Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, best ever EVF.
Up until this electronic viewfinder came out, and with the exception of the one built into the more expensive Nex 7 which is identical, EVF's have always been second best and lagged way behind the optical systems of single lens reflex cameras.

There are a number of factors that make this one a winner: it has extremely high resolution, the highest of any EVF at...
Published on 21 Feb 2012 by T.J.Byford

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but with reservations.
I tried hard to use the NEX5N without a viewfinder. I failed. A lot of the time I just couldn't see what I was framing. If you wear reading glasses (as I do), you need them to frame & focus, and remove them for a `live' view. Even with spectacles on, it's hard to see the back screen with the sun behind you. I felt compelled to get this view finder or change my...
Published on 27 Nov 2012 by merciful-evans


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but with reservations., 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony FDA-EV1S Electronic Viewfinder for NEX (Accessory)
I tried hard to use the NEX5N without a viewfinder. I failed. A lot of the time I just couldn't see what I was framing. If you wear reading glasses (as I do), you need them to frame & focus, and remove them for a `live' view. Even with spectacles on, it's hard to see the back screen with the sun behind you. I felt compelled to get this view finder or change my camera.

The GOOD STUFF: It is an excellent EVF. Bright, detailed and clear. The update is fast & there are no `freezing' problems. For spectacle wearers, the manual dioptre adjustment is easy to use for focus correction. The camera is deigned to interface with it intelligently. It shuts down the screen display when you put your eye to the EVF and comes back on afterwards. You can of course choose what info is displayed in the viewer, so all settings can be reviewed while you compose your shot. It can also be rotated up to 90 degrees so it may be used looking `down' into it.

The LESS THAN GOOD STUFF: Sony make it abundantly clear that you should always remove the EVF when it's not in use. You must not place it in a gadget bag or pocket with the EVF attached else it can catch on corners / clothing and damage the electrical connection with disastrous results. The link is fragile. It requires care and a steady hand to attach & remove the unit. After the contacts are inserted into the camera, a thumbscrew with a plastic wheel must be manually tightened & slackened off by feel alone. There is no reassuring `click' for easy & repeated use. If you have large hands, or are working in cold or windy conditions, correct attachment & removal is going to be awkward. Therefore, unless you carry the camera on a cord around your neck all the time, fast deployment is impossible.

However, indoors or in low light conditions, you may not need it at all. So a little forethought will go a long way in determining how & when to use this little unit.
Bottom line: Great though it is, in future, I won't buy a camera without an integral VF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, best ever EVF., 21 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Sony FDA-EV1S Electronic Viewfinder for NEX (Accessory)
Up until this electronic viewfinder came out, and with the exception of the one built into the more expensive Nex 7 which is identical, EVF's have always been second best and lagged way behind the optical systems of single lens reflex cameras.

There are a number of factors that make this one a winner: it has extremely high resolution, the highest of any EVF at the time of writing, and excellent colour accuracy, it shows 100% field of view and it can display the same shooting data as the main lcd screen. It also provides an astonishingly large image.

Increasingly, photographers are experimenting with and using legacy lenses from 35mm cameras and which courtesy of a myriad of adaptors from third party manufacturers, almost any 35mm camera lens mount can be used on a NEX 5N, and even some medium format lenses. The main considerations here are the lenses have to be manually focused and there is no image stabilisation, and whilst using these lenses there is no program auto exposure the NEX 5N will meter in aperture priority mode or in full manual. Trying to accurately focus a manual lens and set exposure whilst having to use the LCD in daylight is virtually impossible and this is where this EVF is a boon and really comes into its own.

A feature of the 5N, not that of the EVF, is a focus confirmation system which proved very accurate in use even with an f1.5/50mm lens I used wide open. My preferred colour for this is red and in use as the subject is focused the amount of red outlining the subject increases and when this is at its maximum the lens is focused. The EVF shows this effect in remarkable clarity and so one can focus any manual lens with confidence even in low light levels as the camera can boost the EVF's illumination. This is something an optical system in an slr cannot do.

Unfortunately, the EVF cannot be used in conjunction with the NEX flashgun or external stereo microphone as only one accessory can be fitted to the accessory port at any one time. This is a pity, especially regarding the flash.

It should be noted that this unit fits only the 5N; it is not backwards compatible with the NEX5.

I must admit to being just a little apprehensive about its image quality based on experience of other EVF equipped cameras, and despite having read reports that it was excellent. I can happily report that this is an astonishing viewing experience and lifts the capabilities of the NEX 5N to a new plateau. It's price makes it not for the faint hearted, but if you take your 5N seriously, this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't regret it (but it's expensive!), 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony FDA-EV1S Electronic Viewfinder for NEX (Accessory)
I've been looking at this for some time for my NEX 5n hoping the price would come down......Well....Enough was enought and I just went ahead and bought it and am I glad I did !!! (£212)

It's very small and for you dont get a lot for your cash (in terms of size) but it totally changes the way in which you use your Sony NEX camera, bright lighting conditions being the most significant.
I took it to Portugal and there were a number of situations where using the LCD screen wasn't possible due to sunlight and the viewfinder took over. I now use it for 99% of shots except when shooting overhead or low level.
It's a joy to use, the clarity of the image is amazing (not quite as good as an optical DSLR viewfinder) but certainly the next best thing. All the image info is displayed for you and the effect of real time adjustments to exposure, ISO etc can be seen.
The fact it tilts through 90 degrees is also brilliant, giving you the opportunity to shoot from different angles.

If you own an NEX camera and are thinking of buying this, just do it. It really is a great bit of kit and you wont regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great, fantastic clarity, especially in bright conditions, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony FDA-EV1S Electronic Viewfinder for NEX (Accessory)
I bought this view finder so I could use my camera as I used to years ago, I loved the fact that you could focus the viewfinder to suit your eyesight, it feels and works like a SLR. The colours are accurate and it easy to compose a photo. I used this for a fortnight on a recent holiday and kept the viewfinder on all the time, I found it to be very secure and didn't miss the flash as the camera NEX 5 r, automatically adjusted for backlight and darker conditions. It automatically changes to screen view when you move your eye from the viewfinder. It is quite expensive, but definitely worth the money. It gives you so much more control over composing your photographs and brings back the joy of taking photos without trying to peer into a small screen, with ageing eyesight and bright lighting. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, 21 Feb 2012
By 
Miguel Mendez (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony FDA-EV1S Electronic Viewfinder for NEX (Accessory)
If you are pondering whether or not to get the EVF for your NEX-5n camera you can rest assured that it's worth every cent. I've always used SLRs so I found using the NEX a bit weird due to the lack of a viewfinder. This is also the first EVF I've ever used and, let me tell you, it exceeded my expectations! The display is crystal clear and provides you with all the info you need, as well as instant feedback any time you make an adjustment. What you see on the EVF is what you will get when you release the shutter.

The 100% coverage is also a nice feature, as most APS-C DSLRs give a cropped view (80%-ish percent).

Switching between LCD screen and EVF is not instantaneous but quite fast anyway. If you use prescription glasses there is diopter on the right side so you can use it without them.

This is not a cheap accessory, but if you are serious about photography this is a must for every NEX-5n owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterly gadget for NEX5N fans, 7 May 2012
This review is from: Sony FDA-EV1S Electronic Viewfinder for NEX (Accessory)
I'm well pleased with this gadget. I really like the adjustment on the side, it means even if you have dicky eyesight you have crystal clear info' in the viewfinder, as well as the subject matter. You can now like operate the camera just like a 'proper camera' adjusting all the stuff while keeping the camera at the eye - and no longer, are bright sunny days a problem (meaning I can't see a thing on the standard screen on the camera body). Downside, you can't connect a flash to it. It is a bit stickyouty, the camera becomes not so pocket friendly, the viewfinder feels vunerably you will break it if you abuse it (no swearing). I think 250 odd British quids is expensive, but I suppose its a very special item, and if you are keen to go further with NEX5N then you sure as hell need to know whats going on with all those variables and its such a pain to use without this thing in bright conditions (or conversely dark places like gigs etc where the normal big screen is annoying people).
Its even better than the one integrated on the NEX7, because this one you can angulate should you want to.
Apart from the heartache of handing over all the cashola to get it, I'm very pleased with it so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fragile, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Cranleigh, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony FDA-EV1S Electronic Viewfinder for NEX (Accessory)
This is a very pricey item - almost half the price of the camera it is attached to. It is fantastically clear and easy to use, but Sony suggest you don't keep it attached to the camera in transit - that is a real pain and a lot of fiddling to detach it and then add it on again. It needs a far more robust design to make it useful - especially at this price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony FDA-EV1S Electronic Viewfinder for NEX (Accessory)
That's it, fabulous. Great piece of gear. You wonder how you could ever have done without it so long. At last I'm given back a real "camera" to compose pictures with, not just a stupid gadget to fire shots by the dozens and then see later if something has come out right. Only 4 stars though, as the price is outrageous, a real hold-up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transforms the NEX 5N and others in the line up which accomodate it., 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony FDA-EV1S Electronic Viewfinder for NEX (Accessory)
If you have an NEX camera without a viewfinder I cannot recommend the product enough. It is expensive but transforms how and where you can use your NEX. Particularly useful for close up macro shots and long range zoom. OK, it sticks up a bit but the ability to turn it through 90 degrees to the eye means that you don't even have to strain your back or neck in order to find the subject matter. The viewing area is virtually 100% and you live view settings mean you can see the full effects of the camera set up before you take your shot. The exposure compensation meter and histogram are also displayed. Great in very bright sunny conditions. It makes the camera a little more difficult to put in the pocket, but when carrying at night you would not need it and require the electronic shoe for the flash anyway. Get this and you will take better pictures !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars viewfinder review, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony FDA-EV1S Electronic Viewfinder for NEX (Accessory)
This product transforms the camera but the connection to the camera is rather fragile and you have be careful not to damage it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony FDA-EV1S Electronic Viewfinder for NEX
Used & New from: £110.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews