Customer Reviews


251 Reviews
5 star:
 (190)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Monitor- Budget or not
I had two other products i was thinking of getting: the IIYAMA E2480HS-B1 and the Acer G246HLBBID. Specification were all pretty much the same on those two monitors with this: 1920x1080 resolution, 2MS response time, around 24inch diagonal screen, LED, HD, fairly decent built-in speakers (unless you're fussy), HDMI, DVI-D and D-sub/VGA inputs, port for headphones, TN...
Published 8 months ago by Darim Ibn-La'Ahad

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Faulty pixels
Faulty pixels on both monitors ordered. Replaced with a different model with no such problems. Also non-Amazon supplier was denying liability and reluctant to take back, despite it being faulty. They said up to 5 faulty pixels per screen was perfectly acceptable!!!
Published 5 months ago by mandy vickery


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Monitor- Budget or not, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24 inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor - Glossy Black (1920x1080, 2ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) (Accessory)
I had two other products i was thinking of getting: the IIYAMA E2480HS-B1 and the Acer G246HLBBID. Specification were all pretty much the same on those two monitors with this: 1920x1080 resolution, 2MS response time, around 24inch diagonal screen, LED, HD, fairly decent built-in speakers (unless you're fussy), HDMI, DVI-D and D-sub/VGA inputs, port for headphones, TN panel type (would of prefered IPS but nonetheless i can't complain), boasting of a very high dynamic contrast ratio which is something that's measured differently by companies as far as i have been educated and not to be read too much into. This did not come with a USB port and while i could be wrong, neither did the other two. This uses 42 watts per hour in all modes (other than eco) which is a bit over double over the other two but in terms of price of electricity, very little to be concerned about. The only real difference between the three were price and this was the cheapest at 124 at the time, now 115. Acer was 130, currently 110 and Iiyama was/still is 155. Doesn't come with freeview or built in tv tuner but good luck finding a monitor with the specs above with tv tuner for under 200.

I am extremely happy with this product: looks great, no dead pixels (did come with a very minor scratch on the back of the monitor if i must complain- ruined everything...), easy menus to navigate should you wish to change brightness, mode etc, the stand does shake a little bit if you're in a fight with the desk but most the time it really isn't that noticeable. Good for gaming, movies or internet use (the text isn't blurry is what i mean). I happily recommend you get this monitor for all the specs it delivers and the quality it bring for a fairly cheap price compared to some monitors out there which offer less but are higher priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Faulty pixels, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24 inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor - Glossy Black (1920x1080, 2ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) (Accessory)
Faulty pixels on both monitors ordered. Replaced with a different model with no such problems. Also non-Amazon supplier was denying liability and reluctant to take back, despite it being faulty. They said up to 5 faulty pixels per screen was perfectly acceptable!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture so much better than earlier LCD monitor, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24 inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor - Glossy Black (1920x1080, 2ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) (Accessory)
I've got a Benq G2410HD LCD monitor and this has given great service for the last few years. I decided I wanted a dual monitor setup so I chose this new monitor to be the main one and the older Benq to be used for floating toolbars, download windows etc. Having had no issues with my older Benq it made sense to stick with the brand, quite aside from the great reviews.
When I got the new monitor I did an A-B comparison with a few photos and the improvement to the image quality is simply stunning, so much so the I can't quite bring myself to see the difference between the monitors every day. The image is just SO much better all round, brighter, sharper and much improved detail in contrast in brighter areas. So, I ordered another one!

P.S. There's a comment in a review about their monitor coming from Germany but the trader I got mine from (Ballicom International) came from Coventry. I ordered on Sunday afternoon and it arrived on Tuesday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all round!!!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24 inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor - Glossy Black (1920x1080, 2ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) (Accessory)
Before I write this review, let me tell you the solution to many people's problem when buying this product. Some people say that there is an error saying "Not connected". This is because you need to click the ENTER button on the right until the connection type corresponds with the one you are using i.e. HDMI, DVI-D.

Now for the review:

I would to start by saying that the product arrived extremely quickly (I used First Class Delivery). It took 36 hours from ordering for the item to arrive. So 5/5 for delivery.

Then the set up. This was extremely easy and the manual was useless since it uses basic common sense with to set up. It took me literally 1 minute. So another 5/5.

Also, the product looks great. Obviously it does not look like it was designed by Picasso but it is still fairly decent looking. 4/5 for appearance.

After, the build quality. The product feels half decent and doesn't look like it will break any time soon. So another 4/5.

Functionality is also important and it comes with a lot of it. There are 3 different types of ports: HDMI, VGA, DVI-D alongside being able to plug in headphones. In addition, there is in-built sound so you do not need speakers. 5/5 for functionality.

Finally we come to the price. This is probably the best bit. It is value for money and is the cheapest monitor of this size that money can buy and it's well worth it.

OVERALL I would give this product 100 out of 5. It is that good considering the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24 inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor - Glossy Black (1920x1080, 2ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) (Accessory)
Video Review can be seen here http://youtu.be/G2c_G94crBs
The team at benq say that whether you're catching up on the latest show all the Internet or viewing documents then the GL 2450 LED monitor is the perfect choice for you and to be honest I don't tend to disagree is only used as a monitor it offers A fantastic amount of screen space bright crisp images through which ever connection you choose and all for incredibly low price there is only one fault in my opinion and that is the speakers

Sure it's somewhat of a luxury nowadays to have built-in speakers on a 24 inch monitor in this Price bracket however, do not feel that you can get away with the on-board speakers because unless you're using the screen purely for the odd video here you will be disappointed with the lack of base and volume range

This compact monitor comes in at under 4.1 kg and so therefore is light and easily manoeuvrable. Connections on board include one HDMI one DV ID and one VGA there is limited audio options other than the HDMI is therefore you are faced with a fairly basic range of inputs however again we must stress for this price having HDMI input alone is an achievement speakers are measured at 42 watts but still are very basic but providing you use alternate source for your audio screen will not let you down

As you can see from the pictures the bezel around the edge of the screen is not huge and the depth of the display is also reasonable screen is adjustable by tilting forwards and back approximately 20 there is also the option to Wall mount the display and with the connections assessable from below this would not cause any issue

The resolution is 1920 x 1080 and therefore offers 1080p resolution the the different options available from the menu are also fairly limited but certainly do the job with options for game mode movie, Photo and others I found the colours warm crisp and very pleasing the blacks were reasonably deep and the full colour range as demonstrated in the screenshots seemed fairly dynamic

If you're looking for a low cost larger display then to pick this monitor up at these prices really makes fantastic sense of the difference in cost between this and the 27 inch models my preference would be to get two of these

My overall summary of this monitor is fantastic value for money and are very reasonable display with good image reproduction and from me would definitely be a 8/10 for the price and the only thing stopping it get to 9 would be the speaker quality I hope you found this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gaming 2ms and wall mountable, 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24 inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor - Glossy Black (1920x1080, 2ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) (Accessory)
It has a vesa wall mount at back 100x100 and works perfectly, some monitors e.g. acer do not have wall mounting on back, remember to check.

perefect for gaming with fast response rate when AMA is switched on, no ghosting and perfect for competive gaming.

This monitor was rated one of the best gaming monitors of 2012.

Remember to switch to AMA (advanced motion accelerator) on in the menu to get the fast response time, i like the buttons don't know why complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic monitor for the price, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24 inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor - Glossy Black (1920x1080, 2ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) (Accessory)
First things first, I should clarify that as far as the display goes, this is an easy 5 stars. Wonderful quality, excellent response times, and surprisingly good colour depth for the price. Plugged and played first time with no messing about (had to fiddle for about 30 seconds with the buttons on the side as I was using an HDMI input), and even the speakers, usually very much 'token' on monitors were half-decent. Sure, I wouldn't recommend them to an audiophile, but they certainly do a better job than most of the tinny, shrill efforts you find on cheap monitors these days.

The only reason I managed to deduct a star was the stand - it's hardly the most secure-feeling thing in the world, and as my desk is also a little bit on the wobbly side, they play off each other, and the monitor wobbles quite noticeably. At first I wasn't sure I'd fitted it correctly, so I went back and checked, but no - it was fitted fine, it's just a bit on the cheap side. A shame, really, seeing as the monitor itself is fantastic for the price that they lose points for something as simple to get right as the stand.

Overall, a fine, fine monitor that easily competes with monitors twice the price. Just be aware that you might want to put it somewhere where it's not going to get knocked easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Budget Panel, takes a lot of tweaking!, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24 inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor - Glossy Black (1920x1080, 2ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) (Accessory)
A lot of us will be looking at a budget monitor for to either replace the old 4:3 dell screens from the desktop, or as part of a new gaming rig (like me). Lets get this out of the way now, to really get a genuinely amazing panel with easily adjustable features, great off-axis viewing, etc, you're going to have to spend a lot more than this.

Let me break it down into pros and cons so this isn't an essay!

Pros +
- Good build quality and easily constructed desktop stand.
- Power-saver options are great, the screen can just go to sleep when you're not around.
- Size for money, 24" is the sweet-spot. Anything larger too big, anything smaller would be noticeable.

Cons -
- REALLY BRIGHT, almost obnoxious. I had to wind this baby right down.
- Annoying buttons on the side make adjusting a chore.
- Features that seem to make no difference, AMA on or off? Can't even tell.
- Poor Quality LED back light makes the screen incredibly bright or a green hue! Once you wind out some of the green, and lower the brightness the screen starts to go a red hue, typical of cheap panels.Takes a lot of fiddling to get the image to look normal. I.E. not too bright, or greenish, whites are white and blacks aren't too ramped up...etc.
- Only comes with a VGA cable, this seems very cheap; come on! Chuck in a DVI!

It seems that the features it brags about (LED, AMA in particular) are purely for marketing and to put the price up a bit. It's performance is more worthy of a 80-99 panel, but maybe it's the size we pay for after all. Try and avoid LED back-lit on cheap displays if you can, it just makes the picture very bright and not in a good way.

However now that I have adjusted the settings, in conjunction with some AMD Catalyst tweaks, it is actually very good for gaming (despite all the cons) and provides a very responsive and detailed picture. So for the budget range it is probably not too bad, but I wouldn't pay over 120 for it if you can help it. I am not sure what offerings Dell, Asus or Acer offer in this price bracket, but if you're looking for a well-sized replacement monitor or cheap gaming add-on then it's fine.

(I could not recommend for any graphic designers or artists! Would not be a good representation of your work, and would probably make you very dizzy!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 24 inch monitor you can find, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24 inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor - Glossy Black (1920x1080, 2ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) (Accessory)
I had a lot of flickering problems with a brand new Asus 22 in, so I decided to get this BenQ 24.

People who plays games, specially Battlefield 3, recommended this monitor, and I gotta say, totally worth the price.

Nice quality, different modes available (Game, Movies, Eco, Night, etc), speakers inside, and all inputs you may look for, you will have it (HDMI, DVI-D, VGA).

The contrast is really nice, with a really fast respose (2ms).

If you're looking for a nice 60 Hz gaming monitor, go for this BenQ, you won't regret!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great monitor with a major oversight, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BenQ GL2450HM 24 inch Widescreen LED Multimedia Monitor - Glossy Black (1920x1080, 2ms, VGA, DVI-D, HDMI, Windows 7 Compatible) (Accessory)
The monitor looks fantastic. However, if you attempt to connect with a HDMI the monitor is not set to detect this automatically. Meaning that you have to first connect with either a DVI or VGA cable, go into the monitor's menu, turn the auto HDMI setting on and then you can connect your HDMI up.

I got very frustrated trying to figure this out as the user manual doesn't explain any of this.

Other than that, for the price of ~110 it is an amazing product! I cannot fault it in any other way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa718e4e0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews