Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it just for "Mission"...
I already own the original CD version and the remastered CDs of all 5 of these albums - I mainly wanted this set for the surround DVD-Audio disc of "Signals". After hearing the surround mix of "Moving Pictures" when it came out last year, the "Signals" DVD-A is a disappointment - the surround is really not used to any particularly interesting extent, and I don't think...
Published on 4 Aug. 2012 by S. P. Long

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm... yet another glitch with the Sector remasters?
Finally got around to listening to the DVD-Audio 24/96 stereo version of Signals and it seems there's yet another glitch with these Sector remasters:

The Weapon (track 5) is at least 25% louder than all the other tracks! I ripped both the CD and the DVD-A to check them in an audio editor and this confirmed it. For the other 7 tracks the average db (ie...
Published on 21 Mar. 2013 by LlywelynBren


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it just for "Mission"..., 4 Aug. 2012
By 
S. P. Long "Simon Long" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sector 3 (Audio CD)
I already own the original CD version and the remastered CDs of all 5 of these albums - I mainly wanted this set for the surround DVD-Audio disc of "Signals". After hearing the surround mix of "Moving Pictures" when it came out last year, the "Signals" DVD-A is a disappointment - the surround is really not used to any particularly interesting extent, and I don't think it's preferable to the stereo version.

That said, the sound quality of the albums is as good as I've heard it - I've not listened back to back with the original remasters, but these certainly sound good to my ears. But one track in particular stands out. I've loved "Hold Your Fire" for years, and must have listened to it hundreds of times. I don't know if these are really just remasters, or if some subtle remixing has gone on as well, but the string part on "Mission" is now a lot more prominent than on previous releases, and this lifts the track to another level. If you're a fan of that song, it's worth getting this box set just to hear the improvement there!

Edit - on looking online, it turns out that I'm not the only person to notice oddities in the mixes on "Hold Your Fire" in this set - apparently, an alternative set of masters were accidentally used for the remaster, which did include completely different (original) mixes from those used on previous pressings of this album. This is unique to "HYF" - the other 4 albums in the set are just remasters, not different mixes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rush CDs, 6 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sector 3 (Audio CD)
Excellent remasters from one of Rush's more enjoyable phases...the 80's. Although remastering any Rush album is a bit like gilding the lily,there's not much wrong with the originals,so any audio improvement is not hugely obvious (unless you have the hearing of a bat)....Nice package and very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sector 3 (Audio CD)
To anyone who wants to obtain the 5 albums contained in here I can only say this is a great way of getting them, magic value for money and the presentation of the product is terrific. 101% good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stuff!, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sector 3 (Audio CD)
Excellent stuff. All the CD's sound extremely crisp and clear and the best editions so far. Power Windows and Hold Your Fire being the most noticeably awesome!
Other reviews have mentioned the packaging but I have found no issues whatsoever. The CD's are packed in U shaped plastic sleeves which slide inside the cardboard CD cases. They are not a tight fit and there is no problem removing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST EVER, 14 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sector 3 (Audio CD)
I have bought all the Rush albums several times - vinyl LP (remember those?), CD, remastered CD and now these Sector box sets.

These are definitely the best sounding ever.

Unlike other reviewers I do like the packaging and I do not find the disks particularly difficult to remove from the cardboard sleeves.

There were some issues with skipping tracks - this has now been corrected and I have received the new disks.

Highly recommended for all Rush fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm... yet another glitch with the Sector remasters?, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sector 3 (Audio CD)
Finally got around to listening to the DVD-Audio 24/96 stereo version of Signals and it seems there's yet another glitch with these Sector remasters:

The Weapon (track 5) is at least 25% louder than all the other tracks! I ripped both the CD and the DVD-A to check them in an audio editor and this confirmed it. For the other 7 tracks the average db (ie. volume) was the same, but for The Weapon the DVD-A was much louder and horribly compressed.

How do they manage to get these things so wrong?! I've been mastering CDs and DVDs in an amateur capacity for the last 10 years and have never made such a mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money for the curiosities and sound quality!, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sector 3 (Audio CD)
Interesting mixes on Signals 5.1.
I remember back in 1986 when they talked about recording a brass band and string section for parts of Hold Your Fire. It's great to see the strings on Mission on this surprise mix. High Water sees a vocal delay removed and a searing guitar note instead.Time Stand Still seems strange without the music "standing still" before the second verse! Power Windows has one or two different keyboard melodies on the fade out section on Mystic Rhythms.Not sure how these alternate masters saw the light of day,but all in all a very nicely packaged set that all true Rush fans will find very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sector 3 (Audio CD)
One word Great no more to say apart from took me back to my youth and the Times I saw them in the UK
Ian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sector 3 (Audio CD)
cool boxset
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, awful execution, 9 Dec. 2011
By 
J. Knibb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sector 3 (Audio CD)
A common theme in all the remasters of this box set is a distinct percussion lift. For the most part it works but on Singals it is not in keeping with the rather dark presentation. Lee's vocals seem to been somewhat recessed in the process. But overall, for the slightly harder hitting rhythm and what appears to be a lift in the bass guitar presentation, I think Signals has benefited. For Grace Under Pressure I'm not at all sure that anything audible has been accomplished.

The biggest differences are reserved for the last two studio albums in this box set. Power Windows seems to have been attached to a high pressure air hose. It is even bigger and more bombastic now. There is a plethora of multi track information in Power Windows which has always been audible but now seems to have more space and voice. The bass lines are more clear in places but not everywhere - probably more an effect of the increased scale and dynamics more than any work being done on the bass per se. Hold your fire is more of a mixed bag but overall is more crisp, dynamic and detailed (in places).

For something different which needs to show the results of being remastered as opposed to just dynamically boosted, Sector 3 is a good result. Perhaps as good as we have any right to expect. It has not been brick walled, which is a tremendous relief. As to the variations in arrangement on some tracks, I won't judge past saying that they did nothing for me. Some of them sounded distinctly grafted on. I can live with them as happily as I could live without them.

The really awful thing about Sector 3 (and Sector 1 and Sector 2) is the disgraceful packaging. This is why I cannot recommend it and I would go as far as to discourage people from buying it. The discs are rammed into hard plastic sleeves, the practical up shot being that they arrive pre damaged. However carefully you coax them out there is a good chance you will scratch them more. I don't have a single Sector 1, 2 or 3 CD or DVD which did not emerge from it's sleeve scratched - and in many instances scratched to hell. What can I do? Replacements will be equally damaged from being packed at the factory. What cost a flimsy non scratch sleeve?

Hopeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sector 3
Sector 3 by Rush (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews