Customer Reviews


380 Reviews
5 star:
 (284)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raving & Drooling
I already give the original album 5 stars and it's been reviewed a zillion times. The interest here is in the 2nd disc. After hearing a few bootlegs from the Wish You Were Here tour over the years, I'm already familiar with the 2 tracks `Raving & Drooling' & `You've Got To Be Crazy', which were renamed when they finally appeared on the Animals album released in 1977. To...
Published on 7 Nov 2011 by Puffany

versus
86 of 96 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, Disappointing Box
There is no question that Wish You Were Here is a 5 star album, but this Immersion box set is over priced and a disappointment.

Firstly, at the time of writing, it costs the same as the Dark Side Of The Moon Immersion box, £84.99, but contains one less disc. At least the Dark Side box contained an extra CD of demos and alternate mixes, which made it a little...
Published on 7 Nov 2011 by Mr. P. M. Soper


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raving & Drooling, 7 Nov 2011
By 
Puffany (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
I already give the original album 5 stars and it's been reviewed a zillion times. The interest here is in the 2nd disc. After hearing a few bootlegs from the Wish You Were Here tour over the years, I'm already familiar with the 2 tracks `Raving & Drooling' & `You've Got To Be Crazy', which were renamed when they finally appeared on the Animals album released in 1977. To me, the intensity and energy of those tracks performed live on the WYWH tour were the highlights of that tour. This live recording of Shine, Raving & Crazy is amazing. The performances are top-notch and the audio is so clean and fresh to the ears - you can't beat this for a live 1974 recording. I wasn't sure of what to expect because of some live discs I've heard included in Deluxe albums released by other artists that were hardly better than an average bootleg. This will blow you away - turn it up!!
Wine Glasses - can't tell you much about it except that it doesn't offend the ears.
The alternate versions of Have a Cigar & Wish You Were Here are of real interest for any hardcore fan.
Roger & the boys supply the vocals on this version of Have a Cigar. Waters didn't think his vocals were right for this track at the time. Roy Harper happened to be recording an album at the same studios at the time so Floyd asked him for his assistance for the original album version.
The actual structure of Wish You Were Here is different, let alone a different lead at the start from Gilmour. Add to that the violin solo played by French jazz violinist Stephane Grappelli up high in the mix as a lead instrument and you have something very different from the familiar version.

Pros and Cons of disc 2:
Pros: the whole of disc 2 is what a lot of us fans have prayed for.
Cons: not enough live material. It would've been awesome to have the whole Wembley gig, warts and all.

Excellent release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great vinyl reissue, 16 Jan 2012
By 
J. Bowman (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wish You Were Here [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Having already bought and really enjoyed the Dark Side vinyl reissue, I thought a new copy of Wish Your Were Here was worth acquiring. Once again this is the 2011 digital remaster transferred onto vinyl, a somewhat controversial approach given some of the reviews here but I expect that dredging out the original tapes to create a new analogue pressing would have meant too much time and expense for what is after all a niche market. Therefore I expected that I could live with a possible lack of sonic integrity in exchange for obtaining a clean press and new packaging for under £20.

So what does this release have to offer? I have a previous vinyl edition (I must check the matrix numbers one day) so I do know what WYWH looks and sounds like. As for this version though, first the packaging. It's nice to have the outer-lining, stickers and postcard as well as a cool new poster. The colours on the cover are beautifully rendered on this edition and the photos are pin sharp. As others have pointed out though, the inner sleeve is too tight as is the spindle hole on the vinyl. As for the sound, would I be able to tell the difference in a blind listening between my analogue and digital editions? Well to be honest I couldn't be bothered to take part in some faux Pepsi Challenge exercise just to prove what a terrible decision the record company had made by going digital. Instead I put the record on, listened to the music and it sounded great - no noise, no rumble, just fantastic music. So there you have it. If the thought of digitally corrupted audio drives you insane, then avoid, otherwise there's a lot worse things to spend your £20 on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 17 Nov 2011
This review is from: Wish You Were Here [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Because of problems with the US release of DSOTM vinyl I ordered this from UK. It was worth the wait. This sounds every bit as stunning as the first day I heard it some 36 years ago. The bass might be a bit better and the high end might be a bit sharper but this is as perfect as I could expect.No clicks,no warp, no problems. The center hole was a tad small but a few times on and off the Thorens will fix that.
The packaging is okay but I would have prefered a nice innersleve instead of dropping the disk into the cardboard sleeve. It's also a bugger too get it our of the cardboard but I'll just put it in a niceer sleeve and not back into the cardboard. maybe a gatefold cover would have prevented the crowding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most beautiful rock albums ever., 20 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Wish You Were Here (Audio CD)
Wish You Were Here really has to be listened to all the way through from start to finish in one sitting. Any other way just doesn't do it justice. David Gilmour's opening guitar notes on Shine On You Crazy Diamond ring out like cathedral bells and this was the inspiration for Roger Waters' haunting lyrical tribute to lost band member Syd Barrett. Welcome to the Machine is a gutsy attack on the recording industry and has to be heard just for the clarity of the stereo acoustic guitars ringing out over the swooshing synthesizers and rolling tympanies. Have A Cigar features Roy Harper on vocals and funky guitars and continues the disillusioned rock star theme. The absolute classic Wish You Were Here follows, with one of the best openings of any rock song ever produced. Shine On You Crazy Diamond returns to conclude the album. If there is a better album from this era, I'd like to know what it is. The packaging of this album (designed by long-time Pink Floyd cohort, Storm Thorgerson) is as equally as impressive as the music itself and likewise deserves to be studied at length. Although released in 1975, this album has not aged or become dated with the passing of time at all. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 96 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, Disappointing Box, 7 Nov 2011
By 
There is no question that Wish You Were Here is a 5 star album, but this Immersion box set is over priced and a disappointment.

Firstly, at the time of writing, it costs the same as the Dark Side Of The Moon Immersion box, £84.99, but contains one less disc. At least the Dark Side box contained an extra CD of demos and alternate mixes, which made it a little more desirable.

Discs 1 & 2, the remastered original album and bonus tracks, can be bought for £12.93 as part of the Experience edition.
For your extra £70+, you get 2 DVDs and a Blu Ray disc, replicating the DVD contents. Therefore, if you have a Blu Ray player, the DVDs are redundant. There is no doubt, however, that this is where the holy grail is contained, with the release of the long awaited 5.1 mix of the album, in addition to the original 1975 Quadrophonic mix and concert screen films.

As with the Dark Side set, the rest of the box is filled with 'collectibles', most rather pointless and of 'cheap' quality. The two photo books are flimsy and lack much content, the scarf and marbles are pointless, & the print, collector's cards, replica ticket and backstage pass are interesting to look at once, but you won't need to return to them again. EMI could have left all these out and cut the price.

If you have an SACD player, I would recommend buying the SACD instead, which contains the 2011 remaster and 5.1 mix. Although it has to be imported, it is available from European online sites for around £30, including shipping. That way, you can still own the 5.1 mix and save yourself £50 odd quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish you had it, 8 Nov 2011
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Another sonic feast from the remastering session undertaken by James Guthrie and Joel Plante at Das Boot Recording. This album has been improved significantly, as have the rest by this remastering, better stereo separation, as can be heard at the start of Shine On, the warbling sounds and the keyboards are so well defined in the stereo image that it possible to hear that each note comes from a different place. Everything sounds so much better and realistic when compared to the previous issues, cleaner, clearer, less obviously digital(an oxymoron if ever), better bass, again for the bass and also the keyboards, easier to understand singing, better harmonic content and so on.......

The bonus cd is by turns wonderful and yet a reminder of what could have been. The live 74 gig stuff is outstanding in sound quality and makes the missing Echoes all the more frustrating, why was it left out? Raving and Youv'e Got To Be could have gone onto an Animals bonus cd and Echoes thrown on here, or onto another bonus cd for Meddle. Anyway, these are all fine tracks. Wine Glasses is superb, I loved it, and now know where the intro for Shine On came from. The vocals on the alternative Have a Cigar are first class, can't see why they got Roy Harper in for that one. The Stephane Grapelli violin playing adds a really powerful emotional layer to Wish You Were Here that surprised me, again superb stuff.

Overall a magnificent addition to any Floyd fans collection. Highly recommended.

edit - it has struck me going back through this album and the Animals album just how much Rick Wright contributed to the Floyd sound. I would put this and Animals up as testament to the skill and musicianmanship of Rick as being second to none for getting a mood across. Floyd are often remembered for David Gilmours scorching guitarwork and Roger Waters acerbic lyrics, so I think it is only fair to point out the superb keyboard playing on this and Animals to redress this imbalance.

Nicks drumming comes across a lot better on all of these remasters, while I am praising the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish You Were Here Shines On!, 11 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is about the Super Audio CD edition of this album "Wish You Were Here: 35th Anniversary Edition".

I was lucky enough to get a copy of this limited edition SA-CD via a Japanese pre-order back in November 2011 and I'm glad I did. It's a testament to the incredible work that James Guthrie and his collaborators have done remastering and remixing this landmark Pink Floyd album. There are a couple of different ways to purchase the new masters. There's the single disc "Wish You Were Here [Discovery Edition]",the double cd "Wish You Were Here Experience Edition",the ridiculously expensive box set "Wish You Were Here Immersion Edition" and of course,the SA-CD. All I was really interested in was the 5.1 mix or the original Quad mix and almost shelled out the money for the box set. I'm glad,after reading all the bad reviews for the box set,I decided the SA-CD was the best option.

Firstly the new stereo master which sounds much clearer than it's previous pressing back in 1994 with nice separation and rich bass tones. No doubt the advantage of SA-CD playback. But the real delight here is the 5.1 surround mix,originally prepared back in 2003 for release by EMI but shelved when they,like all of the major record labels,abandoned the SA-CD format. I thought I knew every note of this album as it's always been my favourite Floyd release. The surround mix allows you to hear such amazing detail that maybe until now,has only been heard by a select few who have the original Quad mix done by Alan Parsons. I could go on writing about all the new aural experiences this 5.1 mix allows you to pick out with the additional separation of surround sound but that would spoil it for potential listeners. The transition between "Have A Cigar" and the title track is awesome,that's all I'll say.

I hope everyone that was wanting a copy of this album on Super Audio got one on pre order (you'll be glad you did) and not too many third party sellers have picked up multiple copies for future selling at extortionate prices (as most SA-CD titles are currently being sold). It's the best SA-CD of rock music I've heard for many years. Now all we need is "The Wall" on Super Audio,wouldn't that sound great in 5.1!

"Remember When You Were Young...???"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WELCOME TO THE 'NEW PRISTINE ' MACHINE, 7 Nov 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Well what a day,you settle down to listen to this and Rush's Timeline 2011 cd pops thru the letterbox,god its great lovin' music.Like its predecesor DSOTM,this release is a 2 disc affair,complete with very poor flimsy packaging as per most of these reissues,the booklet lovingly stuck firmly in its jacket,just as well there's nothing of note contained as you wont take it out often,however as i said in DSOTM's review its the music that matters most of all,so....

Disc 1 the original album remastered,now this is my all time favourite Floyd disc so i was anxious as to how it would sound,i stand by my belief that DSOTM didnt sound that much different,this however i feel HAS been improved,'Shine On.. pts 1 & 2 both shimmer from the speakers,while 'Welcome to the Machine' reminds me more and more of Hawkwind,while the title track is just a beautiful piece in anyones collection and 'Have a Cigar' has its irresistible strut enhanced,the disc ,IMHO,sounds clearer with a bounce to the bass.It was class in '75 and its still class now,wonderful stuff.

Disc 2 opens with 50 plus min's of Floyd live, 20 minutes of 'Shine On...' plus 2 tracks that would end up on ANIMALS,i've never heard these nor any of the other unreleased tracks,so this was my main reason for purchase,the live tracks are superb,i just worry they'll release the wembley gig with 'Echoes as a bonus track!!.

The studio tracks are pretty good,an alternate, longer version of 'Have a Cigar',fine with me,its my favourite track on the original disc,while the Stefan Grappelli violin piece in 'Wish you were here' made the hairs on my neck stand up,leaving 'Wine Glasses' as a throwaway instrumental,the like of which hawkwind made a career out of,brilliant bonus tracks for the most part,well worth the purchase price.

You can buy with confidence this is a fantastic release(packaging not withstanding)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pink Floyd Cardboard Cases !, 22 Jun 2012
Hi, I am disappointed in all these so called saving the environment cardboard cases that have taken over the plastic jewel CD cases, nowadays. They are so awkward to actually get your CD's out of, the discs are so tightly packed in them that you end up putting your fingers over the discs to try & get them out & end up marking the disc. I have given up & ended up ripping the cardboard case apart & putting the CD in a good old plastic jewel case. So ditch these rubbish cardboard cases & stick to plastic CD jewel cases.

A review of The Pink Floyd remastered CD's they are Great, much clearer to hear all the little details in the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The version-of-choice of Floyd's best album?, 31 May 2012
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you don't yet have a CD of (probably) Floyd's finest-ever album in your music library, this November 2011-released 2-disk set of WYWH is the one to go for.

The first disk is a James Guthrie re-master of the classic WYWH album as released in September 1975, from the original recording tapes. Believe it or not, Guthrie has improved the sound: it's deeper, richer and more spine-tingling than the epic original vinyl release. The sound is clean, each instrument is clearly defined with the bass and percussion in particular sounding like they're right there in the room with you.

The second disk contains some live material from the 1975 WYWH tour featuring numbers excluded from the original album release - `Raving and Drooling,' `You've Got to be Crazy' and `Wine Glasses' which were Floyd stage-standards at the time - plus a longer, stretched-out live-on-stage version of `Shine On'.

Also featured are a couple of alternative studio recordings of tracks from the original album. The highlight for most fans is likely to be a masterful version of WYWH featuring Stephane Grappelli on violin, which gives the classic piece a quite different character but is in every way superb, possibly (personal choice here) superior even to the original variant chosen for the 1975 album release. There's also an alternative version of `Have a Cigar'.

The cardboard-surround sleeve of the 2011 release contains a 3-part folding CD case with the 2x CDs and a small booklet with the all song lyrics.

In summary: excellent; the one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews