Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars after the wall...another wall ...only better
This album has been loved,loathed,reviled,adored,feted and ridiculed over the years,its a thought provoking musical masterpiece.

Many of the aforementioned viewpoints ,i have held myself,bought it the day it came out,didnt understand it,didnt get it,waste of time,couple of great tracks,threw in cupboard,ignored for years,re purchased in the mid 90's ,when the...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by Mr Blackwell

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Discovery Edition - Not Worth 10
Gave it 3 star simply because the music is beyond 5 star. It's a fantastic, massive album with both atmopshere, themes, great lyrics and catchy tunes in literally every track.

The packaging is miserable though. As someone who wants to buy a CD it seems to me the industry is lately trying to make their CD products as shoddy as possible so people move onto...
Published 19 months ago by Fraser J


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 22 Mar 2013
By 
J. Cawley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you know this album you will already know that it is one of the best albums of all time. I don't go for live albums and all that. A studio album properly produced is what the group were trying for and is all I want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the wall, 23 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it's probably a bit too much of roger waters, but it is still a brilliant album clean recording, am having Comfortably Numb played at my funeral
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly good, 8 Oct 2011
By 
P. F. Clayden "pclayden" (Dizzy London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first bought this on release in 1979. Sounds superb on this reissue and the Tommy and even Oliver! Influences are clear to hear.

Disc 1 is fabulous and Disc 2 similarly good apart from The Trial and the last track.

The Wall was marked down for me by the lamentable film which is best forgotten. Return to the music and acknowledge a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing else sounds like this, 28 Sep 2011
One of the stand out albums of the 1970's. Remastered version sounds awesome and crystal clear in places. Roger Waters' epic 'rock opera' sounds as fresh as a daisy and is very welcome in today's overblown and overrated music scene. this dark, deep, epic story leads you on the journey into madness of a rock demi god 'pink' and is pure class. this version is a welcome addition to any collection. Classics like 'run like hell','another brick in the wall part 2','comfortably numb', 'hey you' are all here. best listened to with lights down low and headphones on with volume set nice and high. The packaging is what it is and the real bonus is the new sound recording. having bought some other recent remasters you can 'really' notice the difference, trust me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Greatest Albums Ever Sounding Great!, 30 Sep 2011
Most probably the best ever concept/rock opera album ever recorded...some might say tommy or soremthing but to me dark side and the wall are 2 of the best albums ever!!These new remasters..as 1 previous reviewer stated the sound on here is as clear as a bell...and if people can't hear that like some reviewers have mentioned...i question how good their hearing is...how good their cd player is or how well they really know the music,you need to remember its a remaster...not a miracle!To me its an awesome album and awsome sound quality!Please people stop complaining about packaging...after all we listen to the discs not the cardboard sleeve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say..., 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like Pink Floyd and you've not got this album... What are you waiting for?! Go out and buy it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Take On The Music Industry, 24 Feb 2013
By 
I lived to play this record in 1985 - it was my raison d'etre. Thirty years later and I find it an hilarious take on music and touring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed Pink Floyd fan, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wall Experience Edition (2011 - Remaster) (MP3 Download)
I love the original album. This is not that. I am very disappointed. I have now ordered the original on cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as gift, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know this album well as I have it on original vinyl

This was bought as a gift.

Arrived okay and in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A long narritive set to rock; not entirely successful., March 6, 2000, 8 Jan 2012
[NOTE: I am reissuing my Amazon.com reviews on Amazon.co.uk. This review was originally published on Amazon.com March 6, 2000]

So you've heard about the great acid rock band Pink Floyd, and decided to give them a whirl. Among the selection you would probably see would be Animals, Atom Heart Mother, Wish You Were Here, Delicate Sound of Thunder, DSOTM, and The Wall. You know "Another Brick in the Wall (Prt 2)", so you go with that.

Now wether you like the album or not is debatable. My musical taste and being the person I am, I find the album very intriguing. But lets face it, it is not for everybody. It is a confusing album, and a confusing movie. (Yes, they did make a movie of this. Basically it is a long music video.) The story is not as hard to follow as everyone makes out. At least, the general gest of it isn't hard to find. Its obvious that a rock star named Pink Floyd build a psychological wall separating himself from pain (but also love). Then, being jealous, he starts almost a neo-nazi work, a group killing the "queers, Jews, coons, and the reds". It details the Hitler devices of ovens and gas chambers. Even mentions polka dot ones. From my perspective, it is a fascinating venture (tho' rather obscure at times) into a narrative poem telling an epic story. The main problem (yes, there are problems with this) is the fact that, although it is not as notoriously hard to follow, it is rather sketchy in places. My suggestion is if you want some interpretations, go in the Internet and try to find some (I've found several).

Musically? Interesting usually. Sometimes it is nothing save snippets of music to advance the rather sketchy plot. This is not an album you just play part of if you want a full understanding of the album (that is generally true of any decent album, but especially this one, and true concept albums. Sorry, Beatles fan, and I am one too, Sgt Pepper doesn't make concept like this one does). Some interesting tunes would be Happy Days/Brick in the Wall Prt II, Don't Leave me Now, Mother, and Young Lust. (that's Disc I). Disc II: (Is anybody out there)Track II (for the gorgeous acoustic track at the end), 6 (Comfortably Numb), 9. (Run Like Hell),10. (Waiting For The Worms), 12 (The Trial)..

Lyrically? Interesting Narrative Poem piece. Because of the audience, it could have been made more clear, but that was Waters' call, and nothing we can do about it.

Another danger this album is that if people don't understand it, it is easy to take things out of context. If you now it is a man losing his sanity behind a mental wall, then you understand the slamming of education and the racial slurs. If you don't, then you mihgt think PF is against education and against the other races. And interesting thing about "Another Brick in the Wall Part II", is the fact that they're proving a point. "We don't need no education," is a double negative. They are showing that, despite the cynical view Pink has on his school, they do in fact need education.

Bottom Line: Good album that tells a story. But be prepared to have to scratch your head a couple of times and question "Now why is that song there and what does it mean?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews