Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Link
I remembered this from childhood; the strident theme tune, the strange animated title sequence (so at odds with the tone of the rest of the film), the amazing set and costume design. See stills of it and it looks like an incredible lost must-see classic.

Unfortunately, the tone of the film is very uneven (no-one seems to have known whether they where making a...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. M. Brooker D'israeli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it but
Bought as a 'Sc-fi' adition for the collection, enjoyed it but, found it somewhat dated and crude!
Published 6 months ago by Welsh Owl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Link, 18 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Zero Two [DVD] [1970] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I remembered this from childhood; the strident theme tune, the strange animated title sequence (so at odds with the tone of the rest of the film), the amazing set and costume design. See stills of it and it looks like an incredible lost must-see classic.

Unfortunately, the tone of the film is very uneven (no-one seems to have known whether they where making a tough thriller or a 60's bubblegum romp and the film oscillates between the two) and the pacing is pretty leaden. James Olsen, the imported American lead, is meant to be playing a weary and cynical character, but it sometimes comes over as if he's tired of being in the film itself. That said, the script, involving a plot to crash an asteroid made of sapphires onto the moon, is well worked out and logical, and a lot of money was spent on both sets and effects, This wasn't a cheap production, and it shows.

So who's it for?

If you're a hard-core fan of the TV shows UFO or Space:1999, this film is an absolute must, because it's the evolutionary missing link between those shows and everything that came before. While this wasn't a Gerry Anderson production (it's Hammer, bizarrely), many of the designers and technicians who worked on this went on to work on those later shows, and several props from the film were recycled into them; so here we see the first appearance of the infamous Moon-women metallic wigs, the drink dispenser from Ed Straker's office, and I'm pretty sure the cockpit set of James Olsen's moon ferry was re-dressed to become the cockpit of the Eagle Transporter. The distinctive coloured space suits from Moon Zero Two appeared in just about every TV programme that needed a space suit over the next five or six years (they even turned up in an episode of The Double Deckers!) before making their last gasp, sprayed silver, in the Space:1999 episode Mission of the Darians.

If you remember this fondly from childhood, then it's good enough to get you through a viewing, shaking your head in amusement at some of the more bizarre production decisions.

If you're a fan of odd 60's sci-fi, then this is a good buy; it's a real step up from most Italian films of the era, both in scripting, acting and particularly production values.

Otherwise… maybe give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swinging!, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Zero Two [DVD] [1970] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I loved this Hammer produced film when I was a child and had been wanting to see it again ever since. Special effects were good for their day and the story being effectively a space western. A guilty pleasure :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moon Zero Two, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Zero Two [DVD] [1970] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Having spent most of my childhood during the 1970's . Being fascinated will Space travel and the Moon landings . I started to watch Sci-Fi Movies and TV shows on TV and at Cinema . My favourites included Gerry Anderson's U.F.O and Space 1999 . and Stanley Kubrick's 2001:A Space Odyssey . Around 1975 Christmas time , I watched Moon Zero Two on ITV .This was the time before VHS Recordings and DVD.s . I loved the Movie because it was like watching a "Western" set on the Moon. Having watched the Moon Zero Two then , I was unable to get a hold of a Good quality copy for years .

It is a fun movie. without C.G.I effects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars moon zero 2, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Zero Two [DVD] [1970] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
ordered this region 1 dvd from seller "All your music" and received it just over a week of ordering from USA to UK. I was pleasantly suprised to learn that it is not locked to region 1 but plays back in all regions albiet in NTSC format according to powerdvd. Maybe not one of Hammers best films but the effects are good, picture quality on the dvd is a good transfer considering the film is over 40 years old. There are no subtitles available and the extra features are a trailer for the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hammer sci-fi, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Zero Two [DVD] [1970] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Having seen this on television as a child I fondly remembered this 1969 classic. Effects good for the time (except the weightless scenes) and the premise is a good one : the Moon as the Wild West!
My first encounter with Catherine Schell (soon to be on Space 1999). Funky theme tune. Overall worth getting - just wish available on Region 2 !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it but, 7 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Zero Two [DVD] [1970] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Bought as a 'Sc-fi' adition for the collection, enjoyed it but, found it somewhat dated and crude!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Zero Two [DVD] [1970] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
great item as i remember it years ago,and does play on any region dvd player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... this film for a very long time and wasn't disappointed., 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Zero Two [DVD] [1970] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Wanted to see this film for a very long time and wasn't disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moon Zero Two [DVD] [1970] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£9.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews