Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLOSE, BUT NO CIGAR
This movie has nearly all the makings of an Epic motion picture. It has an exotic setting, a new crisp plot, plenty of action, and a beautiful woman. Our hero starts out as a street orphan who champions goodness against the Persian army as he jumps around rooftops like the Phantom. However, once he becomes adopted by the king, he loses a lot of personality. He is not as...
Published 14 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable Adventure Film In Beautiful Surrounds
Prince of Persia is an adaptation of the computer game franchise into the world of film and it is a perfectly reasonable family-friendly adventure. Jake Gyllenhaal takes the lead as Prince Dastan who must save the world from a dastardly plot being hatched by his own uncle while fighting bad guys and the hierachy of the Persian court. It is a truly beautifully costumed...
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by MLA


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLOSE, BUT NO CIGAR, 2 Oct 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This movie has nearly all the makings of an Epic motion picture. It has an exotic setting, a new crisp plot, plenty of action, and a beautiful woman. Our hero starts out as a street orphan who champions goodness against the Persian army as he jumps around rooftops like the Phantom. However, once he becomes adopted by the king, he loses a lot of personality. He is not as colorful as other leading men in Epic films, mostly due to the writers who gave him lousy lines.

What was really missing in this movie outside of exceptional dialogue was humor. I don't mean turn the movie into a comedy, but when you want to be compared to Pirates..., Indian Jones, or other epics such as Star Wars or even the grand daddy of them all LOTR, they all had some comical element in them with leading men that were able to deliver those lines. This movie lacked that human element and it showed as it failed to hook me.

In spite of the inability of either the script writers or director to create great characters, the plot, action and scenery were enough to carry the film to where it would be enjoyable. There was one "joke" as the princess kept an amulet with the sands of time in it on a necklace located at her cleavage...the last place anyone would look, except maybe Prince Dustin who noticed it right off.

Yes, there is a time travel element to it, but it is not really a time travel movie, i.e. it is not bogged down with nerdy time travel paradoxes. Time travel was a gift from the unnamed god(s).

The movie has a happy ending with a message of hope as well as violence, killing, and snakes. I consider it better entertainment than Robin Hood, or Iron Man II.
4 1/2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable Adventure Film In Beautiful Surrounds, 28 Dec 2010
By 
MLA (Leyton, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Prince of Persia is an adaptation of the computer game franchise into the world of film and it is a perfectly reasonable family-friendly adventure. Jake Gyllenhaal takes the lead as Prince Dastan who must save the world from a dastardly plot being hatched by his own uncle while fighting bad guys and the hierachy of the Persian court. It is a truly beautifully costumed film and the scenery is excellent. The plot is fine if not especially challenging, the cultural references are there for those who want to see them, and in the main the acting is ok.

Jake Gyllenhaal's Price Dastan makes for an ok adventure lead. He is not overly charismatic and he is a little wide-eyed too often but as the centerpiece of the film he is not offputting. He is deliberately more earthy and energetic than his Princely brothers because of his origins. The earliest scenes show him as a child being taken under the wise king's wings for his bravery and integrity. He doesn't particularly display those character elements later on in the film where he is more cunning than anything - perhaps this is character development showing the effect of court life on that boy or perhaps character development isn't really the point of a film like this.

Gyllenhaal's biggest problem is that he is cast alongside the weakest part of the film - Gemma Arterton. Her role as Princess Tamina is annoying. Being the traditional bratty princess who backchats her way through most of the film makes her a difficult to like character. Arterton is not particularly well cast for the role at all. She does not suit the Cleopatra style makeup that she wears early on and she doesn't have the *ahem* *physique* to fit the slave girl outfits. Some of the most entertaining parts of Prince of Persia are when Dastan catches Tamina out and she gets her occasional comeuppance. Arterton is not terrible when taking on the more ethereal sounding lines in her role as High Priestess but she has too many other lines.

Fortunately the rest of the cast are generally very good. Ben Kingsley is a bit under-used so crams in a little bit too much ham into Prince Nizam but he is a menacing and darkly entertaining villain. He has great presence as an evil Grand Visier style character. The brothers are perfectly fine and the nobility of Richard Coyle's Prince Tus is very endearing. As the straight man it can be hard to shine in a film like this but Coyle turns in a decent performance. Alfred Molina is probably supposed to steal the show as Sheikh Amar and he definitely has all the best lines but it probably would have been much funnier had it been Omid Djalili.

The dialogue takes a little getting used to because everyone is English. It works but only by rationalising which makes it a little more hard work than it should be. Dastan has a London accent most of the time which makes logical sense as it is a relative accent compared to the more received pronounciation English of the higher born characters but still it does take a while to get over the question as to whether he's supposed to be a mockney.

Still, this is a respectable family film because the plot works. It is the traditional get the item quest but each step is well taken. The machinations and motivation of Nizam make sense, the reactions of the Princes are perfectly understandable, and the morality works both for the modern audience and in trying to place it to 6th century Persia. Even the ending turns out to be better than it should have been.

This is not an historical adventure, it is a computer game adaptation. However, it has a distinct setting in place and in time and it does reasonable superficial justice for those who aren't looking for complete accuracy. The Hashashin and Sufi Islam obviously didn't exist in the 6th century but that doesn't matter because both did exist in that place not long afterwards and were very significant features of it. That they and the Sassanid's didn't coexist doesn't mean that these elements of Persian history must be kept apart when some of the very best scenes in the film are about ostrich racing.

The scenery that the film is set in is absolutely terrific. The extras reveal it unsurprisingly to be Morocco and pretty much every scene is absolutely gorgeous. The costumes for the set and for the actors are stunning and it really does seem to be set in a living environment. Prince of Persia is probably the best-costumed film since Lord of the Rings.

As a predominantely action film, the battle sequences need to be good and they are. Ben Kingsley has a surprisingly impressive action moment, the Hashashin fight vs the Sudanese knife thrower is absolutely terrific, and Prince Dastan is at the heart of some excellent gymnastics. The extras show that the stunts are largely Parkour based and that works very well for Prince of Persia. The vertical lifting and the jumping are extremely reminiscent of the game that appeared some 20 odd years ago. There probably aren't quite enough traps to be completely reminiscent of that game but perhaps it is more similar to the recent game? The stunts and the fights are believable and varied, Jake Gyllenhaal is a very credible swordsman.

The extras are a little limited but what is there is good. The making of is a talking heads session with plenty of in-sequence action in the background and a brief insight into the major features of set and costume as well as a bit of talk from the main actors.

A fun and worthwhile family-friendly action adventure with great background and swordfighting is not the greatest film of its generation or genre but is also far from the worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gemma Arterton in slave girl outfit puts her mouth to good use. Plus action, nice dialogs and Ben Kingsley. What's not to like?, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This fantasy adventure film was made for pure entertainment and it fills this role pretty nicely. Not a masterpiece but a nice watch. Below, some more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

As the title indicates this film was inspired by the old computer game "Prince of Persia", of which it keeps the premise (Thousand and One Nights-like lands), the main hero Dastan, who actually is kind of a prince of Persia (even if he was adopted, not born in royalty) and the swashbuckling and acrobatic character of story. Jake Gyllenhaal is maybe not exactly the kind of actor I would immediately associate with adventure/action films but in this one he proves that with enough makeup, CGIs and the help of a battalion of stuntsmen anybody can be a hero... Which is kind of a heartening message... Also, as dialogs in this film are not half bad, the actor playing the heroic prince can actually do here some occasional acting, between two acrobacies covered by his stuntsmen.

All those who enjoyed the three old "Sinbad" films will most probably like this film too. As always in this kind of movies there must also be an evil guy and here this role is played by no other than Sir Ben Kingsley - who is really a pleasure to watch.

Also, there must be a chick in slave's outfit and lo and behold, there is one and a very pleasant sight she is, as she is played by Gemma Arterton. Her character, Tamina, has the necessary shapes and also quite a mouth, which she doesn't hesitate to put to good use once she meets the prince - for dialogs, of course... Because, you know, dialogs are good... And ever since Leia all princesses need to have a mouth which they put to good use once they meet an attractive guy - for dialogs, of course... Because, you know, dialogs are good... OK, I stop here.

The film is visually quite pleasant and this is why I bought it on Blu-ray (it was actually the first Blu-ray I ever bought) and it was a good decision.

Bottom line, this is a film made for pure entertainment and quite good for this kind of thing, with some good action, good effects, some nice verbal sniping between the two main characters and a guaranteed happy ending, complete with the obligatory betrothal and the promise of glorious bedding - I mean wedding... Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Love love love this film, twists & turns everywhere, great for all the family. This is the second copy that has been bought, someone borrowed the other & never gave it back, they must have enjoyed watching it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sandy, action-packed adventure with a lot to like., 23 Aug 2010
By 
I was impressed with this movie. There seem to be a lot of people who don't like it and I've heard a lot of bad stuff myself from friends etc . . . However, I have to disagree. This movie isn't the disaster many people make it out to be. I think the problem stems from people expecting it to be like Pirates of the Caribbean, but in the desert. Same studio and the way the movie looks can certainly put this misconception across.

All in all, the story is enjoyable. It has its moments where you wish the dagger would stop getting lost or stolen but that's just the way they've done it. It's supposed to be a fun kid's adventure and that is what it is. The effects are nice and not overdone and I loved the sets and costumes. Acting is good - not meant to be Oscar winning stuff - in a fun, light-hearted kind of way. Jake Gyllenhaal is a convincing lead and pulled off a role I was expecting him to fail miserably in.

The kids will love this movie. You'll probably love this movie. Don't be put off by a few bad reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure escapism, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't know about you but on these dreary, wet and windy days and nights there is nothing like a bit of escapism is there? PLUS Jake is in it so that can't be bad!!

It's an interesting and entertaining story about love, time travel, greed and power. It has the Arabian Nights feel to it and has some amusing moments too. Gemma looked pretty and was feisty playing opposite Jake.

I would recommend it to those who want to escape to a warmer climate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince of Persia, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The delivery of item on time.There were so many twist and turns in the film. The outstanding film was fantastic. I like Jake Gyllenhall and Alfred Molina, the
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service., 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film it has a twist to the story. It leaves me feeling as though i have been part of it and happy. Definitely a good feel factor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 May 2013
By 
Nicola (Stockton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film for the whole family and great price, wonderful purchase would highly recomend and great service, fast reliable postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a bit worried about getting dvds from here but it arrived in great time. It was in good conditions and my father loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time [Blu-ray]
Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time [Blu-ray] by Mike Newell (Blu-ray - 2011)
£5.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews