Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars139
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.09
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2015
A classic album bought to replace an ancient tape.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2005
well, i only got into the smiths after seeing the phenominal morrissey at reading festival last year, but now i can safely say that this album is AMAZING! if you are a music fan, you NEED the smiths and morrissey in your life. seriously, this album changed my life.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMEon 19 January 2002
What can I tell you about 'The Queen is Dead'?- that it's one of THOSE albums you have to own and is up there with any album by anyone ever. O.K...Personally, I prefer 'Strangeways, Here We Come' to TQID- but we're talking about qualatitive differences...The cover is great- featuring Nico's ex-husband, Alain Delon ('Le Plein Soleil', 'Le Samourui')- though I'm not sure which film- 'Once a Thief'???
The songs: beginning with a snatch of ancient-Engerland: 'Take me back to dear old Blighty', a mighty roll of drums and droning feedback produces a song with the intensity of The Stooges and the guitar-over-production of The Cult's 'She Sells Sanctuary'. And those lyrics- the best is a Michael '?' type- intruder break-in to Buckingham Palace, where the regal one says to Moz: "Eh I Know you and you cannot sing", who retorts: "that's nothing- you should hear me play piano" ('Death of a Disco Dancer' highlights Moz's ivory-stylings). The title of the track reasonably comes as much from loathing of the monarchy )The Sex Pistols 'God Save the Queen' as Hubert Selby Jr.'s short-story 'The Queen is Dead'(from 'Last Exit to Brooklyn). This tells the story of Georgette a girl-boy- and ties with the lyrics of 'The Boy with the Thorn in His Side'...'Frankly Mr. Shankly' is the hilarious second track, Marr's sweeping strings perfectly balanced with Moz's spot-on lyrics. 'I Know it's Over' is as over the top as 'There is a Light'; though the live-take on 'Rank' is far-superior. 'Never Had No One Ever' is a very minimal song, providing the juncture to the Kinksian 'Cemetry Gates'. This balances Morrissey's 'Harold & Maude'-styled hanging round cemeteries- but has the funkiest bass-line this side of Sly & The Family Stone...'Bigmouth Strikes Again' features backing vocals by 'Ann Coates' (Moz's voice speeded-up and reapplied)- and is a spleen-venting slab of guitar-built venom. 'There is a Light' would have been a better choice of single at the time!...'Boy...Thorn', a single from 1985, is a sublime moment- up there with The Smiths most gorgeous moments: 'Please Please Please', 'You Just Haven't Earnt it yet, baby', 'Wonderful Woman'...'Vicar in a Tutu' is the kinda Rockabilly inspired idiocy that Morrissey has carried over into his solo-career ('The Loop', 'Certain People I Know', 'Sister I'm a Poet')- though was started by 'Rusholme Ruffians'...'There is a Light that Never Goes Out' is contender for best song of all time- all sweeping Spectoresque strings, 'There She Goes Again'-guitars and the most extreme lyrics since Scott Walker's solo-career (I'm thinking of 'Angels of Ashes', 'Big Louise', 'Montague Terrace (in blue)', 'It's Raining Today'...). Up there with my fave Smiths songs: 'Asleep', 'Last Night I Dreamt...', 'William', 'Shoplifters', 'Stop Me...', 'That Joke Isn't Funny Anymore'...'Some Girls are Bigger Than Others' concludes the masterpiece with sublime pop-hooks and the divine couplet: As Anthony said to Cleopatra/as he opened a crate of ale: "Oh, I say!"/some girls are bigger than others...some girls mother are bigger than other girls mothers...
More relevant to existence than The Beatles or Pink Floyd, this is a wonderful album. Still, it would be nicer with extra tracks from that period- 'The Draize Train', 'Panic', 'Ask'. I s'pose that's the next step for Warners in their exploitation of The Smiths back-catalogue!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2007
I could write a review of this record that would go on for pages.... I'm not going to bother. this is the greatest album of all time. Just skip 'I never had no one ever'.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
One of the best Smiths albums you can buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
Fantastic record and a very nice pressing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2000
The meaningfulness of Morrissey's lyrics are matched only by the musical depth that accompanies them. Both these factors make 'The Queen is Dead' a classic - and a classic with relevance and meaning to the audience.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2005
I have a very large collection of music right across the board...indie, funk, hip hop, rock, folk, pop, jazz and so on but ABSOLUTELY NOTHING comes close to being as good as this album. the boy with a thorn in his side has some of the most beautiful guitar playing of all time. i know its over leaves me speechless. bigmouth is unreal, as is cemetary gates. actually it pains me to even express how good this album is so i'll stop. last 2 things are... There is a light that never goes ot is the best song i have ever heard and the otherthing is just buy this album. if you don't like it, it is not a matter of taste...you are simply wrong!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2016
How can you not enjoy this on vinyl?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
a master piece ......no more to said
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)