Customer Reviews


241 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great value for money!
The crock pot is so easy to use. No fancy dials or settings, just 'low' and 'high'. The size is ideal for two, three at a push and the results are excellent - stews and casseroles are a doddle. Small wonder that 'Which' scored it so highly. And all for around £20.Why spend more?
Published on 4 Feb. 2012 by June

versus
37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor quality control at the factory?
This slow cooker is a Which? best buy, and had a glowing review from them. Nice price, so I bought it. I wish I'd got as far as cooking with it to appreciate what Which? reviewers clearly did.

The first one arrived and had crease and wrinkle damage to the metal outer casing of the cooker. The replacement had damaged glaze on the inside of the cooking pot,...
Published on 29 Feb. 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both this model and some of the MR cookers are 'Which' recommended. If you are out for long days at ..., 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot Slow Cooker, 2.4 Litre - White (Kitchen & Home)
This is a 'slow' slow cooker, with some recipes requiring up to 10 hours (or even longer) on the low setting. Other manufacturers (e.g. Morphy Richards - MR) make 'fast' slow cookers, needing up to 8 hours on low settings. Both need less time on high setting. Which type you prefer depends on your circumstances, and how you intend to use it - I have one of each in different sizes. Both this model and some of the MR cookers are 'Which' recommended. If you are out for long days at work you can use a timer to guarantee that it will turn off after some length of time, in case you get stuck. This model has a low and a high setting; MR cookers tend to have low/medium/high. Personally two settings are sufficient.

This model has a small 2.4 litre capacity which is about right for two meals - I cook and eat on one day and put the remainder in the fridge for a second meal re-heat later in the week.

The lack of an 'on' light has been noted by others. The instruction manual is about par for these devices (i.e. not very good) and mistakenly says the cooker has low, high and keep warm settings; in fact it has off/low/high settings. The recipes in the manual are ok, but look online or buy a book for more variety. NOTE that using a slow cooker really is a matter of experience.

This has a traditional glazed stoneware pot, but as the capacity is low and the pot is thinner than usual the pot is quite light - unlike the heavy large capacity models. I would personally avoid the recent cookers that have a thin lightweight non-stick pot if you are going to use it regularly, as non-stick never seems to last.

According to the manual you can 'roast' a joint simply by putting it in the device without liquid, on the low setting. I have not tried this, but have put a joint on top of a bed of vegetables with a small quantity of liquid, with good results.

I have no hesitation in giving this the full 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value cooker, 23 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot Slow Cooker, 2.4 Litre - White (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this slow cooker as it was a ?Which best buy. It's a bit short on instructions and to fit a whole chicken in is a bit of a tight squeeze but every meal I have tried has been a success and it is lovely to come home to after a hard day's graft. Best to invest in a dedicated slow cook book to maximise its potential but for the price and quality this slow cooker is hard to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor quality control at the factory?, 29 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Crock-Pot Slow Cooker, 2.4 Litre - White (Kitchen & Home)
This slow cooker is a Which? best buy, and had a glowing review from them. Nice price, so I bought it. I wish I'd got as far as cooking with it to appreciate what Which? reviewers clearly did.

The first one arrived and had crease and wrinkle damage to the metal outer casing of the cooker. The replacement had damaged glaze on the inside of the cooking pot, meaning under normal usage the cooking pot itself would deterioriate rapidly. Whether I was unlucky with 2 of these or whether the quality control where these are made is a little below par, I don't know. I do know that I'm not risking a third replacement of this particular slow cooker, even though they say third time lucky... Very disappointed in this product.

Note that Amazon have been excellent as suppliers - it's really not Amazon's fault the product inside the packaging supplied to them has been poorly finished! Amazon's efficient returns service and good customer service have been great throughout this process!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crock-Pot Slow Cooker, 2.4 Litre, White, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot Slow Cooker, 2.4 Litre - White (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this item for £12 on a lightening deal. Had never used a slow cooker before and thought it was worth a go. Great for one person but too small for anymore if you are hungry types. It is also too small to cook whole chickens and joints in, even though the manual says you can. Stews,casseroles work really well and I would recommend it to single people or couples with normal appetites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Item., 11 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Crock-Pot Slow Cooker, 2.4 Litre - White (Kitchen & Home)
I already own a slow cooker which is much bigger and only gets used for entertaining but this little Crock Pot is the most perfect size for 2/3 people and as a result is getting used at least twice a week by my husband and I.
I prepar the food the night before then pop the crock in the fridge overnight, plug it in before I go out in the morning to return home hours later to a lovely hot meal cooked to perfection.
My only criticism, if I had to have one is that it doesn't have a power light, It's not a major problem as it heats up really quickly so you know it's on but that would have been a handy indicator.
Otherwise it would have got 5* all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my crockpot, 17 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot Slow Cooker, 2.4 Litre - White (Kitchen & Home)
It must be the best value for money product I have ever bought , it does everthing it says it will ,it is easy to clean and cooks brilliantly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works, 23 Feb. 2013
By 
Brian Haydock (Cheltenham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot Slow Cooker, 2.4 Litre - White (Kitchen & Home)
Big enough for my requirements, not too big for my kitchen storage space. And it cooks a mean tasty meal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the job!, 29 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot Slow Cooker, 2.4 Litre - White (Kitchen & Home)
I've thought about getting a slow cooker for a long time now and recently decided to take the plunge. It's one of those things that makes you wonder how you ever managed without one. Wish I'd done it years ago. I had thought it was just for casseroles and pot roasts but there is no end to the things you can make in it and its not at all complicated. As a working woman, it's great to get home and find the evening meal ready ..... without having to roll up my sleeves and head straight for the kitchen after a hard day at the office. This model is incredibly easy to use too. Simple instructions, easy to clean and as an added bonus it looks smart on the work top. I recommend you to try it for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great size, very economical, 6 Oct. 2014
By 
This review is from: Crock-Pot Slow Cooker, 2.4 Litre - White (Kitchen & Home)
This is the perfect Crock-Pot for students, single people, or couples and small households. I was quite surprised at how capacious it is, and you can actually feed about 3-4 people with it if it's something like chilli that you're bulking up with rice or potatoes. So it's good if you want to cook a meal and have leftovers for the next day.
This is the perfect present for a student going away to university, or for a teacher or nurse - basically anyone who'll be out all day and wants no-fuss, economical, and nourishing food.
I couldn't live without mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crock-Pot Slow Cooker, 2.4 Litre - White (Kitchen & Home)
Ideal size for 2 and the pot itself is removable to be placed on the dining table and also washed in the dishwasher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 325 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crock-Pot Slow Cooker, 2.4 Litre - White
£14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews