Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destined to become a huge cult classic
Despite winning a lot of awards at various festivals (check out the wiki page for the impressive full list), The Revenant was frustratingly not given a proper release for far too long.

It deserves to become a cult classic (in the best sense of the phrase) though as it's a very intelligently written new take on the zombie genre, something with a lot of genuinely...
Published on 12 Dec 2011 by alexfinch

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK in a gory charming way.
I read a few reviews on this and to be honest it's "OK". I wouldn't say it was side splittingly funny or anything, although if you have a low mental age you may just laugh. The story is basically about a man who gets killed and comes back as a Revenant, a bit like a Zombie but has all his faculties. Along with his best friend they basically go out enjoying themselves and...
Published on 10 July 2012 by Mr. A. Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destined to become a huge cult classic, 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Revenant [DVD] (DVD)
Despite winning a lot of awards at various festivals (check out the wiki page for the impressive full list), The Revenant was frustratingly not given a proper release for far too long.

It deserves to become a cult classic (in the best sense of the phrase) though as it's a very intelligently written new take on the zombie genre, something with a lot of genuinely fascinating ideas which are explored beautifully. Ultimately a horror film with a comedic edge, it has a lot of fun with it's concept, whilst still managing to pull off some truly horrible scenes. Yet it's also got a very strong emotional core, and certain moments are surprisingly tender and touching.

I won't say much more as part of the fun is seeing how the film develops, but ultimately I loved this and would really recommend it to any film fan - and not just those in to horror films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK in a gory charming way., 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Revenant [DVD] (DVD)
I read a few reviews on this and to be honest it's "OK". I wouldn't say it was side splittingly funny or anything, although if you have a low mental age you may just laugh. The story is basically about a man who gets killed and comes back as a Revenant, a bit like a Zombie but has all his faculties. Along with his best friend they basically go out enjoying themselves and acting as vigilantes. The film raises some interesting situations and is well acted (It's got the guy out of Heroes in it!), the script is OK and the overall special effects and feel is good. You'll enjoy it but I can't exactly say I laughed, but it does have a certain gory charm about it. If you want a gory film which is light hearted then you will probably like this, but doubt you'll love it.

The big problem is the script and story didn't make full use of the scenes to make them actually funny. Alot of the jokes and script just failed to deliver a comic value and you do find yourself making up funnier scenarios in your head that the film didn't think off. This doesn't mean it made it bad, just that it fell into the quirky, not funny area but still retained a certain charm, mostly because the star who is a good actor.

Overall, it was nothing near as crap as "Super" which I still find the most unfunny film in history, as well as the worst. If you want a funny gory film I would strongly advise you look for Tucker & Dale vs Evil as this showed me how it should be done.

Andrew
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zombies + vampires = a pretty good film (amazingly), 7 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Revenant [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, so zombies and vampires seem to have been done to death lately. We've had romantic vampires, comedy zombies and a hundred hybrids of the two. So, just when we think we've seen every different slant on the undead genre, comes The Revenant.

Here, they combine the two, i.e. sentient `zombies' who don't just groan around the place eating human flesh, but instead, only come to `life' at night and desire human blood, ala vampires.

Amazingly, it works.

The Revenant tells the story about an American soldier killed in Iraq. He's shipped back to the States, only to wake up in his coffin as a zombie-vampire (or Revenant, as per the title). After he's suitable freaked out his best friend by coming back from the dead, they set about one self-destructive adventure after the next, picking off local drug dealers to feed their nocturnal blood lust.

Although I found everything about the film really good - great acting, believable (and not totally dumb) characters, excellent zombie make-up and gore, I noticed the film is billed as a `horror comedy.' Well, I get the horror aspect, but didn't find that much to laugh at. Okay, there were a couple of bits that made me chuckle. But then a few lines in Terminator 2 were also there for humour's sake, but I doubt many people consider T2 a comedy.

Anyway, bottom line, if you haven't had your fill of the undead yet, try this little gem, it's actually pretty good (plus it's `cult' enough for you to impress all your friends with a zombie/vampire movie that they probably have never heard of!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funny and relevant, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Revenant [DVD] (DVD)
i really enjoyed this movie, it was very entertaining and funny in places however, made you aware of the consequences of your actions, both characters are good friends, however they differ slightly in thier morals, funny when you consider what they ultimatly become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kick Ass meets The Living Dead - sort of, 5 April 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Revenant [DVD] (DVD)
This is a genre splicing film from Wanko Toys Productions, and that has to be the best production name ever. It links the `Death Wish' revenge theme with the undead zombie theme. The basic synopsis is our hero Bart (David Anders) is killed on active duty in Iraq. His body is repatriated and a grieving girlfriend and best mate bury him. The preacher is one of those full on sanctimonious Bible bashers that insinuates that Bart may not have embraced the Lord enough in life to be welcomed through the Pearly gates, so we should all take note. This gets best mate Joey (Chris Wylde) thinking if his best friend may actually have gone to Hell.

Well he needn't have fretted, as later that night he gets a knock at the door and a voice from the past calls out. Yes you guessed right, Bart has returned, and after some initial scepticism Joey takes in his old mate, but he soon has to make a trip to the Emergency Room after Bart finds he can't process normal food, the penny finally drops when the Hospital goes mental at the thought of the living dead. After some inter web research Joey realises he is neither Vampire nor Zombie, so they decide he is a Revenant - from the French for one who has come back after a long time, often from the assumed dead.

Then they get mugged and after a tussle they realise that Bart can have a steady food supply and do society some good by killing criminals and homeless and drug dealers and just about anyone that they consider bad.

This is billed as a riotous comedy and it does have some very dark humour but not belly laugh stuff, the gore is pretty full on though. The actual story is the real strength, and the twists are far from obvious or sign posted. I agree this is to be feted as a cult classic very soon, but 'Dead Heads' is way funnier, this though has more pathos, and much better make up. There is also a great homage to `Dirty Harry' which you have to see. I really enjoyed this great film but needs viewing caution as we have some so called `strong language' and lots of gore/violence and loads of shooting.

This is not a full on Zombie fest but it is a new take on the subject and I prefer a sentient Zombie to the slow walking drooling sort that is the norm, this also plays it straight despite the humour, it is not camped up like say `Gory Gory Hallelujah', which I also liked. This also has some lovely touches like the roaches in the apartment and the great Camaro that Joey drives, if you like your zombie movies fresh then look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 23 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Revenant [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I just got this film on Blu ray from my German store and watched it in English.

It's an excellent film, funny, inventive, sad, happy, crazy, bloody, violent, tragic and personal. It was strong through beginning, middle and end and I laughed a lot, especially at the end. It is an excellent zombie film.

The picture and sound are very good. The acting is very good. The effects are excellent. This is a director who worked as a special and visual effects guy on a lot of major sci fi films (I looked on IMDB and he worked on The Abyss, Lost Boys, Bubba Ho Tep, etc etc etc etcs and he clearly knows what he is doing. This film looks great, the effects are great and a lot of fun.

This film is a MUST for any zombie fan. Also for any fan of buddy horror comedy films like Tucker and Dale vs Evil.

I just wish there were more films like this around. I hope the director makes some more films soon. His last film before the Revenant was in 1996!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid, 22 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Revenant [DVD] (DVD)
Sorry, but I could not see how other critics gave this film any stars. It looked promising after the initial opening 10 minutes then went down hill rapidly from there. The special effects were really good and the concept was ok, but I just hated it and switched off after 30 minutes. If you like zombie films, avoid this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a..., 29 April 2012
By 
This review is from: The Revenant [DVD] (DVD)
Just a really great movie, so different and entertaining with some really funny (and gory) moments. I've watched a lot of zombie movies and this just came from a really different and interesting place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Revenant [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film and am immensly pleased with the quality. I will watch this film many times in the future. Epic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars seen better, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Revenant [DVD] (DVD)
This film proposes that zombies can think if they want. and hunt to stay alive, or dead depending on your view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Revenant [DVD]
The Revenant [DVD] by D.Kerry Prior (DVD - 2012)
4.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews