Customer Reviews


372 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mother Hubbard!....
Peter Parker is an outcast high schooler who was abandoned by his parents as a boy, leaving him to be raised by his Uncle Ben and Aunt May.

Like most teenagers, Peter is trying to figure out who he is and how he got to be the person he is today.

Peter is also finding his way with his first high school crush, Gwen Stacy, and together, they struggle...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good second chance
So another year brings yet more reboots. This time a reboot of a series that had barely finished. Did we really need to see another origin story of Spiderman so soon after the first? Well yes and no depending on your view point, choice of style and a preferance of Tobey Maguire or Andrew Garfield.

So let's start with the obvious comparisons. Sam Raimi's take on...
Published 8 months ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mother Hubbard!...., 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Peter Parker is an outcast high schooler who was abandoned by his parents as a boy, leaving him to be raised by his Uncle Ben and Aunt May.

Like most teenagers, Peter is trying to figure out who he is and how he got to be the person he is today.

Peter is also finding his way with his first high school crush, Gwen Stacy, and together, they struggle with love, commitment, and secrets. As Peter discovers a mysterious briefcase that belonged to his father, he begins a quest to understand his parents' disappearance - leading him directly to Oscorp and the lab of Dr. Curt Connors, his father's former partner.

As Spider-Man is set on a collision course with Connors' alter-ego, The Lizard, Peter will make life-altering choices to use his powers and shape his destiny.....

My expectations were very low for this movie when I heard it was being made. Initially I thought what was the point, to me Spiderman is still a new movie, and to be honest, the last movie wasn't all that good.

But truth be told, I wasn't expecting this, a brilliant movie, but on a par with Spiderman 2.

The cast are a lot better, and Garfield nails it as Parker, this is the Spiderman we got from the comics, not the wet blanket that Maguire gave us with just looks of awe every other minute.

But it does hark back to the first movie, New Yorkers coming together toward the end, the main Bad Guy having some sort of chat with himself, even the guy who killed Uncle Ben in the first movie is the limo driver!!

The relationship between Ben and Peter feels more real in this, and it really does have more emotional impact when he is shot this time around. but it is totally a different movie this time around. It's all about high school and Parker gets hurt in this, quite a lot showing his vulnerable side.

Spiderman being more cocky is the biggest positive for the film, even though he is in peril, he still has time for a one liner. Stone is amazing as Stacey, she really is more than a damsel in distress (Hello Kirsten).

The Lizard is an okay villain, but it just feels like a way over the top villain, and despite a good turn from Ifans, his prerogative just feels like the Jokers from Burtons Batman.

It's a well made film, very exciting, and very funny too, I laughed a lot through the film, the inclusion of the new webs is great too, they seem more fluid I this one and are more intricate to Spidermans powers in this, with these he wouldn't be doing what he does.

See it and enjoy it, it's really worth seeing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't think I'd enjoy it but it's good fun, 22 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was a big fan of the original Spider-Man movie trilogy (yes, even the lame 3rd movie) so I was skeptical about whether I'd enjoy it (constantly telling myself that it was too soon for a reboot) but man, does Andrew Garfield deliver.

It's certainly a different take on the young Peter Parker, though he is back with his original girlfriend (from the comics) Gwen Stacey he is also qwirky instead of nerdy - all in all this makes him more relatable than the original Peter Parker and the chemistry between Emma Stone and Andrew Garfield is great.

Watch it, it's good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good second chance, 29 July 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
So another year brings yet more reboots. This time a reboot of a series that had barely finished. Did we really need to see another origin story of Spiderman so soon after the first? Well yes and no depending on your view point, choice of style and a preferance of Tobey Maguire or Andrew Garfield.

So let's start with the obvious comparisons. Sam Raimi's take on Spiderman is a colourful full on popcorn entertainment. Mixing great action set pieces with some character development he managed to bring the super hero genre bang up to date. The original was a bit cumbersome in its choice of bad guy but the second was a supreme example of perfect blockbuster fodder. It had shed loose of its origin story shackles and broke free with a superbly memorable villain in the guise of Dr Octopus and had some astounding action beats, The third one....well probably best to skirt over that one.

So now on to Mark Webb's (as apt a name as any) take on all things Spiderman. The first thing you will notice is this is a broody, moody piece. Gone is the colour. Gone is the comic book feel. Here we have Andrew Garfield smouldering his way through Peter Parkers life. He embodies the modern gritty Spiderman. He has issues. Lots of them and they continue to grow as the film goes on. Teenage angst at its best here.

Andrew Garfield is overall great . He is easy to watch and takes on the role with gusto. There are times where the sarcastic wit of Toby Maguire is missed as Garfield's take can sometimes come across as a bit of an ass but on the whole he is likable. Mary Jane is dropped in favour of Gwen Stacy which is a bold and brilliant move. The dynamic between the two is sizzling and it makes for a welcome change from MJ's mooching about.

In fact a large part of the film is devoted to developing Gwen and Peter's relationship which presumably is being set up for some dramatic twists in future films. The time isn't wasted, it works. You feel a connection with the two and you actually want them to get through their troubles.

Next up is the big bad of the piece. The rather risky choice of a fully CG lizard. What could have derailed the film completely and been a huge disaster was actually handled well. The effects were decent and Rhys Ifans played the part well. It could have done with a few more actions scenes involving the Lizard and maybe something a bit more inventive than the monster b-movie finish we ended up with but overall a minor success.

The action is a little hit and miss too. There is plenty of it but some of the choreography is ropey at best. Also the point of view shots of Spiderman swinging through the city are a little jarring.

The film is dark and moody keeping in line with the current trend. It works on many levels but fails on others. For example the characters here are very cold. Even Aunt May and Uncle Ben don't convey enough to make you feel attached to them. Curt Connors is hard to invest interest in until he mutates. Luckily Spidey himself is generally relatable and can only grow from here. This feels like a stepping stone onto greater things and if they can wrangle the multitude of storylines and villains they have planned for the sequel we could be in for a real treat.

The story arc is tantalising. Hopefully we will see Spiderman soar again. On this evidence I am sure we will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Spider-Man is Amazing, 6 Nov 2012
This version, The Amazing Spider-Man shows a slightly different side to Peter Parker and his story while still keeping some aspects of the original trilogy. Peter is still a geeky teenager, this time with a skateboard in tow. He's still into photography, he's still a geeky science lover (due to what his father does/ did) and he doesn't have friends and gets picked on at school. However, there is no Mary Jane in this film and instead we have the love interest in the form of another girl.

As I didn't like Toby Maguire, I was just as unsure of Andrew Garfield who I had never heard of before this film, maybe that was why I was so unsure. However, I liked him a whole lot more as Peter. While he played a geeky character, he was not quite as strange as Toby Maguire. I found his character (even though it was the same character) to me much more likeable and I warmed to him quickly. I also thought he showed a much braver and stronger side to him than I was expecting which I thought was a good addition to him. I also found the way in which he became Spider-Man to be more interesting, although again, pretty much done in the same way.

I think a lot of this was due to the plot differences. I loved the inclusion of Dr. Curt Connors who was played by Rhys Ifans. As Dr. Connors was Peter's father's partner, there was a background story to discover. Although I think this could have been done in a bit more detail, I think it gave Peter a great reason for going to Oscorp in the first place. He wanted to find out more about his parents and he knew that only Dr. Connors could have explained anything about what happened/ about what his father was like. I felt a real connection between these two characters early on in the film which was a nice touch. Ifans was fantastic as Dr. Connors who later turns into Lizard.

In comparison to the other Spider Man film, I preferred this villain due to there being a sort of awkward friendship between the two characters, which wasn't there in the other film. When Dr. Connors becomes Lizard, he changes completely into an angry and resentful person (?). I loved how this showed exactly what the effects of untested drugs could do to a person, along with the obvious problem of being turned into a lizard. Ifans was able to be a nice character and show sympathy and empathy whilst also playing someone who was mean and hateful.

I absolutely loved Emma Stone as the love interest Gwen. She was one of the biggest reasons why I wanted to see this film to begin with as I have loved her in everything she has been in. Her character is slowly brought in to Peter's life as he begins to get to grips with his abilities. She has an interesting family relationship, which affects Peter very much as he becomes Spider-Man. These things mixed in with her personality and likeability, made her a great character and one which really made the film better overall. I do think that she could have been used more in a few places but I'm hoping the next film brings in her character more.

Yes, there will be a sequel. Or a few. If this first film is anything to go by though, I think this will be a fantastic series overall and I can't wait for the next release in 2014 now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Garfield, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have to say having watched previous versions of Spiderman Movies I was keen to watch the Amazing Spiderman as I was not a big fan of Spiderman 2 and 3. I found the last 2 Spiderman movies extremely boring and had lost my love with this superhero. I can say though that after watching this movie my love affair with Spiderman has been reignited especially due to Andrew Garfield. He captured the essence of Spiderman perfectly and I loved the whole script. Can't wait for the 2nd one!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exellent Reboot, 3 Nov 2013
By 
timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Positive.
Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker / Spider-man whom really taps into the character & tone to perfection.
Gritty rebooting with huge set pieces & scale.

Negative.
I'd have liked some longer fight scenes between the Lizard & Spidey as there wasn't to much confrontion between the two characters.

Dvd.
Running Time 131 minutes, Commentary,deleted scenes,Behind Oscorp, Stunts featurette.

Review.
5 years on from Spider-man 3 & Columbia/Sony are rebooting a franchise already?, Yes they are & I was very dubious as to why?, As the 3 Sam Raimi movie's starring Toby Maguire were an outstanding success & delivered quality Spider-Man movie's.

Due to creative differences between the studio, Raimi & Maguire both left the project & in came Director Marc Webb & Brit newcomer Andrew Garfield.

This is a far better made version of Spider-man & far more in tone with the comics with an outstandingly good performance by Andrew Garfield.

This version also has a running backstory of Peter's parents on the night they disappeared, Why would two parents leave there young boy with his Aunt May & Uncle Ben?

Although this thread will continue through the next set of movie's it does at least make the viewer intrigued adding something new to the reboot.

On being bitten by Spider at Oscorps lab Peter Parker is muted with a genetically engineered spider causing a mutation of Peter's Dna that gives him enhanced strength, Sharper reactions & able climb up walls.

When a old family friend of the Parkers Dr Curt Conners working at Oscorp is trying find a way for the body to regrow it's limbs & bodyparts but up to now has yet to find the missing piece.

That missing piece is Peter as he's a scientific genius like his father was & whom helps Dr Conners with his research & find the cure is from Lizard DNA.

Norman Osborne is dying & wants a cure to heal himself but Conners insists the formula untested so trys it on himself seems to have a successful outcome who's missing arm regrows itself to Connors delight.

But something goes wrong & Connors mutates into a Lizard were he takes to the city of Manhattan going on the rampage.

Can Peter help his dad's former partner Dr Connors back to normal or is Dr Connors so consumed by the Lizard that he no longer cares as instead he made a nerve gas to infect Manhattan causing everybody to be mutated to human hybrid Lizards?

With Manhattan under threat Spider-man must confront the Lizard in the streets & under the sewers in a attempt to stop his plan from taking form or risk die trying.

Great movie & a exellent performance by Andrew Garfield who seems to have the essence & acting chops in channelling the Peter Parker /Spider-man character to perfection.

Emma Stone is also on good form here as Gwen Stacy Peter's love interest whom brings a genuine kind warmth to to her role.

Rhys Infan's is surprisingly good as Dr Kurt Connors but I thought they needed to bring his family into the film to heighten the drama & tension as it would've played a more challenging aspect for his character.

Sally Field & Martin Sheen provide the supporting roles as Aunt May & Uncle Ben giving Peter a soul to provide the reason why Peter Parker becomes Spider-man.

This is a darker grittier tone than the Ramni/ Maguire movies but is all the better for it as The Amazing Spider-man delivers a exellent quailty reboot with a new identity.

As reboots go this is one of the best to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Expected more but was ok (contains minor spoilers), 23 April 2014
By 
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (DVD)
Plenty of action and drama but the dialogue isn't going to win any awards. There were some cool parts, and a laugh-out-loud moment, but while visually fantastic it was really only surface deep. A few parts seemed pawned straight from other films e.g terminator2/timecop when they're fighting with liquid Nitrogen. When he's being chased in the school it's reminiscent of jurassic park and the velociraptors when they're inside the building. They saved the best for first and it starts off quirky funny and enjoyable but soon descends into CGI overkill. Decent way to spend a few hours but wouldn't watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HD, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good but with bad internet HD isn't better than normal quality good to bye if you have great internet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film, 20 April 2014
By 
Ben Wadey (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film trumps Maguires in every possible way. THIS is Spider Man! I implore you to give this film a go, worth every minute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a buy, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Amazing Spider-man at it's time was the best Spider-man movie in my opinion. It has heart, excitement, action and is like a feel-good coming of age drama. The DVD has a small lack of extras so I've knocked off a star. Glad I bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2c5160c)

This product

The Amazing Spider-Man (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free]
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews