Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Horror
CandyMan is now used beside the likes of Jason Voorhees and Freddy Kruegar in terms of characters and has became a horror icon. This i do NOT agree with, CandyMan is not your avarage horror or slasher film, it really is a modern day classic horror.
Being skillfully directed and excellently shot (seeing some great camera work throughout) the film supports a decent...
Published on 5 Oct 2008 by M. Western

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars None of the special features put on the blu ray
Well what can I say..A huge let down. Universal really failed on this one. None of the special features from their previous DVD release of Candyman have been brought over for this release, not even the commentary. Which is shocking because this should be an upgrade of their previous DVD. Picture quality and sound not great either, very similar to the DVD. If you have the...
Published on 5 Jun 2012 by G. Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Horror, 5 Oct 2008
By 
M. Western "Zombie" (Wakefield, West yorkshire, Enagland, Eurpoe, Earth, Some random 'milky way') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
CandyMan is now used beside the likes of Jason Voorhees and Freddy Kruegar in terms of characters and has became a horror icon. This i do NOT agree with, CandyMan is not your avarage horror or slasher film, it really is a modern day classic horror.
Being skillfully directed and excellently shot (seeing some great camera work throughout) the film supports a decent cast, in particular Tony Todd who is outstanding as the Candyman.
Amazingly, the film has music composed by none-other than Philip Glass, aiding in the extremely eery feeling and atmosphere that the movie drags you into. The music of CandyMan will be burned in your head for months after watching this film and as for the film itself, its not exatly going to be an experience you'll forget lightly.
The film is now over 10 years old and is still holding strong in quality as well as standing out above modern competition as well as the films of its own time. CGI effects that were used were done so in a way that wouldn't be looked back on and seen as outdated, thereby holding its integrity as a shockingly atmospheric horror.
Unlike many other 'horror' films that this film is grouped with, CandyMan is also a scary film, which these days is a very rare thing to come by. In all the "100 best horror movies" "50 scariest movies ever" (most probably on channel 4) programmes, CandyMan has always been listed high up, and for good reason.
This special edition dvd is also a brilliant release of the classic movie, housing some intriguing extras as well as a brilliant documentary on the film that, unlike alot of documentarys on special edition dvds, is actually very interesting.
Id recommend this to any fan of horror and/or cinema in general, its not just a great horror movie, its a top-notch film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning..., 22 Nov 2001
By 
N. Roscoe "edgein86" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Candyman [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Candyman was the best psychological horror film of the 1990's - if not the best ever made.
Based on a short story by Liverpudlian novelist Clive Barker, the film centres around an urban myth involving a hook-handed killer who'll come if you dare to speak his name five times in the mirror.
A simple premisce makes for an intelligent film that is both poetic and terrifying, not least because of the wonderful score by Philip Glass.
Starring Tony Todd as the vengeful killer and Virginia Madsen as the curious University student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possible the greatest Horror film of all time, 10 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Candyman [DVD] (DVD)
I remember a few years ago when I was a mere ten years old. Rumours had started up around the playground about an evil that would come when you called his name in the mirror five times. It wasn't until I was twelve that I realised that what I had heard those years before had been from a film. Immediately, I set out to find this film so that I could see what people were talking about. Of course, at twelve I never could until a couple of years later I saw that C4 were showing a film called Candyman as part of their extreme cinema season. I set my video so that I could watch it the next day. I was never dissapointed. This film has everything that a true horror film needs - it has blood, suspense, terror and drama. This is the film that you should watch late at night with friends and then see who dares to call his name.
I was never ready for what I saw. This was the first, and only, horror film that I became addicted to. The storyline based around urban myth and legend was so familiar as it was what I had heard in school. Candyman isn't about a psycho like in Halloween for instance, but it is about a pure evil that was created from true love. There is no part of the story that you can guess what is going to happen, the ending is one of the most shocking and unpredictable endings of all time and all the actors play their parts superbly. After this film Tony Todd (Candyman) became exactly what he said, "the writing on the wall, the whisper in the classroom."
In my opinion the greatest horror film of all time, but don't buy it if you are just interested in gore because it is kind of limited. Gore fans should buy Candyman 2: Farewell To The Flesh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD release, 12 Dec 2006
What can be said about this excellent DVD?

Good special features, including informative documentaries. Curious if were real bees or not? What Clive Barker thought of the film? Who was behind that haunting soundtrack? It's all there.

The picture quality is probably as good as it's ever going to be outside of the HD realm, but it stands up. The sound is a little bit rusty, but in a good way.

It's a great film, and this is a great release. Don't hesitate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GO ON AND SAY HIS NAME FIVE TIMES INTO A MIRROR,I DARE YOU!, 19 Sep 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Candyman [DVD] (DVD)
When candyman was released some 14 years ago it was with a fresh feeling as the film explored urban legend and folklore,something that wasnt part and parcel of the horror genre of the time,nowadays its standard practice but candyman helped kickstart the art.

More of a thriller than a straightforward horror in my opinion candyman tells the tale of a woman who hears of the candyman legend and wants to explore further,i never understand why people dont run,instead walk hand in hand with the demon in these films,but as the more she uncovers the more she becomes obsessed with something that people dare not mention.

Candyman is both entertaining and gory,always a winner,check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smarter than the average slasher, 17 Nov 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Doing a thesis on modern urban myths along the lines of alligators in the sewers, university professor's wife Virginia Madsen comes across a housing project (American for slum) where a series of savage murders are blamed on the Candyman. An educated slave who was killed after falling in love with a white woman, he reappears to anyone who says his name five times in the mirror. Successfully disproving the myth, the real Candyman appears to cast doubt on her and reclaim his myth...

Despite its very uninspiring pedigree - Virginia Madsen and director Bernard Rose's names were synonymous with the very worst in 90s cinema while Clive Barker's taste for excess has had very mixed results on screen - and misleadingly sold as a slice-and-dice horror with its mythical hook-handed killer a successor to Freddy Krueger, Candyman is in fact a very convincing and compelling psychological thriller. As the striking and classy title sequence implies, the influence is more Hitchcock than Halloween, but with none of the stylistic imitation that usually implies.

Whereas in the hopelessly botched Paperhouse Rose was reliant entirely on manipulating the film's soundtrack for cheap effect, here his screenplay manipulates the central character's state of mind with more satisfying results. The heroine's role is unusually strong and well defined with just enough doubt as to whether the film's crimes are committed by her or the Candyman. Although the film finally bows to the dictates of formula with an epilogue as unnecessary as it is predictable (apparently shot under protest by Rose), this does not quite undermine what has gone before. Rose even manages a new and particularly bloody twist on the smoking gun cliche.

With surprising restraint and strong performances from Madsen and Tony Todd, Candyman may not be to everyone's taste but as an intelligent and imaginative successor to the Val Lewton psychological horror movies of the forties has much to recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2.98 is a bargain for this classic, 22 Oct 2008
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't add too much to what has been said in the other reviews.

Candyman is one of the finest atmospheric horror films ever made. The film doesn't rely on any teenage bimbos or hunks as most horror films do today and the whole film is shot to perfection around Chicago. You feel like this could actually be happening. This is one of those rare films that you actually do feel a sense of dread the whole time.

The only note to add is the DVD I got did not match the picture shown.

I'm not complaining as who can at 2.98.

BUY IT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars None of the special features put on the blu ray, 5 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Candyman [Blu-ray] [1992] (Blu-ray)
Well what can I say..A huge let down. Universal really failed on this one. None of the special features from their previous DVD release of Candyman have been brought over for this release, not even the commentary. Which is shocking because this should be an upgrade of their previous DVD. Picture quality and sound not great either, very similar to the DVD. If you have the dvd already, don't buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You won't be going near any mirrors for a while, 18 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. R. J. Everett "rob57836" (Ipswich, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Probably the best Clive Barker cinematic adaptation, 'Candyman' is a lot more than your bog standard monster horror flic. Some silky cinematography combined with some compelling performances (not least from the chronically under rated and under used Virginia Madsen), a truly memorable film score and the fact that the film provides some food for thought in it's exploration of the concept of urban myths, elevate it above most of it's contemporaries. It's also very scary in a true play on your mind, use your own sensibilities against you way. You certainly won't be going near any mirrors for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweets to the sweet, 24 Jan 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Candyman [DVD] (DVD)
The urban legend motif has been around for a long time now, but Clive Barker took this time-honored theme and ran with it in the form of Candyman, one of the most original, atmospheric horror films of the 1990s. This well-made film satisfyingly captures the unique vision of Barker, blending in myth, folklore, socioeconomic stratification, fear (definitely), terror (of course), gore (buckets full), and truth to create a complex story quite unlike too many run-of-the-mill slasher films that titillate yet rarely intellectually satisfy the horror aficionado. Helen Lyle (Virginia Madsen) is a grad student working with fellow student and friend Bernadette on a thesis built around urban legends, and once she hears the story of Candyman, she is compelled to make this particular legend the focus of the work. According to the legend, Candyman will appear if you look into a mirror and repeat his name five times—if you believe, that is. The residents of Cabrini-Green, a tenement house not far from Helen’s home, believe; in fact, Candyman is being blamed for a very recent, particularly gruesome murder there. Helen braves the dangers of the rough neighborhood to explore the murder scene; having discovered that her own apartment house was originally built as a tenement house just like Cabrini-Green, she knows a secret means of accessing connecting rooms, and her look around the adjacent apartment of the murder victim reveals a plethora of Candyman references and clues. Helen’s obsessive investigation of events leads her deep into Candyman’s world, but when she is attacked and identifies her real-life attacker to police, the people begin to doubt the reality of Candyman. For that reason, Candyman is compelled to appear to Helen, and he sets in motion a dramatic series of events that will assure the continued, fervent devotion of his followers. The police blame Helen for the ensuing murders, and her options wind down to only one possible course of action at the end. One cannot really blame Candyman for being so angry. A talented black artist in the late 19th century, he was tortured and killed after the white woman he fell in love with became pregnant. His hand was sawed off, and then he was covered with honey and left to die at the stingers of innumerable angry bees. He has a hook for a hand now, and that is the weapon he uses to gut his victims.
There is plenty of blood and guts in this movie; evisceration by an old rusty hook is an unavoidably messy way of dying. I appreciated the definition and characterization of Candyman; he is both real and not real, and he philosophizes poetically on the virtue of his immortal type of being. He lives in the fear of others, his name frightfully whispered among the members of his de facto congregation; both children and adults are terrified of him, but they believe, and that is what makes him strong. Helen’s character tended to get on my nerves at times; there is just something about her that I find annoying. Toward the end, she comes to doubt her own sanity while struggling to accept the truth of the Candyman’s unique existence in this world, but Candyman leaves no doubts as to his own existence. The movie seems to drag a bit here and there, but the gloomy fog of unreal apprehension that rides the wave of possibility and myth into the slums never turns loose its grip on the audience. Tony Todd is superb in the role of Candyman, filling the screen with his presence whenever he appears and seemingly floating just outside the boundaries of observation when he is absent. If you want to watch a gore-blessed horror film that somehow manages to appeal to your intellect as well as your prurient appetites, Candyman may just be your movie. The ending, I should note, is quite good and reflects the careful touch with which an artist performs his final brush stroke on a work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Candyman [Blu-ray] [1992]
Candyman [Blu-ray] [1992] by Bernard Rose (Blu-ray - 2011)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews