Customer Reviews


430 Reviews
5 star:
 (199)
4 star:
 (105)
3 star:
 (64)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't think I'd enjoy it but it's good fun
I was a big fan of the original Spider-Man movie trilogy (yes, even the lame 3rd movie) so I was skeptical about whether I'd enjoy it (constantly telling myself that it was too soon for a reboot) but man, does Andrew Garfield deliver.

It's certainly a different take on the young Peter Parker, though he is back with his original girlfriend (from the comics) Gwen...
Published 8 months ago by I. Sato

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not convinced
Stan Lee wrote Peter Parker as being a bullied nerd at school. Andrew Garfield doesn't convince as a nerd. Toby McGuire was better. Also those devices to squirt web from his wrists? Wasn't it supposed to be just part of his body? Still its always good to have a spiderman film even if its not as good as the previous films.
Published 2 months ago by Avid Reader


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't think I'd enjoy it but it's good fun, 22 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a big fan of the original Spider-Man movie trilogy (yes, even the lame 3rd movie) so I was skeptical about whether I'd enjoy it (constantly telling myself that it was too soon for a reboot) but man, does Andrew Garfield deliver.

It's certainly a different take on the young Peter Parker, though he is back with his original girlfriend (from the comics) Gwen Stacey he is also qwirky instead of nerdy - all in all this makes him more relatable than the original Peter Parker and the chemistry between Emma Stone and Andrew Garfield is great.

Watch it, it's good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic film, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly recommended!! The new spiderman films are really good so much better than the old ones, love it!! Great for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An 'Amazing' New Era of Spider-Man Begins!, 23 May 2014
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
This review is for Timelord007, who is a fan of the Andrew Garfield era of `Spider-Man'.

With the 'Spider-Man' movie series in doubt, it was unclear whether there would be another movie featuring the wall-crawling web-slinging superhero. It seemed like Spidey's days were numbered as plans for `Spider-Man 4' by Sam Raimi were scraped in 2010. But the web-slinging superhero's days on the big screen were far from over as a new era was about to begin. `Spider-Man' was reinvented and rebooted for a whole new generation of fans to enjoy!

In 2012, the `Spider-Man' series was reinvented and started again with a new lead actor taking on the action-packed web-slinging superhero. This is `The Amazing Spider-Man', a new beginning for the web-slinging superhero starring Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker and Emma Stone as Gwen Stacey. Many wondered whether this film would be successful. But it worked, and has become popular today as the Tobey Maguire era of `Spider-Man' was.

When I first heard about this remake of `Spider-Man', I wasn't overtly keen. I remained loyal to Tobey Maguire's `Spider-Man' that I didn't think I would enjoy this new movie version of the superhero. Nor did I want to. I wasn't ready to accept a new face playing Peter Parker who becomes Spider-Man. Also I didn't want to start all over again with the spider biting Peter and getting super powers as I thought they'd already done that and didn't need to do it again. When it came out of the cinemas, I wasn't really bothered to watch it. But on a whim my parents suggested we'd go and see it. And I said yes, because even though the actor had changed and it was a complete reinvention of the wall-crawler, it was still `Spider-Man' and I knew deep down I would enjoyed it. I went, saw it and I enjoyed it! It was an `amazing' experience watching `Spider-Man' in the series again, and I really enjoyed Andrew Garfield who played Peter with a completely different angle in terms of story and character. I had no idea however, that it would turn out to be the success that it is today.

So what makes this version of `Spider-Man' different to the Tobey Maguire/Sam Raimi era? Well, firstly whereas the Tobey Maguire era took on a classic approach of `Spider-Man' from comics of the 1960s; this version takes a modern approach of `Spider-Man' from recent comics. Secondly, this film deals more with Peter Parker as a teenager in his high school rather than as a boy who comes out of school and enters the Big Apple of New York. Thirdly, the story, rather than being about the history of Spider-Man, is more about the history of Peter Parker. It deals with Peter's parents who drop him off to be with his Aunt May and Uncle Ben and he doesn't know why they disappeared or why had they had to leave him behind. It's a plot involving a mystery for Peter Parker and he works his way through solving the mystery whilst at the same time becoming the superhero he is as Spider-Man. It's a completely different approach, but it's not all the more engaging.

The story of `The Amazing Spider-Man' is this. Peter Parker is a social outcast at his high school in New York. He gets bullied by Flash Thompson and has a crush on the girl of his dreams Gwen Stacey. But Peter knows there's a secret to his past life when his parents left him to live with his Aunt May and Uncle Ben. Uncovering a briefcase containing forgotten secrets belonging to his father Richard Parker, Peter embarks on a trip to OsCorp to find out more and meet a working colleague of his father's Dr Curtis Connors. Whilst there, Peter gets bitten by a genetically engineered spider and gains super powers to crawl on walls. Very soon, he's swinging the skies across skyscrapers in a blue and red spandex costume as he becomes Spider-Man, fighting crime following the death of his Uncle Ben who gets killed by a mugger close to where he lives. Will he uncover more about his father's secret and his own past? Soon he comes up against Dr Connors who becomes the deadly Lizard!

To make mention on Spider-Man, he still crawls on walls, but can't shoot webs out of his own arms. He invents the web shooters in his suit to do the web slinging to capture criminals and swing through the city, which was in the comics. Spidey's costume is rather different from the traditional look we know. His eye pieces look different and the patterning of the red and blue on his costume is new. But he still is recognisable as Spider-Man.

Andrew Garfield plays Spider-Man/Peter Parker in this movie! I first saw Andrew in a two-part episode story of `Doctor Who' with David Tennant called `Daleks in Manhattan'/'Evolution of the Daleks'. I didn't know at that point he would go on to play the web slinging superhero for a new movie series. I think it's fair to be clear on this. Andrew is no Tobey Maguire, and that's the whole point. He's not a shy, nervous teenage kid at high school that we come to believe. He fits in with a modern-style of kid. He's still a social outcast, but he tends to be rather cocky most of the time and enjoy being on a stake board. I can't really connect to Andrew Garfield as I do with Tobey Maguire. But that doesn't mean to say he's bad. On the contrary, I like Andrew as Peter/Spider-Man. He's very good! What Andrew manages to get which I think is important in Peter Parker and Spider-Man is the sense of humour. I love how Andrew plays Spidey with that wise-cracking manner when it comes to fighting villains. The scene where he's in the car with the crook and the crook asks `Are you a cop?', he goes `You seriously think I'm a cop' and he's taking the mick is very funny. Also he's very agile and flexible in playing the web-slinging superhero and that makes it very thrilling. And when he does serious and emotional scenes as Peter, boy can he do those scenes very well!

The love of Peter Parker's life in this movie is Gwen Stacey, played by lovely Emma Stone. I found it interesting that they decided to go for Gwen to be Peter's love in this movie instead of Mary Jane Watson. But being Peter's first love in the comics, it more or less made sense. And it's easy to fall in love with Gwen when she's played by Emma. Gwen is a sweet and loving girl who Peter knows at high school. In the movie, Peter gets to know her and eventually meets up with her when she's working at OsCorp. Peter develops a close friendship with Gwen before they start becoming intimate with each other. Gwen gets to learn Peter Parker's identity as Spider-Man and both immediately fall in love with each other. Gwen is also the daughter of police captain George Stacey and has a family of three brothers to contend with. I really like Emma as Gwen Stacey in this movie, as she's so nice to watch and little did I know that she and Andrew would actually be a romantic couple from making this movie!

The villain for Spider-Man in this movie is the Lizard aka Dr Curt Connors, played by Welsh actor Rhys Ifans. Dr Curt Connors had appeared in the original `Spider-Man' trilogy, but never became the Lizard. Here we actually have Connors become the Lizard and turns out to be a colleague of Peter's father Richard Parker. This connects Connors and Peter together as the mystery-solving into Peter's past with his family takes place. I really like the relationship between Peter and Connors, and Rhys Ifrans who plays Connors is a likeable and mild-mannered scientist that you don't think for a minute he could turn into a villain. But his determination to have lizard DNA in a serum to put into his body to restore an arm he lost drives him forward and pretty soon he undergoes a transformation to becoming the Lizard. The Lizard is pretty terrifying in this movie and he and Spidey fight it out ferociously whether it's in the sewer tunnels or wrecking a classroom where Stan Lee's tidying up.

I recognised a face in this movie! Denis Leary appears playing George Stacey, Gwen's father and captain of the New York police. I'd seen Denis before in the film called `Small Soldiers' (coincidentally the same film I first saw Kirsten Dunst in) and he did the voice for Diego the sabre-toothed tiger in the `Ice Age' movies. I really like Denis' interpretation of Captain Stacy in this movie, that's very different to how James Cromwell played it in `Spider-Man 3'. Denis' Captain Stacy is pretty suspicious of Spider-Man, believing him to be a criminal in a mask. There's that tense argument between him and Peter over dinner at Gwen's house when they're talking about Spider-Man which I found very effective. Denis' character is sort-of a Jameson type of character, but with less grouchiness and more credibility. This is a pretty unusual role for Denis to play, being the father of Gwen and being in charge of the New York police. But he plays the part pretty well and I enjoyed watching him on screen.

Peter's parents appear in this movie at the beginning in the prologue of the movie. Richard and Mary Parker are played by Campbell Scott and Embeth Davidtz (who I know for playing Miss Honey in `Matilda'). There's a dark secret about these two, one they never shared with Peter as a little boy. They drop him off at Uncle Ben and Aunt May's house in order for him to not get involved with the life they're about to embark on. It soon turns out they both died in a plane crash. What is this strange secret that Richard Parker's been keeping Peter wants to know? Are we ever going to find out?

There's a character in the movie called Dr. Rajit Ratha, played by Irrfan Khan, who works as an executive at OsCorp. He's not a character in the comics, but in the movie he's Dr Connors' boss and is practically a threat to Connors' project on the lizard DNA serum when he's disrupting the deadline to meet. Pretty soon, he's in a taxi cab on the way home over the Williamsburg Bridge and the Lizard comes to attack for revenge and on a rampage...

Uncle Ben is played by Martin Sheen who I enjoyed. He plays a very believable Uncle Ben as much as Cliff Robertson did; concerned for Peter growing up at school and helping him through the struggles in life. He's a loving uncle who does tell Peter off at times and teaches him about responsibility. He's reluctant to tell Peter anything about his parents when they left him, but he still has a close bond with Peter. Pretty soon Uncle Ben gets killed in the movie, leaving a distraught Peter, but leaves a final message on his phone to say farewell which is very significant to the message of this movie.

Aunt May is played by Sally Field, who I liked as well. Sally's not Rosemary Harris, but she's still a caring and loving aunt acting like a mother to Peter. She loves making spaghetti and meatballs for Peter (Hmm! Nice!). Aunt May gets worried about Peter after Uncle Ben died and is going out on the streets at night trying to catch the guy who killed Uncle Ben and fighting crime as Spider-Man. She gets sleepless nights about it. Sally Field is a lovely actress to play Aunt May, who's caring and loving. I managed to watch Sally in another film afterwards which was `Lincoln', directed by Steven Spielberg and she was good in that!

J. Jonan Jameson doesn't appear in the movie, which is a shame as I really like Jameson and wondered why they didn't include him in these new films. Though who could replace J. K. Simmons?

The film's director Marc Webb, and he certainly makes a `web'-filled action-packed movie that is lives up to the superhero's title - Amazing! He has created the web-slinging and wall-crawling action of Spider-Man amazingly well and I've enjoyed watching how the fight sequences turned out. There are places where the movie's gritty in tone and also where it's light-hearted, and Marc Webb blends the two in the movie pretty well. He's done a remarkable job directing `The Amazing Spider-Man' and has made it engaging to watch with the characters and set pieces throughout.

The set design's pretty good in this movie too. I like visiting the new home of Aunt May and Uncle Ben in `The Amazing Spider-Man' world and visiting the OsCorp tower where Peter goes to find Dr Connors and also where the final battle takes place between him and the Lizard. New York is filmed beautifully as well and we as the audience are able to see the city as its best when Spidey swings through the city and journeys on construction cranes when he's injured his leg after being shot. The sewers are pretty spectacular too and I like it when Spidey's on a web in one of the tunnels and is waiting for something to happen with the Lizard and playing a game on his cell phone to pass the time. Dr Connors has his own lair in the sewers, which is left open for Spidey to see which I found pretty odd.

The special effects are spectacular too. The visuals of Spidey swinging through the city are more agile and dynamic than before. Also the Lizard's CGI make-up is pretty terrifying in a good way. You see new layers of the Lizard's face and anatomy that you don't see the monster in the same form twice. The stunt work's pretty good on this and seeing Andrew Garfield being agile and flexible in his spandex costume of `Spider-Man' is impressive as he's more spider-like on screen than ever before.

So `The Amazing Spider-Man' is a great start to a new era of the web-slinging superhero with Andrew Garfield playing the lead. I don't think this version of `Spider-Man' is as good as the Tobey Maguire era which will always be my favourite. But this is still `Spider-Man' and he will always be my favourite superhero in movies. I certainly love the romantic relationship between Peter and Gwen (played beautifully by Andrew and Emma), and I was looking forward to seeing where this relationship would go in the next instalment of the new `Spider-Man' series. An amazing start, as how it should be really!

This film is dedicated in loving memory of Laura Ziskin (producer of the Tobey Maguire/Sam Raimi `Spider-Man' trilogy and of `The Amazing Spider-Man') who passed away sadly in 2011.

The DVD for `The Amazing Spider-Man' isn't so choco-bloc on extras, but there's some interesting special features to enjoy. There's a commentary on the movie with director Marc Webb and producers Avi Arad and Matt Tolmach. There's `deleted scenes' cut from the final film. There's a series of `stunt rehearsals' depicting how they did the actual stunt scenes in the movie. And there's `The Oscorp Archives - Production Art Gallery' featuring pictures and artwork from the movie including Spider-Man, the Lizard and the environments. If you want more behind-the-scenes extras on `The Amazing Spider-Man', you'll probably want the Blu-ray release of the movie.

Join Spidey in his next adventure in 'The Amazing Spider-Man 2'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We have a New Spiderman and he is Andrew Garfield., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
Andrew Garfield is an Amazing Spiderman with excellent support from Martin Sheen and Sally field as his Aunt May and Uncle Ben.
The story is definitely more dark and sinister than with the earlier versions but still remains fairly faithful to the original story.
Do not do what I have done and wait for it to come out on video watch this and then go to see the next in the Cinema so you get all the glory as there is a lot of action that needs the big screen to be fully appreciated,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than Raimi's version!, 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a fan of the 'original' films with good ol' Tobey (although not the last one, because MAN that sucked), so I was kind of apprehensive about checking this out, but since it had Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone (actors I love), I figured I'd give it a shot.

This was such an awesome adaptation! Much more loyal to the comics, really captured the fun and cheeky side of Spidey, the characters (and character development) were just spot-on and everyone was fantastic in their roles.

Gwen and Peter shone in this (much more chemistry than Peter and MJ in Raimi's version) and I liked that Gwen was smart, funny and actually able to help. It's good to see a strong female figure in action movies who can help save the hero from time to time.

The villain in this was also much better developed and that general storyline was well-handled.

I don't want it to sound like I'm hating on Raimi's version, because that wasn't without its charms and I really did enjoy that. But, IMO, this far surpasses it in every aspect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spider-Man rebooted, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
A good, solid reboot of the Spider-Man film series. Garfield is charming and likeable as Parker/Spider-Man and the film carries along at a good pace. It's questionable whether this new version is as good as Raimi's still fairly new series of SM films but it does more than enough to keep the viewers' attention and offers some new insights into the SM universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing indeed., 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man (DVD + UV Copy) [2012] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this. I'm a fan of superhero films anyway, though I'm not specifically a Spidey fan. I felt fairly unenthusiastic about the previous Spider-Man trilogy and by the third one I kind of hated Tobey Maguire's Peter Parker.

So when this reboot came along I didn't expect much, especially a reboot of a franchise so recently done-to-death.

Turns out, I really enjoyed it.

Andrew Garfield's Peter Parker is an updated version of the classic comic-book version. And I think that went a long way to making him much more relatable for me. The storyline is really well paced and whereas the previous Spider-Man often felt somewhat indulgent, this one is lean and mean in all the right places.It doesn't over-use CGI, and plays a nice hand with the way Spider develops through the inevitable "discovering powers" scenes.

Another comparison is the one-off-love between Tobey Maguire's Peter Parker and MJ, and
Andrew Garfield's Peter Parker and Gwen. Maguire's Parker made me want to slap him, repeatedly. Garfield's Parker made me genuinely feel like this guy was having to make some tough choices during/after a period of turmoil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Super Hero., 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A mazing great film and I cant wait for the 2nd film coming out on blu-ray., a web of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as expected, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film, as expected. Great if you like spiderman films.Is quite a witty film. We enjoyed it very much, great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film., 2 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. R. J. Acton (Portsmouth. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super film the new Spiderman Andrew Garfield is excellent in the role a must see it must be stunning in 3D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Amazing Spider-Man (DVD + UV Copy) [2012]
4.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews