Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dumb Blondes???
We all know the reutation that blondes have, and most of us have heard the jokes at some point, but i think that this film certainly puts all those to rest, and does in fact prove that blondes are not as dumb as some people might think.
Elle Wood is a happy, bubbly, fun-loving, not so dumb blonde who decides to study law at Harvard University in an attempt to win...
Published on 17 Oct 2004 by no1filmaddict

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy watching
I have always been a fan of Reese Witherspoon and this film did not dissapoint. Very simple, easy to follow storyline with an instantly likeable main character. What I liked most about this film is that Elle(Reese)is not one of those irratating overly dumb blondes, she is just misunderstood and blonde! The plot falls down a little in the romance department, the...
Published on 9 Jan 2006 by Charlie Day


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dumb Blondes???, 17 Oct 2004
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
We all know the reutation that blondes have, and most of us have heard the jokes at some point, but i think that this film certainly puts all those to rest, and does in fact prove that blondes are not as dumb as some people might think.
Elle Wood is a happy, bubbly, fun-loving, not so dumb blonde who decides to study law at Harvard University in an attempt to win back her boyfriend who dumped her for somone more serious. At first she is given the cold shoulder by some of the snobby students for eing too dumb (and blonde) but with a burning passion to do well, she studies like mad and soon shows them a thing or two when she wins a murder trial.
Reese Witherspoon plays the sweet, fun-loving Elle, very well indeed and brings a chirpy light heartedness to the whole film which makes the audience warm to her immediately. Luke Wilson (the brother of Owen Wilson) plays Emmett Richmond the only person not to ingnore Elle when she arrives at Harvard. Selma Blair (who worked with Reece Witherspoon in 'Cruel Intentions') plays the very snobby new girlfriend of Warner, Vivian Kensington. Finally Matthew Davis plays the two faced bone head, Warner Huntington the third, who only wants a smart 'serious', and successful girl on his arm rather than one he loves. There are many more people in the film who were equally good in their roles, but i would be here all day.
As regards extras on this DVD, there are quite a few. Theres a featurette: The Hair That Ate Hollywood, a feature length audio commentry from the director Robert Luketic, several deleted scenes, and an original theatrical trailer. So theres plenty to keep the fans happy.
Although this film is of course about blondes and their intelligence, the thing that stuck me was that there was somthing much deeper. A passion for being successful and not letting anyone stand in the way, as one of the proffessors in the film said "If you're going to let one stupid prick ruin your life... you're not the girl I thought you were". Now theres a metaphore for life.
Overall, 'Legally Blonde' really is a brilliant light hearted comedy that should not be analysised socially, legally, or sexually, but just accepted for what it is, an enjoyable movie that proves one thing; that blondes are not as dumb as people think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, 26 Mar 2002
By A Customer
What a great little film. I rate this alongside other amiable comedies such as Liar Liar, 10 Things I Hate About You and Election as one of the most watchable, cliche-less, well acted and scripted comedies I have seen. It is not a classic film by any stretch of the imagination and it falls in the category of safe, formulaic comedies but it is certainly worth a watch, especially on video.
Reese Witherspoon is excellent, almost an antithesis of her character in Election, but playing the ditzy blonde par excellence, lending to her role so much heart that you really are won over by her despite the West Coast affectations that have marred so many teen comedies to date. This is NOT just another teen comedy. LB is a film that can be appreciated by anyone. It has little in the way of slapstick gags that made American Pie so accessible to younger teens and actually has a very clever (if formulaic) story with hundreds of little sub plots coming and going throughout. The relationship with her ex boyfriend's new fiancee is spot on, especially the way Elle endears herself to her by the end. The filibustering in the case she finally gets to defend is also inspired to a degree.
Yes, it is predictable and unbelievable but it does not pretend to be anything but an enjoyable hour and a half romp. All of the cast do superb jobs, the jokes are spot on (especially the catiness that exists between Elle and Veronica) and it actually makes you feel good, something that many, so-called, feel-good films do not. I will be buying it and watching it for a long time to come.
At last, amid all these many dire teen comedies comes a comedy that beats all the American Pies and Road Trips and Scary Movies that Hollywood can throw at us, hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth watching atleast once, 4 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This was much better than I thought it would be. I expected it to be another boring old film were the girl just runs after the guy and they live happily ever after but instead I actually got quite intralled in it and wanted to find out I the girl would get her law degree. Reese Witherspoon plays the part very well and deserves all the credit for making the film a hit.
I now want to see Legally Blonde 2 but I hope I'm not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Generally a great film, 27 May 2003
By A Customer
Legally Blonde is one of those 'chick flick' films. However if you like a fun filled film, you most likely will love it. Reese Witherspoon plays a great part and inspires us all to be a lawyer just like her.
A great watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy watching, 9 Jan 2006
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I have always been a fan of Reese Witherspoon and this film did not dissapoint. Very simple, easy to follow storyline with an instantly likeable main character. What I liked most about this film is that Elle(Reese)is not one of those irratating overly dumb blondes, she is just misunderstood and blonde! The plot falls down a little in the romance department, the love-interest seems a little unbelievable and towards the end and it all ties together a little too fast which doesn't fit the flow of the film. But for a nice simple film to watch on a Sunday afternoon when you don't really want anything too taxing then this does hit the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legally Blonde: Legally proficient!, 8 May 2004
By 
Mr. T. Speller "tomtedspeller" (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Now I'm a guy, so I should have hated this film. Except rather surprisingly (since every other bloke I know hates it, makes blonde jokes or goes into giggles at any mention of it) I found this to be quite a good film. Okay, it is also very clichéd, entirely predictable and fluffy as a poodle(and it's why I haven't given it 5 stars)... but what made this film good was that:
1)The dialogue is incredibly funny in places. And I know everyone's mentioned it, but Warner's one liner "I need to marry a Jackie and not a Marilyn" is just priceless, fantastic. Whoever wrote that bit of the script was a genius, :)
2)Reece Wetherspoon is ideally cast as Elle- incredibly blonde and daffy on the surface, yet driven, determined and actually quite sharp deep down. The kind of girl that you underestimate at your peril. And what is more, Elle is an inherently optimistic- and attractive- character- no matter what obstacles are in the way(sneering fellow students, sexist lecturers, a fashion major etc etc), her optimism and her spirit get her through. That's not bad going.
3)The film does make a very valid point about the nature of being a lawyer- that it is not necessarily what you know but how you apply it that is important. Okay, so her knowledge of fashion techniques used to win the day is entirely expected, but if you are able to use any sort of knowledge to win a big case then that is really quite a priceless asset- the kind of thing that makes a good lawyer.
Now do not even think I am taking this as a serious film, I am not. To be honest, I can see why more girls (particularly of the blonde variety, lol ) would like it than guys like me; as it is very fluffy, very sentimental in places and very much aimed at the female clientèle. However, for a chick flick this is actually surprisingly good. It is a thoroughly likeable, feel-good movie that will make you laugh- and even guys should be able to get something out of this film. And Reese Witherspoon, for the record, is not just a pretty blonde, she's actually a very good actress, who has got onto the Hollywood A-list by merit(as shown not least by this film).
So what to make of Legally Blonde? I'd say this is "legally proficient" (read: very good). If there is a message to be learnt from this film, it is don't judge a blonde by her hair! For this is better than your average film...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ZANY SCREWBALL COMEDY..., 15 Dec 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When I first saw this movie with my teenage son, I admit that my expectations were not particularly high. Was I ever pleasantly surprised by this delightfully funny comedy! Reese Witherspoon does a star turn as the not so dumb, California airhead blonde, Ellie Woods, who is dumped by her college sweetheart, Warner, before graduation, instead of getting the anticipated and expected marriage proposal. It appears that he has political aspirations and an ostensibly dumb and flamboyant blonde is not what he envisions having for a wife.
Seeking to prove herself worthy and knowing that he is planning on attending Harvard Law School, Ellie, a fashion major, also seeks admission with dogged determination and studies her charming buns off in order to do well on the LSAT, the Law School Admission Test. Her high LSAT scores, coupled with her hilarious admission video, and her perfect college grade point average, albeit in Fashion, get her through the portals of Harvard Law School, and the games begin in earnest.
What happens to her at Harvard is hilarious, as Ellie tries to get her former sweetheart back. She discovers, instead, something about herself that ultimately makes others sit up and take notice of her in a positive way. Reese Witherspoon is delightfully funny doing a comic turn and will have the viewer laughing almost immediately, while rooting for her. The supporting cast is likewise enjoyable. This is a funny, wacky comedy that is never mean spirited and is, instead, surprisingly uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny DVD, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I love this film and couldn't resist buying it. Updating my whole film collection at the moment with all my favourite films and this one will be perfect for a girls night in with my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely message., 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legally Blonde [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I think this film has a lovely message that some people are deeper than they seem. Really good easy watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a smart woman, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a ugly duckling film with a beautiful woman who goes to law school and transforms into a swan, funny touching and moving film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0bd16c0)

This product

Legally Blonde [Blu-ray] [2011] [US Import]
Legally Blonde [Blu-ray] [2011] [US Import] by Luke Wilson (Blu-ray - 2012)
Used & New from: 5.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews