Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG This is what the world needs again....lol
Another miserable Saturday Morning cleaning, then the post man brought me Steps on CD and DVD! How my day changed!!! Put the DVD straight on and I was taken back to sunshine and happier days! Our lives at the moment in the UK are a bit miserable with all that's going on so why not forget it all and boogie on down with steps, cheesy maybe, fun definitely, just up beat...
Published on 22 Oct 2011 by Shortie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good collection
It not a bad collection of their song, brings back memories!. At least you can remember the most chart topping selection.
Published 12 months ago by Steve Bircher


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG This is what the world needs again....lol, 22 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Another miserable Saturday Morning cleaning, then the post man brought me Steps on CD and DVD! How my day changed!!! Put the DVD straight on and I was taken back to sunshine and happier days! Our lives at the moment in the UK are a bit miserable with all that's going on so why not forget it all and boogie on down with steps, cheesy maybe, fun definitely, just up beat feel good songs with the odd slow one thrown in obviously - I would definitely recommend this to any steps fan, and if your not a steps fan and you want something to make you smile and have a happy feel good theme then this is for you.
Can't praise it enough - buy it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn your nose up at it. But at your own risk., 15 Oct 2011
By 
Alex A.C.M (Chelmsford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
From the moment they first made their way into the charts in late 1997 hollering 'It's time to begin, now count it in - 5, 6, 7, 8!', Steps were never looked upon as cool or credible by certainly the more serious side of the music press. And they're still not really, when you think about it - how many so called critics and tabloid hacks came out the woodwork to ironically announce that it was a 'Tragedy' they were reuniting for their hit Sky Living show 'Steps Reunion', this re-activated greatest hits and a new tour? And yet, in the face of all this, when you're reminded of their statistics - 15 consecutive top 10 hits, 20 million record sales worldwide, countless sold out tours, 2 UK number 1 singles and albums each and a BRIT award, you'd look a bit silly to argue with those statistics.

But I know what you're thinking - would you be silly? Whilst it's true that 'The Ultimate Collection' is essentially the same album as 2001's 'Gold: The Greatest Hits' that they released just before their acrimonious split (albeit with the addition of a passable cover of ABBA's "Dancing Queen" - personally I'd have liked the 1999 BRITs ABBA Medley they did with B*Witched, Cleopatra, Billie Piper and Tina Cousins far more), when you're reminded of those wistful, glorious pop moments, you begin to realise that more often than not, Steps always got it right - they knew their pop music the best out of any other acts that were around the same time as them in their heyday and it showed from the amount of success they had. And even as someone who was always more loyal to S Club 7 (there, I've said it!), it would take someone with a very cold heart indeed to deny the pure beauty of classics like 'One For Sorrow', 'Deeper Shade Of Blue' and 'It's The Way You Make Me Feel' - arguably 3 of the best pop records released in the last 20 years. Hopefully, as with Take That and their huge success before them, this is the start of a fresh new chapter to even bigger and better things for Steps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STEPS back at their best, 13 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Feel good happy STEPS at their best....so happy they are back. If you are feeling down this album will sort you out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pop at its best, 11 Oct 2011
By 
Ms. C. Macdonald (Edinburgh UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This is great for any steps fans to add to their collection, Steps are the ultimate 90/00s band who catapulted onto the scene with their debut single based on line dancing and were the most successful band ever even winning a brit for best live act.
Includes all singles except words are not enough instead replaced with i know him so well since it was a double a side single.
Even get a dvd or all their videos which is great to,
They made announce that they will tour together for the first time in 10 years in april and i so cant wait
highly recommend buying this album if you looking for some great party music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 2-disc is the best version, 24 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Living in Canada, I never got to experience the Steps phenomenon in full gear. Their records were released in Canada (usually in abridged versions). But rarely were their songs played on the radio and I don't think I ever saw any of their videos played on television. That is the reason why I recommend the 2-disc version of "The Ultimate Collection". Disc 1 features their hits in CD format, while Disc 2 features their music videos in DVD format. Since their videos were not aired in Canada, this was the first time I had an opportunity to watch their video clips. The quality of the DVD is very good; the picture is clear and crisp and the sound is fine (2-channel stereo but no 5.1).

Steps may be written off as cheesy, and perhaps they are a guilty pleasure, but there is no denying the pop brilliance of "One for Sorrow", "Heartbeat", "Tragedy", "Better Best Forgotten" and the charming "It's the Way You Make Me Feel". Their songs still sound fresh even over a decade later. What's even more impressive is how many hits Steps amassed in such a short period (1997 to 2001). Their latest song, a cover version of "Dancing Queen" is a bit lazy and uninspired. But try not to smile while listening to their marathon of hits; I'm sure that won't be easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best album yet!!!!!!, 30 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
fantastic album....bought it for my mum and she loves it. it also has a new single on the album which is a bonus....would really recommend to buy for all those step fans...xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 5,6,7,8 :), 19 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
As a huge fan of Steps when I was young, I was filled with joy when I saw that this CD was on sale. When it finally arrived in the post, I was certainly not disappointed. The CD is very reasonably priced and contains all of the old favourites such as "5,6,7,8", "Stomp", "Better Best Forgotten", "Love's Got a Hold on My Heart" and many more. Although the CD did contain one new song, "Dancing Queen", I would have liked to have seen a few more new songs. However, on the whole, I greatly enjoyed listening to this CD. Can't wait till the tour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Steps have got to be the greatest band of the 90's/00's. No-one has come close to their tours, music or pop videos. My only problem with this album is that Word's Are Not Enough isn't on here, but other than that, great pop and excellent vocals!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steps CD, 1 Dec 2011
By 
Mrs. Pauline Annetta Hall (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Arrived in excellent condition, speedy delivery and good price. Brilliant CD cheers me up each time I listen to every track on the album. Its great that they have got back together and re-released many of their tracks. I would recommend this as a fun, happy CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 30 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I loved it. I love steps and was very sad when they split up so when i saw on tele they where doing a reunion I watched it and looked on here to see if they did the dvd of the reunion and they didn't but i found this enstead and wanted to get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews