Customer Reviews


269 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (58)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2012 version updates make this software perfect!
I previously reviewed FTM 2011 for Amazon vine and the only major issue with it was the lack of automatic synching with your family tree on ancestry.co.uk. This has been sorted in the new 2012 release so hence the 5 stars!

Here's an updated review for the FTM 2012: The programme installed flawlessly on my laptop (windows 7). Please note if upgrading from a...
Published on 23 Nov. 2011 by South Londoner

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can destroy years of work
My Wife is heavily interested in this topic & has used the FTM programs for years, she spends at least 5 hours per night working on her trees & has people from all over the World contacting her for help & advice.
Whenever a new version came out we updated. From 2010 2011 V16, problems started to occur, usualy when backing up, & work previously entered disapeared...
Published on 9 Nov. 2012 by Peter


‹ Previous | 124 25 26 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy FTM 2012, 10 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Family Tree Maker 2012 Platinum Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
You can,t get to your sisters or brothers husband by clicking on him you have to search the index and its the same on all your family tree.This works ok in FTM 2010.Dont buy FTM 2012. Keep to FTM 2010 It,s the better buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker 2012 Platinum Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
very happy with this item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 28 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker 2012 Platinum Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
Product as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker 2012 Platinum Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
Very happy with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very user unfriendly, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
H. Green - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker 2012 Platinum Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
Using the programme can be very confusing , many excursions back to the manual to work out simple tasks. Making a book using their software is not straightforward. Text wrapping not allowed, inputting historical backgrounds already prepared in Word, which include photos, not possible. Exporting a family tree, or part tree into other documents is not possible, requiring printing and then photocopying as picture to be able to use resulting in poor result. Very disappointing user unfriendly product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As a gift, 20 Mar. 2012
By 
M. de-layen Vian "M5dlv" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Family Tree Maker 2012 Platinum Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This has been used extensively by the person that I got it for, and it has eaten hours of pleasurable time for that lady.

The interface very straightforward, but will all of these packages, a fairly significant investment in time required to ramp up.

The results are organic - and adding to existing "trees" is straightforward, as is amending any omissions or mistakes.

Overall good if you are after this kind of package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purchased for Ancestry.co.uk, 1 July 2012
By 
Saddler (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker 2012 Platinum Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
I purchased Family Tree Maker 2012 (FTM) mainly for the Ancestry.co.uk licence. Purchasing FTM for half the cost of a 6 month licence at Ancestry (£77) is a "no brainer". I tend to ignore FTM and logon to Ancestry directly. What can you say about Ancestry.co.uk! I have managed to trace my family tree back to medieval times. I even have a family stately home in Norfolk. FTM and particularly Ancestry.co.uk is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker 2012 Platinum Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
Still using it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker 2012 Platinum Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
Good software
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
By 
Tom (Holywood) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Family Tree Maker 2012 Platinum Edition (PC) (CD-ROM)
not brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 124 25 26 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Family Tree Maker 2012 Platinum Edition (PC)
Family Tree Maker 2012 Platinum Edition (PC) by Avanquest Software (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£36.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews