Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Youve read lao tse, now read this!
Having also lived (or tried to live) the dao (way) for over 30 years, I can say that as an introduction to tao, you probably won't find anything better. Pamela Ball knows her subject well and makes clear reference to some of the more complex detail. The only minor criticism I have is in the research of the origins of tai chi chuan in chapter 6, where Pamela refers to...
Published 11 days ago by M BAILEY

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to tao
It's is a book to start you thinking about facing yourself and experiencing what is happening in this moment instead of looking in the past or looking and living the future the idea is to live and experience know stop running and stand ,it will give you a more richer experience where you and what ever you are taking part in. It all so give you a run through other...
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Youve read lao tse, now read this!, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Tao (Kindle Edition)
Having also lived (or tried to live) the dao (way) for over 30 years, I can say that as an introduction to tao, you probably won't find anything better. Pamela Ball knows her subject well and makes clear reference to some of the more complex detail. The only minor criticism I have is in the research of the origins of tai chi chuan in chapter 6, where Pamela refers to Chang San Feng as being credited as the founder of tai chi chuan, when the only reliable historical evidence remains with the chen family in chen village, henan province. It is a complex subject however and is one still being argued to this day. I would have expanded this chapter slightly as the internal and alchemical arts with dedication, can lead to direct contact with the tao (through jing, chi and shen). The inclusion of research on the daoist exercises of dao yin shu would also have been worthwhile as this can be dated back as a precursor to qi gong and is an important aspect in the development of tai chi chuan. I say all of this, but do not undermine the work in this book as it is a fabulous entry into what can be a minefield of complexity and the idea with tao is to keep things simple, which this book conveys extremely well. Paul Hiom (partner of MBailey)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simplicity, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Tao (Kindle Edition)
Very informative, easy to read book. Reading as part of comparative theology course. Would highly recomend it to others for study, or to simply put meaning into everything. Found that Tao, rather than Taoism, makes sense as a way to live life in harmony with nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Satisfying Read, 27 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Tao (Kindle Edition)
After studying different schools of thought upon the various forms of meditation, and the philosophies of Hinduism and Buddhism, I thought i'll give Taoism a try. Ms Ball writes a fantastic book. Easy to understand, comprehensible and so uplifting and inspiring. From the moment I began reading this mobi book, I flowed with the author's voice and learnt so much.
If anyone is new to the subject of Taoism or just fancies a little 'dabble' as to what it all means then read this book.
Ms Ball's voice in explaining Taoism is so interesting and worthy of following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Tao (Kindle Edition)
I am relatively new to Tao and this book has helped me to understand it better. It gives an overview of similar beliefs as well as related subjects like feng shui, Chinese healing and history as well. I found it inspiring, eye-opener to Tao. Definitely a good start for someone wants to start learning about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING RELAXATION, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Tao (Kindle Edition)
I got this as I had heard that Tao was a good form of relaxation - I am always sceptical with new relaxation and meditation techniques but I was totally amazed how good this is. The lady that does the guided meditation has such a soothing and calming voice it helps with obtaining a relaxed state. The fact that it lasts for 60 minutes is very good too there's 30 mniutes of the guided meditation and then there is 30 minutes of lovely music. I've never got to the end completely as i've always fallen asleep. I've also skipped the guided part and just used the music and still achieved a relaxed meditative state
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Tao (Kindle Edition)
Beautiful book! Lovely verse translation combined with sympathetic Chinese illustrations. Pleasing feel to book - complements ideas expressed. This is definitely a book that could not be "kindled" and I love my kindle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Sáss Alæssí (Congleton. Cheshire East, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Tao (Kindle Edition)
For me this is the perfect read. I love humble books such as this, I often find myself getting very lost in such books. Perfect in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tao., 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Tao (Kindle Edition)
a nice interesting little book on the essence of tao well wrote, and I really enjoyed it, thank you. s.hatton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Tao (Kindle Edition)
Exceptional knowledge with this book could read it time and again will be looking for something similar in the near future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Tao for Me!, 14 Dec 2009
By 
Thomas Daly "scotiatam" (Edinburgh, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book, well written, easy to follow and definitely gives a great insight into the way of the Tao.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essence of Tao
The Essence of Tao by Pamela Ball
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews