Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Archangel , heavenly
If you have never heard of Two Steps from Hell TSFH )chances are you have heard their music and never realised. You may have heard it watching X-factor or Top Gear or countless other tv shows, or watching a movie trailer at the pictures, thats what they do, they litteraly make music for trailers and shows. beacause of this the music is exciting, Epic, sometimes haunting...
Published on 19 Oct. 2011 by R. M. Bamford

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
OK
Published 13 days ago by gedankencoax


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Archangel , heavenly, 19 Oct. 2011
By 
R. M. Bamford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Archangel (MP3 Download)
If you have never heard of Two Steps from Hell TSFH )chances are you have heard their music and never realised. You may have heard it watching X-factor or Top Gear or countless other tv shows, or watching a movie trailer at the pictures, thats what they do, they litteraly make music for trailers and shows. beacause of this the music is exciting, Epic, sometimes haunting. I discovered them a couple of years ago after watching a computer game trailer and thought " wow that music was awsome " straight away i bought their album invicible and loved it, now they have released Archangel and its even better, there is not a a bad track on this album and at 26 tracks and a total of 72 minuits playing time its an absolute bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning followup album to Invincible - Two Steps From Hell have nailed the formula for Epic music, 28 Sept. 2011
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archangel (MP3 Download)
After their hugely popular initial album Invincible and TSFH composer Thomas Bergersen's solo effort Illusions, Archangel is the latest album by Two Steps From Hell. Following very much the same formula as their previous albums, this is once again full of epic orchestral and choral music.

I won't go into a track by track analysis of the album because of the huge number of tracks present, and also because each track is self contained opinion will vary considerably about what tracks you like best. That said, there were several standout tracks that deserve mention. Firstly, is track 2, "Archangel", which is probably my favourite track on the album. Frantic strings, awesome percussion and just after the half way mark is a brilliant solo female vocalist and a choir for extra punch, this is what makes Two Steps From Hell so good. Track 7, "Nero" contains some fantastic writing for piano and strings. Track 15, "Dragon Rider" sounds similar to the theme written by Harry Gregson-Williams and John Powell in "Escape from the Dragon" from Shrek, and I rather liked it. The final track Friendship to Last ends on a more tranquil note, with a good female soloist and a rousing melody to finish off the album.

The album duration is just over 70 minutes, and contains a massive 26 tracks. That's a lot of music for your money and there is certainly more than enough to justify the purchase.

I do think that Two Steps From Hell are probably the best group of composers of producing short epic trailer music style tracks. I don't think this album beats Invincible and Illusions in terms of quality, but it is a worthy equal, and anyone who likes these previous albums should not be without Archangel in their collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - if you like huge orchestral, epic soundtracks you have gotta hear this..., 21 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archangel (MP3 Download)
Wow - if you like huge orchestral, epic cinematic soundtracks you have gotta hear this...the sheer power and emotive force of all of these tracks is just jaw-dropping. I found myself being totally immersed from the beauty and the adrenaline inducing strength of this album. Massive layered strings, haunting choirs, thunderous percussion, dancing piano, even the odd distorted guitar. It's all here in epic proportions. Truly amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EPIC +1, 6 July 2012
This review is from: Archangel (Audio CD)
Even better than Invincible.

If you own Invincible, that should be all the encouragement you need to get Archangel. If you don't own Invincible, rectify that imediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excelent workout music, 29 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archangel (Audio CD)
I stumbled across this music on youtube & thought it'd be pretty good workout music & nice change from the normal rock i listen to. I found its right up my street because they work the electric guitar into the epic classical sounds very nicely.

I was right, it gets you totally pumped! I also recommended it to a friend who took it to the gym on his mp3 & he described it as like running into battle while on the treadmill.

I wouldn't recommend listening to it in the car coz once you get into the music you'll no doubt be breaking the speed limit!

So for me it was an excelent buy, i'm totally into it & it complements my taste im music very nicely. I intend to buy the 'Immortal' album also.

I ordered it from a supplier in the states coz it was cheaper & although I was quoted 28 day for delivery it came in about a week & a half so I was very happy.

So go on, buy it, you know you want to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic music, 17 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Archangel (MP3 Download)
If you loved their first public release you will just love Archangel. The music is still gripping and the vocals make the hair stand up on the back of your neck. All the tracks are equally good. I look forward to more releases in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again...., 5 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Archangel (MP3 Download)
I am sitting here on my first listen through, not even finished all the tracks and had to write my review. Invincible was an extraordinary album, pulling you into each track and leaving you with a great feeling afterwards, fast paced, powerful and beautiful.

Archangel is in a word "better". They have outdone themselves with this album, astonishing and if you just liked Invincible you will love this. It feels a more structured, with each track feeling more connected to its neighbours. The vocals are again staggering and powerful, giving you a tingling feeling.

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too Much of a Good Thing, 25 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Archangel (MP3 Download)
All the tracks on the album are good. They are also, more or less, all relentlessly dramatic, exciting and epic. I like that. Unfortunately when you listen to them all together they start to blur together into one fast tempo thundering, but ultimately bland experience. The album really is a case study for the need for some calmer music (which normally annoys me about albums like this, but I stand converted. With this in mind I'd heartily recommend the album, but listen to it in dribs and drabs, or your first listening might be a loud disappointment. Its all great stuff, its just that there doesn't seem to be a dynamic between the tracks. But the tunes are all good, and that's the main thing

B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars truly fantastic, 1 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archangel (Audio CD)
This is a must cd for any anybody who wants a real diversity of film music.. There's a bit of everything in here. Got Invincible last year,, that was my 1st TSFH cd, I liked it.. BUT THIS is a real treat. Great tracks, over 70mins of awesomeness.. Put it on and crank up the volume. Two Steps From Hell . Fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like this, try Two Steps From Hell, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archangel (Audio CD)
If you want the diametric opposite of all the demonic and diabolic metal, and some of us do, here it is. If you like this, try Two Steps From Hell : Heaven, and Journey Beyond The Sky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Archangel
Archangel by Two Steps From Hell
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews