Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four paintings, two weddings and a tangled love story
Two weddings, four hotels and a Spanish lover! And a love story that definitely doesn't always run smoothly. Scottish artist meets handsome hotel owner and has to make out she's enamoured of him when all the time, guess what, she really is. She's a stubborn one though and thinks the worst of him because she doesn't realise he has a sad secret. Give it a go, you won't be...
Published on 3 Oct 2011 by MadCow

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed !
Having just read the Deverill Gatehouse which was fantastic by karen Macleod ,I looked for another book written by her.It started well !But what a disappointment ! The main couple argue all the time,which made me feel they shouldn't be together!Not sure now whether to try another book by her or not!The gatehouse was brilliant?
Published 5 months ago by prebbbs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four paintings, two weddings and a tangled love story, 3 Oct 2011
By 
MadCow "MadCow" (By the banks of the Tyne.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GARLANDS AND SHADOWS (Kindle Edition)
Two weddings, four hotels and a Spanish lover! And a love story that definitely doesn't always run smoothly. Scottish artist meets handsome hotel owner and has to make out she's enamoured of him when all the time, guess what, she really is. She's a stubborn one though and thinks the worst of him because she doesn't realise he has a sad secret. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for all seasons, 2 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GARLANDS AND SHADOWS (Kindle Edition)
I'd definitely recommend this. You actually have two weddings, a week apart, not just the one mentioned in the blurb. Jaime's cousin is getting married too. The contrast between the two brides and their respective nuptials is sometimes tenderly, sometimes hilariously, made.
Jaime and Maura's own love story is full of twists and turns. Jaime's past makes him vulnerable, appealing and sexy at the same time. Maura is determined to succeed as an artist. It is ironic, therefore, that she has to pretend to be in love with him for the sake of her painting. The poignant stories of Jaime's Scottish father and Spanish mother provide an undercurrent of tragedy.
The four season structure works well. Each of the sections of the novel is named after the particular hotel Maura is painting at that point. The writing is elegant and accomplished without showiness. I'm glad I stumbled across this novel, which seems to be new on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elegantly written, 2 July 2012
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GARLANDS AND SHADOWS (Kindle Edition)
The distinguishing feature of this book is the elegant prose in which it is written. Maura becomes involved with a family of hoteliers who are experiencing a crisis whilst she is trying to make a living in rural Scotland as a painter. She is always the observer of events in the hotels and surrounding her own family and has to piece together bits of evidence to find out what is happening; in the end she will affect both situations by her own actions based on what she has deduced.

I was seduced by the writing style of this author who engaged me so completely in the story that I wanted to know how the situations would be resolved and how (and if, because it was by no means certain) Maura and Jamie would come together. This is a story of secrets and regrets and of Maura, as an outsider, coming to understand herself better as events unfold. The landscape and environment is described very well and the stories unfold cleverly so that you always know just as much as Maura at any given time. I didn't always like what happened and I felt that Maura was a bit hard on Amy and on Jamie but I always cared about the people.

A beautifully written book which I found completely engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highland Romance, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GARLANDS AND SHADOWS (Kindle Edition)
Romance never goes out of fashion. It is in good heart in the pages of 'Garlands and Shadows'. There is a mysterious - and handsome - stranger, a strong-willed woman, family secrets, tragedy, ambition, suspense, sex ... The themes are as old as literature but here on display in a modern context. For backdrop is the Highlands of Scotland - that most romantic of settings, and the style of writing is as clear and as sparkling as a Highland stream.
Does the path of true love run smooth? Does it ever? Is there a happy ending? Read and find out. Before you get there you'll encounter character, conflict, incident, laughter, tears, and you'll find, as this reader did, pleasure and satisfaction. Guaranteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GARLANDS AND SHADOWS (Kindle Edition)
A lovely story which was full of love and affection. Definitely worth reading if you enjoy a good love story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed !, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GARLANDS AND SHADOWS (Kindle Edition)
Having just read the Deverill Gatehouse which was fantastic by karen Macleod ,I looked for another book written by her.It started well !But what a disappointment ! The main couple argue all the time,which made me feel they shouldn't be together!Not sure now whether to try another book by her or not!The gatehouse was brilliant?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite nice airplane reading, 18 July 2013
By 
Bucsa Oana Maria "Seasin" (Sofia, Bulgaria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GARLANDS AND SHADOWS (Kindle Edition)
Pleasant (although sometimes slightly daft) characters, some unnecessary drama to justify the suspense of the romance, but overall not too badly written and quite pleasant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GARLANDS AND SHADOWS
GARLANDS AND SHADOWS by Karen MacLeod
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews