Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
As per previous reviews on the other 2 in the series absolutely a hoot and the concept really allows for imaginations to run riot. Made me laugh out loud in public on a par with Tom Sharpe. Do not be put off by it appearing to be written for the young market I am 70 and loved it.
Published 13 months ago by keith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
Quite a good read although really aimed at a younger audience, which wasn't really made clear in the write up
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saucerers and Gondoliers (Ant and Cleo Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As per previous reviews on the other 2 in the series absolutely a hoot and the concept really allows for imaginations to run riot. Made me laugh out loud in public on a par with Tom Sharpe. Do not be put off by it appearing to be written for the young market I am 70 and loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ant and Cleo book sequence, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saucerers and Gondoliers (Ant and Cleo Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Here are the Ant and Cleo books in sequence. Don't give me any credit, though, because I copied them from a review of one of the other books - anonymous, unfortunately, so I can't credit the reviewer either.
1. Saucerers and Gondoliers
2. Sister Ships and Alastair
3. There Ain't Gonna Be No World War Three
4. Destination Alpha Four
5. Dog On The Highway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, imaginative and very funny, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saucerers and Gondoliers (Ant and Cleo Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The first book I read in this series was destination Alpha Four and I liked it so much that I decided to read the whole series and didn't regret it. The author borrows with humour from many American and British science fiction, espionage and fantasy genres, to create truly original, intelligent and funny stories with likable characters and a space opera setting. Each book can be read independently but it is best to read them in order. I highly recommend these books to those who don't take themselves too seriously and like works of imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars freebie sci fi, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saucerers and Gondoliers (Ant and Cleo Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
obviously free to entice you to try more - this was entertaining and good in parts and sluggish in others - if you like sci fi give it a try it might float your boat (or space saucer)
the ideas in here are interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saucerers and Gondoliers (Ant and Cleo Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Although this series is written for children, there's a lot for grown-ups that children wouldn't get. At times hilarious, this series had me laughing out loud in several occasions. It helps if you can understand German, Russian, Spanish, Latin and Welsh (oes, Cymraeg!) as the author has sprinkled phrases in these languages liberally throughout. It's worth taking the time to translate these as one or two contain some of the best jokes.

The series is really one, long story and the later books have several references to characters and events from the earlier ones. So it's best to read through this series in order.

I thoroughly enjoyed episodes 1 to 5 and can't wait for the sixth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 10 Oct 2013
By 
D. S. Chaplin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saucerers and Gondoliers (Ant and Cleo Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Funny, pacey and really a lot better than I thought they would be. Paid for the whole series after reading the first for free. Will be looking for other books of his to read.
Funny, pacey and really a lot better than I thought they would be. Paid for the whole series after reading the first for free. Will be looking for other books of his to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bonkersky brilliant, 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: Saucerers and Gondoliers (Ant and Cleo Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
read it straight through and laughed out loud
would make a cracking film
looking forward to the next book and i have downloaded tge whole series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother., 19 Aug 2013
By 
M. Brown (Cochrane, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saucerers and Gondoliers (Ant and Cleo Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Just gave up after hoping it might get better.
Interesting idea but unsure who exactly the book is aimed at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting read, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saucerers and Gondoliers (Ant and Cleo Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
It was very hard to put this book down. Plot flowed along at a nice place. Some unexpected twists, which kept me going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saucerers and Gondoliers (Ant and Cleo Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I liked the small world books and thought I'd have a read. Aimed at pre teen and teens I think. Still recommended it to my 14 yr old, who enjoyed it and wants more. Interesting premise, some funny one liners and engaging characters. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews