Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The spiritual successor to Burnout Revenge
Burnout Revenge on the PS2 was a FANTASTIC game, and sadly the PS3 version (Paradise) took a different, free-roaming direction and lost the main thing that made the Burnout games great, rather than good.

Ridge Racer this is not, but let's face it, the Ridge Racer recipe is now rather long in the tooth and the thought of racing made up cars and drifting...
Published on 4 April 2012 by Joti Plahay

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Derivative, but fun
I loathed the Ridge Racer series from the very beginning. To me they all represented the most basic "go forward and turn corners" nature of racing games, they were all so linear and plain. Recently I was so bored and desperate for a decent racing game that I took a chance on Ridge Racer Unbounded and was pleasantly surprised that it is a deviation from the formula and...
Published 10 months ago by Inspector Gadget


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The spiritual successor to Burnout Revenge, 4 April 2012
By 
Joti Plahay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Burnout Revenge on the PS2 was a FANTASTIC game, and sadly the PS3 version (Paradise) took a different, free-roaming direction and lost the main thing that made the Burnout games great, rather than good.

Ridge Racer this is not, but let's face it, the Ridge Racer recipe is now rather long in the tooth and the thought of racing made up cars and drifting perfectly around corners requires little in the way of skill.

Ridge Racer Unbounded - think of a marriage between Burnout Revenge and Split Second and you're pretty much there. There is also an easy to use track creator and tracks and events can then be globally uploaded (a la Little Big Planet) for others to use. Saying that, having this game as I do in it's first week of release, I have yet to find a single soul online!!! This is rather puzzling....

Anyway, the game is great, there's lots happening all at once and no sign of slowdown on the framerate. The cities and environments are well rendered and the minimalistic HUD takes some getting used to (no map) but it works.

My only criticisms of the game are that sometime a frag (RRU's name for a "takedown") involves you losing speed even though you cannot control your car during the replay. Speaking of (race) replays - there are none, which is a shame..... and the final thing is that you can only frag one car at a time, whereas the joy from getting double or triple takedowns in Burnout was immense.

Still, on the whole this is the best thing on the PS3 for "rage driving" since Burnout Revenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 8 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
this game is brilliant a little bit better than i expected i have played ridge racer games in the past and was dissapointed. but this one is awesome its like split second,motorstorm and burnout rolled into one. u can crash through buildings u can perform takedowns on other drivers just like u can in burnout. u wont be dissapointed if u buy this game its probably the best racing game on ps3 except from dirt showdown. give it a go u wont be dissapointed also u can create your own tracks and put jumps on it and explosive barrels and various other items i am suprised how good this game is just buy it or u will miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE HELL OF A GAME!, 2 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Please ignore the negative reviews posted here RRU is one hell of a joy ride! Although it greatly draws inluence from Split second, burnout and motorstorm apocalyse, it combines the game mechanics of the 3 mentioned games and blends it into something truly fantastic. The explosions, drifts and smashes. Its brilliant.
Oh and did I mention the soundtrack?, its trully amazing!

If you are into adrenaline pumping street racing action, then Ridge Racer unbounded is definately the game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Derivative, but fun, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I loathed the Ridge Racer series from the very beginning. To me they all represented the most basic "go forward and turn corners" nature of racing games, they were all so linear and plain. Recently I was so bored and desperate for a decent racing game that I took a chance on Ridge Racer Unbounded and was pleasantly surprised that it is a deviation from the formula and comes across as more of a cross between Burnout Paradise and Motorstorm Apocalypse.

Set in a fictional town called Shatter Bay it is your goal to dominate a series of challenges in different areas of the city. There is enough variety in scenery to keep the stages diverse although they are far from the happy blue skies of Burnout: Paradise or OutRun. There's a lot of downbeat coloring here but it's a minor complaint.

Within each race there are chances to cause mass destruction by boosting through buildings and watching the city around you collapse and disintegrate while shockwaves take out surrounding opponents. These moments are a lot of fun and reminded me a lot of Motorstorm: Apocalypse. The custom soundtrack makes the action even more exciting if you have the right tunes on your PS3.

I did find the actual game to be very, very hard and I could not even complete the first series of events. There are 51 trophies in total and I managed to earn 58% of them, but virtually ALL of them were from the user-generated content, which I found to be far more enjoyable and engaging than anything in the actual story mode. Online mode is a wasteland so you've no chance of getting the Platinum now (online trophies should NEVER count towards a Platinum).

You've seen all of this before, but it is still a fun game that will prove to be a decent distraction for a week or so.

Graphics B+
Sound B
Gameplay B
Lasting Appeal C
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's not Ridge Racer, 17 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Ever since Ridge Racer went drifting only with their games, the racing has been dull. Gone are the days of Rage Racer and Ridge Racer type 4 where the series was second only to Gran Turismo, despite being a completely different style of racing.

I guess the reason for this games complete diversion away from the main series is the recognition that most racing fans do not want to drift everywhere - unfortunately for Namco they don't want a bad PS2 Burnout clone either. To be fair the graphics are good and the racing is fun for a while, but it all becomes very 'meh' after a short while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is great and really funny,you can smash and destroy a lot of things anche online idea is just great :)
it's not classical gameplay of course,is something new and mixed from a lot of games,i like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is this the sequel to Split/Second?, 12 April 2012
By 
N. UNWIN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Forget comparisons with Need for Speed, (which IMHO has only a handful of excellent titles in the entire franchise), this is more like Split/Second with the difficulty cranked up a couple of notches. It is also more of a driving challenge than your average arcade style racers out there, which might put casual gamers off, but not those who like their racing fast and destructive.

As a member of the Unbounded, a bunch of reckless street racers, it is your job to reclaim the city district by district (that's about there all there is as regards story). Each one has a number of races of different types; pure racing, frag as many opponents as possible, drifting and time trials. You have to score points in a race to be able to unlock the next races, new cars and blocks you can use for designing and publishing your own tracks (yes, it has a track editor!). Only your highest score in each race is recorded and goes towards the total district point score. In addition, you have a reputation level which accumulates every time you race (haven't found out what this is for yet, but its probably some loose relation to the story).

Each race begins with a rolling start, no gears just pedal to metal. In pure race mode you have to finish in the top three to count as actually completing the race, which thanks to the AI is more difficult than it sounds. If you stay at the back for too long there's little chance you make it the front before the race ends. The flip-side is that there's no catch-up like in NFS, so if you get to the front of the pack and don't mess up you should be able to maintain your lead. The other race types are solo challenges against multiple opponents or against the clock, scoring points from the lengths of drifts or number of opponents you take out. For an arcade racer I find the car handling very good, and the FWD, RWD and 4WD all respond as you'd expect. Only bad point I found was that at relatively low speeds the cars had a tendency unmanageably drift, independent of the type, so go easy on the accelerator if you need to recover from a stop dead or a wrong turn.

Points can be scored during the race by breaking stuff and fragging opponents. Except for the buildings, much of the environment around the immediate track can be smashed, like petrol stations, railway track supports and sometimes clipping the edges off some walls, though this isn't true for all of them I sometimes end up crashing into something I thought I could demolish. But your main source of destructive power is the power bar which builds up by driving fast, drifting or getting air. When it's filled you can torpedo yourself into an opponent or better, use it to destroy one of the many targets around the track, like a bridge support, a supermarket, billboard and so on. You only see targets when your bar is full, so it's wise to hold on the first lap or so just to see what you can crash into. You get slow-motion cinematic view of your results for a frag or target. This is what you spend most of the time doing in the game and is practically identical to the system used in Split/Second for power boost and demolitions. In addition to destruction, you get additional point bonuses for finishing in the top three of achieving the top three goals. In the higher levels I can see this getting tricky, because it's difficult to concentrate on winning the race and hitting targets at the same time. In practice you find yourself concentrating on doing one or the other, even though obviously the highest possible scores can only be achieved by doing both.

I don't have much more to add regarding gameplay and I haven't had a chance to check out the multiplayer yet, though I am looking forward to trying out other players' track creations. Graphics are nice and the cars look good, though it's not state-of-the-art and there is less decoration and details on buildings than you might find in other games. I do like the colour style which gives it a streetwise, gritty kind of feel. Also the overall game performance is great. After the initial load of each race, the time it takes for restarting is practically instantaneous and the frame rate is consistently smooth which is a real pleasure. The soundtrack, if a little short, is fantastic if you like dub-step and it fits the mood, though it's not really my scene.

I'm surprised by the rather negative comments this game seems to be taking. My impression is that the reason it isn't getting the credit it deserves is because people have been getting their expectations up for either another Burnout or a remake of a previous Ridge Racer. Maybe it's because I'm not familiar with the Ridge Racer series that means that I'm not prejudiced about the name, but as far as I'm concerned if you want something more interesting than NFS and enjoy fast paced, arcade style racing with the added bonus of blowing stuff up, then this is definitely worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 26 Feb 2013
By 
S. May "speed freak" (leicester, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Such a let down. Watched the trailer so many times all show, no go. Just not fun. Cars handle in such a weird way its hard to explain. only paid £14 and still think that was a rip off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It certainly isn`t Ridge racer, 2 April 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
What we have here is a game that is not Ridge Racer, yes it has the name in there, it also has car styles like RR aswell as a couple of tunes taken from classic RR games, but that is where it ends.

The producer of this game stated that this is not the next installment of Ridgeracer (RR8), instead it seems this is a game that was being produced for another studio but acquired by Namco. It`s mechanics, engine, style is very much different from the classic arcade racer, but is that really a bad thing?

Personally I say no, I do feel the Ridge Racer title has been thrown in there to give it the extra sales but this game can really hold it`s own. Graphics are nice, would have loved full 1080p graphics as opposed to the 720p it displays, but with the amount of carnage that goes on in this game I guess the consoles wouldn`t have been able to handle it all in such high resolution. I played some modes in this game where you are tasked to "Frag" any racers, cop cars or even trucks on the track, this leading to total destruction with cars smashing around the place, obliterating pillers and other destructable objects in their path when you ram them, there is a massive amount of detail parts and particles flying around all with no slowdown at all.

It is mentioned by another reviewer that you can`t control the drifts, that is not true, I have really got the hang of drifting to build boost for speed and smashing, so if I can so can almost anybody else.

I find the "Drift Challenges" a bit to much of a pain personally, even though I am pretty good at drifting in this game it tends to expect very difficult scores for you to achieve, so for me that is the weakest mode in the game.

However the rest of it is great fun, you have Classic racing style, Domination where you race to destroy cars and buildings and earn first place on the grid, Escape where you are being chased by police and must survive to the end of the track within a set time, and finally my favourite mode where you are out there to "Frag" as many racers, cop cars or truck (sometimes even all of them) as fast as you can while smashing through buildings to earn extra valuable seconds to your time. There is also a time trial mode which has ramps, big curved grids ad collectable coins scattered around to challenge you further.

Online I have found a bit disapointing if I am honest, sure there is a hell of a lot of user created tracks, but there are loads which are poorly designed and not well thought out, but among them are some superb courses with well thought out designs and challenges. My biggest upset though is the lack of active players to race against, it could be that it is early days for this game, or I am looking in the wrong places for players to race with, but it is disheartening. I really hope it gets better soon.

My final thoughts:
If your looking for a fix for classic Ridge Racer hunger, your looking in the wrong place.

If your looking for something fresh to cure your craving for chaotic destructive fun, you should get this now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars fun but limited, 26 May 2014
By 
M. Perkins "maroballistic" (Leicestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a great time filler, the course creator could have been so much more, but it is welcomed addition as not many racing games provide them. Good but will get repetitive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (PS3)
Ridge Racer Unbounded - Limited Edition (PS3) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation 3)
£9.94
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews