Customer Reviews


620 Reviews
5 star:
 (315)
4 star:
 (149)
3 star:
 (83)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An 'Amazing' New Era of Spider-Man Begins!
This review is for Timelord007, who is a fan of the Andrew Garfield era of `Spider-Man'.

With the 'Spider-Man' movie series in doubt, it was unclear whether there would be another movie featuring the web-slinging superhero. It seemed like Spidey's days were numbered, but the web-slinging superhero's days on the big screen were far from over as a new era was...
Published 10 months ago by Tim Bradley

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good
I wasnt blown away by this, im a spider man fan in context and was eager to get my eyes on this. It fell on its knees on a few issues for me. I wasnt wild about the villain in this, the cgi is too obvious for me, he isnt sadistic enough for me. Spiderman throwing out puns and jokes as he battles wasnt that hot for me especially as they werent funny hey.
The...
Published 23 months ago by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 2 362 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Knocks Toby Maguires wimpy Spidy for six. Great chemistry between Spiderman and his leading lady (they are an item so that helped). Much more believable action and plot and great to watch. Can't wait to watch #2. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spider man, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film love the effects and Spiderman of course !!
Unfortunately I watch the second one first, so spoilt my viewing of the 1st one but nothing to do with the film

Definitely would watch the 3rd !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I imagined, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having got used to Toby McGuire as Spiderman, I was a little apprehensive about 'another' Spiderman. However, the story and acting was as good as, if not better than the other ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good effects, some good acting, but not a vast difference from the last franchise, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I kind of enjoyed this, in that it is a good action flick. Didn't really add anything that the Toby McGuire films didn't have (apart from a better lead actor!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't think I'd enjoy it but it's good fun, 22 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a big fan of the original Spider-Man movie trilogy (yes, even the lame 3rd movie) so I was skeptical about whether I'd enjoy it (constantly telling myself that it was too soon for a reboot) but man, does Andrew Garfield deliver.

It's certainly a different take on the young Peter Parker, though he is back with his original girlfriend (from the comics) Gwen Stacey he is also qwirky instead of nerdy - all in all this makes him more relatable than the original Peter Parker and the chemistry between Emma Stone and Andrew Garfield is great.

Watch it, it's good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Super Hero., 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A mazing great film and I cant wait for the 2nd film coming out on blu-ray., a web of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Good Reboot, 3 Nov. 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Amazing Spider-Man.
Audio Description: English.
Region: 2.
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.40:1.
Directed by Marc Webb
Produced by Laura Ziskin, Avi Arad, Matt Tolmach
Screenplay by James Vanderbilt, Alvin Sargent, Steve Kloves.
Story by James Vanderbilt.
Based on The Amazing Spider-Man.
by Stan Lee & Steve Ditko.
Starring.
Andrew Garfield.
Emma Stone.
Rhys Ifans.
Denis Leary.
Irrfan Khan.
Martin Sheen.
Sally Field.
Music by James Horner.
Running time 136 minutes.
Language English.
Budget $230 million.
Box office $757,930,663.

Positive.
Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker / Spider-man whom really taps into the character & tone to perfection.
Gritty rebooting with huge set pieces & scale.

Negative.
I'd have liked some longer fight scenes between the Lizard & Spidey as there wasn't to much confrontion between the two characters.
.
DVD Special Features.
• Deleted Scenes
• Filmmaker Audio Commentary with Marc Webb, Avi Arad and Matt Tolmach
• Stunt Rehearsals
• The Oscorp Archives – Production Art Gallery

Plot synopsis.
A young Peter Parker discovers his father Richard Parker's study has been burgled, gathering up hidden documents, Peter's parents take him to the home of his Aunt May and Uncle Ben, then mysteriously depart.

Years later, a teenaged Peter attends Midtown Science High School, where he is bullied by Flash Thompson and has caught the eye of the beautiful Gwen Stacy, At home, Peter finds his father's papers and learns he worked with fellow scientist Dr. Curt Connors at Oscorp.

Sneaking into Oscorp, Peter enters a lab where a "biocable" is under development from genetically modified spiders, one of which bites him. On the subway ride home, he discovers that he has developed spider-like abilities.

After an argument with his Uncle Ben about responsibilities Ben is shoot by a robber & dying in Peters arms sets about Peters destiny in becoming crimefighter the amazing Spider-Man as with great power comes great responsibility.

Peter begins his quest to understand why his parents' disappeared - leading him directly to Oscorp and the lab of Dr. Curt Connors his father's former partner & as Spider-Man is set on a collision course with Connors' alter-ego, The Lizard.

Review.
5 years on from Spider-man 3 & Columbia/Sony are rebooting a franchise already?, Yes they are & I was very dubious as to why?, As the 3 Sam Raimi movie's starring Toby Maguire were an outstanding success & delivered quality Spider-Man movie's.

Due to creative differences between the studio, Raimi & Maguire both left the project & in came Director Marc Webb & Brit newcomer Andrew Garfield.

This is a far better made version of Spider-man & far more in tone with the comics with an outstandingly good performance by Andrew Garfield.

This version also has a running backstory of Peter's parents on the night they disappeared, Why would two parents leave there young boy with his Aunt May & Uncle Ben?

Although this thread will continue through the next set of movie's it does at least make the viewer intrigued adding something new to the reboot.

On being bitten by Spider at Oscorps lab Peter Parker is muted with a genetically engineered spider causing a mutation of Peter's Dna that gives him enhanced strength, Sharper reactions & able climb up walls.

When a old family friend of the Parkers Dr Curt Conners working at Oscorp is trying find a way for the body to regrow it's limbs & bodyparts but up to now has yet to find the missing piece.

That missing piece is Peter as he's a scientific genius like his father was & whom helps Dr Conners with his research & find the cure is from Lizard DNA.

Norman Osborne is dying & wants a cure to heal himself but Conners insists the formula untested so trys it on himself seems to have a successful outcome who's missing arm regrows itself to Connors delight.

But something goes wrong & Connors mutates into a Lizard were he takes to the city of Manhattan going on the rampage.

Can Peter help his dad's former partner Dr Connors back to normal or is Dr Connors so consumed by the Lizard that he no longer cares as instead he made a nerve gas to infect Manhattan causing everybody to be mutated to human hybrid Lizards?

With Manhattan under threat Spider-man must confront the Lizard in the streets & under the sewers in a attempt to stop his plan from taking form or risk die trying.

Great movie & a exellent performance by Andrew Garfield who seems to have the essence & acting chops in channelling the Peter Parker /Spider-man character to perfection.

Emma Stone is also on good form here as Gwen Stacy Peter's love interest whom brings a genuine kind warmth to to her role.

Rhys Infan's is surprisingly good as Dr Kurt Connors but I thought they needed to bring his family into the film to heighten the drama & tension as it would've played a more challenging aspect for his character.

Sally Field & Martin Sheen provide the supporting roles as Aunt May & Uncle Ben giving Peter a soul to provide the reason why Peter Parker becomes Spider-man.

This is a darker grittier tone than the Ramni/ Maguire movies but is all the better for it as The Amazing Spider-man delivers a exellent quailty reboot with a new identity.

As reboots go this is one of the best to date.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Fun Family Movie, 5 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
Really fun family film, think this is way better than the Toby Maguire version. Andrew Garfield is great as the troubled, but brilliant Peter Parker. Can't wait to see the second one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 3 Oct. 2014
Not great. I love the concept of Spiderman, but this film is poor. It wouldn't take much to sell this film to me, I grew up loving the Spiderman cartoons. This is just a bit crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Garfield, 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
Have to say having watched previous versions of Spiderman Movies I was keen to watch the Amazing Spiderman as I was not a big fan of Spiderman 2 and 3. I found the last 2 Spiderman movies extremely boring and had lost my love with this superhero. I can say though that after watching this movie my love affair with Spiderman has been reignited especially due to Andrew Garfield. He captured the essence of Spiderman perfectly and I loved the whole script. Can't wait for the 2nd one!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 362 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Amazing Spider-Man (DVD + UV Copy) [2012]
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews