Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars119
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£3.98
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2013
'Daybreak' is the third stand-alone novel by the Icelandic author,
and reveals his considerable versatility.
Goose hunters are being shot in different parts of rural Iceland.
Detectives Gunnar and Birkir are part of a team from Reykjavik
police department who are investigating.Initial enquiries lead
nowhere until the police receive a letter purportedly from the
killer,who then proceeds to set the police questions which they
must answer within a set time,otherwise he will kill again.
This novel has all the ingredients that make for fine crime fiction.
An innovative plot that keeps one guessing,interesting fully drawn
characters,and a vivid sense of place. Very enjoyable.
11 comment41 of 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
The original writing or translation really let this book down. Clunky and journalistic it seemed to get in th way of the story. The translators are described as English and Icelandic but it's definitely translated into American. Fine if I had been expecting that. A disappointing read.
22 comments16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
Good, unusual, fast paced story. The characters of the two main police officers are interesting and individual. The Icelandic setting is well described. I have already enjoyed the house of evidence by the same author and will look for more. Would appeal to those liking character led crime with a different setting and culture to explore as well as an exciting plot. Julesdw
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Some good descriptive writing and an engaging pair of detectives, however I'm not so sure about the plot. Some of the clues are really obvious and towards the end one of the detectives is so slow at working things out you feel like shouting at him to ask an obvious question. So an enjoyable holiday-type read but not a book I'm likely to reread in a hurry.
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
It was not very interesting, clumsy plot and cardboard characterand it was a struggle to finish. I could not recommend this to any of my friends.
0Comment12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
There was an opportunity to make what was basically a good plot into an excellent thriller AND THIS WAS LOST as the author threw in too much unnecessary and irrelevant information. It was as though he was struggling to achieve the amount of words required of him by the publisher and decided to bulk up his story with what turned out to be an annoying and needless distraction.

SO DISAPPOINTED

Graham
VERY
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
First foray into a piece written by an Icelandic author and set locally - in one of my favourite genres 'crime fiction'. Interesting plot with a few surprising twists and turns. Very enjoyable.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
The first part of the novel sets out in prosaic detail the murders that form the focus for the rest of the book. It then settles into a more relaxed examination of the individuals tasked with solving the mysteries. Congratulations to the translators for producing a piece of work that effortlessly conveys a whole new geography and culture.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
I enjoyed the story which had some mystery but less tension. I didn't feel as if there was a lot of complexity to the plot or depth of character. There was a real sense of landscape and place and Iceland is a new crime venue to be explored. A good but not great crime read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
Pro: It's well-paced, the cops and other characters are interesting and the locale is well described.

Con: American translation (sorry, Americans), and goose hunting - shooting, in English - isn't really a turn-on.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.98
£3.98
£3.98

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.