Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Eureka Moment...
I purchased cd this week after listening to the last verse of 'Your Heart is as Black As Night' on Radio 2. I had to google the name of the song and the artist, as the DJ went on to talk about something else as it ended. I bought this on the back of these last few lines and did not know what I would get. To say I am blown away is an understatement. I dont normally...
Published on 3 Dec. 2011 by Solomon Johnson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ... to much of a pub band album unless you love these two leave
for me bit to much of a pub band album unless you love these two leave alone
Published 3 months ago by ledeman


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Eureka Moment..., 3 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Don't Explain (Audio CD)
I purchased cd this week after listening to the last verse of 'Your Heart is as Black As Night' on Radio 2. I had to google the name of the song and the artist, as the DJ went on to talk about something else as it ended. I bought this on the back of these last few lines and did not know what I would get. To say I am blown away is an understatement. I dont normally listen to Blues but I have played this non stop since it arrived today! Brilliant. Her voice is amazing, and the guitar is exemplary. I would recommend it to anyone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hart and soul, 26 Sept. 2011
By 
Leonardo27 (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Explain (Audio CD)
I'll put my cards on the table. I generally give a wide berth to 'cover' albums made by artists who otherwise record their own songs for a living. At best, these releases do little more than remind you how good the original versions were, and at worst they seem like a cynical ploy to extract hard-earned cash from loyal fans.

Of course, there are exceptions to every rule and here's one of them.

If there's any justice to be found, this fine album should propel both Joe Bonamassa and Beth Hart directly into the mainstream. Better than Alison Krauss and Robert Plant's much-lauded "Raising Sand" collaboration, this is spine-tingling stuff with Hart's gorgeous voice and Bonamassa's masterful guitar-playing truly a musical marriage made in heaven.

Far from slavishly copying the original arrangements, there's real imagination and innovation going on here. Following Plant & Krauss, and numerous others before them, there's the seemingly obligatory Tom Waits song - this time it's the irreverent "Chocolate Jesus", re-imagined in jaunty vaudeville style.

Delaney & Bonnie's "Well, Well" with Bonamassa duetting on vocals rips along furiously, with a down and dirty version of Bill Withers' "For My Friend" giving free rein to the duo's rockier sensibilities. More recent inspiration comes in the form of Melody Gardot's sultry "Your Heart Is As Black As Night".

A strikingly different and slowed-down version of Aretha Franklin's "Ain't No Way" is just one of a number of stirring performances to leave a lump in the throat, whilst church is ably represented by a truly soul-baring adaptation of Lowell Fulson's "Sinner's Prayer", recalling another memorable version recorded a few years back by B.B. King with the guesting Ray Charles.

But impressive as this all is, the top honours are reserved for the duo's interpretation of Brook Benton's "I'll Take Care of You" featuring a smoking Bonamassa guitar solo alongside an extraordinary vocal performance from Hart that runs the gamut of emotions all the way from unspeakably tender to tortured.

More, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beth Hart & Joe Bonamassa world's collide... simply breathtaking!, 26 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Don't Explain (Audio CD)
Beth Hart is one of the most powerful female blues/rock singers to emerge since Janis Joplin and she recently recorded a new album in collaboration with guitar maestro Joe Bonamassa entitled 'Don't Explain'. After crossing paths out on tour and previously working together making 'No Love On The Street' for Bonamassa's recent `Dust Bowl' album, it soon became apparent to Bonamassa that his guitar would provide the perfect foil for Hart's vocals. Almost inevitably Don't Explain was recorded earlier this year at Village Recorders, West Los Angeles in California, drafting in Kevin "Caveman" Shirley to produce & mix an album full of soul covers interpreted as only Hart & Bonamassa could, giving new blood to classic songs!

'Don't Explain' showcases Beth Hart baring her heart and soul on vocals & Joe Bonamassa playing guitar as only he can, delivering classic songs from a golden bygone era that belonged to divas like Billie Holiday, Aretha Franklin and Etta James coupled with more contemporary numbers worthy of inclusion. Backing band is the same Bonamassa successfully assembled for his album 'The Ballad of John Henry' featuring Anton Fig (drums & percussion), Blondie Chaplin (guitar) & Carmine Rojas (bass) with Arlan Scheirbaum joining them on keyboards.

'Don't Explain' immediately has Hart pleading for mercy, probably just as Ray Charles would have imagined when he first wrote 'Sinner's Prayer', and the thought invoking Tom Waits song 'Chocolate Jesus' is so sassy, it would not sound out of place sung in a Parisian nightclub! Next cue piano for a flawless rendition of Melody Gardot's sultry jazz ballad 'Your Heart Is As Black As Night' and add slow blues guitar to make it complete. The Bill Withers song 'For My Friend' is transformed into the ball breaking blues/rock anthem that perhaps it was always meant to be, and portrays just what an incredibly versatile voice Hart really has. The next two remarkable covers of 'Don't Explain', made famous by Billie Holiday and 'I'd Rather Go Blind' immortalized by Etta James, sum up exactly why this album was conceived in the first place. Another Etta song, 'Something's Got A Hold On Me' also gets a worthwhile makeover here followed by one of the most passionate and sincere versions of Brook Benton's 'I'll Take Care Of You' that you will ever hear. A superb remake of 'Well, Well' provides the one duet on this album with Joe & Beth taking over Delaney & Bonnie Bramlett's vocals. Somehow this recording wouldn't be complete without the soulful sound of Aretha Franklin, and that is accomplished on the final track with a rework of her fabulous 'Ain't No Way', that is given all the reverence it truly deserves!

'Don't Explain' is where sensational singer Beth Hart and gifted guitarist Joe Bonamassa world's collide to pay homage to some of the greatest artists and most beautiful music ever made... simply breathtaking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The start of the first track should tell you if you will like this or not!, 16 Aug. 2012
By 
Simon Uglow "suglow" (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Explain (Audio CD)
Two great musicians - Beth Hart and Joe Bonamassa - coming together. Sometimes collaborations work, sometimes they don't, for a whole variety of reasons. There are the obvious partnerships that I've enjoyed (Eric Clapton and BB King is a great example), where I've wanted the music to carry one, and I've wondered what else did they record and what happened to the rehearsal tapes. There are others which are just self indulgent, ego massages for both parties, that I've listened to and discarded.
This one works, Hart's voice and vocal phrasing complemented by Bonamassa's stellar guitar playing, whether slide or not. The opening of the opening track should help you decide whether you are going to like this or not - a bluesy slide guitar opening up and introducing Hart's smokey vocals. Her vocal power continues throughout the album, with hints of Joplin to her phrasing and delivery.
It's a great album, and one that I'm really enjoying. I was fascinated to read someone here complain about the sound quality - there's nothing wrong on my copy, so I can only hope he's sorted it out to enjoy this stunning album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Explain - Beth Hart and Joe Bonomassa, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Explain (Audio CD)
As a big fan of Joe Bonomassa I recently purchased the Live at the Beacon Theatre DVD and was very very impressed by Beth Hart's singing on the two numbers she does with Joe on that DVD. I had always meant to buy this CD but never quite got round to it but after watching the DVD decided to get it right away.
It is a beautifully balanced performance of some classic songs with neither artist dominating. Beth's singing is superb and Joe's phrasing, melodic playing and the various guitar tones he uses are perfectly suited to the songs. Stand out track for me is "Rather go Blind" least favourite is probably "Chocolate Jesus" but it is still a strong song.

Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blues at their sensual best, 4 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Don't Explain (Audio CD)
Simply magical coolaboration. There is wonderful synergy between these two artists. I have been a fan of both separately but together they are greater than the sum of the parts. No dud tracks but the stand outs are "Your heart is as black as night", I'd Rather Go Blind and I'll Take Care Of You. Don't hesitate buy this album - vinyl superb quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fine collaboration! Four & a half stars., 9 May 2012
By 
oldhasbeen (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Explain (Audio CD)
For me, a collaboration that's more than the sum of it's parts.

Beth Hart's a great singer, but not all of her material is to my taste, e.g. hollering over heavy guitar riffs in the "Live at the Paradiso" album. I'm not a great fan of most of Joe B's stuff.

On this album, however, there are half a dozen real gems - try "Your Heart Is As Black As Night" abd the stunning version of Tom Waits "Chocolate Jesus" for starters. "Something's Got a Hold on Me" is a great up-tempo number, then the longer version of "I'll Take Care of You" shows the versatility of Beth's voice, with Joe contributing beautiful bluesy backing then a blistering solo towards the end of the song.

Good, mostly quite restrained, backing form Joe's band throughout. A few of the tracks are a bit thrashy for my tastes, but still a fine album - deserves four & a half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year, 12 Oct. 2012
By 
Michael Bernard (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Explain (MP3 Download)
Having a couple of Joe Bonamassa albums made me a bit wary of this one, but the excesses I associate with him are banished from this polished and surprising album. I didn't know any of Beth Hart's work before this, but was blown away by her astonishing voice. Hints of Janice Joplin, plus Beth's distinctive vibrato.

All the songs are covers, and none the worse for that. A great variety of blues, soul and jazz - and more...

Joe's guitar work is restrained, innovative and tasteful, and complements Beth's voice perfectly. No-one I have recommended this album to was anything but impressed.

At £3.99, the current selling price on Amazon, it's a complete steal - don't hesitate a second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beth Hart and Joe Bonamassa., 29 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Explain (Audio CD)
Great new album from the amazing Joe Bonamassa and Beth Hart.
If you love the blues then this Is a great album for your collection. Joe Bonamassas guitar work is more restrained but more tasteful than his heavier work with Black Country Communion. If you like his album Dust Bowl then you will love this.
Beth Harts voice is beautiful and the pair compliment each other, they obviously enjoyed making this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serenidad, 27 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Don't Explain (Audio CD)
This album is simply fantastic. We have bought three copies so as to share with friends who have similar taste in music and they too are playing the album constantly. Beth Hart has a haunting voice and her timing is most unusual - I think her partnership with Joe Bonamassa will go beyond just one album. Thoroughly recommend this to any blues fan and even those who are not committed to that style of music will find it very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Explain
Don't Explain by Joe Bonamassa & Beth Hart
Buy MP3 Album£6.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews