Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2012
I had forgotten how much I enjoyed reading Monica Dickens - last read probably when I was in my 20s, about 40 years ago. Her descriptions, particularly of people, are so vivid that you get a really clear picture. This book has been a pleasure to read again.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Although I enjoyed this book - the heroine didn't grab me. I thought she had more gumption than displayed in the book. Perhaps the author intended her to be a weak character. Not one of Monica Dickens best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
I read all of Monica Dickens books over forty years ago, and was delighted when they were reprinted. I was even more pleased that i still enjoyed this book and it was as I remember it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Interesting ideas and characters you care about, - great insight into the complexities of relationships and of "life's rich tapestry"
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
Oh gosh. They don't write women characters like this anymore, thankfully. A super-smart middle-class girl who can outwit fearsome bosses and an overpowering mother but becomes a passive victim when she marries an abusive working-class weakling. Give me strength. Well written (Dickens - granddaughter of Charles - always wrote fluidly) car-crash fiction, and hard to put down, but hideous, like watching an insect writhing on a pin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
I love the way Monica Dickens writes and draws you into the world of the book. A good story and a real page turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
I like Monica Dickens books as she paints a really good picture of the characters, and this book is no exception.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2011
I love all Monica Dickens books--impossible to pick a favourite-I am hoping that from now they will all be available on Kindle very soon.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.