Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elektropop Perfection
This incredible album is named after a club night at the Blitz called 'Elektro Diskow', after Telex's 'Moskow Diskow'. As a synthpop aficionado, I was excited by the prospect of a new compilation, which sheds light on some forgotten corners of this revolutionary movement. It cleverly balances touchstones of the genre (League Unlimited Orchestra, Roxy Music, Pet Shop Boys,...
Published on 23 Nov 2011 by Laura Phipps

versus
8 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Price is the saving grace here
This is a very badly compiled set. Going by the title of the issue, Elektro Diskow, it would lead you to believe that it was packed full of electonic dance music. Well, if you can dance to Japan's VISIONS OF CHINA or Savage Progress' HEART BEGIN TO BEAT or indeed more or less anything by Fad Gadget, then bully for you. There are some great tracks on here though, most of...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by P. McKenna


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elektropop Perfection, 23 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Elektro Diskow (Audio CD)
This incredible album is named after a club night at the Blitz called 'Elektro Diskow', after Telex's 'Moskow Diskow'. As a synthpop aficionado, I was excited by the prospect of a new compilation, which sheds light on some forgotten corners of this revolutionary movement. It cleverly balances touchstones of the genre (League Unlimited Orchestra, Roxy Music, Pet Shop Boys, Yazoo) with more esoteric choices: I was particularly entranced by Vicious Pink's 'Cccan't You See' (think Otis Redding re-imagined as a fembot: essential listening). From the opening train whistle on the album's lead track and inspiration, 'Elektro Diskow' is a breathlessly Dionysian (and bargainous - 4.28!!) swoop through an influential and diverse scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant collection, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektro Diskow (Audio CD)
This compilation is a mix of some well known material[Sheffield is represented by human league, heaven 17, bef & league unlimited orchestra],psb & yazoo. telex brilliant moskow diskow is worth the price alone but aapart from that I wanted stop start by the assembly which is not available elsewhere. the whole compilation is superb and because of it I bought a cd by Rheingold. buy & enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb double CD full of early 80's electro, 29 April 2014
By 
P. K. Fretwell "fritz" (Mansfield, Notts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektro Diskow (Audio CD)
I recently stumbled across this gem of an album, for all you fans of early 80's electronic music it is a must. Rarities, remixes and 12" extended versions by OMD, Japan, Human League, Heaven 17, Talk Talk and Yazoo. Also long forgotten, but now rediscovered, tracks by The Normal, Telex, British Electric Foundation and Devo. It is brilliant, takes me back to the early 80's when life was so much simpler, this is the music that paved the way. It has constantly been on my CD player since I bought it, well worth a fiver I say!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREATEST RETRO ELECTRO MIX SO FAR !, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Arturo Suski Blanco "elreyarturo" (madrid,Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektro Diskow (Audio CD)
Yes, yes and yes. Mixmag have produced again ANOTHER GEM. brilliant...just brilliant mix of eighties electro. Just makes you want to dance around your living room re-enacting your best eighties techno moves...ENJOY !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Price is the saving grace here, 22 Nov 2011
By 
P. McKenna "petermckenna123" (Drogheda , Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elektro Diskow (Audio CD)
This is a very badly compiled set. Going by the title of the issue, Elektro Diskow, it would lead you to believe that it was packed full of electonic dance music. Well, if you can dance to Japan's VISIONS OF CHINA or Savage Progress' HEART BEGIN TO BEAT or indeed more or less anything by Fad Gadget, then bully for you. There are some great tracks on here though, most of them available on much better compilations than this one. I notice that even though the release date for this is October 2011, there are 2 tracks with '2003 Remaster' listed, which makes me wonder why? Is this an old compilation re-packaged, or is this a job lot of low or royalty free tracks flung together for a few bob. I'd say the latter. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised, given that the disc is headlined 'MIXMAG PRESENTS', if these discs were previously given away free with the magazine.
Anyway, the saving grace of this double set is the price, under a fiver, if you must buy it. But there are much much better compilations out there if you are into 80s electronica... spend a few extra quid and start dancing. Avoid this one like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elektro Diskow
Elektro Diskow by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews