Customer Reviews


628 Reviews
5 star:
 (323)
4 star:
 (149)
3 star:
 (83)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An 'Amazing' New Era of Spider-Man Begins!
This review is for Timelord007, who is a fan of the Andrew Garfield era of `Spider-Man'.

With the 'Spider-Man' movie series in doubt, it was unclear whether there would be another movie featuring the web-slinging superhero. It seemed like Spidey's days were numbered, but the web-slinging superhero's days on the big screen were far from over as a new era was...
Published 11 months ago by Tim Bradley

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good
I wasnt blown away by this, im a spider man fan in context and was eager to get my eyes on this. It fell on its knees on a few issues for me. I wasnt wild about the villain in this, the cgi is too obvious for me, he isnt sadistic enough for me. Spiderman throwing out puns and jokes as he battles wasnt that hot for me especially as they werent funny hey.
The...
Published on 11 April 2013 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An 'Amazing' New Era of Spider-Man Begins!, 23 May 2014
This review is for Timelord007, who is a fan of the Andrew Garfield era of `Spider-Man'.

With the 'Spider-Man' movie series in doubt, it was unclear whether there would be another movie featuring the web-slinging superhero. It seemed like Spidey's days were numbered, but the web-slinging superhero's days on the big screen were far from over as a new era was about to begin. `Spider-Man' was reinvented and rebooted for a whole new generation of fans to enjoy!

In 2012, the `Spider-Man' series was reinvented and started again with a new lead actor taking on the web-slinging superhero. This is `The Amazing Spider-Man', a new beginning for the web-slinging superhero starring Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker. Many wondered whether this film would be a success. But it worked, and has become popular today as the Tobey Maguire era was.

When I first heard about this remake of `Spider-Man', I wasn't overtly keen. I remained loyal to Tobey Maguire's `Spider-Man' and didn't think I would enjoy this new movie. But on a whim with my parents we went see it and I enjoyed watching it! It was an `amazing' experience watching `Spider-Man' in the cinemas again, and I really enjoyed Andrew Garfield who played Peter with a completely different angle in terms of story and character. I had no idea it would turn out to be a success.

So what makes this version of `Spider-Man' different to the Tobey Maguire era? Well, firstly whereas this version takes a modern approach from recent comics. Secondly, this film deals more with Peter Parker as a teenager in his high school. Thirdly, the story is more about the history of Peter Parker as it deals with Peter's parents who drop him off to be with his Aunt May and Uncle Ben. It's a plot involving a mystery for Peter whilst at the same time becoming the superhero he is as Spider-Man.

Peter Parker is a social outcast at his high school in New York. He gets bullied and has a crush on the girl of his dreams Gwen Stacey. But Peter knows there's a secret to his past life and uncovers a briefcase belonging to his father. Peter embarks on a trip to OsCorp where he gets bitten by a genetically engineered spider. Very soon, he's swinging the skies of New York becoming Spider-Man and soon comes up against Dr Connors who becomes the deadly Lizard!

To make mention on Spider-Man, he still crawls on walls, but can't shoot webs out of his own arms. He invents the web shooters in his suit to do the web slinging to capture criminals and swing through the city, which was in the comics. Spidey's costume is rather different from the traditional look we know. His eye pieces look different and the patterning of the red and blue on his costume is new.

Andrew Garfield plays Spider-Man/Peter Parker! I first saw Andrew in a two-part story of `Doctor Who' called `Daleks in Manhattan'/'Evolution of the Daleks'. I think it's fair to say Andrew is no Tobey Maguire, but I like Andrew as Peter as he manages to get his sense of humour. The scene where he's in the car with the crook is very funny. Also he's very agile and flexible in playing the web-slinging superhero. When he does serious scenes as Peter, boy can he do those realy well!

The love of Peter Parker is Gwen Stacey, played by lovely Emma Stone. I found it interesting that they decided to go for Gwen instead of Mary Jane Watson. Gwen is a sweet and loving girl who Peter knows at high school. Peter gets to know Gwen and eventually meets up with her at OsCorp. Peter develops a close friendship with Gwen before they start becoming intimate with each other. Gwen gets to learn Peter Parker's identity as Spider-Man and both immediately fall in love with each other.

The villain is the Lizard aka Dr Curt Connors, played by Welsh actor Rhys Ifans. Dr Curt Connors had appeared in the original `Spider-Man' trilogy, but never became the Lizard. Here we actually have Connors become the Lizard and turns out to be a colleague of Peter's father Richard Parker. I really like the relationship between Peter and Connors, and Rhys Ifrans who plays Connors is a likeable and mild-mannered scientist that you don't think for a minute he could turn into a villain.

Denis Leary plays George Stacey, Gwen's father and captain of the New York police. I'd seen Denis in the film 'Small Soldiers' and he did the voice for Diego in the `Ice Age' movies. I really like Denis' interpretation of Captain Stacy, that's very different to how James Cromwell played it in `Spider-Man 3'. Denis' Captain Stacy is pretty suspicious of Spider-Man, believing him to be a criminal and there's a tense argument between him and Peter over dinner at Gwen's house which I found very effective.

Peter's parents appear in this movie in the prologue of the movie. Richard and Mary Parker are played by Campbell Scott and Embeth Davidtz (who I know as Miss Honey in `Matilda'). There's a dark secret about these two, one they never shared with Peter as a little boy. They drop him off at Uncle Ben and Aunt May's house in order for him to not get involved with the life they're about to embark on. It soon turns out they both died in a plane crash.

Uncle Ben is played by Martin Sheen. He plays a very believable Uncle Ben as much as Cliff Robertson did; concerned for Peter growing up at school and helping him through the struggles in life. He's a loving uncle who does tell Peter off at times and teaches him about responsibility. He's reluctant to tell Peter anything about his parents when they left him, but he still has a close bond with Peter. Pretty soon Uncle Ben gets killed in the movie, leaving a distraught Peter.

Aunt May is played by Sally Field, who I liked and have seen in 'Mrs Doubtfire' with Robin Williams. Sally's not Rosemary Harris, but she's still a caring, loving aunt. She loves making spaghetti and meatballs for Peter (Hmm! Nice!). Aunt May gets worried about Peter after Uncle Ben died and is going out on the streets at night trying to catch the guy who killed Uncle Ben and fighting crime as Spider-Man. She gets sleepless nights about it.

J. Jonan Jameson doesn't appear in the movie, which is a shame as I really like Jameson.

The film's director is Marc Webb, and he certainly makes a `web'-filled action-packed movie that lives up to the superhero's title! The set design's pretty good in this movie too as I like visiting the home of Aunt May and Uncle Ben; the OsCorp tower and seeing New York at night with Spidey swinging through the city. The special effects are spectacular too as the visuals of Spidey swinging through the city are agile and dynamic than before and the Lizard's CGI make-up is pretty terrifying.

So `The Amazing Spider-Man' is a great start to a new era of the web-slinging superhero. I don't think this version of `Spider-Man' is as good as the Tobey Maguire era which will always be my favourite. But this is still `Spider-Man' and he will always be my favourite superhero. I certainly love the romantic relationship between Peter and Gwen and looked forward to seeing where this relationship would go in the next instalment of the new `Spider-Man' series.

This film is dedicated in loving memory of Laura Ziskin (producer of the Tobey Maguire/Sam Raimi `Spider-Man' trilogy and of `The Amazing Spider-Man') who passed away sadly in 2011.

The DVD for `The Amazing Spider-Man' isn't so choco-bloc on extras, but there's a filmmakers' commentary; some deleted scene; a series of `stunt rehearsals' and `The Oscorp Archives - Production Art Gallery' featuring pictures and artwork from the movie. If you want more behind-the-scenes extras on `The Amazing Spider-Man', you'll probably want the Blu-Ray release of the movie.

Join Spidey in his next adventure in 'The Amazing Spider-Man 2'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, 11 April 2013
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I wasnt blown away by this, im a spider man fan in context and was eager to get my eyes on this. It fell on its knees on a few issues for me. I wasnt wild about the villain in this, the cgi is too obvious for me, he isnt sadistic enough for me. Spiderman throwing out puns and jokes as he battles wasnt that hot for me especially as they werent funny hey.
The relationship between peter and his new love didnt feel as powerful as the old relationship and with that in mind the old films are that old really so a reboot wasnt entirely wise hey.
Aside from all of that its popcorn cinema and it succeeds on that front. A good film, not a while pile more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing indeed., 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this. I'm a fan of superhero films anyway, though I'm not specifically a Spidey fan. I felt fairly unenthusiastic about the previous Spider-Man trilogy and by the third one I kind of hated Tobey Maguire's Peter Parker.

So when this reboot came along I didn't expect much, especially a reboot of a franchise so recently done-to-death.

Turns out, I really enjoyed it.

Andrew Garfield's Peter Parker is an updated version of the classic comic-book version. And I think that went a long way to making him much more relatable for me. The storyline is really well paced and whereas the previous Spider-Man often felt somewhat indulgent, this one is lean and mean in all the right places.It doesn't over-use CGI, and plays a nice hand with the way Spider develops through the inevitable "discovering powers" scenes.

Another comparison is the one-off-love between Tobey Maguire's Peter Parker and MJ, and
Andrew Garfield's Peter Parker and Gwen. Maguire's Parker made me want to slap him, repeatedly. Garfield's Parker made me genuinely feel like this guy was having to make some tough choices during/after a period of turmoil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SPLICE OF LIFE, 24 Jun. 2013
It appears audiences have gotten too hip to buy into the "radioactive spider" bite scenario, so the writers opted for a gene splicing spider bite. The film incorporates many of the original Spider-man ideas, people, and scenes, while maintaining a certain amount of originality. The plot of the film has already been compromised (40 year anniversary of first publication), so there is no need for me to dwell on it.

3D holograms are used in the film, and of course Spider-man flies directly at your head. If you have the wallet and opportunity, I would suggest the 3D version.

In all honesty I preferred Toby McGuire to Andrew Garfield as Spider-man. That is not to say Andrew did a bad job, he didn't. The part was written different. I am a big fan of Emma Stone (Gwen Stacy), who has been in High School going on 6 years now. She can play the hottie and the nerd both better than most actresses. But what this film didn't have was that one defining moment that will forever be played in movie pop culture history and that was "The Kiss" which drove women into the theater. Yes, Emma and Andrew swap spit, but it wasn't the same as that upside down, remove the mask, just rescued me moment.

Denis Leary, who typically plays an angry comic, delivers in his role as Captain Stacy. Good action. For a 2 hour plus movie, it moves rather quickly. The real unanswered question is, "Will Andrew Garfield join the Avengers?"

PARENTAL GUIDE: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different take, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
Kilrymont (Somewhere in Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm old enough to have been very familiar with the original Marvel comics, which were marketed in direct competition to the DC comics' hero comicbooks Detective Stories (Batman, Bob Kane, and Superman, Jerry Siegel) and the Marvel comics were always darker, more realistic, and with heaps of angst and deeper characterisation that the DC comics stuff always lacked.

The Marvel stuff was for older kids, maybe. Peter Parker/Spiderman's original stories went from completely goofy (Green Goblin, Kraven the Hunter, please don't resurrect Kraven, Stan?) to the clever (Lizard, DocOck, etc.) but the stories gave lots of "screentime" to the JJJameson routine much as portrayed in the MacGuire versions. The girlfriend side of things was different entirely, with Betty Brant (JJ's secretary) being the on/off romance line. And Aunt May's influence was always present, (even if Steve Ditko drew her as one step away from being the old lady in the Bates Motel cellar) but this film gives Sally Field almost no part at all, lousy lines, and an equally lousy hairdresser - she always looks like she's needing a good shampooing.

This film takes some and leaves some of the old stuff. The Flash Thompson thing is more or less as-was, but Mary Jane's omitted and a huge plot shift is introduced by Spiderman voluntarily revealing his ID to the love interest, Gwen.

It's always been pretty odd how a schoolkid could develop ultimate fighting ability just from a spider bite - where did all the martial arts awareness come from? Spiders are, after all, mostly found sitting around in webs munching flies the webs caught.

But the imagery is effective and some disbelief has to be suspended for the purpose of accessing the entertainment value in a movie.

Which this has, but unsure if it really achieves it any better overall than the original series of 3 did. I always felt that Tobey MacGuire was badly cast as Parker - he looked nothing like the comic portrayal, he lacked punch (!) and his presence was low even in high drama scenes. He was far too droopy. And the laughable business of swaggering down the street as the black-version was stupidly overplayed. I wondered if James Franco might have carried off the Spiderman part more effectively rather than the Best-Pal Harry part he was awarded.

None of which bears on this film, really - but it does a little inasmuch as they're all part of the same "franchise" as seems to be said these days. So the relationship between the Garfield and MacGuire versions was always going to be inevitably compared.

Although I'm not a fan of TM in S'man 123, nor do I feel that Andrew Garfield was a hugely better choice. He's taller/skinnier and therefore more spidery, and awkward with girls sure enough but he's over-hesitant far too often and he lacks battle-presence that the Spiderman character never lacked in the comics. And the script ignores the battle-quippery that made the comics so entertaining.

This film makes the spider-web production a mechanical/electronic squirting device as did the comics - unlike the rather silly wrist-spinerette-gland they gave SM in movies 1,2,3.

As usual, Grandad Stan Lee puts in his five seconds of screen time - in this case as a headphone-deafened old guy unaware of the shenanigans going on behind him in the library - ie, carnage with SM and lizard destroying stuff bigtime only 20ft away, that music must have been powerful-loud! It's his take on the Alfred Hitchcock walk-ons that typified the latter's films.

Direction was rather aimless, scene timing slow and irksomely without drive - Sam Raimi did a better job, for sure.

When the sequel arrives, no doubt I'll buy it too - but I do hope they've given a little more thought to detail improvements by that time, pointers seem to make it happening in 2014.

Three stars only for this one. Two would have been overly stingy, four overly generous to a greater degree. So three it is.

We'll see. As we always do, who wait around long enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Tatiana (London, Abbey Wood) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a huge fan of the original spider man trilogy, and am sad to say that this version turned out quite disappointing really. It just seems to lack tension and drama. Sometimes it feels like a series of computer generated special effects that just fall flat and dull, yet it feels missing the emotion and dramatism of the characters' growth. Very sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reboot, 20 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This film is a great reboot of the Spider-man franchise, the new films are more true to the comics and actually keep the moments of humour that they had in the previous films. Andrew Garfield is a much better choice for Peter Parker/Spider-Man than Toby Maguire was in the previous trilogy of films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spider man !, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did not like this film at first. But after reading a quick version of original story, this film is accurate as it is based on the original comic book series.

The previous films by Toby Maquire were okay, but they were all cut up versions of the original Spiderman story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic film, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommended!! The new spiderman films are really good so much better than the old ones, love it!! Great for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 22 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite not liking reboots of recent films this was very entertaining. It looked charmless from the TV trailers but this proves not to be the case at all. Well worth a watch, I'm actually looking forward to seeing its follow up now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Amazing Spider-Man (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free]
£4.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews