Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poetic Philosophy
This is perhaps closer to being a prose poem rather than a story. It's the inner thoughts and ruminations of Jane Sagan as she prepares to transfer to a `normal' human body and give up her life in the Colonial Defense forces. As such, this story falls in-between The Ghost Brigades and the forth-coming Last Colony novels, and to truly understand some of the sub-text of...
Published on 26 Mar. 2007 by Patrick Shepherd

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing
I read this because I really enjoyed 'Old Man's War', 'The Ghost Brigades' and 'The Last Colony' by the same author (these three books are a series, in that order). If you haven't read these three stories first (or at the least the first two) then I would recommend that you do that.

This book is supposed to shed new light on events that happen in those...
Published on 27 Feb. 2010 by Andy Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poetic Philosophy, 26 Mar. 2007
By 
Patrick Shepherd "hyperpat" (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sagan Diary (Hardcover)
This is perhaps closer to being a prose poem rather than a story. It's the inner thoughts and ruminations of Jane Sagan as she prepares to transfer to a `normal' human body and give up her life in the Colonial Defense forces. As such, this story falls in-between The Ghost Brigades and the forth-coming Last Colony novels, and to truly understand some of the sub-text of this, Old Man's War and the Ghost Brigades really should be read before this, although it's certainly possible to read this in isolation.

But this work is certainly an adventure in style, written in first person, and very, very different from the earlier works set in this universe. There are some sentences and whole paragraphs that can take your breath away for how neatly they are constructed and how well they capture emotions twined about some very deep philosophical ruminations about killing, death, fear, love (especially love), war, and the isolation of one human from another. As you proceed through this, Jane's character blossoms, becomes far more richly detailed than the brief glimpses we have been given in the earlier works. But there is little real story here, not much in the way of plot or action, so at most this can only qualify as a `character' piece, which some may find disappointing, given John's previous rather action-packed works. Still, there are more than enough issues raised here to keep you thinking long after you finish reading this, no small feat for such a short work.

As a piece that adds richness to his universe, this work is excellent. But it only fills in a very small piece of his story, and should not be expected to do more.

---Reviewed by Patrick Shepherd (hyperpat)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing, 27 Feb. 2010
By 
Andy Phillips (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sagan Diary (Hardcover)
I read this because I really enjoyed 'Old Man's War', 'The Ghost Brigades' and 'The Last Colony' by the same author (these three books are a series, in that order). If you haven't read these three stories first (or at the least the first two) then I would recommend that you do that.

This book is supposed to shed new light on events that happen in those stories, and in particular on Jane Sagan's character. It didn't really tell me anything I didn't know about the events, but it did give a lot of details about Jane's thoughts and feelings. In itself, that's fine, and it's well written. However, I found the book really boring as there was no action at all, and very little in the way of a story. The book is very short as there are 100 pages (some of which are blank or illustrations) and the text is large, but I didn't get a feeling of being ripped off as I was just glad to reach the end.

The other books in the series are great, but I would avoid this one if you're looking for more of the same, even if it is well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Self indulgent rubbish, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sagan Diary (Old Man's War) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the three previous visits to the Old Mans War Universe but this is just nonsense.
I'm sure there are people who have the intellectual wherewithal to understand if not enjoy this but I read science fiction to enjoy a few hours of escapism not to struggle to understand this wordy nonsense.

Don't bother you will never get the time back.

I won't be buying anymore from this author which is a shame because I enjoyed the other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly interesting insights into a brilliant series, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sagan Diary (Old Man's War) (Kindle Edition)
Not really worth the read, a times it seems like supporting detail that allowed the author to develop the original series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sagan Diary (Old Man's War) (Kindle Edition)
Didn't even manage to finish this book, it really did seem to be written purely to generate income. Not recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars unusual but interesting monologue, 4 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sagan Diary (Old Man's War) (Kindle Edition)
This is a unusual monologue that gives unique insight into the Character Jane Sagan, through her internal thoughts.
it is short work but well written, however not the usual novel format.
I suspect many people won't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not as good, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sagan Diary (Old Man's War) (Kindle Edition)
Not what I expected, a bit boring and seems to be there just to make the numbers up, no real story to it, just like somebody's reminisces but disjointed ones at that, feel it lets down his previous books on the same theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short, deep, structurally rich, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sagan Diary (Old Man's War) (Kindle Edition)
Sagan is the intellectual of the family as illustrated in this short but thoughtful diary. While not action or dialogue filled as the series' companions this is more mature
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sagan Diary (Old Man's War) (Kindle Edition)
I loved the main books in this series but was disappointed with this short. The writing style was uncomfortable the story really went no where.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyed this so much i got the whole series, 28 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sagan Diary (Old Man's War) (Kindle Edition)
really enjoyed this so much i got the whole series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sagan Diary (Old Man's War)
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews