Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! really clear and easy to understand!
In the past I have made web pages most of which were ugly, disorganised and all in all abit rubbish. I thought probably best I get a book on the matter if I'm ever to create sites that are worth looking at.With all the hype surrounding HTML5 I decided on this one.

Im only half way through but so far have found it to be brilliant. A great incite in to good...
Published on 23 Sep 2012 by Alan Sablo

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It'll do.
HTML 5 is shifting ground. Anyone who seeks a book on this subject at this time should keep this in mind. It's settling down but any book is going to have trouble staying completely current. The authors acknowledge this continually throughout the book, pointing out what's new, what they think is likely to be shelved. So one thing that is frustrating about this book is...
Published on 26 Mar 2012 by carol


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! really clear and easy to understand!, 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the past I have made web pages most of which were ugly, disorganised and all in all abit rubbish. I thought probably best I get a book on the matter if I'm ever to create sites that are worth looking at.With all the hype surrounding HTML5 I decided on this one.

Im only half way through but so far have found it to be brilliant. A great incite in to good design practises as well and look at most of the new elements in HTML5 with out getting bogged down with too much technical jargon.All the standards are available on the internet for free [...] What your money buys you is an explanation of how to use this information to make high functioning websites Would definitely recommend this to anyone who is would like to know about the capabilities of HTML5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It'll do., 26 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing HTML5 (2nd Edition) (Voices That Matter) (Kindle Edition)
HTML 5 is shifting ground. Anyone who seeks a book on this subject at this time should keep this in mind. It's settling down but any book is going to have trouble staying completely current. The authors acknowledge this continually throughout the book, pointing out what's new, what they think is likely to be shelved. So one thing that is frustrating about this book is that it gives the impression what you're reading is written on the wind a lot of the time. I haven't marked the score lower because of that because it's hard to avoid and because the book is not intended as a reference, but as (per the title), an introduction to HTML.

As an introduction to HTML, it serves well enough. You could just go to the W3C site and read through their HTML 5 section and get a lot of what is in HTML 5 yourself, but it's significantly more helpful to have a guided tour from a book like this. The book includes a fair amount of realish-world examples. It also devotes a good amount of space to supporting assistive technologies which is good.

As an introduction, the book serves its purpose. I can't imagine going back to this to re-read. I also have to mark it down because what is mildly tiresome juvenille humour at the start becomes downright wearying by the end. By the time the authors are telling me they're going to come round to my house and scribble on my FrontPage CD (yes, very funny LOLLOLOL, I do most of my webwork in Vi as it happens), I'm just wishing I'd found a book that had a bit more of a thorough, business-like approach. The authors seem to be "geeks" whereas what I want is just information, concise and to the point.

Still, the book is useful. It's good to have a decent view of what is now emerging so that you can work it in to your projects from the start right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Intro to HTML5 available, 15 Mar 2012
The first edition was the first HTML5 book I read and ever since have only had good words. It was one of the best programming books I've ever read. It didn't drag on about specifications and theoretical implementations, it got right down to the nitty gritty of actually coding. The first edition is only surpassed by this, even better edition.

As HTML5 has moved forward since the release of the first edition, so has the techniques and standards for coding with the new APIs. With this update you get to dive into the getUserMedia API, take a look at some WebRTC and even some new geolocation and storage techniques. Everything you need to know has been chucked into this no-fuss beginners guide to being awesome at HTML5. Even if you're not a beginner, it's a book that is a must own for constant refreshers.

If you consider yourself a developer for the web; You must own this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it's okay, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was probably written for some one more advanced with all the lingo of the web. Will have to read it over again and see if I understand it any better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good start, 26 Sep 2014
By 
S. Rafiq "Its all good" (Blackburn, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good intro and insight into HTML 5. But starting to become dated as more browsers conform to the latest standard.
Plus plenty going on with AngularJS and more apps utilising canvas.
Still a very good read. though, probably could use a refresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Improvement on an already excellent book, 21 Dec 2011
By 
I. Devlin "Ian Devlin" (Meerbusch-Büderich, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first edition of this book was (and still is) an excellent introduction to HTML5. It has only been surpassed as THE best introduction to HTML5 by this, its second edition. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essentiL book on HTML5, 16 Mar 2012
If you know Bruce and Rem from Twitter, then you'll know what sort of things to expect: there's plenty of technical what's why's and how's, delivered in light hearted and good natured style where appropriate.

This book is ideal for anyone who creates websites, or wants to know just what HTML5 can do.

Written in an easy to follow style, there are nervous examples of "real world" applications for elements of HTML5 whether it's separating content from sidebars, using the canvas element or passing data between browser windows and much more.

If you work with maintaining or updating websites in any way other, then you really should buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 16 Mar 2012
The first edition was a great introduction to HTML5, it kept things simple and clear. It wasn't an exhaustive reference, but enough to introduce you to the concepts, so that you could gain enough understanding for further study if you needed it. This kept the book pleasingly thin.

This second edition follows in the footsteps of the first, still nice and thin, but now expanded to cover some additional HTML5 features, and adding more detail to some of the previous ones.

If you want a great intriduction to HTML5, that's clear and precise, and that gives you a good grounding for further study, this is the book to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book for a change from HTML to HTML5, 14 Dec 2011
A great book for those who already have some knowledge/experience of HTML, to switch over to HTML5.
Worth buying.
Boban
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Little letters inside... And The book is too large for my bag, so, it will be me "table" book. But the information is valuable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews