Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in a sumptuous series
Silence Hollingbrook once paid a pirate's ransom to save her husband. She stayed the night with St Giles's most notorious pirate king, Mickey O'Connor . . . one purely innocent night that ruined Silence's reputation forever, and destroyed her marriage.

When Silence's husband perished at sea she was heartbroken and drowning in grief, despite the fact that their...
Published on 7 Nov 2011 by Dee18

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment
Having waited patiently for the next book in this series, I must say that I feel somewhat let down. Whilst the initial premise of the book is fine, I found the use of Americanisms and appalling editing so frustrating. I have noticed this before withthe books published by Piatkus - has anyone else come across this? Anyway, apart from this gripe I found the book not...
Published on 3 Nov 2011 by Mrs. Jennifer A. Mander


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in a sumptuous series, 7 Nov 2011
Silence Hollingbrook once paid a pirate's ransom to save her husband. She stayed the night with St Giles's most notorious pirate king, Mickey O'Connor . . . one purely innocent night that ruined Silence's reputation forever, and destroyed her marriage.

When Silence's husband perished at sea she was heartbroken and drowning in grief, despite the fact that their marriage had been over ever since she'd agreed to Mickey's offer.

The small ray of hope that dragged Silence out of her misery was Mary Darling, an abandoned baby left on her doorstep. Little Mary, with her head of black curls and pansy-coloured eyes filled the void left by her husband's death.

But now Mary's father has come to take her away . . . the pirate king, Mickey O'Connor.

Mickey is in the middle of a St. Giles turf war against the scarred and terrible Vicar of Whitechapel. Mickey has been battling the Vicar throughout his childhood, spent on the dangerous streets of St. Giles.

The Vicar has somehow got wind of Mary Darling and her adopted mother, Silence. Mickey will do anything to protect them - not out of the kindness of his own heart, but because nobody touches what's his.

But when Silence agrees to stay at Mickey's `palace' and live amongst his looted treasures with Mary Darling, she starts to unravel Mickey's history with the Vicar. She sees beyond his affluent criminality to a dark, wounded heart . . .

`Scandalous Desires' is the third book in Elizabeth Hoyt's sublime historical romance series, `Maiden Lane'.

Silence and Mickey's romance has been brewing since first book `Wicked Intentions'. For two books now we have been reading their heated dance - between Mickey's impossibly cruel deals that tarnished Silence's reputation, to Mary Darling's appearance on her doorstep. Now `Scandalous Desires' delivers fans the romance we have all been waiting for - between a notorious Pirate King and his virtuous woman.

Hoyt's `Maiden Lane' is one of the best historical romance series I have ever read. So to say that `Scandalous Desires' is my favourite book thus far is big talk. . . and it's all thanks to Mickey O'Connor.

Forget Jack Sparrow - Mickey is pirate du-jour, the hottest swash-buckler you'll ever come across and a delicious fantasy. As is Hoyt's trademark, Mickey begins the book as a total scoundrel and womaniser. He's despicable and deplorable, greedy and unfeeling, utterly selfish in every way. The only reason he wants to protect Silence and Mary Darling from the Vicar is because they're his, and nobody touches what's his. Of course, Silence and all her virtue fascinated Mickey . . . she is his antithesis, pure and good, a sweet counterpoint to his black heart. But Mickey expects Silence to bend to his will and succumb to his charms.

Except Silence is nothing like the doxies Mickey usually beds. She is strong and self-possessed, viciously protective of those she loves and never afraid to speak her mind. Mickey is charmed, instantly and unfathomably.

Slowly, Mickey's heart thaws to Silence and his own daughter, Mary Darling. He becomes desperate to protect them both from the Vicar, not because they're his property but because if anything were to happen to them - he would never forgive himself.

Mickey and Silence have the most explosive romance of any Hollingbrook sibling thus far explored. It's partly thanks to Hoyt's masterful building of their romance over the last two books . . . but also simply down to opposites attracting and Mickey's climb to grace from such great depths.

A few new characters are introduced in this book, including Hollingbrook black sheep, brother Asa. And beloved secondary characters, like the prudish Winter Hollingbrook, are fleshed out and given glimpses into their upcoming books. I, for one, really hope that Asa Hollingbrook gets his own novel . . . because even the small, tantalizing little mention we get in `Scandalous Desires' had me crossing my fingers for unlimited instalments in the incredible `Maiden Lane' series!

`Scandalous Desires' is also the book that takes readers through the grimy streets of St. Giles, and reiterates the dangers of Maiden Lane. Because Mickey has lived in St. Giles all his life, and is its veritable King, Hoyt does some really masterful things with the descriptions of this sad little London town. Some of her scene-setting is truly magnificent for being mired in scum.

`Scandalous Desires' is my favourite instalment in an incredible historical romance series. Mickey O'Connor is a sublime pirate rake, and an instant fictional favourite. `Desires' ends on a delicious cliff-hanger concerning the Ghost of St. Giles . . . leaving me all aquiver for `Thief of Shadows' in 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, brilliant, wonderful!, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely Brilliant! Captivating from beginning to end! Fell for the characters from the beginning. Exciting, full of action, passionate and romantic, no repetition. Elizabeth Hoyt is my favourite author of historical romance. Imagine a passionate romance, crossed with a Dickens novel with a few murders thrown in for hood measure and you have Hoyt. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAB!, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandalous Desires: A Maiden Lane Novel: Book Three (Kindle Edition)
Fell in love Nicky and Silence's story, I love elizabeth hoyt books. It's been a fantastic series and although I read this one last it didn't matter, what sequence you read them in. Will miss these books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandalous Desires: A Maiden Lane Novel: Book Three (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the book and will be purchasing others in the series. One of those books that you don't want to put down. Will be recommending to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandalous Desires: A Maiden Lane Novel: Book Three (Kindle Edition)
I read this book by Elizabeth Hoyt it was my first by this author and I really enjoyed it. I have since learnt that there were two books before this one so will now read books 1 and 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandalous Desires: A Maiden Lane Novel: Book Three (Kindle Edition)
This is my first time reading Elizabeth Hoyt it will not be my last . Historic romance set in St Giles rather than Mayfair with all it's violence . It is a great love story with usual hero and heroine but no the less believable and captivating. I would thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good reading, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandalous Desires: A Maiden Lane Novel: Book Three (Kindle Edition)
enjoyable book but you really have to read book one and two first to really enjoy it and get to know the characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scandalous Desires, 12 April 2013
This review is from: Scandalous Desires: A Maiden Lane Novel: Book Three (Kindle Edition)
Another novel by Elizabeth Hoyt that has kept me reading from start to finish.
I strongly recommend this book. The true mark of a good book is when you can't stop reading until you come to the end. I have now read two books by this author in succession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, just fabulous - on every level., 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scandalous Desires: A Maiden Lane Novel: Book Three (Kindle Edition)
Scandalous Desires is book 3 (I think) on the Maiden Lane series.
You don't need to have read the earlier books to make sense of this one, but it will make you more fully appreciate the awesome talent of this author if you have.
Silence is a widow, her beloved husband dies as sea and her remaining solace is a baby, Mary Darling abandoned on the steps of the Foundling Home she helps run. However, it turns out Mary Darling is the child of one Mickey O'Connor and it just so happens that Mickey is a dangerous river pirate, who's worst enemy is out to hurt him any way he can...and knows where Mary lives. As his enemy, the Vicar, closes in on him Mickey has no choice but to move Mary, and the woman the babe regards as mother, into his palace to protect them. But Mickey hasn't reckoned on falling in love with Silence and his daughter, and is faced with life changing decisions if he is to face up to his true feelings.
I L-O-V-E-D this book. On so many levels it could have been a disaster - how can love flourish between such polarised good and bad people, how can a notorious gang man succumb to the soft attractions of a virtuous woman? And yet, somehow, Ms Hoyt manages it...and then some, with style.
This book is perfection for its type - the only possible reason it could receive reviews rated anything less than 5 is if the reader isnt truly looking for a great, escapist historical romance in which to lose themselves.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely love this book and all the Maiden Lane books I have read I am eagerly waiting for the other 2. The characters in this book are beautiful it's written amazingly. It's difficult to put down you find yourself wanting to scream at the characters. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews