Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing but tough!
Ridge racer unbounded on first looks appears to be an arcade style game, it really isn't. Read on for why, but firstly I'm addressing two other issues...

First off: I have to take issue with the makers use of the title, I'm pretty damn sure "Unbounded" is not proper grammatical english.

Secondly: You may have heard tons of moaners saying this game is...
Published 8 months ago by D. Oliver

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Racing with a blindfold on
RRU is the DARKEST racing game ever, it makes NFS underground games look like a sunny beach. Want to try RRU before purchase? Just play any racing game with the brightness turned so low, you cant see the track. Thats RRU for you. Even with the brightness turned to the max, you can barely see the track most of the time with a properly calibrated display. I guess the game...
Published on 3 April 2012 by L. Pekka


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing but tough!, 9 Nov 2013
By 
D. Oliver "Gamer" (planet rock) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ridge racer unbounded on first looks appears to be an arcade style game, it really isn't. Read on for why, but firstly I'm addressing two other issues...

First off: I have to take issue with the makers use of the title, I'm pretty damn sure "Unbounded" is not proper grammatical english.

Secondly: You may have heard tons of moaners saying this game is too dark, I have no issues here. Sure on default it is, but just go to options & turn brightness up & on full it looks like a normal daylight race or if you do want slighly grittier feel adjust slighly darker. If your tv is hd compatible & you are using a hdmi cable from Xbox360 to tv you shouldn't have a problem.

So, why is the game not arcadey at all? - Simple, it's tough. But I get the feeling it's tough because the makers want you to learn & feel you have achieved the win by yourself & not as simple as Need for speed, Burnout, Split second or other racers can feel. Ok, you don't have to worry about manual gear changes - but then this is no F1 or Project Gotham either.

You will find at first you can't come better than 11th place, then you figure out how to really drive: using the drifting, drafting, corner & braking at the right times & the right time to use that boost power - then you start to come 1st a lot more.

The games has a variety of modes: straight forward domination races, time attacks & races where you don't rely on domination destroy tactics too.

At the end of the day if like me you are sick of finishing a racing game within a week or two you'll love this game. Especially now you can buy this second hand for around 6+

If this game is too tough for you buy Burnout or Split second instead. Lasting value & tough but fair gameplay? Buy it! NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Racing with a blindfold on, 3 April 2012
By 
L. Pekka (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
RRU is the DARKEST racing game ever, it makes NFS underground games look like a sunny beach. Want to try RRU before purchase? Just play any racing game with the brightness turned so low, you cant see the track. Thats RRU for you. Even with the brightness turned to the max, you can barely see the track most of the time with a properly calibrated display. I guess the game was only play tested/developed with a noncalibrated displays with the backlight at full power...

Drifting is not as bad is people claim, nor is the difficulty. This game DOES NOT have rubberband AI so as long as you dont make mistakes, you are pretty much golden. One mistake however can lead to retry being the best option. Sadly the games dark visuals can cause rage quits when you wreck on the last corned, while you were leading by a mile.. just because you cant see anything at times. The biggest problem with the difficulty is the fact that inorder to open new events in districts, you must reach a certain combined score. Second race opens at 20k, 3rd at 38k, 4th at 55k and so on. These events can good (racing) or horrible (drift/frag/time attack) which are mostly luck based. I win actual races on the first try about 70% of the time, most I've had to retry has been 3 times. However I'm stuck on a useless drift even, because the scoring system is not explained at any time and I cant unlock the next event without compliting this stupid drift event. I also had to retry a dumb frag attack race about 20 times today since its 90% luck on how you happen to hit your targets. 4 cop cars in a bunch and you ramming them at 70mph can either lead to 4 frags or just 1, based on luck. Why cant I skip these stupid events bugbear? I didn't have to complete these stupid sideshows in flatout games...

Soundtrack is not as bad as in earlier bugbear games, but I only listen to 3 songs on the soundtrack and skip the rest (dubstep argh). This leads to further frustration when retrying an event for 20 minutes and listening to the same song for the 10th time in a row.

With some brightness and difficulty tweaks (and perhaps by using custom soundtracks) the game could be a 4/5. However the rage quit inducing darkness and difficulty spikes keep it at a 3 for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really fun, 8 Sep 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i bought this game after playing the demo im really enjoying it seen alot of people whining its to hard which i dont get its a challenge if you crash to much you lose ok but you still get xp think of this game as a burn out hybrid you have different race styles one of wich is racing and taking down youre opponents frag em smash them into walls other cars blow u p tankers to take out people you name it great fun drifting is easy you just choose a car with decent drift and practice sometimes helps to drift slightly before the corner.
you also have track editor and as you rank up in single you unlock new bits and cars wich can be used in editor all in all this is a really good arcade racer it is dark but i didnt find that a problem not nearly as dark as some people say as for custom soundtrack put youre music on youre xbox and play during game you still get the ingame noise wich is nice all in all the physics are good the ai is challenging and the graphics are good a go between forza and burnout seeing as burnout havent released anything since paradise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Rep, 8 July 2012
By 
Richard Beech "Ricardo" (Brighton, East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Alright 4/5, but such harsh reviews...

I'm a casual gamer specifically in to racing, I'm pretty good at Forza, and lurrve messing around with Burnout.

Having completed all racing games of interest (I don't do off road or F1) I thought maybe Ridge Racer might offer something to fill the gap since the brilliant NFS Hot Pursuit, and the awful NFS The Race.

But not being a big fan of the arcade racer I thought well I'll see what people say.

Too difficult, impossible to win, weird AI, e.t.c

So I played a demo and sure enough, impossible, and odd. But having rented the game, and since bought for nothing, its great!

You just need to get used to the stupid cornering, then it's a blast! You still get races where you feel you are on it but come last, but other races where just everything goes right and you win. Real satisfaction.

I mean, no car tweaking, no sense of garage, stupid dynamics, but that was Burnout non?, and from time to time you soooo nail a race :-)

Its no Forza, not even a good Burnout, but its better than most reviews suggest, patience!, 4/5 for sure, a blast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game if a bit up it's own backside, 21 April 2014
By 
Dean Rogers "Citadel_Prime" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
One of the purest and hardest racers ever to grace a console. A definite recommend and a real classic despite its age.

'Lots of characters looking into the distance whilst being moody' sums up the menu and general presentation style. Fortunately they have no impact on the actual gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ridge racer gone mad, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
trust me if ya like the old bit of arcade racing then ya gonna love this too bits . defo not a simualtor but fab game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vroooooooooom!, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Just forget about driving ethics and stick the pedal to the metal! It's hard concentrating on the driving when the scenery looks this good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning racer., 25 Jan 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I originally played the demo version of this game and found it really frustrating for a few goes but I couldn't stop playing. I then read these here reviews and went and bought it anyway.
With a little bit of practise this game turns out to be totally fantastic. The drifting absolutely makes this game what it is. Want to frag as many cop cars with a lorry in a set time limit? YES FREAKIN' PLEEEEASE!! Not really sure about all the 'too dark' comments, I haven't noticed it although in games settings you can adjust the brightness.
I love NFS Most Wanted on original Xbox, I would place this right it up beside it for sheer thrills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont understand whats not to like, 2 July 2012
By 
I. Whaley "The Truthfull Techy" (ENGLAND/YOKSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
GREAT GAMEPLAY AND GIVES YOU A RUSH and kids will love it at any age .This game is developed by bugbear who created the amazing flatout 1 2 and carnage.The game was a breath of fresh air.Straight away I was racing and getting some extreme thrills.Feels like quality gaming from back in the day with and injection of Extreme Kaos and GFX.Tracks are opened up very early on and u can choose which areas to race rather than a forced route.I am loving the heavier controls.U have to hand brake to earn boost then u use that boost to destroy your enemy with an exploding object or boost up the back side or or smash through the environment finding much needed shortcuts.Later in the game u start to get your skills tested and have to choose very wisely when to earn and use boost.The reward system of the game is nice and simple getting stuff added to your garage for winning.I wish other modern games could decomplicate the weapons and garage systems a bit.When I want a quick game I don't want to spend 10 mins or more having to kit up or add sponsors and garage members.I started to dislike ridge racers as times have moved on but ridge racer had not.This is way different to the old rail racing and created by a highly respected team BUGBEAR.If u loved split second burnouts and Blur I do not see why u would not love this game.I personally think it is better than split second as the hand brake skid system is far superior.If u see this game dropping in price and love oldskool arcade racers do your self a favour and pick this up.U WILL NOT REGRET IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Ridge Racer, but all for the better, 1 April 2012
By 
Adam Clarkson (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Giving this game the title of 'Ridge Racer' seems a little unusual, as it honestly has very little to do with any Ridge Racer that has come before, but that is far from a bad thing. Typically Ridge Racer games come out with a new system, and they haven't changed much since the original PS1 titles. Unbounded however is developed by the team that made FlatOut. If you never played any of the FlatOut games you seriously missed out, they were a fantastic blend of Burnout and Destruction Derby, and Ridge Racer Unbounded clearly has the same basic build that started the FlatOut games.

The racing in Unbounded is incredibly fast and furious, the AI will never simply let you stroll into 1st place and keep it, every race you win, you have to seriously battle for, which really makes you feel like you earned it. The sense of speed is fantastic, and the car handling feels great. The drifting mechanic is a subtle nod to Ridge Racers of old, and takes some skill to truly use it, it certainly isn't easy to start with. Get the hang of the drifting mechanics and not only does it feel awesome to throw your car around corners sideways, it will massively help your race by earning you boost too.
The incredible scenery destruction returns from FlatOut, cars can be taken down much like in Burnout, but in Unbounded, you can smash your way through pretty much anything that isn't a solid building. Small walls and outsticking brickwork can be smashed right through, and once you earn yourself a power boost, the game will highlight places you can boost smash your way through, usually opening up shortcuts, or occasionally offering ways to take down other racers (such as boosting into a gas truck to create an explosion, taking our anyone caught in the blast).
In fact the general game presentation is gorgeous. The HUD is very basic, leaving only the most vital of information on screen, you don't even get a mini map! That feels a little odd at first, but very old school, and I actually enjoyed the challenge of not having the map there, you have to rely on your own senses. Some lovely touches pop up along the track as you race, you will occasionally pass floating text reminding you how many laps are left, or how many seconds you are behind (or ahead). It may sound a little weird, but it's beautifully done, reminds me a lot of games such as Dirt/Grid and Splinter Cell Conviction especially. Splinter Cell used the same idea and Unbounded truly shows the idea works well if used right, it's a very stylish presentation.

There is plenty in this game to keep you going, the single player is tough, although you don't necessarily have to win races in order to progress, you can keep unlocking events then come back to older ones once you get some new cars, but although it's challenging, it never feels unfair. The racing is tight and tense, you can't take being in the lead for granted, and this just makes it so exciting to play, you have to stay engaged in the race all the way, slack off and you'll pay for it.
The multiplayer has all the basic options you'd expect, and works pretty well, I haven't encountered any real noticeable lag or any problems with it online. There is no split-screen mode available though, which I feel is a shame as FlatOut was a fantastic game to play with people, it had party options through the roof and compared to that, Unbounded feels a little more focused on the solo player, but the online play is still good fun.

Graphically the game is fantastic, I already mentioned the great way the game is presented on screen, but the actual visuals are just as good. The entire game is limited to a city setting, which does start to feel a little repetitive after a while, but it's not boring. The city itself can often be quite colourful and varied, and paired with some stylish lighting effects and an eye-bleeding sense of speed, it really is a good looking game. Then someone drives through a wall and kicks debris everywhere, you can often create quite a big mess by the time you finish a race, and the game carries on without a hitch.

The audio is probably the only part of the game that feels very old school Ridge Racer. You have some thumping tracks from artists such as Skrillex, and remixes of older Ridge Racer tracks bring the nostalgia for older fans. The cars themselves make some great noises and there's a great sense of impact as you smash your way through the track.

Unbounded does come complete with a pretty comprehensive track builder, basically the developers say you can virtually rebuild any track from the single player if you spend long enough tinkering with it. You unlock the pieces to build tracks with as you play the single player, so you will need to at least beat part of the game before you can really start to get the full potential out of this, but you could easily spend a lot of time here.

Overall Ridge Racer Unbounded is a fantastic game, just one that barely has anything to do with the Ridge Racer series. It feels more like an old school Burnout game than anything else, but I actually enjoyed Unbounded much more than Burnout Paradise. It's a challenging, yet extremely fun game, and it deserves your attention, just expect quite a different experience to a normal Ridge Racer game. Approach this game with an open mind, and you may well find one of the best arcade racing games this generation, seriously I haven't enjoyed a racing game this much since Burnout 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (Xbox 360)
6.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews