Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Summertime in the Sixties
If, like me, you purchased this album knowing only half a dozen tracks, you will not be disappointed. The jangling guitars and tight harmonies represent a soundtrack of my childhood in the mid-sixties, and if you love the music of this era, this album will be a great addition to your collection.
Published on 1 Sep 2009 by Mr. P. Battison

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good old stuff
I bought this CD to replace an old cassette, and was happy to find many of the Byrds' classics on it, some of which I had heard sung by other artists. It is like a trip down memory lane, but I won't need any more from the Byrds. This one covers it.
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by Caroline B. D. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Summertime in the Sixties, 1 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. P. Battison (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best of The Byrds (Audio CD)
If, like me, you purchased this album knowing only half a dozen tracks, you will not be disappointed. The jangling guitars and tight harmonies represent a soundtrack of my childhood in the mid-sixties, and if you love the music of this era, this album will be a great addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!, 23 July 2006
By 
C. Barlow "tkkeele1" (Stoke, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Very Best of The Byrds (Audio CD)
The Byrds along with The Velvet Underground the most underrated band of the 60s. The Byrds probably the founding fathers of Psychedelia, mixing folk,country and psychedlic rock makes them one of the most influential bands of all time.

Starting With Mr Tambourine Man one of the finest covers of all time, with a fantastic guitar riff, Turn,Turn,Turn and brilliant riff as well and one of my favourite Byrd Songs, and ofcourse the unmistakable Eight Miles High one of the finest Psychedelic songs of all time, Featuring Dave Crosby and Roger McGuinn recognisable 12 string guitar maes the Byrds in my view just as important and influential as The Beatles, Bob Dylan, and the Kinks, this is just a brilliant Compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-titled CD!, 26 Nov 2010
By 
pgm3 "pgm3" (cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Very Best of The Byrds (Audio CD)
Every once in a while "So You Wanna Be A Rock 'n' Roll Star" or "Eight Miles High" or "Down In My Easy Chair" or "Chestnut Mare" or one of those great old songs pops into my head and Just Won't Leave. I gave into the temptation, and ordered the CD -- amazing how much great music these guys wrote and/or performed in their short band career. Without the Byrds, there's no jangly folk-rock (Jefferson Airplane, Fairport Convention, on to Tom Petty, the Smiths, REM or even these days' Sufjan Stevens). Well, that's slight hyperbole but in truth those artists might very well sound different today save for the 12-string Rickenbacker of McGuinn and the tight harmonies of Bob Dylan's favorite dance band. David Crosby's first group...that should tell you all you need to know. Even George Harrison went out and got a Rickenbacker! Very worthwhile for any 60's fan or for any modern musician with folk roots -- that would be all of us, right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great US pop of the sixties, 11 Sep 2010
By 
Peter Wade (Colchester England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best of The Byrds (Audio CD)
Pre Beatles we were fed a lot of US rock and roll. After what the Americans called the British invasion the US groups had a hard time making any headway.

I could hear British R& B all day long on the pirates so I was always interested to hear the Americans who of course created rock and roll. The Byrds were great with their jangling guitars and their very stylish look. Roger Mc Guinn with his tiny shades.

Mr Tambourine Man was their first and greatest hit. It showed us that although Bob Dylan was a great song writer his songs were always done better by other people who could sing and make his music melodic.

They made some great tracks and they were popular right though the sixties finishing off with Ballad of Easy Rider which must have come out in 68/69.

This is all their greatest songs and brings back a great period of US pop. I cant get enough of songs like My Back Pages and Eight Miles High. I even love So You want to be a rock and roll star?

As one of the other reviewers said they are up their with the Beatles Bob Dylan, Beach Boys and the Kinks.

Can't recommend it highly enough. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillianr Byrds, 21 April 2010
By 
Alan Davies "Alan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Very Best of The Byrds (Audio CD)
A stunning collection of all the Byrds Classics from 8 Miles High to Mr Tambourine Man. Includes the brilliant Easy Rider theme, which few other compilations do. A 'Must' for anyone new to west-coast soft-rock, and an opportunity to consign earlier Byrds discs to the bin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Popular, 18 Sep 2013
By 
S. Bailey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Very Best of The Byrds (Audio CD)
At the end of the occasionally sentimental liner note to this popular retrospective The Byrds' biographer Johnny Rogan observes that: "A month seldom passes when a music magazine does not use the phrase 'Byrds-like' in describing an act or performance. It is the ultimate compliment to their innovation that The Byrds themselves should end up as a musical sub-genre for the 21st century."

This conveniently-arranged, budget-priced selection of the folk-pop, psychedelic rock and country music that this ever-changing group made in the 1960s, gives plenty of clues as to why this adjective has become part of the lexicon of pop music journalists. Amongst its 24 songs are the lion's share of their hits such as: 'Mr Tambourine Man'; 'Turn! Turn! Turn!'; 'Fifth Dimension'; 'Eight Miles High', and 'So You Want To Be A Rock 'n' Roll Star'. These fresh-sounding, jingly-jangly melodies had me nodding my head in agreement when Rogan refers to the group's "empowering influence" on a multitude of successful bands, including: The Pretenders; Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers; REM; The Smiths; The Stone Roses, and Teenage Fanclub.

But this unchronological, descriptively-titled 70-plus minute collection isn't without its faults. The slightly less credible, concluding portion of their fruitful existence seems a little underexposed here; whilst the omission of 'Wasn't Born To Follow' and 'Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man' - which regularly feature on greatest hits sets by the group - does seems somewhat puzzling. And some of their many covers of label-mate Bob Dylan's compositions that feature here ('This Wheel's On Fire' and 'It's All Over Now, Baby Blue') have arguably been better done by other artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes you back, 15 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Very Best of The Byrds (Audio CD)
I think that that this is the only album of the Byrds you will ever need, this style comes from an era of Jefferson Airplane, Vietnam and flowers. It's an excellent collection of some very good pieces; it demonstrates that Bob Dylan was at the top of his game with song writing at this time! A very good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All The Classics Are There, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Paul Rance (Whaplode Drove, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best Of (MP3 Download)
The Byrds are probably America's greatest rock group, and certainly one of its most versatile. On this album there's folk rock, country, psychedelia, Jesus rock, and Dylan covers aplenty. The Byrds were once named in the Holy Trinity of rock, along with The Beatles and Dylan. This album explains why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic album, 16 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best of The Byrds (Audio CD)
an absolute must for anybody into quality 60's music 10/10!
bargain at the price! I'd forgotten what a quality outfit they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Blast From The Past, 11 Sep 2010
By 
C. Manning "mud man" (devon,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very Best of The Byrds (Audio CD)
I should imagine the younger generation have never heard of "The Byrds"let alone listened to there music ! Obviously im at the age when i do remember these musical treats ,although i must say some of the tracks i had totally forgotten about ,but after hearing them again they still sound good, well worth purchasing !!!!!!!The Very Best of the Byrds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Very Best Of
Very Best Of by The Byrds
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews