Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let this record speak to you.
With current bands like Coldplay and Travis(always mentioned in the same breath) the music they make always seems to wash over me, great songs, terrific songs, but not quite personal enough and soon become forgetful. Morrissey has a way of writing that draws you in and makes you really connect with the song, as if it was about you. It's really powerful stuff and anyone...
Published on 9 Nov 2002

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Queen is Dead CD
The same problem with 'meat is Murder' first track not playing properly and the CD appeared to be second hand
Published 2 months ago by Andrew Duncan


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let this record speak to you., 9 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
With current bands like Coldplay and Travis(always mentioned in the same breath) the music they make always seems to wash over me, great songs, terrific songs, but not quite personal enough and soon become forgetful. Morrissey has a way of writing that draws you in and makes you really connect with the song, as if it was about you. It's really powerful stuff and anyone who listens to this album will appreciate that. Listen to "I know its over" and "No one ever" and "There is a light that never goes out". Even the song titles will have you curious enough to click this album into your basket, surely! Everyone must have had the feeling "And as i climb into an empty bed, Oh, well.... enough said". The Smiths are as powerful as fellow mancunians Joy Division and as revolutionary as Bob Dylan. The Smiths songs stay with you forever, every time i see a double decker bus for example.....
Beware, this album may change your take on life.
Just go and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest albums ever, 25 Jan 2006
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
Here it is, The Smith's masterpiece. Is it a masterpiece? Well, probably. I certainly think so. Albums without a single bad track are rare, albums which exclusively contains songs i could happily listen to on repeat forever are rare. Albums so important and yet so funny are rare too (tracks like Frankly, Mr Shankly and Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others can have me laughing out loud if I'm in the right mood). This album really does have everything: terrific musicianship from Marr, wonderful jangling melodies; and sublime lyrics and vocals from Morrissey (absolutely sublime). Now, lots of albums can claim those two things, but few achieve the cohesion, the union of the music and vocals and lyrics, so everything just clicks and feels as if the songs exist almost naturally. The Queen is Dead does. It really does have everything you could ask for. I could listen to it forever I think.
It's got many of The Smith's best moments: Bigmouth Strikes Again, The Boy with the Thorn in His Side, Frankly, Mr Shankly, and Cemetrey Gates. And of course it has There is A Light That Never Goes Out, possibly my favourite Smith's song of all time. "And if a double-decker bus/crashes in to us/to die by your side/is such a heavenly way to die./And if a ten-ton truck/kills the both of us/to die by your side/well, the pleasure, the privilege, is mine." Only Morrissey is capable of sounding so vocally uplifting and lyrically absolutely heartbreaking at the same time. The man is a genius.
Funny, tragic, serious, cohesive, important, brilliant. No record collection is complete without The Queen is Dead (and, to be honest, all four Smiths albums really.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And It's All Over Now, 7 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
The Smiths of The Queen is Dead have reached the fullest point of their development as a group. From the title track's sweeping majesty to the intricate beauty of "Big Mouth", Johnny Marr's guitar is breathtaking, turning from rage to heartbreak in a moment and seems to have matured to take in the full breadth of Morrissey's ouvre. Moreover, for the last time in a Smiths album, Morrissey's lyrics are free from parody as he trawls his inner psyche (I Know It's Over) to reveal the indubitable truth about his inability to love and the consequences. A truly great album by anyone's standards, it would be the Smiths meisterwerk, and even if only 1 year later we wept over their demise, it's the most enduring testament to their greatness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some albums are better than others, 15 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. B. Mcmillan "Bazalinhio" (West Lothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
Magnum opus of the most influential band of the 80s or more whining from that guy with the big quiff? Anyone who thinks the latter need read no further. In fact, anyone who feels that way should probably give up completely as there is no hope for you. From the thunderous opening drumbeat and wah-wah guitar sequence of the title track to the intricate picking of closer `Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others', the listener is in the realm of true genius. The talents of Morrissey and Marr are very different. Both demonstrate genius on this record but in very distinct ways. Morrissey's lyrics are, yes, at times, downbeat but there is also wit and humour to be found here in equal measure. The title track, `Frankly Mr Shankly' and `Vicar In a Tutu' could provoke a giggle from even the most miserable human being. Complementing this is Marr's incredible guitar work. At times direct and bold, at others beautifully layered to create a stunning backdrop to Morrissey's observations. The songs take us on a journey through the vast landscape that is Morrissey's mind and, just when you think the journey can go no further, the band hits you with their knockout blow, namely `There Is A Light That Never Goes Out'. The chord sequence is perfect, the orchestration is beautiful and not overstated, the rhythm section is in the background when it needs to be, but the drums play an important part at the outset of the song, and in the build up to each majestic chorus. And, above all of this, Morrissey's greatest ever lyric tells a story of the boy who doesn't belong, the boy who is too afraid to make a move on the one person he desires to be with, and, above all, the boy who can think of nothing greater than to die by the side of the one he loves. This is an album on which everything works. There is nothing here to put the listener off the idea of going right back to the start the second the album ends. The perfect album is yet to be made, but `The Queen Is Dead' comes closer than most. The phrase `classic album' is used very lightly these days, but it is impossible to argue that this record doesn't deserve such a lofty status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like being hit by a ten truck truck......full of Morrissey,s flowers, 14 May 2008
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
Memory is a curious thing. For instance supposedly important personal events in my life , anniversaries, birthdays and the like pass me by . Yet i can remember with high resolution detail buying the Queen Is Dead. Entering the shop ( A little independent no longer around alas) buying it, getting it home and playing it for the first time. An experience akin to an epiphany...(the playing that is) but then most new releases by The Smiths were.....but this album if anything, went beyond epiphany into whatever it is that describes an experience beyond epiphany.
Released in June 1986 The Queen Is Dead is The Smiths third album and the one considered by just about everyone as their finest moment, though it,s interesting to note that Morrissey and Marr believe that their final album "Strangeways Here We Come" eclipsed it. Many of the songs for The Queen Is Dead were written while The Smiths were touring in 1985 but the album benefited hugely from the conducive collaboration in the studio between Marr and Morrissey who co-produced and engineer Stephen Street.
There are numerous elements that make The Queen Is Dead such a special album. The song-writing is of course exemplary , but there is a mixture of styles, moods, textures and nuances that take this album somewhere out of the context of a traditional pop/rock album. Add to this the peerless lyrics , full of verbose wit and spry humour and you have an album that fully deserves the moniker classic .
Opening up with the iconoclastic blast of the title track , one of Morrissey's greatest triumphs lyrically it segues into the knee popping bounce of "Frankly Mr Shankly" before the head spinning thematic swivel into the forlorn "I Know It,s Over". The plummeting almost dirge like "Never Had No One Ever" will be not to everyone's taste but I feel it has a real hypnotic power and acts as a counterweight to the sprightly "Cemetery Gates" which has a terrific Andy Rourke bass line and trademark cascading Marr chords and the memorable lyrics about plagiarism: "There's,s always someone somewhere with a big nose who knows" which was Morrissey's riposte to critics who had cried foul over his use of quotes from some of his favourite authors.
The opener on the vinyl side two is "Bigmouth Strikes Again " , the lead single off the album , chosen because the band wanted to make an emphatic affirmative statement on their return. The high pitched backing vocals are great and Morrissey employs his own distinctive high range yodel. "The Boy With The Thorn In His Side" has a gorgeous Marr arrangement with lilting synthesized strings while "Vicar In A Tutu" is a giddy rush of quintessentially English silliness segueing into the song most consider the albums highpoint "There Is Light That Never Goes Out" . Unusually optimistic for Morrissey , the song about two people whose love would overcome death by double decker buses and ten ton trucks is a rare song, even for The Smiths, that merges genuine humorous pathos with a cracking tune. Final track "Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others" has a mantra like quality and ends the album on a considerably more lugubrious note than it came in.
The Queen Is Dead is one of the landmark albums of the 1980,s . An erudite multi-faceted work of tumescent genius that feels like a truly complete work. Everytime i hear the album the memories come rushing back in. If only i had bought on a significant birthday then it would be one less thing to worry about remembering. Other than that The Queen Is Dead is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Morrissey/Marr, 15 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
Quite simply, in my opinion this is the greatest album of all time. Morrissey's lyrics are truly sublime. Marr's playing is fantastic. No other album i have ever heard manages to integrate such brilliant pop songs (Bigmouth Strikes Again) with complete and utter despair (I Know It's Over) so well. In a time when pop music was in such a dire state it is amazing that something so brilliant was ever able to get released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songs that will save your life....., 3 Jun 2007
By 
The Bada Bing (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
The Beatles are the best band ever but they never made an album this good. The Queen Is Dead is The Smiths' finest moment - Louder Than Bombs, Hatful of Hollow, Singles collections and their other three studio albums are all fantastic too but buy this first. There Is A Light.., I Know Its Over, Cemetry Gates and Frankly Mr Shankly are my favourite tracks but the whole album flows perfectly. The Best Album Ever? You better believe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Anthony said to Cleopatra, this is a great album innit, 27 May 2004
By 
MRS L A JOHNSTON (Bo'ness, West Lothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
Simply put, this is the best album by the Smiths, who were my favourite band growing up and there is still a massive chunk of my heart that belongs to them.
The Smiths didnt make great albums really, play them back and you will get the odd wee filler (not that I thought that at 15yrs old mind!) But this is about the best they ever achieved and it's no mean feat.
Beginning wtih the title track, its cracks on at a fair pace, with the usual witty, clever lyrics from Steven. Great story, well told.
I know its over , slows things down but this is possibly in my top5 of smiths songs ever recorded. Wonderful,wonderful, wonderful, words cannot describe, so I aint gonna.
cemetry gates, frankly Mr.Shankly and Vicar in a tutu are short snapshots of the world through Morrissey's eyes, backed with fantastic playing by the rest of the band (Johnny, erm George and Ringo....or something like that!!)
If there is a better closing track on a Smiths album that Some girls are bigger than others, i'm a Dutchman. And this is from a guy who loves I wont share you from Strangeways here we come.
I wont ramble, as I said earlier, the Smiths made cracking 2-3 minute singles and filled the charts well from 83-87, but this is the best Smiths album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite an astounding album, 24 Mar 2004
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
As someone of a mere 19 years of age, I was too young to appreciate The Smiths while they were around, but knew of them through the way the likes of Noel Gallagher talks about them. In a bid to further my musical education I bought this album when I saw it in a sale, and still find myself amazed by it. The combination of Morrissey and Marr seems to have been an incredibly special one, and this album is packed with brilliant tracks. It regularly features in "best album ever" top 10s, and it is hard to find reviews of it that do not praise it.
What in particular do I like about it? The wit of Morrissey's lyrics in one song, and the utter sadness in the next. The superb general guitar work that even someone as un-knowing about playing the guitar as I can appreciate as being great. The way the album flows together into one important event. Cemetry Gates. Frankly, Mr Shankly. I Know It's Over.
It is a truely great album, one of the classics, I'm sure. I have since bought Meat Is Murder, which, although I like it, I do not feel is as special as this. I can't imagine a better way to get into the Smiths than through this, except that it would be hard for them to have produced anything better than this, so it may lead to disappointment at a later date...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Smiths Album, 5 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Queen Is Dead (Audio CD)
The Queen Is Dead is the first album by The Smiths that I ever bought and it's still my favourite album by them. The album starts brilliantly with the suberb track 'The Queen Is Dead' and it's excellent drum and bass parts. It includes other brilliant tracks such as I Know It's Over and the amazing There Is A Light That Never Goes Out (My favourite track the band ever released) this is a must have album for any fans of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Queen Is Dead
The Queen Is Dead by The Smiths
Buy MP3 Album0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews