Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still firing on all six!, 27 Oct. 2011
By 
Richard C. Button (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firing On All Six (Audio CD)
This really is one hell of an album, the term 'classic rock' was invented for albums like this.I first became aware of this band when i saw them supporting Mahogany Rush back in 1977, i remember thinking 'this band should be huge' For one reason or another it never happened , but in this, and their equally fine debut album they left behind something for us to treasure.Sloman went on to join Uriah Heep,Chapman replaced Schenker in UFO & Dixie Lee teamed up with ex-Lizzy guitarist Brian Robertson in Wild Horses.
This album always sounded BIG , but Rock Candy have remastered the album superbly, it sounds much fuller than the BGO release, really nice booklet with some good photo's and 3 bonus tracks (The Bells Of Berlin,All Of Us To All Of You & Lonely Soldier) from a previously unreleased BBC Session.
It's a classic, and if you like it, get the first album too, which has been given the same treatment on the excellent Rock Candy label (and no, i don't work for them! )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lone Star Firing on all Six, 30 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firing On All Six (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album, with excellent performances from all the band.I have had a vinyl copy of this for years so it was good to finally get it on cd. Any rock fan must have this in your collection. An era defining album, that will never date, and sounds as good today as it did then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning. I have the album on every conceivable ..., 21 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Firing On All Six (Audio CD)
Simply Stunning. I have the album on every conceivable version, originally cassette, then vinyl (two copies) and cd. Even have a tape of the BBC sessions that were broadcast on the radio. This should have been a massive hit and there is not a duff track on the album. There is a big sound feel and the band are tight and really are "firing on all six", even all these years later it is still in my top 5 of all time. If anyone one is in doubt please please just buy it you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb blast from the past., 24 Oct. 2011
By 
S. A. Reed (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Firing On All Six (Audio CD)
Nothing less than SUPERB.
I have numerous copies of Lone Star and Firing On All Six but the two new releases are even better than the origional classics.
It is unbelievable to think that the cds were originally released over 30 years ago yet they sound fresher than many quality new releases.
Driscoll and Sloman are at the top of their games supported by excellent band members and outstanding production.
The extra tracks and liner notes are credits to Rockcandy and make both releases present day classics.
Rockcandy have done it again following on from their releases by Montrose and Badlands.
It would be nice to see similar releases from Burning Rain but until then the Lone Star releases will more than satisfy.
Buy now and enjoy the brilliant past.
ps Firing On All Six was only previously released on vinyl and two on one cds.
It was my golden challice which is now reality.....Thank you again RockcandyLone Star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rock Album, 24 Dec. 2011
By 
This review is from: Firing On All Six (Audio CD)
I remember this group at the time back in the 1970s and seeing them live when they were supporting rubbish like Mahogany Rush. The BBC DJs John Peel and Alan Freeman plugged them hugely but for whatever reason they never made it big. Maybe one of the reasons, as was debated at the time, was that their two albums were over-produced (the producer was the same guy who produced Queen). This can be heard on this album. Included are the songs that they did live for Alan Freeman. Play the album versions of these songs and then the Alan Freeman versions and you will understand the criticism that the album versions were over-produced. The Alan Freeman versions are what rock music should be: RAW. If the album had reflected what they had produced for Alan Freeman history for Lone Star might have been different. They also did live versions for John Peelm which are not on this album but the first one and they are even rawer and better than the album versions. Unfortunately, they came out at the same time as Punk.
However, saying all that, the music on the albums for all their over-production are for me still now some of the greatest rock music ever made. Considering some of the mediocre bands that have made it relative big since, over-produced is a minor criticism. If you like rock music you will like Lone Star. I had not until recently listened to Lone Star for some 20 years and went I bought this remastered copy, the music still had the same affect on me as all those years ago in 1977: smacked me between the eyes and blew me away to rock heaven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just sublime, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firing On All Six (MP3 Download)
I've got the original vinyl tucked away in the loft. Being able to download it from Amazon and listen to it again after all these years was slightly surreal. Every track is a winner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sloman still rocks, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firing On All Six (Audio CD)
John Sloman was the lead singer of this band.They sort of missed the boat at the time even though 'Fluff' freeman plugged them.A classic should be in every rock lovers collection.Fantastic vocals from John,awesome drumming ,and guitar work by Chapman who ended up in UFO.Bells of Berlin,lovely Lubina, Rivers overflowing,hypnotic mover,all of us to all of you,and more are all compositions that make up a fine album.Check out what John Sloman is doing now two acoustic albums 13 Storeys,and Reclamation outstanding vocals and lyrics and two electric albums Dark Matter,and Disappearances can be deceptive which are equally outstanding,find them at John Sloman.net (all available on download only-including reclamation not on CD as website says)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Firing On All Six
Firing On All Six by Lone Star (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews