Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars THE MAGICAL GUITAR AND VOCALS OF GEORGE BENSON
Four and a half SPLENDID Stars. Ten-time Grammy-winning jazz guitar legend George Benson serves up wide-ranging, wonderful renditions of mostly pop, rock, and R&B standards that are delivered in the prime Benson mode of suave vocals, dazzling solo guitar pieces which are marvels of virtuosity, and cohesive group performances which are inventive, funky, and hard-swinging...
Published 9 months ago by RSProds

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected.
I thought we'd have a collection of George Benson's jazzy recordings. Instead it's mainly slow and uninteresting for an old GB fan!
Published on 16 Dec 2012 by Ethel Mission


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars THE MAGICAL GUITAR AND VOCALS OF GEORGE BENSON, 4 Mar 2014
By 
RSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Guitar Man (Audio CD)
Four and a half SPLENDID Stars. Ten-time Grammy-winning jazz guitar legend George Benson serves up wide-ranging, wonderful renditions of mostly pop, rock, and R&B standards that are delivered in the prime Benson mode of suave vocals, dazzling solo guitar pieces which are marvels of virtuosity, and cohesive group performances which are inventive, funky, and hard-swinging. The 'best of the best' begins with 'Tenderly": a lovely swirling guitar solo with fiery runs that pleads the case for a Benson solo guitar recording. Coltrane's "Naima" begins as a blazing solo guitar exposition that becomes a quartet excursion, with a great David Garfield piano solo. A hard-swinging "Tequila" recalls Wes Montgomery but with those distinctive Benson note clusters and overtones, with a hard backbeat from drummer Harvey Mason and telling interlude from bassist Ben Williams. A beautiful, funky rendition of Rod Temperton's "The Lady In My Life" will remind many of the "Thriller"-era Michael Jackson. A fantastic "Danny Boy" is a distinctive solo with enough grace notes, pizzazz, and pacing to avoid any melancholy, as Benson alludes to multiple guitars. "Since I Fell For You" and "My One and Only Love" are beautifully sung with Joe Sample on piano on the latter. A vamping "Fingerlero" is in the prime-time jazz area code with Benson doing the head and solo in his virturally patented voice/guitar unison manner with Sample soloing inventively on piano. Entering his 6th decade of excellence with over 30 recordings to his credit, George Benson gives us a wonderfully enjoyable recording that had me hitting the repeat button. Encore, Mr Benson! Highly Recommended. Four and a half DYNAMIC Stars! (Based on an mp3 download of 12 tracks; Total time: ~43m:22s)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars vinyl, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Man [VINYL] (Vinyl)
great easy listening guitar tunes from George Benson but being an audiophile I do question the production on some of the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant guitarist., 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Man (Audio CD)
Great album. This man is one of the all-time greats. I have no hesitation in recommending this album. Wish I could play like him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy it!!, 8 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Man (Audio CD)
My partner and i went to see this great man for the second time as he is just brilliant. He did a few from this album and when i listen to it it is as if i am there in concert again! If you like georgey boy - buy this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar Man, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Guitar Man (Audio CD)
The man is a Guitar Expert, some nice tracks on here with some rare George Acoustic playing, a rich quality piece of work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct 2014
By 
G. P. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Man (Audio CD)
Terrific CD thanks Good price as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected., 16 Dec 2012
By 
Ethel Mission (Calella, Barcelona) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Man (Audio CD)
I thought we'd have a collection of George Benson's jazzy recordings. Instead it's mainly slow and uninteresting for an old GB fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas pressie!, 24 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guitar Man (Audio CD)
Bought this CD as a Christmas present,I like the guy but it appears there are more acoustic guitar sections as well as singing.I hope she likes it. Good price and good delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guitar Man
Guitar Man by George Benson
Buy MP3 Album£8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews