Customer Reviews


450 Reviews
5 star:
 (209)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (67)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't think I'd enjoy it but it's good fun
I was a big fan of the original Spider-Man movie trilogy (yes, even the lame 3rd movie) so I was skeptical about whether I'd enjoy it (constantly telling myself that it was too soon for a reboot) but man, does Andrew Garfield deliver.

It's certainly a different take on the young Peter Parker, though he is back with his original girlfriend (from the comics) Gwen...
Published 9 months ago by I. Sato

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sadly disappointed.
3 star? If you like fast paced movies then this is your kind of film. I would not, sadly recommend this to someone who either loves the comics or loves to see a in depth story telling cleverly unravel throughout the film. I myself find this a mediocre way of directing a film. I really wanted better but sadly disappointed.
Published 10 days ago by Sheardy


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't think I'd enjoy it but it's good fun, 22 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was a big fan of the original Spider-Man movie trilogy (yes, even the lame 3rd movie) so I was skeptical about whether I'd enjoy it (constantly telling myself that it was too soon for a reboot) but man, does Andrew Garfield deliver.

It's certainly a different take on the young Peter Parker, though he is back with his original girlfriend (from the comics) Gwen Stacey he is also qwirky instead of nerdy - all in all this makes him more relatable than the original Peter Parker and the chemistry between Emma Stone and Andrew Garfield is great.

Watch it, it's good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly excellent, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a fan of Sam Raimi's Spider-Man trilogy (Spider-Man 2 being the standout) and it did seem like a strange decision from Marvel to reboot the character before the dust had even settled on those films. However, for me, The Amazing Spider-Man really jumped out of their shadows and is a great piece of work in its own right.

Peter Parker's origin and backstory have been tweaked which probably isn't everyone's cup of tea but it worked for me, bringing a bit of freshness to this oft told story. Emma Stone steps in as Gwen Stacy (no Mary-Jane this time out) and she has great chemistry with Andrew Garfield as the new fresh faced Spidey. Garfield himself is on top form and it looks like he's having a blast out there, especially in the standard - Peter playing with his new powers scenes.

Marc Webb as director brings a deft touch to the comedy and the romance, possibly honed on previous effort 500 Days of Summer (quality film). He does a good job with the action set pieces and the effects hold up well. Throw in a tragic, conflicted villain (Rhys Ifans) and solid support elsewhere from the likes of Martin Sheen and Denis Leary and you've got a pretty damn fine package. It's also got my favourite Stan Lee cameo.

Various seeds are set for the inevitable sequel and it's pretty welcome after this effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Good Reboot, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Amazing Spider-Man.
Audio Description: English.
Region: 2.
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.40:1.
Directed by Marc Webb
Produced by Laura Ziskin, Avi Arad, Matt Tolmach
Screenplay by James Vanderbilt, Alvin Sargent, Steve Kloves.
Story by James Vanderbilt.
Based on The Amazing Spider-Man.
by Stan Lee & Steve Ditko.
Starring.
Andrew Garfield.
Emma Stone.
Rhys Ifans.
Denis Leary.
Irrfan Khan.
Martin Sheen.
Sally Field.
Music by James Horner.
Running time 136 minutes.
Language English.
Budget $230 million.
Box office $757,930,663.

Positive.
Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker / Spider-man whom really taps into the character & tone to perfection.
Gritty rebooting with huge set pieces & scale.

Negative.
I'd have liked some longer fight scenes between the Lizard & Spidey as there wasn't to much confrontion between the two characters.

Dvd Extras.
Commentary, deleted scenes, behind Oscorp, stunts featurette.

Plot synopsis.
A young Peter Parker discovers his father Richard Parker's study has been burgled, gathering up hidden documents, Peter's parents take him to the home of his Aunt May and Uncle Ben, then mysteriously depart.

Years later, a teenaged Peter attends Midtown Science High School, where he is bullied by Flash Thompson and has caught the eye of the beautiful Gwen Stacy, At home, Peter finds his father's papers and learns he worked with fellow scientist Dr. Curt Connors at Oscorp.

Sneaking into Oscorp, Peter enters a lab where a "biocable" is under development from genetically modified spiders, one of which bites him. On the subway ride home, he discovers that he has developed spider-like abilities.

After an argument with his Uncle Ben about responsibilities Ben is shoot by a robber & dying in Peters arms sets about Peters destiny in becoming crimefighter the amazing Spider-Man as with great power comes great responsibility.

Peter begins his quest to understand why his parents' disappeared - leading him directly to Oscorp and the lab of Dr. Curt Connors his father's former partner & as Spider-Man is set on a collision course with Connors' alter-ego, The Lizard.

Review.
5 years on from Spider-man 3 & Columbia/Sony are rebooting a franchise already?, Yes they are & I was very dubious as to why?, As the 3 Sam Raimi movie's starring Toby Maguire were an outstanding success & delivered quality Spider-Man movie's.

Due to creative differences between the studio, Raimi & Maguire both left the project & in came Director Marc Webb & Brit newcomer Andrew Garfield.

This is a far better made version of Spider-man & far more in tone with the comics with an outstandingly good performance by Andrew Garfield.

This version also has a running backstory of Peter's parents on the night they disappeared, Why would two parents leave there young boy with his Aunt May & Uncle Ben?

Although this thread will continue through the next set of movie's it does at least make the viewer intrigued adding something new to the reboot.

On being bitten by Spider at Oscorps lab Peter Parker is muted with a genetically engineered spider causing a mutation of Peter's Dna that gives him enhanced strength, Sharper reactions & able climb up walls.

When a old family friend of the Parkers Dr Curt Conners working at Oscorp is trying find a way for the body to regrow it's limbs & bodyparts but up to now has yet to find the missing piece.

That missing piece is Peter as he's a scientific genius like his father was & whom helps Dr Conners with his research & find the cure is from Lizard DNA.

Norman Osborne is dying & wants a cure to heal himself but Conners insists the formula untested so trys it on himself seems to have a successful outcome who's missing arm regrows itself to Connors delight.

But something goes wrong & Connors mutates into a Lizard were he takes to the city of Manhattan going on the rampage.

Can Peter help his dad's former partner Dr Connors back to normal or is Dr Connors so consumed by the Lizard that he no longer cares as instead he made a nerve gas to infect Manhattan causing everybody to be mutated to human hybrid Lizards?

With Manhattan under threat Spider-man must confront the Lizard in the streets & under the sewers in a attempt to stop his plan from taking form or risk die trying.

Great movie & a exellent performance by Andrew Garfield who seems to have the essence & acting chops in channelling the Peter Parker /Spider-man character to perfection.

Emma Stone is also on good form here as Gwen Stacy Peter's love interest whom brings a genuine kind warmth to to her role.

Rhys Infan's is surprisingly good as Dr Kurt Connors but I thought they needed to bring his family into the film to heighten the drama & tension as it would've played a more challenging aspect for his character.

Sally Field & Martin Sheen provide the supporting roles as Aunt May & Uncle Ben giving Peter a soul to provide the reason why Peter Parker becomes Spider-man.

This is a darker grittier tone than the Ramni/ Maguire movies but is all the better for it as The Amazing Spider-man delivers a exellent quailty reboot with a new identity.

As reboots go this is one of the best to date.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than Raimi's version!, 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a fan of the 'original' films with good ol' Tobey (although not the last one, because MAN that sucked), so I was kind of apprehensive about checking this out, but since it had Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone (actors I love), I figured I'd give it a shot.

This was such an awesome adaptation! Much more loyal to the comics, really captured the fun and cheeky side of Spidey, the characters (and character development) were just spot-on and everyone was fantastic in their roles.

Gwen and Peter shone in this (much more chemistry than Peter and MJ in Raimi's version) and I liked that Gwen was smart, funny and actually able to help. It's good to see a strong female figure in action movies who can help save the hero from time to time.

The villain in this was also much better developed and that general storyline was well-handled.

I don't want it to sound like I'm hating on Raimi's version, because that wasn't without its charms and I really did enjoy that. But, IMO, this far surpasses it in every aspect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rebooted spidey delivers thrills & spills with style, 3 Aug 2014
By 
Had skipped this at the cinema as it appeared to heavily marketed towards young adults (and also felt apparently inappropriately soon as a reboot to the excellent Sam Remi movies) - so I had (wrongly) assumed it wouldn't be interesting/OK for aging adults.

Well, I'm pleased to say I was "totes wrong" about that - nice adaptation/re-imagining, with some stand-out acting all round.

Obviously a ton of hocum, but delivered with confidence and panache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic film, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommended!! The new spiderman films are really good so much better than the old ones, love it!! Great for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spider-Man rebooted, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good, solid reboot of the Spider-Man film series. Garfield is charming and likeable as Parker/Spider-Man and the film carries along at a good pace. It's questionable whether this new version is as good as Raimi's still fairly new series of SM films but it does more than enough to keep the viewers' attention and offers some new insights into the SM universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sadly disappointed., 18 Aug 2014
3 star? If you like fast paced movies then this is your kind of film. I would not, sadly recommend this to someone who either loves the comics or loves to see a in depth story telling cleverly unravel throughout the film. I myself find this a mediocre way of directing a film. I really wanted better but sadly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing indeed., 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this. I'm a fan of superhero films anyway, though I'm not specifically a Spidey fan. I felt fairly unenthusiastic about the previous Spider-Man trilogy and by the third one I kind of hated Tobey Maguire's Peter Parker.

So when this reboot came along I didn't expect much, especially a reboot of a franchise so recently done-to-death.

Turns out, I really enjoyed it.

Andrew Garfield's Peter Parker is an updated version of the classic comic-book version. And I think that went a long way to making him much more relatable for me. The storyline is really well paced and whereas the previous Spider-Man often felt somewhat indulgent, this one is lean and mean in all the right places.It doesn't over-use CGI, and plays a nice hand with the way Spider develops through the inevitable "discovering powers" scenes.

Another comparison is the one-off-love between Tobey Maguire's Peter Parker and MJ, and
Andrew Garfield's Peter Parker and Gwen. Maguire's Parker made me want to slap him, repeatedly. Garfield's Parker made me genuinely feel like this guy was having to make some tough choices during/after a period of turmoil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Super Hero., 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A mazing great film and I cant wait for the 2nd film coming out on blu-ray., a web of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Amazing Spider-Man (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free]
6.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews