Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beuatifully Bonkers
I think that people judge this album a little too harshly in general. There are some interesting ideas on here and some rather lovely "proper" songs . It is very different from the later output so at the risk of offending anyone, it's not for the mullet and denim jacket floyd brigade in general, but I personally love it. Equal parts playful (Alan's pscyhedelic...
Published on 18 May 2007 by Lord Percival Lesmond Bovis III

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated and leaning to a future
"Atom Heart Mother", is a undeservedly bashed record in their canon. The title track is an ambitious, epic instrumental with orchestra that is a precursor to the bands signature tune "Echoes". Side two is generally formless, compiled of just a number of frankly average songs and a couple of standouts in the shape of "If" and "Fat Old Sun". Overall, the production is...
Published on 1 Jan 2008 by Mr. M. A. Reed


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beuatifully Bonkers, 18 May 2007
This review is from: Atom Heart Mother (Audio CD)
I think that people judge this album a little too harshly in general. There are some interesting ideas on here and some rather lovely "proper" songs . It is very different from the later output so at the risk of offending anyone, it's not for the mullet and denim jacket floyd brigade in general, but I personally love it. Equal parts playful (Alan's pscyhedelic Breakfast) and lush (fat old sun) it serves as something of a curio in it's disjointed layout. Famously the band themselves have dismissed it as rubbish, but perhaps that has more to do with the fact that they are now in their 60's and, like anyone of advancing years, may be slightly embarrased about their more adventurous youthful experimentation. It is also David Gilmour's first really overt contribution to the Floyd sound. I can quite happily listen to this album from beginning to end which is not something you can say about many albums being churned out at the moment, and fat old sun never fails to put a smile on my face. In a word....interesting. Suck it and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An almost forgotten masterpiece., 7 Jun 2009
This review is from: Atom Heart Mother (Audio CD)
It may seem unapproachable at first. Listen to it only a second time and you realise that "Atom Heart Mother" certainly has some of the most unique moments in the Floyd's history. The title track is a collaboration with Scottish composer Ron Geesin. It is a piece of beauty, 24 minutes long, experimental albeit its distinctive main theme, incorporating an orchestral brass section and a choir, a bit of a secret masterpiece that never really made it, perhaps because it's not "Just Floyd".

The original B-side is dominated by 3 solo compositions of Waters, Wright and Gilmour. Despite the fact that all three are some of their stronger ones, Richard Wright is the undisputed winner with "Summer 68", perhaps one of the best Floyd compositions ever. Waters' "If" seems like an early template for "Good Bye Cruel World", and Gilmour's "Fat Old Sun" is a lovely, rather sweet tune with his favourite pedal steels. Both, Waters' and Gilmour's tunes have become regulars in their later solo shows.

The album closes with Roadie Alan's "Psychedelic Breakfast" which might have been considered ground breaking in 1970, but these days is at best a piece for the rock museum. The sounds of a geezer frying eggs and praising marmalade just don't do it after sampling of random sounds has become an art in its own right.

Despite its unnecessary finale the "Cow Album" is a great one. It is often forgotten in the praise for classic Floyd albums although it is absolutely awe inspiring, very Floyd in the 70s, and ultimately Abbey Road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bonkers (and all the better for it), 20 Dec 2006
This review is from: Atom Heart Mother (Audio CD)
Atom Heart Mother for me is a real curio amongst the Floyd back catalogue, and is one of those albums that, although far from perfect, is amazingly rich and varied and I still play it fairly regularly. From the sprawling title track (containing one of Gilmours finest guitar solo's) to the mellow but sinister 'If' ('please don't put your wires in my brain..') the gorgeous 'Fat Old Sun' and the franky bizarre 'Alans Psychedelic Breakfast'. This is an album that newcomers to Pink Floyd should approach with caution, but with perseverance you will be richly rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make 'em like this anymore..., 26 July 2005
This review is from: Atom Heart Mother (Audio CD)
This is a superb album - it tails off a bit with the last track, but really it stands or falls with the epic title track. The band were helped out with brass and choral arrangements on this by (avant-garde composer) Ron Geesin, and I think they succeed brilliantly. I've heard a lot of rock musicians attempt to use orchestral instruments alongside a rock band (e.g. Deep Purple, Zappa, Malmsteen, Metallica etc.) but I don't think anyone has done it as well as the Floyd do here.
The piece has six named sections, but it moves in many surprising directions within those. One of the highlights for me is the long choral section which gradually increases in pace and strangeness until a Hammond organ enters to introduce the "Funky Dung" section and leads into a crystal clear Strat solo from David Gilmour. Funky Dung? Emphasis on the adjective, not on the noun!
The remaining songs seem like something of an afterthought after that giant rock symphony, but they certainly don't let the album down - If and Fat Old Sun are the highlights. So, a great album. Not necessarily the best place to start if you're new to the Floyd (I'd say go for Dark Side of the Moon instead), but a firm fan favourite.
In case anyone's wondering what an "Atom Heart Mother" is, here's the story. The name of the album came about by chance, when the band were phoned by their record company, asking if they'd decided what to call the new album. They hadn't thought of a title yet, but beside the phone was a newspaper with a story about a woman who had had some sort of atomic pacemaker fitted - and there was the headline: "Atom Heart Mother".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atomic!, 1 Oct 2011
By 
Dudley Serious - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Some may have still lamented the loss of Syd Barrett at this stage of Floyd's career but Atom Heart Mother (AHM) represented a significant departure from the psychedelic rock of early Floyd towards the moonlit majesty of their 'seventies heyday. Themes and signatures appear that would appear in later albums. Travelling between rocky, funky, folky, orchestral, abstract, AHM set the template for the Floyd of the future. Gorgeous as it was, the original (I mean vinyl) release suffered from a slightly deflated production, so that when for example the choir flooded in, it was more of a ripple than the wave intended. This brush-up maintains the integrity of the original plus the tidal wave we always wanted (but didn't know at the time). One might say Pink Floyd came of age with AHM. Now it has a fully realised production to match its innate quality and musical ambition. And the lovely moo-cows on the sleeve remain in full effect. Enjoy this early classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Floyd album..., 26 Jan 2010
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Atom Heart Mother (Audio CD)
Atom Heart Mother came into my life when I was a teenager - and is part of the mythological "Golden Era" of English Rock Music - along with "the Yes Album", "the Court of the Crimson King" and "The Least We Can Do Is Wave To Each Other".
Each of these albums defines the era (late 60s, early 70s), when the bands were exploring completely new possibilities - with new technology, excellent musicianship and the (apparent) freedom to do what they wanted without restraints from the marketing departments.

Atom Heart Mother evolved from the Floyd's earlier [and wonderful] psychedelic albums ("Piper at the Gates of Dawn" and "Saucerful of Secrets") and delivered a glorious exploration of technical possibilities - mixing orchestral pieces, soaring wordless vocals, a rock band (love Mr. Mason's drumming) and assorted tapes of trains, horses, motorcycles etc - into a logical, coherent piece.

I have lost count of the number of times I have listened to this (and worn out several LPs and a couple of CDs in the process).

The title track lends itself to listening in a gentle environment - low lights, a few beers (or other restful concoctions) - and epitomises everything that was glorious about that era.

The three "little" tracks that follow are some of the Floyd's most delightful tunes, quite unlike anything that followed - but summing up those glorious halcyon Summer days of our youth. Perfect soundtrack to those lazy days punting down the Cam to Grantchester...

No comment on Alan's Breakfast - sort of breaks the spell...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just My Review....., 25 May 2001
This review is from: Atom Heart Mother (Audio CD)
Appearing after the sprawling, unfocused double-album set Ummagumma, Atom Heart may boast more focus, even a concept, yet that doesn't mean it's more accessible. If anything, this is the most impenetrable album they released while on Harvest, which also makes it one of the most interesting of the era. Still, it may be an acquired taste even for fans, especially since it kicks off with a side-long, 23-minute extended orchestral piece that may not seem to head anywhere, but is often intriguing, more in what it suggests than what it achieves. Then, on the second side, Roger Waters, David Gilmour, and Rick Wright have a song a piece, winding up with the group composition "Alan's Psychedelic Breakfast" wrapping it up. Of these, Waters begins developing the voice that made him the group's lead songwriter during their classic era with "If," while Wright has an appealingly mannered, very English psychedelic fantasia on "Summer 68," while Gilmour's "Fat Old Sun" meanders quietly before ending with a guitar workout that leaves no impression. "Alan's Psychedelic Breakfast," the 12-minute opus that ends the album, does the same thing, floating for several minutes before ending on a drawn-out jam that finally gets the piece moving. So, there are interesting moments scattered throughout the record, and the work that initially seems so impenetrable winds up being Atom Heart Mother's strongest moment. That it lasts an entire side illustrates that Pink Floyd was getting better with the larger picture instead of the details, since the second side just winds up falling off the tracks, no matter how many good moments there are. This lack of focus means Atom Heart Mother will largely be for cultists, but its unevenness means there's also a lot to cherish here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revisited, 16 Sep 2007
This review is from: Atom Heart Mother (Audio CD)
I don't usually read or write reviews as they drive me to distraction. Many people reviewing vintage albums and TV do so from today's perspective and miss the point entirely. I.e. 'Isn't that Monty Python great?!'. New fetishism.

I bought the vinyl of this when it first emerged and am now buying the CD having forgotten for 35 years what an influence both this album and Meddle had on a young teenage me.

I love it but would not recommend anyone new to Floyd to make it their first purchase, however, I have tended over the years to buy the 'in' stuff then look back at many bands beginnings and finally enjoy their earlier works more than the present days. Love this album or not it's part of why Floyd were so suvccessful - enjoy.

Hope I've not driven anyone to distraction by this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated and leaning to a future, 1 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Atom Heart Mother (Audio CD)
"Atom Heart Mother", is a undeservedly bashed record in their canon. The title track is an ambitious, epic instrumental with orchestra that is a precursor to the bands signature tune "Echoes". Side two is generally formless, compiled of just a number of frankly average songs and a couple of standouts in the shape of "If" and "Fat Old Sun". Overall, the production is strong but the songs are lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atom Heart Mother 2011 version, 30 Sep 2011
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
OK, so another version of a cd that has been released 3-4 times before, one of which I have, and what is new?

Well this is a hard one to put my finger on, so let me attempt to help clear up a few things. First the gatefold sleeve is an improvement over the jewel case, although I can see why it annoys a lot of folk. It is a bit fiddly getting the cd out, some of these gatefold sleeves can be tighter than others. Same outer image, new inner one-an outtake from the same photo session used for the Meddle album though. The artwork is a halfway house, neither truly inventive nor a faithful tribute to the original, so there is a sense of being cheated. The artwork that came with the last cd version had a menu card and was a solid stapled booklet, all reduced somewhat for this. This is why I have docked it one star.

The sound quality, well this is the tricky part. It definitely sounds better, not sharper, not louder, but more musical overall, more vinyl. In an A/B test it was difficult to actually nail down the difference, I simply preferred the new version. I thought about how to describe it for a while and try and think of an analogy to compare it to. Here goes-the new version has more inner detail, the sounds are no sharper than previously, it is just that the instruments sound more realistic, the acoustic guitars more obviously hollow wooden boxes with vibrating metal strings over them, the cymbals sound more genuinely metallic and rich decaying realistically, the sound of the drum heads is cleaner, Rogers bass has a deeper plummy tone and all the instruments are better separated. I was really impressed with the separation of the voices in the choir and the sound of the brass section, which really zings in this version.

If it was a tv the new one is HD the old is not, the shapes are the same , the colours are the same, but the textures are better, especially the brass, in the new one. It sounds mercifully free of any compression nasties.

Overall not a day night difference, but if you are a fan of hifi and love Floyd this is an improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews