Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for all dog owners
A perfect book for any dog owner wanting to have a better understanding of their pet's behaviour. Very easy and enjoyable to read. The book clearly explains the much misunderstood dominance theory, explaining instead exactly why your dog exhibits behaviours that are most certainly not dominant, but many still label them as such. Through the use of case histories she...
Published on 7 Jan 2012 by Shepherdess

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good information in it, but....
What is included is well written, very readable and helpful to a dog owner - but some cases described a bit too specific to be a general guide, which is more what I was hoping for. Although I enjoyed reading it, it left me feeling unsatisfied - not quite what I was hoping for. A useful addition to a dog behaviour library, but I had hoped it would be more comprehensive...
Published 7 months ago by Mrs. A. Halligan


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for all dog owners, 7 Jan 2012
A perfect book for any dog owner wanting to have a better understanding of their pet's behaviour. Very easy and enjoyable to read. The book clearly explains the much misunderstood dominance theory, explaining instead exactly why your dog exhibits behaviours that are most certainly not dominant, but many still label them as such. Through the use of case histories she identifies a number of behavioural problems. These include aggression, separation anxiety, nervous behaviour, problems relating to a lack of early socialisation,and then gose on to explain how she helped the owners change the dogs behaviour through kind non-confrontational methods. She also includes examples of how owners who have used various methods of punishment and rough handling, have inadvertendly created more problems for both themselves and their dog. Her approach is soundly based upon identifiying the reason for the problem behaviour then setting out to change that behaviour in a kind non threatening way. There are no quick fixes but plenty of advice on how to avoid problems occuring. A must read for any dog owner. Try it, you will pick up lots of tips and have a very enjoyable read into the bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for dog lovers, difficult to put down, 6 Jan 2012
By 
A. J. Hogan "ajh" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Have just finished this wonderful book. I would recommend to any dog owner or those thinking of one.Easy to read couldnt put it down.The opposite of a dry "how to" book Through different cases of dogs with challenging behaviours the author has been involved with, the book demonstrates that once the problem has been understood from the dogs point of view, how the relationship between the dog and owner can be improved often quite dramatically with a sensible change in the humans behaviour, with out any need for"heroics"or alpha rolls. A must read for 2012. I would definitely recommend that those who have developed an appetite for more and want a bit more "meat" go on to read John Bradshaw's "In defence of dogs" The two books would sit very comfortably next to each other on a doggy bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 27 Jan 2012
Finally a dog book written by someone with knowledge & experience! Sarah's insight into the dog mind is what we've all been waiting for. Forget all those sham TV dog trainers and their incompetent advice - this is the book you need!! Go fetch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best dog book, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is simply the best dog book I've read in a long time. It not only gives good information on do's and don'ts but illustrates with case histories so that the message sinks in in a subtle way. It's an easy and enjoyable read too. I read it in two sittings. If you still have lingering doubts about dominance, read this and put the dominance debate to bed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for every dog owner!, 18 Jan 2012
Over the years I have read many dog books as I have undertaken several courses in canine behaviour and training and this one is by far the best. Using easy to read simple terms the author explains everything a dog owner needs to know, from choosing the right dog for your family to how to prevent separation anxiety.

This book is hard to put down, as well providing valuable information and using kind and effective methods, it has been cleverly written in a light and humorous way.

I have been positively reinforced to keep reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Jan 2012
A wonderful book. Full of truths and insights, as well as blowing apart the myths that cause dogs to be understood. Am recommending it to all my dog loving friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written book., 5 Feb 2012
By 
OuluPulu (Oulu, Finland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very readable. Contains lots of knowledge about dogs, and - most important - lots of love for dogs.

I found the book easy and enjoyable to read and finished it quickly. I'm lucky enough to live with a Jack Russell who doesn't have any major behavioural problems. I think reading the book has helped me understand him better and (hopefully) will keep me from giving him any issues in the future.

Recommend it highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential reading, 19 Jan 2012
Witty and very well written. Additive reading and very hard to pull yourself away from the stories and informative knowledgeable information. An easy read to be enjoyed by all. Thank you Sarah for this long awaited treasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good information in it, but...., 22 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. A. Halligan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What is included is well written, very readable and helpful to a dog owner - but some cases described a bit too specific to be a general guide, which is more what I was hoping for. Although I enjoyed reading it, it left me feeling unsatisfied - not quite what I was hoping for. A useful addition to a dog behaviour library, but I had hoped it would be more comprehensive in its scope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab Book, 24 Jan 2012
If Amazon allowed 10 stars this book would earn them.
Read and understand why dogs do what they do. This great book dispels myths about dominance and pack leadership, teaches canine communication, how and why dogs learn and heaps more. Sarah even mentions SEX! The book is for anyone who owns a dog including all those trainers and behaviourists out there who are still telling owners their dogs are dominant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews