Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Odd Selection, BUT the Only Way to Get 'Barton Fink' on Blu-ray and all are Good HD Transfers
I'm a big fan of all Coen brothers films except the rather pointless and ineffective 'The Ladykillers'. This collection is a little odd as it does not cover a specific sequence of their films nor genre (some are drama, some are farce, some a mixture !), but if pushed I suppose you could say it does collate 5 of their 'strange' films - albeit it is incomplete in that sense...
Published on 29 Dec 2011 by Mr. Laurence Williams

versus
20 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing 4 major things
Dont get me wrong this is a great collection but the problem is you cant have a coen brothers collection without fargo, raising arizona, no country and o brother
Published on 4 Nov 2010 by Mr. Gd Mrs Ps Morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Odd Selection, BUT the Only Way to Get 'Barton Fink' on Blu-ray and all are Good HD Transfers, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Coen Brothers Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I'm a big fan of all Coen brothers films except the rather pointless and ineffective 'The Ladykillers'. This collection is a little odd as it does not cover a specific sequence of their films nor genre (some are drama, some are farce, some a mixture !), but if pushed I suppose you could say it does collate 5 of their 'strange' films - albeit it is incomplete in that sense as others such as 'O Brother Where Art Thou ?' are absent. Having said that, it is a worthwhile acquisition for the films it contains - especially as it is currently the only way to get hold of 'Barton Fink' on Blu-ray.....

I was only able to compare 4 of the discs to DVD as I already have 'A Serious Man' on Blu-ray. My review of it is on Amazon - here's the link (or get to it easier by going via my Amazon profile); it is dated 23 Nov 11 :

A Serious Man [Blu-ray][Region Free]

As to the others, not all really 'justify' an upgrade to HD picture/sound but nonetheless are (as expected) an improvement. 'Barton Fink' gains significantly, being much sharper/brighter (probably because it is the oldest film) but it shares a similarity to 'Intolerable Cruelty' in that there are no extras whatsoever, not even the short featurette/trailer or deleted scenes that are present on the DVDs...

I've added a photo of the back of the box, which details the specification of each disc, to the main Amazon page for this Blu-ray boxset.

Happily, the standard Blu-rays of the remaining 3 movies ('The Big Lebowski', 'Burn After Reading' and ''A Serious Man') do contain extras; to avoid any confusion, they are the standard retail discs devoid of their respective Blu-ray boxes. This means you get a massive improvement in all respects for 'The Big Lebowski' (and deservedly so as this is the star of this compilation), the HD extras improvement for 'Burn After Reading' and the same glorious transfer for 'A Serious Man'.

Nothing else is in the box, so no booklet or collectibles - just 5 discs in an unusual packaging which does tend to mean the box 'jams' shut or open since the inner disc-holding 'leaves' can flop about and tangle up; plus the box outer is non-standard and requires a bit of effort to achieve closure 'success'.

I've added 3 x photos of the packaging to the main Amazon page for this Blu-ray boxset.

So, a good way to delve into the world of the Coen brothers and the only way to see 'Barton Fink' on Blu-ray (at the time of writing my tip is to shop around, the price for this collection varies wildly...). What we need now is a supplemental collection including other gems such as ''Miller's Crossing', 'The Hudsucker Proxy' (not yet available on Blu-ray), 'Fargo' and 'The Man Who Wasn't There', with the latter being a film that should really benefit from an HD transfer.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, well priced. Enjoy with White Russian., 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Coen Brothers Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A must have for cinemaniacs and "dudes" who have never seen the Big Lebowski.
Great collection for a bargain.

"This is not Nam Walter..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Coen Brothers Collection, 5 May 2014
By 
S. MCCARRICK "Professional Troll Hunter" (Dublin, Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Coen Brothers Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
One for adding to your Bluray collection for perusing again and again.
I've loved the Coen Brothers for over 20 years- and the opportunity to buy a collection like this, at this price, cannot be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE COEN BROTHER, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I LIKE THE COEN BROTHERS FILMS AND THAT'S WHY CHOS THIS COLLECTION. I RECOMMEND IT TO ANY ONE WHO LIKE THER WORK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coen brothers, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Coen Brothers Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
brilliant really enjoyed it would recommend this film to any body and again I really enjoyed this film thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A box full of quirk, 21 Oct 2011
Quirky, sometimes bizarre but ultimately brilliant. To have all these in a single box at this price is just amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value set, 9 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. D. J. Linnell "francophile" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For all Coen Brothers fans this set is a must, the only blot in here is Burn After Reading which is so much talent wasted. Well worth it for all the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coen Coen Gone, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Keith C. Armstrong (Findhorn, Forres, Moray, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well a nice collection of movies if you like the Coen's unique perspective.
Some a bit bloody most a hoot. Treat yourself to a fine mixture of movies with a twist to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coen brothers boxed set, 1 Feb 2012
By 
Stephen R. Johns (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love Coen brother films and though a boxed set would be good. This is a great introduction to their world and for stocking the film library. There is a good selection of them at their best- recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing 4 major things, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Dont get me wrong this is a great collection but the problem is you cant have a coen brothers collection without fargo, raising arizona, no country and o brother
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Coen Brothers Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
17.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews