Customer Reviews


174 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wannabe comedy writers take note
Steptoe and Son - 3 words that define what great situation comedy is all about. And here's 3 more words that define great situation comedy - Galton and Simpson. The combination of brilliant writing and acting sets this series apart, and here it all is now - complete in one neat box set. No gimmicks, no extras, just great, timeless comedy.

Steptoe and Son...
Published on 18 Jun 2008 by Jl Adcock

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Abysmal release quality
I agree with all those who say that this represents total comic genius. However, the BBC mistreatment of this gem means that we are forced to suffer abysmal archive quality picture and sound which totally negates any viewing pleasure obtained from the experience. Indeed, on many so called monochrome episodes, I remember distinctly seeing them on TV in colour. We should...
Published 1 month ago by Mystic Man


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wannabe comedy writers take note, 18 Jun 2008
By 
Jl Adcock "John Adcock" (Ashtead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Steptoe and Son - 3 words that define what great situation comedy is all about. And here's 3 more words that define great situation comedy - Galton and Simpson. The combination of brilliant writing and acting sets this series apart, and here it all is now - complete in one neat box set. No gimmicks, no extras, just great, timeless comedy.

Steptoe and Son works because underneath the humour are real dilemmas and a sense of tragedy and frustration, played out beautifully by actors not looking for a cheap, instant laugh.

Anyone remotely interested in writing comedy could do worse than invest in this box set, and take note of how perfectly each episode is contructed. For the rest of us - we can simply watch and enjoy; knowing we are unlikely to see such comedy quality again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a stroke of genius and the best of all time., 9 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
here it is; the best sitcom in history in my opinion. great to see the christmas specials finally released.
witness the unique on-screen chemistry of wilfred brambell and harry h. corbett as they impeccably bring the scripts of ray galton and alan simpson to life.
episodes such as "divided we stand," "the desperate hours," "robbery with violence" and "live now P.A.Y.E later" are classic examples of the programme's legendary status.
this boxset will cost a few quid to be sure, but worth every penny i assure you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Genius! That's All There Is To It., 21 Oct 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "A Likely Lad" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
As previously noted this is perhaps Britain's finest comedy, along with The Likely Lads and Porridge there really is nothing to touch them.

I was a little sceptical at first about releasing a boxset of the entire series so soon after the single season discs but there is something rather nice about having the entire show together in one set and I will be buying this for sure despite having the singles, I can always give them to my Nephew.

There really is no point reviewing each season as that has already been done but if you are new to Steptoe then I advise that you buy this set, for one thing it's cheaper than the combined total of the singles and secondly it has a truly lovely cover that will look very nice on the shelf.

Go on! Treat yourself to a comedy show that is not just a classic but is quite simply comedy genius in both acting and writing, and there isn't many of those around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Steptoe And Son, 8 April 2009
By 
E. Hemsley "old codger" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I waited with bated breath for my Steptoe And Son Collection to arrive. What a glorious piece of entertainment history. I watched them the first time they were broadcast and time has not dimmed the quality of the humour. Included is the pilot episode " Comedy Playhouse " as it was called at the time. 13 Dvd's, 55 episides plus 2 christmas specials, great value at any price. Series 1 - 6 are black and white but hey thats all most people had in the way of a tv when these were guys were in their hay-days. Series 7 & 8 are in glorious colour as are the 2 christmas specials. Dated they may be but if you want to relax with some time honoured, not too " PC " good old fashioned belly laughing humour this is the stuff for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars steptoe&son dvd box set, 18 May 2011
I have collected the steptoe and son videos for many years and thought I had every episode,including the lost steptoes'. I was therefore pleased to find that included in the box set were a few episodes I had never seen,and well worth the price I paid on amazon.Make no mistake this is a complete box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 14 May 2008
By 
Mr. G. King "70s addict" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is simply the best sitcom ever made .I was bought this as a present and must admit it the best thing ive been bought in ages .I havent laughed so much in ages I think the early black and white ones are the best .I would recomend this to anyone even if youve never seen an episode before fantastic....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valentines day present, 7 Mar 2009
By 
K. Sneesby (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this dvd box set for my husband who,s a big fan, he loved it, watches it over and over again. Well worth the money. For any steptoe and son fans out there this is a great buy.It contains every single episode, and a couple of christmas specials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step back in time for a good laugh, 11 April 2011
Steptoe and Son's ridicously messy yard full of waste and trash provides the backdrop to some of the funniest moments in British TV. Wilfred Brambell aka Albert, was born to make you laugh and the pseudo upper class tones of Corbett, aka Harold are nothing short of genius. If you like the old stuff, let's face it comedy on TV falls a little short these days, this boxset is both cheap and funny from the start to the end. All the episodes are here. Buy it, laugh at it and then watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best sitcom ever ! ! !, 5 May 2008
By 
P. Ryland "the totter" (worcester uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A shame they dont make comedy like this anymore , this is a gem the complete boxset of every episode of this classic comedy .ive had hours of fun watching them all ,the work gone into restoring the lost episodes seies 5 and 6 is brilliant some reviews have said the picture quailty is poor in my opinion i think its great considering the tapes of of this episodes were made on a very primitive recording machine by ray galton , great work by the british film institute for restoring them who cares their in black and white just enjoy . Harry H Corbett and willy brambell are fantasic this is the best sitcom ever and well worth the money thanks to the bbc for a great boxset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious British comedy, 12 May 2009
By 
Rob (Australia) - See all my reviews
Steptoe and son is a great example of british comedy. Every topic is made fun of, and no one is spared. Wilfrid Brambell and Harry Corbett are fine actors. They are not comedians which is why the comedy seems so real. It doesn't feel scripted at all. The predictability of the characters has you in stitches! Even though it started in the early 60's, it is still great to watch and relate to. Highly recommended to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Steptoe & Son (repackaged) [DVD]
The Complete Steptoe & Son (repackaged) [DVD] by Harry H. Corbett (DVD - 2011)
£22.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews