Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and Heartbreaking
Just so funny. Absolutely wonderful film. It feels like they're making it up as they go along and can barely keep straight faces. Nor could we - though it helped that we came to this film expecting it to be depressing and with lots of horrible characters all acting like "geezers". It's delicious as you slowly realise that this film is nothing like that. The music is...
Published on 8 Jan 2011 by P. J. Legg

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars do not buy this rubbish
it was one of the worst films i have ever seen, mainly filmed in a house just a so called family moaning & groaning about each other
mine went to charity shop it someone pays 10p they won't feel ripped off
Published 3 months ago by dom rinker


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious and Heartbreaking, 8 Jan 2011
By 
P. J. Legg (southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Down Terrace [DVD] (DVD)
Just so funny. Absolutely wonderful film. It feels like they're making it up as they go along and can barely keep straight faces. Nor could we - though it helped that we came to this film expecting it to be depressing and with lots of horrible characters all acting like "geezers". It's delicious as you slowly realise that this film is nothing like that. The music is beautiful and kicks in at all the right places. The acting is perfect. This isn't just another crap British gangster film. Though it's very different in tone (and expense), I'd put it up there with The Long Good Friday and Get Carter as one of the three greatest UK gangster films ever. I don't know which of the actors are the amateurs, but if Garvey and Eric and Valda are among them they should be off to Hollywood right this minute. Everyone's brilliant. The guy who was George's friend in Bleak House. The real-life father and son. Maggie. Could go on. This is only about the third time I've ever felt so strongly in love with a film to write ravings like this on Amazon. God, if only Britain made more films like this. Or even just another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, graphic, funny and original. Has charm too., 25 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Down Terrace [DVD] (DVD)
The best British Isles film since Dead Man's Shoes. And like the aforementioned masterpiece, this is powerful drama with disturbing violence aided by natural ad-lib dialogue and 'everyday' characters, making it all the more convincing, real and in-your-face a portrayal of otherwise normal (or not) human beings who are also gangsters.

It rivals The Sopranos on that point, its strength being its ability to make the viewer sometimes empathise with the characters' familiar everyday problems, even though we know they are paranoid-psychotic sociopaths. It also has that series' charm and brutally graphic elements.

All laced with top-notch black comedy, filmed with innovative editing and camera work. The film will charm you from the off, it will even humour you. Then it will drag you into the dirty psychological dog-eat-dog darkness of both the criminal underground and the human mind, as paranoia takes hold and events run out of control. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down Terrace, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: Down Terrace [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film at the ICA and it's the best film I've seen in a long time. Highly entertaining with very dry humour and yet disarming and shocking.
The acting is superb and, amazingly, two of the main charecters are not professional actors. I hope there is a lot more to come from the films very talented director Ben Wheatley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Babes in the wood", 28 Jun 2011
By 
Dante Golio (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Down Terrace [DVD] (DVD)
DOWN TERRACE is a real treat: An understated British gangster flick mixing hilarious dysfunctional family drama with pitch-black crime movie brutality. Before discussing content, it must be noted that the accompanying music track is ridiculously amazing. The fact that no soundtrack recording has been released saddens more than the ultra-grim tale itself. When Bob Hill's character strums his acoustic to a hearty rendition of "Spanish Ladies," for a moment, you think he's a nice guy. For a moment. Starring a real-life father and son, DT will make you feel better about any minor grievance within the family unit. Actually, "Dysfunctional" is too kind a description for directly to HELL is where these folks are a-goin'.

Our story begins with Bill and Karl just released from a brief jail detention. A jolly welcome home party ensues, but it's easy to tell that darkness is fast approaching. Apparently, Bill and Karl run a nightclub, but only as a cover for their underworld crime syndicate division. The old reliable "Snitch In Our Midst" plot device is revealed to be the reason for the jail time. As our anti-heroes seek the traitor, you will not believe the behavior on display.

Violent yet minimally bloody, DOWN TERRACE could be the quietest Hooligan cinema ever imagined. The emotional wallop, however, will leave you flat-out knackered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Grim Down South, 14 Oct 2010
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Down Terrace [DVD] (DVD)
This is undoubtedly a British gangster film and yes it does involve a family in the illegal drugs business and there is a grass (or maybe more than one), but this is not Lock Stock Land but rather more like a Mike Leigh improvisation. Set in Brighton it alternates mundane observations of life with sudden violence. It is both funny and sad (very sad at times). I found it very good indeed but be warned before you watch that it is not Vinny Jones or Ian MacShane territory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic., 6 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. Mark Obrien (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down Terrace [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not going to say too much here because when you see this movie you will be blown away so buy this and enjoy it.
This was the last movie I saw at the Rotterdam film festival and the atmosphere, as the audience left the cinema, was electric.
Gritty British film making with a fine serrated edge. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Bizarre, cult Brit drama, 16 Feb 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Down Terrace [DVD] (DVD)
This British film is dark, odd and twisted but refreshingly different. In a short story about organised crime in a quiet local family there is plenty of suspense, drama and a great finale to this modern, low key played down gem. Not much happens and there are few characters and locations, but it delivers something admirable and its ten or so minutes of gold help it shine. This will certainly be a cult film, as it is so bizarre, but those that can see past the dragging sections of dullness, and arty blackness, will be in for a surprise ending of rare beauty.

Not everyone's taste but worth a look for film fans. British, modern, black and face screwing bizarreness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folk music and violence, 22 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Down Terrace [DVD] (DVD)
I'm only writing this as I've recently read a few reviewers putting this film down. I absolutely adored this film so feel moved to sing its praises. Firstly, it's a budget production so you're not going to be getting any 'iron man' style special effects. No bad thing. The script is incredibly good and the motives of characters slowly emerge allowing you to come to your own conclusions about what is going on. The british cast are fantastic. One reviewer here said that he couldn't take 'Jay's dad from the inbetweeners' seriously as a gangster. What a fool! He's an actor - what's he supposed to do - play Jay's dad in everything he does because viewers don't have the imagination to see him in any other role?

Watch it twice, at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Off beat Lo Fi British Brilliance.., 6 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Down Terrace [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD cover may suggest a Nick Love style 'Geezer fest', this wonderfully funny British film is anything but...

Think, Scum meets the Sopranos.

Watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bloody marvellous, 4 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down Terrace [DVD] (DVD)
A really well acted,well scripted 'gangster' film.Funny and realistic,a million miles away from the usual comic book portraits of criminals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Down Terrace [DVD]
Down Terrace [DVD] by Ben Wheatley (DVD - 2011)
4.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews