Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but misleading (please read)
Firstly, I agree with the previous reviews - this is a great choice of songs (when i say great i mean GREAT) but Amy Winehouse does not feature on the album at all.

I can see why the Winehouse family were against this album being on sale using their daughters name - its distasteful. However, I can see what the album actually stands for and it IS that - the...
Published on 12 Nov 2011 by ScottGlasgow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Back To black far better
It was OK but did not inspire me as it did her.
Published 1 month ago by MarkS11:23


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but misleading (please read), 12 Nov 2011
This review is from: Amy Winehouses Jukebox (Audio CD)
Firstly, I agree with the previous reviews - this is a great choice of songs (when i say great i mean GREAT) but Amy Winehouse does not feature on the album at all.

I can see why the Winehouse family were against this album being on sale using their daughters name - its distasteful. However, I can see what the album actually stands for and it IS that - the songs on this WERE the songs that DID inspire Amy (she even said so herself) but maybe the record company should have consulted the Winehouse family first beforehand.

A few of the songs on the album, Amy herself covered on her debut ambum 'Frank' which was good to hear (from the original artist) as it shows where her inspiration came from.

I bought this mislead as it had Amys photo on the front of the cover and 'Amys Jukebox' but when I put it on realised no Amy Winehouse was on the disk itself!

Good album though, excellent songs, I look more forward to Amy Winehouse: Lioness Hidden Treasures now!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Back To black far better, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouses Jukebox (Audio CD)
It was OK but did not inspire me as it did her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired choice, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouses Jukebox (Audio CD)
Being in my cottage I was already a lover of many of the tracks on this album. It is good to know that such a talented lady was inspired in part by music form my early years. perhaps it indicate stat music from my youth was and is quality and will live on inspiring today's talented musicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't what I thought it was going to be, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouses Jukebox (Audio CD)
Wasn't what I expected. There are some good tracks but not really to my taste, still listen to it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars insightful, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouses Jukebox (Audio CD)
If you want an idea of how Winehouse got her inspiration, you'll appreciate this CD. Yes, the quality isn't as clear as it could be, but I think the rough-around-the-edges feel, almost thrown-together collection gives it its "homemade" charm, and some inspiration as to how this gifted young woman came to creating her work. Plus, it's a nice reminiscent collection of forgotten classics of what "music should be".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What inspired Amy?, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouses Jukebox (Audio CD)
It's great to listen to an album of songs that Amy Winehouse once loved so much that they inspired her to write her own music, particularly a range of songs that are so different from each other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great selection of Songs - Awful versions, 22 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. M. Read (Litchborough, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amy Winehouses Jukebox (Audio CD)
I don't know where they got the versions from, but most are poorly recorded low-quality live versions of otherwise good songs (of the songs I know).
The ones I don't know don't inspire me to go out and find more about the artists (that would also go for those songs I do know - if I didn't already know how good they were).
All in all, very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouses Jukebox (Audio CD)
Love Amy Winehouse , this album is good but not as good because it is other artists but still good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK!, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amy Winehouses Jukebox (Audio CD)
Some of it is good, some of it ok. I am sure they could have chosen many better back recordings of things Amy is supposed to have listened to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars tribute cds, 20 Nov 2011
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Amy Winehouses Jukebox (Audio CD)
this is a cheesy compilation album and it does say music that inspired amy on the front cover.
which has an awful photo of her with painted lips.
there are a lot of these jukebox tribute cds around including lennon, cobain and the rat pack.
what i do not like is that a lot of the best tracks are live versions.
i would not buy this, i want to hear the originals.
Amy Winehouses Jukebox
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amy Winehouses Jukebox
Amy Winehouses Jukebox by Amy Winehouse (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews