Customer Reviews


466 Reviews
5 star:
 (345)
4 star:
 (83)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Monitor- Budget or not
I had two other products i was thinking of getting: the IIYAMA E2480HS-B1 and the Acer G246HLBBID. Specification were all pretty much the same on those two monitors with this: 1920x1080 resolution, 2MS response time, around 24inch diagonal screen, LED, HD, fairly decent built-in speakers (unless you're fussy), HDMI, DVI-D and D-sub/VGA inputs, port for headphones, TN...
Published 13 months ago by Darim Ibn-La'Ahad

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value.
Not bad for the price you pay. not as good as the 10 year old lg it replaced as it lacks the clarity and natural colours of that old (fairly ordinary) monitor.

Took a lot of tedious tweaking using the annoying menu to get it looking good but now ok. Looks great with high colour photos. Built in speakers are somewhere between a tablet and clock radio but...
Published 7 months ago by Bob


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Monitor- Budget or not, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 2 ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) - Glossy Black (Accessory)
I had two other products i was thinking of getting: the IIYAMA E2480HS-B1 and the Acer G246HLBBID. Specification were all pretty much the same on those two monitors with this: 1920x1080 resolution, 2MS response time, around 24inch diagonal screen, LED, HD, fairly decent built-in speakers (unless you're fussy), HDMI, DVI-D and D-sub/VGA inputs, port for headphones, TN panel type (would of prefered IPS but nonetheless i can't complain), boasting of a very high dynamic contrast ratio which is something that's measured differently by companies as far as i have been educated and not to be read too much into. This did not come with a USB port and while i could be wrong, neither did the other two. This uses 42 watts per hour in all modes (other than eco) which is a bit over double over the other two but in terms of price of electricity, very little to be concerned about. The only real difference between the three were price and this was the cheapest at £124 at the time, now £115. Acer was £130, currently £110 and Iiyama was/still is £155. Doesn't come with freeview or built in tv tuner but good luck finding a monitor with the specs above with tv tuner for under £200.

I am extremely happy with this product: looks great, no dead pixels (did come with a very minor scratch on the back of the monitor if i must complain- ruined everything...), easy menus to navigate should you wish to change brightness, mode etc, the stand does shake a little bit if you're in a fight with the desk but most the time it really isn't that noticeable. Good for gaming, movies or internet use (the text isn't blurry is what i mean). I happily recommend you get this monitor for all the specs it delivers and the quality it bring for a fairly cheap price compared to some monitors out there which offer less but are higher priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture so much better than earlier LCD monitor, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 2 ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) - Glossy Black (Accessory)
I've got a Benq G2410HD LCD monitor and this has given great service for the last few years. I decided I wanted a dual monitor setup so I chose this new monitor to be the main one and the older Benq to be used for floating toolbars, download windows etc. Having had no issues with my older Benq it made sense to stick with the brand, quite aside from the great reviews.
When I got the new monitor I did an A-B comparison with a few photos and the improvement to the image quality is simply stunning, so much so the I can't quite bring myself to see the difference between the monitors every day. The image is just SO much better all round, brighter, sharper and much improved detail in contrast in brighter areas. So, I ordered another one!

P.S. There's a comment in a review about their monitor coming from Germany but the trader I got mine from (Ballicom International) came from Coventry. I ordered on Sunday afternoon and it arrived on Tuesday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 2 ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) - Glossy Black (Accessory)
Video Review can be seen here http://youtu.be/G2c_G94crBs
The team at benq say that whether you're catching up on the latest show all the Internet or viewing documents then the GL 2450 LED monitor is the perfect choice for you and to be honest I don't tend to disagree is only used as a monitor it offers A fantastic amount of screen space bright crisp images through which ever connection you choose and all for incredibly low price there is only one fault in my opinion and that is the speakers

Sure it's somewhat of a luxury nowadays to have built-in speakers on a 24 inch monitor in this Price bracket however, do not feel that you can get away with the on-board speakers because unless you're using the screen purely for the odd video here you will be disappointed with the lack of base and volume range

This compact monitor comes in at under 4.1 kg and so therefore is light and easily manoeuvrable. Connections on board include one HDMI one DV ID and one VGA there is limited audio options other than the HDMI is therefore you are faced with a fairly basic range of inputs however again we must stress for this price having HDMI input alone is an achievement speakers are measured at 42 watts but still are very basic but providing you use alternate source for your audio screen will not let you down

As you can see from the pictures the bezel around the edge of the screen is not huge and the depth of the display is also reasonable screen is adjustable by tilting forwards and back approximately 20° there is also the option to Wall mount the display and with the connections assessable from below this would not cause any issue

The resolution is 1920 x 1080 and therefore offers 1080p resolution the the different options available from the menu are also fairly limited but certainly do the job with options for game mode movie, Photo and others I found the colours warm crisp and very pleasing the blacks were reasonably deep and the full colour range as demonstrated in the screenshots seemed fairly dynamic

If you're looking for a low cost larger display then to pick this monitor up at these prices really makes fantastic sense of the difference in cost between this and the 27 inch models my preference would be to get two of these

My overall summary of this monitor is fantastic value for money and are very reasonable display with good image reproduction and from me would definitely be a 8/10 for the price and the only thing stopping it get to 9 would be the speaker quality I hope you found this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all round!!!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 2 ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) - Glossy Black (Accessory)
Before I write this review, let me tell you the solution to many people's problem when buying this product. Some people say that there is an error saying "Not connected". This is because you need to click the ENTER button on the right until the connection type corresponds with the one you are using i.e. HDMI, DVI-D.

Now for the review:

I would to start by saying that the product arrived extremely quickly (I used First Class Delivery). It took 36 hours from ordering for the item to arrive. So 5/5 for delivery.

Then the set up. This was extremely easy and the manual was useless since it uses basic common sense with to set up. It took me literally 1 minute. So another 5/5.

Also, the product looks great. Obviously it does not look like it was designed by Picasso but it is still fairly decent looking. 4/5 for appearance.

After, the build quality. The product feels half decent and doesn't look like it will break any time soon. So another 4/5.

Functionality is also important and it comes with a lot of it. There are 3 different types of ports: HDMI, VGA, DVI-D alongside being able to plug in headphones. In addition, there is in-built sound so you do not need speakers. 5/5 for functionality.

Finally we come to the price. This is probably the best bit. It is value for money and is the cheapest monitor of this size that money can buy and it's well worth it.

OVERALL I would give this product 100 out of 5. It is that good considering the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gaming 2ms and wall mountable, 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 2 ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) - Glossy Black (Accessory)
It has a vesa wall mount at back 100x100 and works perfectly, some monitors e.g. acer do not have wall mounting on back, remember to check.

perefect for gaming with fast response rate when AMA is switched on, no ghosting and perfect for competive gaming.

This monitor was rated one of the best gaming monitors of 2012.

Remember to switch to AMA (advanced motion accelerator) on in the menu to get the fast response time, i like the buttons don't know why complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value., 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 2 ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) - Glossy Black (Accessory)
Not bad for the price you pay. not as good as the 10 year old lg it replaced as it lacks the clarity and natural colours of that old (fairly ordinary) monitor.

Took a lot of tedious tweaking using the annoying menu to get it looking good but now ok. Looks great with high colour photos. Built in speakers are somewhere between a tablet and clock radio but suprisingly useful for youtube etc (as the hdmi carries the sound as well)

Dont forget to enable the auto hdmi switch setting in the menu as otherwise it may not swtich when you expect .

pros
big, cheap
speakers
hdmi very useful as it carries sound as well
looks very good with high colour photos
much better than an awful LG I had from high street catalogue people, much wider viewing angle before colours go pear shaped.

cons
awkward menus
takes tweaking to get colours looking good
text doesnt look quite as sharp as the old LG I had, my laptops or my work Lenovo. Still I dont really notice it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic monitor for the price, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 2 ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) - Glossy Black (Accessory)
First things first, I should clarify that as far as the display goes, this is an easy 5 stars. Wonderful quality, excellent response times, and surprisingly good colour depth for the price. Plugged and played first time with no messing about (had to fiddle for about 30 seconds with the buttons on the side as I was using an HDMI input), and even the speakers, usually very much 'token' on monitors were half-decent. Sure, I wouldn't recommend them to an audiophile, but they certainly do a better job than most of the tinny, shrill efforts you find on cheap monitors these days.

The only reason I managed to deduct a star was the stand - it's hardly the most secure-feeling thing in the world, and as my desk is also a little bit on the wobbly side, they play off each other, and the monitor wobbles quite noticeably. At first I wasn't sure I'd fitted it correctly, so I went back and checked, but no - it was fitted fine, it's just a bit on the cheap side. A shame, really, seeing as the monitor itself is fantastic for the price that they lose points for something as simple to get right as the stand.

Overall, a fine, fine monitor that easily competes with monitors twice the price. Just be aware that you might want to put it somewhere where it's not going to get knocked easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice entry range BenQ monitor, 24 April 2012
By 
Mr. B. Carr (milton keynes england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a nice monitor one of the benq cheaper range but dont let the price put you off my graphics card has no problem driving this the setting buttons on the monitor feel a bit cheap but they are only used to set up the basics so no real problem. windows 7 installed the normal driver for this as it booted up the first time, the disc that comes with the monitor has the better digital driver for it so it is best to install this one asap. there is nothing to fault with the picture quality colors are nice and clear video plays well mass effect 3 game plays very well with no lag live tv from usb tuner is faultless in quality i would of given 5 ***** but the feel of the buttons and the stand let the monitor down 1 star. connections are basic one vga and one dvi and one input for the speakers which nowadays are just basic ok for speech but not for much else. also i only received a European two pin mains lead so if you dont have a English one spare you can use a adapter or my best advise is to buy a proper 3pin fused one the same as a pc mains cable. all in all a very good monitor worth the money you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be put off by the price, 18 Nov 2013
By 
D. Irwin "slightly clumsy" (UK (Middle England)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All I can say is that I am extremely pleased with this fabulous monitor.

I can also say that the Benq back-up service is excellent.
(I thought I might have a problem with the speakers but, after lots of patient explanations and suggestions by their helpdesk staff, I traced the problem to my PC.... )

If you are thinking about buying one of these..... do so. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Monitor, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24-inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor (1920 x 1080, 2 ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) - Glossy Black (Accessory)
Having ordered this monitor on a Monday evening I was pleased to see it arrive promptly on Wednesday. So for I have not had any problems with it. It is a crisp clear monitor that performs beautifully. The downside of it is that the speakers are somewhat underwhelming, however they do perform their task and the frame does pick-up finger marks very easily(why it only get's 4 stars). When ordering it I was slightly concerned about the number of people reporting dead pixels, however I took my chances and ordered it. So far no issues. I am now contemplating ordering a second monitor so I can have a dual monitor set-up, however I will monitor my monitor (no pun intended)for several weeks before ordering to ensure no faults develop.
Overall for the price this is a great product, Well done BenQ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews