, the band's sound has matured somewhat now featuring other artists on the album which has helped E6 concentrate on creating instantly likable rifts.

The album loosely bases itself around Tarot this year and has more standout tracks than both Zodiac and Kill, songs that stick in the mind like 'French Bacon', 'Hello, I See You' & Free Samples are perfect examples of classic Electric Six electro rock with a more polished sound that is only found over time 'It Gets Hot' is the perfect example of the direction the band should maybe explore, I'd certainly like to see the band garner more fame by heading up Electric Six feat. ___________ . 'Interchangeable Knife' has a very unique 8 Bit sound that is very easy on the ear.

If you're tired of the norm and want something that little bit different, every track featured on Heartbeats and Brainwaves is uniquely different from the track previous.

I can't recommend this album enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heartbeats and Brainwaves, 1 Feb. 2014
By 
A KERSHAW (Horsham, West sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbeats & Brainwaves (Audio CD)
This album is not so in your face as other albums they have done.It's almost if they went a bit mainstream with this album.That's not to say it's not any good .It's just a bit calmer then say "senor smoke " or " kill" still good but not quite there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too much product?, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbeats & Brainwaves (Audio CD)
This is Electric Six's fifth cd in five years and to be honest they are starting to scrape the barrel. The tunes are not up to the usual standard and are almost parodies of early eighties electro tunes. They need to step back and write some better songs, quality over quantity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good., 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heartbeats & Brainwaves (Audio CD)
A good CD, from a very good band. Not their best work but it is fun to listen too. Although it is a little pricey its a good CD!
Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Heartbeats & Brainwaves (Audio CD)
I strongly advise you to get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a rock album, 18 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. Peter T. Hardy (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heartbeats & Brainwaves (Audio CD)
This is the 8th E6 album I've bought when it came out & I am presently listening to it for the 6th time. I generally agree with F. Longden's review but with the major qualification that this is an electro-pop album- not the rock album I was expecting. Of course E6 have always been danceable and synthesiser-heavy but here there are very little rock elements & as such it isn't so much my taste.

Still, it is superior to last year's 'Zodiac' (though 'Jam it in the Hole' was stronger than any track on Heartbeats). It listens well as a whole as every song is quite different while sharing a familiar, well-produced feel. Yet I would rank it as their third worst album after Senor Smoke and Zodiac so it is far from being an essential purchase. The tracks I'd recommend to download are: It Gets Hot, Free Samples, & Interchangeable Knife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good if you like E6 rock, 6 July 2014
By 
ourla (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heartbeats & Brainwaves (Audio CD)
I still play Fire and love it. Switzerland I found dull. H&B just doesn't work for me at all. I prefer the band with a slab of rock which I guess is a big part of the explanation. But I also found Valenitines vocals against this more heavily synthed music limited. Yes the lyrics are nonsense as usual but I thought it lacked humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great album from E6, 9 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Heartbeats & Brainwaves (Audio CD)
Not quite as good as Zodiac, but plenty of tunes to rock out to while not taking life too seriously. Great fun :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heartbeats & Brainwaves
Heartbeats & Brainwaves by Electric Six (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews