Customer Reviews


507 Reviews
5 star:
 (238)
4 star:
 (128)
3 star:
 (72)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't think I'd enjoy it but it's good fun
I was a big fan of the original Spider-Man movie trilogy (yes, even the lame 3rd movie) so I was skeptical about whether I'd enjoy it (constantly telling myself that it was too soon for a reboot) but man, does Andrew Garfield deliver.

It's certainly a different take on the young Peter Parker, though he is back with his original girlfriend (from the comics) Gwen...
Published 11 months ago by I. Sato

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lack Of Spidey-Sense
There's really nothing much new about this re-imagining of Spider-Man; unlike other comic characters such as Batman or Dredd for example, where the story and atmospheres can be very different with new interpretations.

This take on the Spider-Man story does however make better use of stunts and effects (batter so than even the previous CGI-heavy versions) to...
Published 16 months ago by Green Man Music


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lack Of Spidey-Sense, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's really nothing much new about this re-imagining of Spider-Man; unlike other comic characters such as Batman or Dredd for example, where the story and atmospheres can be very different with new interpretations.

This take on the Spider-Man story does however make better use of stunts and effects (batter so than even the previous CGI-heavy versions) to reproduce much more convincing Spider-Man poses familiar from the original comics. Andrew Garfield also made for a good protagonist, with his strange spider-like smile.

I did find it somewhat slow though, it didn't grip me despite all the swinging about, and the lizard man was more of a B-movie parody (cf Earth Versus The Spider) than an appropriate nemesis for the modern incarnation of Spiderman. (I've nothing against B-movies, but here it didn't seem to work).

So in summary a slow but watchable Spiderman film - and I'd have probably dropped the "Amazing" bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different take, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Kilrymont (Somewhere in Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm old enough to have been very familiar with the original Marvel comics, which were marketed in direct competition to the DC comics' hero comicbooks Detective Stories (Batman, Bob Kane, and Superman, Jerry Siegel) and the Marvel comics were always darker, more realistic, and with heaps of angst and deeper characterisation that the DC comics stuff always lacked.

The Marvel stuff was for older kids, maybe. Peter Parker/Spiderman's original stories went from completely goofy (Green Goblin, Kraven the Hunter, please don't resurrect Kraven, Stan?) to the clever (Lizard, DocOck, etc.) but the stories gave lots of "screentime" to the JJJameson routine much as portrayed in the MacGuire versions. The girlfriend side of things was different entirely, with Betty Brant (JJ's secretary) being the on/off romance line. And Aunt May's influence was always present, (even if Steve Ditko drew her as one step away from being the old lady in the Bates Motel cellar) but this film gives Sally Field almost no part at all, lousy lines, and an equally lousy hairdresser - she always looks like she's needing a good shampooing.

This film takes some and leaves some of the old stuff. The Flash Thompson thing is more or less as-was, but Mary Jane's omitted and a huge plot shift is introduced by Spiderman voluntarily revealing his ID to the love interest, Gwen.

It's always been pretty odd how a schoolkid could develop ultimate fighting ability just from a spider bite - where did all the martial arts awareness come from? Spiders are, after all, mostly found sitting around in webs munching flies the webs caught.

But the imagery is effective and some disbelief has to be suspended for the purpose of accessing the entertainment value in a movie.

Which this has, but unsure if it really achieves it any better overall than the original series of 3 did. I always felt that Tobey MacGuire was badly cast as Parker - he looked nothing like the comic portrayal, he lacked punch (!) and his presence was low even in high drama scenes. He was far too droopy. And the laughable business of swaggering down the street as the black-version was stupidly overplayed. I wondered if James Franco might have carried off the Spiderman part more effectively rather than the Best-Pal Harry part he was awarded.

None of which bears on this film, really - but it does a little inasmuch as they're all part of the same "franchise" as seems to be said these days. So the relationship between the Garfield and MacGuire versions was always going to be inevitably compared.

Although I'm not a fan of TM in S'man 123, nor do I feel that Andrew Garfield was a hugely better choice. He's taller/skinnier and therefore more spidery, and awkward with girls sure enough but he's over-hesitant far too often and he lacks battle-presence that the Spiderman character never lacked in the comics. And the script ignores the battle-quippery that made the comics so entertaining.

This film makes the spider-web production a mechanical/electronic squirting device as did the comics - unlike the rather silly wrist-spinerette-gland they gave SM in movies 1,2,3.

As usual, Grandad Stan Lee puts in his five seconds of screen time - in this case as a headphone-deafened old guy unaware of the shenanigans going on behind him in the library - ie, carnage with SM and lizard destroying stuff bigtime only 20ft away, that music must have been powerful-loud! It's his take on the Alfred Hitchcock walk-ons that typified the latter's films.

Direction was rather aimless, scene timing slow and irksomely without drive - Sam Raimi did a better job, for sure.

When the sequel arrives, no doubt I'll buy it too - but I do hope they've given a little more thought to detail improvements by that time, pointers seem to make it happening in 2014.

Three stars only for this one. Two would have been overly stingy, four overly generous to a greater degree. So three it is.

We'll see. As we always do, who wait around long enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't think I'd enjoy it but it's good fun, 22 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was a big fan of the original Spider-Man movie trilogy (yes, even the lame 3rd movie) so I was skeptical about whether I'd enjoy it (constantly telling myself that it was too soon for a reboot) but man, does Andrew Garfield deliver.

It's certainly a different take on the young Peter Parker, though he is back with his original girlfriend (from the comics) Gwen Stacey he is also qwirky instead of nerdy - all in all this makes him more relatable than the original Peter Parker and the chemistry between Emma Stone and Andrew Garfield is great.

Watch it, it's good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Spidey Reboot, 3 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Amazing Spider-Man.
Audio Description: English.
Region: 2.
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.40:1.
Directed by Marc Webb
Produced by Laura Ziskin, Avi Arad, Matt Tolmach
Screenplay by James Vanderbilt, Alvin Sargent, Steve Kloves.
Story by James Vanderbilt.
Based on The Amazing Spider-Man.
by Stan Lee & Steve Ditko.
Starring.
Andrew Garfield.
Emma Stone.
Rhys Ifans.
Denis Leary.
Irrfan Khan.
Martin Sheen.
Sally Field.
Music by James Horner.
Running time 136 minutes.
Language English.
Budget $230 million.
Box office $757,930,663.

Positive.
Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker / Spider-man whom really taps into the character & tone to perfection.
Gritty rebooting with huge set pieces & scale.

Negative.
I'd have liked some longer fight scenes between the Lizard & Spidey as there wasn't to much confrontion between the two characters.
.
DVD Special Features.
• Deleted Scenes
• Filmmaker Audio Commentary with Marc Webb, Avi Arad and Matt Tolmach
• Stunt Rehearsals
• The Oscorp Archives – Production Art Gallery

Plot synopsis.
A young Peter Parker discovers his father Richard Parker's study has been burgled, gathering up hidden documents, Peter's parents take him to the home of his Aunt May and Uncle Ben, then mysteriously depart.

Years later, a teenaged Peter attends Midtown Science High School, where he is bullied by Flash Thompson and has caught the eye of the beautiful Gwen Stacy, At home, Peter finds his father's papers and learns he worked with fellow scientist Dr. Curt Connors at Oscorp.

Sneaking into Oscorp, Peter enters a lab where a "biocable" is under development from genetically modified spiders, one of which bites him. On the subway ride home, he discovers that he has developed spider-like abilities.

After an argument with his Uncle Ben about responsibilities Ben is shoot by a robber & dying in Peters arms sets about Peters destiny in becoming crimefighter the amazing Spider-Man as with great power comes great responsibility.

Peter begins his quest to understand why his parents' disappeared - leading him directly to Oscorp and the lab of Dr. Curt Connors his father's former partner & as Spider-Man is set on a collision course with Connors' alter-ego, The Lizard.

Review.
5 years on from Spider-man 3 & Columbia/Sony are rebooting a franchise already?, Yes they are & I was very dubious as to why?, As the 3 Sam Raimi movie's starring Toby Maguire were an outstanding success & delivered quality Spider-Man movie's.

Due to creative differences between the studio, Raimi & Maguire both left the project & in came Director Marc Webb & Brit newcomer Andrew Garfield.

This is a far better made version of Spider-man & far more in tone with the comics with an outstandingly good performance by Andrew Garfield.

This version also has a running backstory of Peter's parents on the night they disappeared, Why would two parents leave there young boy with his Aunt May & Uncle Ben?

Although this thread will continue through the next set of movie's it does at least make the viewer intrigued adding something new to the reboot.

On being bitten by Spider at Oscorps lab Peter Parker is muted with a genetically engineered spider causing a mutation of Peter's Dna that gives him enhanced strength, Sharper reactions & able climb up walls.

When a old family friend of the Parkers Dr Curt Conners working at Oscorp is trying find a way for the body to regrow it's limbs & bodyparts but up to now has yet to find the missing piece.

That missing piece is Peter as he's a scientific genius like his father was & whom helps Dr Conners with his research & find the cure is from Lizard DNA.

Norman Osborne is dying & wants a cure to heal himself but Conners insists the formula untested so trys it on himself seems to have a successful outcome who's missing arm regrows itself to Connors delight.

But something goes wrong & Connors mutates into a Lizard were he takes to the city of Manhattan going on the rampage.

Can Peter help his dad's former partner Dr Connors back to normal or is Dr Connors so consumed by the Lizard that he no longer cares as instead he made a nerve gas to infect Manhattan causing everybody to be mutated to human hybrid Lizards?

With Manhattan under threat Spider-man must confront the Lizard in the streets & under the sewers in a attempt to stop his plan from taking form or risk die trying.

Great movie & a exellent performance by Andrew Garfield who seems to have the essence & acting chops in channelling the Peter Parker /Spider-man character to perfection.

Emma Stone is also on good form here as Gwen Stacy Peter's love interest whom brings a genuine kind warmth to to her role.

Rhys Infan's is surprisingly good as Dr Kurt Connors but I thought they needed to bring his family into the film to heighten the drama & tension as it would've played a more challenging aspect for his character.

Sally Field & Martin Sheen provide the supporting roles as Aunt May & Uncle Ben giving Peter a soul to provide the reason why Peter Parker becomes Spider-man.

This is a darker grittier tone than the Ramni/ Maguire movies but is all the better for it as The Amazing Spider-man delivers a exellent quailty reboot with a new identity.

As reboots go this is one of the best to date.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SPLICE OF LIFE,, 24 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It appears audiences have gotten too hip to buy into the "radioactive spider" bite scenario, so the writers opted for a gene splicing spider bite. The film incorporates many of the original Spider-man ideas, people, and scenes, while maintaining a certain amount of originality. The plot of the film has already been compromised (40 year anniversary of first publication), so there is no need for me to dwell on it.

3D holograms are used in the film, and of course Spider-man flies directly at your head. If you have the wallet and opportunity, I would suggest the 3D version.

In all honesty I preferred Toby McGuire to Andrew Garfield as Spider-man. That is not to say Andrew did a bad job, he didn't. The part was written different. I am a big fan of Emma Stone (Gwen Stacy), who has been in High School going on 6 years now. She can play the hottie and the nerd both better than most actresses. But what this film didn't have was that one defining moment that will forever be played in movie pop culture history and that was "The Kiss" which drove women into the theater. Yes, Emma and Andrew swap spit, but it wasn't the same as that upside down, remove the mask, just rescued me moment.

Denis Leary, who typically plays an angry comic, delivers in his role as Captain Stacy. Good action. For a 2 hour plus movie, it moves rather quickly. The real unanswered question is, "Will Andrew Garfield join the Avengers?"

PARENTAL GUIDE: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT SO AMAZING, 3 Sep 2013
I won't deny this has some great looking scenes,but I join those that say WHY?
The story has several differences to the recent trio of films in style and basic story,but I didn't care much for the charcters like I did in the others.
The main actor has enough good looks to gain female attention and isn't so dorky looking,but take away the looks and you have a competent actor who just didn't shine in my opinion.
I just don't understand the need to do another version of spiderman when the other recent ones were popular.
Yes,it looks very nice and it's a different take on a much loved charcter,but I found myself looking at the clock quite a bit and was glad when it was over.
I enjoyed some of it,but all in all was left feeling there was no point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, 11 April 2013
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I wasnt blown away by this, im a spider man fan in context and was eager to get my eyes on this. It fell on its knees on a few issues for me. I wasnt wild about the villain in this, the cgi is too obvious for me, he isnt sadistic enough for me. Spiderman throwing out puns and jokes as he battles wasnt that hot for me especially as they werent funny hey.
The relationship between peter and his new love didnt feel as powerful as the old relationship and with that in mind the old films are that old really so a reboot wasnt entirely wise hey.
Aside from all of that its popcorn cinema and it succeeds on that front. A good film, not a while pile more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rebooted spidey delivers thrills & spills with style, 3 Aug 2014
By 
Had skipped this at the cinema as it appeared to heavily marketed towards young adults (and also felt apparently inappropriately soon as a reboot to the excellent Sam Remi movies) - so I had (wrongly) assumed it wouldn't be interesting/OK for aging adults.

Well, I'm pleased to say I was "totes wrong" about that - nice adaptation/re-imagining, with some stand-out acting all round.

Obviously a ton of hocum, but delivered with confidence and panache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic film, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommended!! The new spiderman films are really good so much better than the old ones, love it!! Great for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sadly disappointed., 18 Aug 2014
3 star? If you like fast paced movies then this is your kind of film. I would not, sadly recommend this to someone who either loves the comics or loves to see a in depth story telling cleverly unravel throughout the film. I myself find this a mediocre way of directing a film. I really wanted better but sadly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 251 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Amazing Spider-Man (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free]
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews