Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remastering heaven
I'm a sucker for remastered versions even though I know that it's just an excuse to get you to buy something you already own. However just occasionally, it's a revelation. Wasn't convinced that the 2011 Dark Side sounded that much better but the second disk was worth the cost of admission alone. Where the 1994 double live CD Pulse was hampered by having to synch with the...
Published on 7 Nov. 2011 by Dave

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pink Floyd Cardboard Cases !
Hi, I am disappointed in all these so called saving the environment cardboard cases that have taken over the plastic jewel CD cases, nowadays. They are so awkward to actually get your CD's out of, the discs are so tightly packed in them that you end up putting your fingers over the discs to try & get them out & end up marking the disc. I have given up & ended up ripping...
Published on 22 Jun. 2012 by Justin.B


‹ Previous | 1 2 350 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wish It Was A Good Pressing, 20 Dec. 2011
By 
David Holmberg "Happiness Stan" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wish You Were Here [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Opted for the UK (EU pressing) due to complaints about US pressing quality. Unfortunately this pressing had similar issues. Side 2 was noisy from the start and half way through there was a lump with a foreign object pressed into the vinyl. However the sound quality on side 1 was pretty good and compared to my, bought from new, NZ pressed 1980's copy, it seemed a little clearer though somehow less involving. (I actually found the DSOTM 2011 vinyl more exciting than this one). I of course returned the LP which was quickly replaced by Amazon, who even fronted the extra (exorbitant) cost of return postage from NZ.

I must say that the packaging for international travel was substandard, (I think these ship ex-Germany), the practice of tossing a few bits of screwed up brown paper in the softish box with the LP does not guarantee an unscathed record cover. The box arrived crushed and bent and the LP showed corner damage, this is not the first Amazon ex-German shipment that has arrived damaged through insufficient packaging.

I think other reviewers have covered detailed listening analysis so I'll leave it there. My replacement copy remains unplayed.

I take one star off for the inferior (dirty) pressing of side 2 and poor packaging and another for the uninvolving listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Lost Souls Swimming In A Fish Bowl..." - Wish You Were Here by PINK FLOYD (1CD 'Discovery Edition' Remaster), 29 Sept. 2011
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
*** THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE 2011 SINGLE-DISC VERSION ***

I've reviewed the 2011 remasters of Pink Floyd's "Meddle" (1971), "Obscured By Clouds" (1972) and "The Dark Side Of The Moon" (1973) - all of which are sonically amazing - but hugely disappointing on the packaging front (miniscule booklets that exclude original details and don't expand your knowledge a jot). It's pretty much an identical story here. But let's get to the details first...

1. Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 1 to 5)
2. Welcome To The Machine
3. Have A Cigar [Side 2]
4. Wish You Were Here
5. Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts 6 to 9)

"Wish You Were Here" was originally released 12 September 1975 on Columbia Records PC 33453 in the USA and 15 September 1975 on Harvest Records SHVL 814 in the UK. This 26 September 2011 single-disc version (released 27 Sep 2011 in the USA) on EMI 50999 028945 2 2 is a straightforward 5-track remaster of that studio album. A 2CD 'Experience' Edition and a 6-Disc 'Immersion' Box Set both arrive on 7 November 2011 (see images below). This single-disc 'Discovery' reissue comes in a gatefold card sleeve with a newly laid-out 12-page inlay inside (total playing time 44:18 minutes).
[Note: original UK copies of the vinyl LP came in a 'black' shrink-wrap with a centred circular 'clasping-hands' sticker obscuring the cover underneath (US issues had 'blue' shrink-wrap). This new issue doesn't feature either of those, but instead simply uses the now familiar artwork underneath - two men shaking hands (one of them on fire).]

Like all the other albums in this 14-title reissue series - JAMES GUTHRIE and JOEL PLANTE have remastered "Wish You Were Here" at the Das Boot Recording Studios in Tahoe in California (Guthrie is a Sound Engineer associated with the band since 1978). The original 1st generation master tapes have obviously been given a thorough going over because it truly feels like each segment has had a staggering amount of time spent on them - worrying out every single nuance possible. The audio result is truly impressive.

On original 1975 vinyl and even later Audiophile represses, this most loved of their albums has always been a sonic disappointment - and frankly the 1994 remastered CD wasn't a whole lot better either. That's no longer the case. Little will prepare fans for "Have A Cigar" (sung by fellow Harvest Records label mate Roy Harper) and "Wish You Were Here" (the two opening tracks on Side 2). The funky keyboards and choppy guitars of "Have..." are unbelievably clear - huge in your speakers - while David Gilmour's acoustic guitar lead that comes in at about 1:10 minutes on "Wish..." is simply gorgeous (lyrics above).
The power of the synths on "Welcome To The Machine" still thrills, but the album's centerpiece has always been the 9-part "Shine On You Crazy Diamond" which is spread across both sides of the album (Parts 1-5 opening Side One, Parts 6-9 ending Side 2). Suddenly it's as if a fog has been lifted off the recordings - by the time it hits Dick Parry's astonishing sax solo at 11:10 minutes - I'll admit to having the same chills I had when I first heard it - all those innocent years ago. Another surprise is how good Parts 8 and 9 on Side 2 are - superb keyboard work from Rick Wright and often forgotten in favour of the more famous Parts 1 to 5 on Side 1. It's an impressive remaster, it really is - Guthrie and Plante are to be praised for their work here.

I wish I could say the same for the staggeringly unimaginative packaging. The 'Pink Floyd' logo you see in all the photos advertising these new reissues turns out to be a sticker on the outer shrink-wrap that gets lost the second you unpeel it. The card sleeves are like The Beatles 09/09/09 EMI reissues - glossy and flimsy - so they smudge with finger prints the second you open them and are easy to bend and crease. The CD itself has the new generic artwork (the sticker design on the outer packaging) repeated in different colour variations throughout the series - a sort of Turquoise and Pale Green for "Meddle", a garish Red and Pink for "Obscured By Clouds", Black and Gray for "Dark Side..." and for "Wish You Were Here" we get Blue and Green. But where is the beautifully designed sticker that graced original album sleeves on both sides of the pond - or the superb logo on the original label? This ludicrous new design has no relevance to the original and speaking of the disc itself - there's no protective gauze sleeve for the CD either so it will scuff on repeated plays. They've put the postcard that came with original albums as a centre-spread in the booklet instead of printing it separately - one of the biggest bands in the world and we get this cheapo s***...

But the skimpy booklet is the biggest disappointment. Although it has the lyrics (like this is a major improvement) it seems little different to the 1994 issue. It has no history on the album (it was about Syd Barrett and the music industry), no pictures of European and Worldwide 7" sleeves for "Have A Cigar" (the single lifted off the album), the different US album artwork etc. There are a few pictures of the band in the studio; the gatefold has the man swimming through sand (newish), but naught else to get your teeth into. OK - it does look nice and does the job adequately - but that's all. It's a lazy-assed approach on behalf of EMI and undermines the sterling work done on the sound front. I hate to come across like some nick-picking fan boy here, but it would have been nice to actually 'discover' something on this so-called 'Discovery' version (docked a star for that). And the superb 17:32 minute Parts 1 to 7 'Edit' of "Shine On You Crazy Diamond" on the 2001 2CD Best of "Echoes" is A.W.O.L. too.

To sum up - I'm thrilled to say we finally get five-star sound for this truly unique album, but sadly only 3-star presentation in my book. Still - with the truly beautiful sonic upgrade - the casual listener is advised to dig in, rediscover and enjoy.

Die-hard fans however might want to wait for the Japanese Editions that will inevitably arrive in 2012 on the far superior SHM-CD format (a better make of CD playable on all players). With their faithfully reproduced artwork and audiophile reproduction - they may give your bank manager a cold sweat - but they will absolutely be the ones to get if the best is all you'll accept.

On hearing this - "Meddle", "Obscured By Clouds" and the magnum opus that is "The Dark Side Of The Moon " should be your next port of call. I suspect many will feel exactly the same...

PS: fans of memorabilia should note that for this launch - HMV London is giving away a titled banded-envelope containing 6 colour postcards in the same style as the one in the original LP (a girl diving into a lake) for customers who purchase 2 titles in this reissue campaign. They're gorgeous and will probably become future collectables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yet another missed opportunity - shoddy, EMI!, 8 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The music on "Wish You Were Here" - possibly the Floyd's best-ever album - is faultless and can be recommended without reservation, especially this remaster which offers the listener subtle but significant improvements on previous incarnations.

The bonus disc, likewise, sounds superb and contains some peerless music, from the three '74 live tracks; the eerily beautiful "Wine Glasses" from the aborted "Household Objects" project; a lengthy, more languid "Cigar" sung by Big Rog; to the album title track, complete with a sparkling contribution from Stefane Grappelli.

It's the rest of it that lets this set down. The AV DVD is very short and contains some de-contextualised screen films from '75 (boring after one viewing, TBH) and a pointless Thorgerson short film. That's it. The audio DVD has surround mixes, as does the DVD.

There's the usual tat (cheap scarf, marbles, un-memorabilia and cardboard coasters) and a couple of flimsy books which, while better than the DSOTM books could still have been more comprehensive - and in hardback too.

Unless you're absolutely desperate to own surround versions of the album, I can't really recommend this box, which represents very poor value for money.You'd be better off buying the Experience two-CD set which is about a fifth of the price.

Poor show, EMI! And the Floyd should show some interest and force their record company to do a better job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pink Floyd WYWH Immersion box, 29 Sept. 2013
Poor value, useless scarf, marbles and paper coasters and other crappy ephemera, what are they about. The Blu-Ray does not play in surround sound only stereo. I must have more money than sense. The unreleased tracks are interesting and the surround sound on the DVD is excellent. A three disc set ( original album, unreleased tracks and the audio DVD would have sufficed...As for The Wall Immersion box that's even worse value for money. I should have stopped with just TDSOTM box set, only bought the other two for completeist purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars [4/22]...They wish you were here !, 30 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Audio CD)
[4]...'Wish you were here' is Pink Floyd's second concept album, the concept theme & entire lyrics by Roger Waters...It was a tribute to Syd Barrett, real name, Roger Keith Barrett, & the lyrics covered Syd's mental demise & a critique of the music industry...Roger Waters had the idea to split the track, 'shine on you crazy diamond', & book end it around three more compositions, after voting, the band agreed...

...Things did not run perfectly during the creation & recording of this album.... At first they found it difficult to devise new material, the success of their previous album had left a sort of vacuum...David Gilmour, who actually married his first wife, Ginger, during the albums making on the 7 July 1975, & even had their wedding reception at EMI studio's canteen, recalled that, 'It was a difficult period, all our childhood dreams had been realised with the success of 'The Dark side of the moon', we had girls, the money & fame, we had to reassess what we were in it for thereafter, & it was a pretty confusing & an empty time for a while...

...Although produced in 1975, it's a timeless sounding album...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish You Were Here Shines On., 11 Jan. 2012
By 
DJ Control (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here -Hq- (Audio CD)
This review is about the Super Audio CD edition of this album "Wish You Were Here: 35th Anniversary Edition".

I was lucky enough to get a copy of this limited edition SA-CD via a Japanese pre-order back in November 2011 and I'm glad I did. It's a testament to the incredible work that James Guthrie and his collaborators have done remastering and remixing this landmark Pink Floyd album. There are a couple of different ways to purchase the new masters. There's the authenticly repackaged Wish You Were Here [VINYL] and the single cd "Wish You Were Here [Discovery Edition]" which contain just the original album. There's the double cd "Wish You Were Here Experience Edition", the ridiculously expensive box set "Wish You Were Here Immersion Edition" and of course the SA-CD. All I was really interested in was the 5.1 mix or the original Quad mix and almost shelled out the money for the box set. I'm glad, after reading all the bad reviews for the box set I decided the SA-CD was the best option.

Firstly the new stereo master which sounds much clearer than it's previous digital release back in 1994 with nice separation and rich bass tones. No doubt the advantage of SA-CD playback. But the real delight here is the 5.1 surround mix, originally prepared back in 2003 for release by EMI but shelved when they, like all of the major record labels abandoned the SA-CD format. I thought I knew every note of this album as it's always been my favourite Floyd release. The surround mix allows you to hear such amazing detail that, maybe until now, has only been heard by a select few who have the original Quad mix done by Alan Parsons. I could go on writing about all the new aural experiences this 5.1 mix allows you to pick out with the additional separation of surround sound but that would spoil it for potential listeners. The transition between "Have A Cigar" and the title track is awesome, that's all I'll say.

I hope everyone that was wanting a copy of this album on Super Audio got one on pre order (you'll be glad you did) and not too many third party sellers have picked up multiple copies for future selling at extortionate prices (as most SA-CD titles are currently being sold). It's the best SA-CD of rock music I've heard for many years. Now all we need is "The Wall" on Super Audio, wouldn't that sound great in 5.1?

"Remember When You Were Young..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wish I hadn't bothered!, 9 Nov. 2011
By 
Neil Bilbe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
WYWH has long been my favourite Floyd album, and probably one of my top 10 ever. So my impulsive streak had me ordering this months ago (I missed out on the Live At Leeds 40th box set). First of all I do not have a surround sound system, but a basic Blu-ray player, and an excellent Pioneer DVD with 2 channel TruSurround, able to utilize Dolby Digital, but particularly DTS, which to my ears is vastly superior. I have many other 5.1 24 bit releases (Genesis, Tommy, Graham Nash etc) and all sound excellent, without high end surround sound kit. So here we go:

1. Remastered CD: excellent remastering, but I had a little bit of distortion at the end of Shine on you crazy diamond pts 6-9
2. Extra CD: good live tracks, Wine Glasses (basically the intro to Shine on pt 1 in another guise), couple of alternative tracks; Cigar and WYWH but nothing to shout home about.
3. Everything else was a waste of time: DVD, Blu-ray, more mixes than a cake chef (Quad, SS, Stereo.......) some of which of course I could not play (96kHk/24 bit, but no one's fault but my own), clicks on the DVD/Blu-ray discs, poor visuals (aka concert screen films); then of course the usual Floyd box of extras, a scarf, marbles (someone at EMI lost theirs!?), coasters, 2 booklets, replica pass and ticket, and so on and yours for c. £90.

I agree with some of the other reviewers, better to have bought the 2 disc Experience release and saved a fortune.

Lastly, but by no means least; when looking on Amazon, I saw the promo video about the WYWH release and lo and behold it mentioned an SACD version. Why could we not have it in here? So what did I go and do? I went and ordered a copy of the SACD (yes I do actually have a SACD player)albeit from the USA. I doubt it will sound much better, but this is my last throw of the WYWH buying dice.

Remember when I was young, only had a few pounds to spend on a vinyl album every week; made me very selective and discerning, something to be said for that train of thought nowadays.

The thing is EMI know that even if they sold Pink Floyd cyanide capsules they would still sell bucket loads. If and when I become reincarnated, it will probably be as a lemming!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray defective, 9 Nov. 2011
By 
Batnet (St Albans, UK) - See all my reviews
If you're buying this for the Blu-ray 5.1 surround mix then don't bother as this mix is ruined by some very noticeable clicks towards the end (at 41:48, 43:54, and 44:10). The last one is a very loud crack from the front, left speaker right as the music fades. If you want this particular mix it would be better to wait until EMI correct these faults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the product advertised on Amazon, or even the packaging., 29 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here [VINYL] (Vinyl)
If you want it on vinyl, I wouldn't buy this record from Amazon.

It arrived in the famous Black wrapping, and on the back promises a 180g vinyl, original packaging including postcards, free 320kbps MP3 download and exclusive poster".

Well I opened it up and inside I found the record as promised, but no download code, or any of the other promised extras. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 180g Vinyl Wish You Were Here, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
J. Ayton "Judith" (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wish You Were Here [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Let's be honest, if you buy this you probably know that you love the music, and you want a top quality version on vinyl to extract that extra bit of music compared with your original vinyl, or CD, or re-mastered CD. That's what I hoped for, and I am disappointed, really. It may be a MARGINAL improvement on the re-mastered CD, which in my view sounds about as good as the original vinyl, not really significantly better. You'll need to use a soft cloth to get the vinyl out of the inner sleeve without damaging it, it's so tightly packed. My first copy had scratches on S1 and S2 first 4 mins or so; no problem about getting a replacement, however. The second copy has slight noise on opening of S2: ho-hum. If, like me, you have loved the recent heavy vinyl 'Dark Side', prepare for a disappointment. The holy grail of a significant sound upgrade for this great album remains elusive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 350 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews