Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent opera, not a vehicle
This edition of Lucia is perhaps the best I have heard, perhaps because it was how the composer intended it to be.
Through singers, high opinions of themselves and the need to be heard, we get versions like the Sutherland one, no offence to the Diva herself.
This however stops the action, lots of trills and basic nonsense singing takes you away from the actual...
Published on 24 April 2003 by Mr. M. J. Hayday

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best "Lucia" on the market
The London Symphony Orchestra is great. So is Domingo. So is Ramey. So is Pons. Great singing and diction from the three men. Domingo's voice is heavenly and his singing is outstanding. His high notes are thrilling and show what a huge voice he has. Truly a world-class tenor. Ramey is his usual excellent self. Pons is more than capable in the role of Raimondo. However,...
Published on 15 Feb. 2003 by V. Chau


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent opera, not a vehicle, 24 April 2003
By 
This edition of Lucia is perhaps the best I have heard, perhaps because it was how the composer intended it to be.
Through singers, high opinions of themselves and the need to be heard, we get versions like the Sutherland one, no offence to the Diva herself.
This however stops the action, lots of trills and basic nonsense singing takes you away from the actual drama, and feeling of the opera.
All singers on this recording are excellent, and in great voice, Domingo is in brilliant form as Edgardo, Studer is a superb Lucia, with reference to another comment on this page, she has a full vocal range, including singing Wagners demanding scores, she just keeps the pace, keeps the drama, whilst giving us a very beautiful rendition.
All supporting artists are very well known and dont let us down, I have heard other recordings, but this is the one, that is the best sung, best conducted, and best version all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another lovely Domingo recording, 6 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
The first complete digital Lucia released, and it is another treasure of DG recording and casting.
The orchestra is tight and Ion Marin provides a competent (if not inspiring) direction of the score. Domingo is in lovely voice; the closing scenes are incredibly moving here.
However, Lucia is really a vehicle for a prima donna soprano, and I'm afraid that Cheryl Studer is not quite in control of it. The coloratura is not everything that a chap brought up on Joan Sutherland could have wished for, but it is pleasant enough. The issue is with her range - she's scaping the ceiling in a couple of the finales, and headphones reveal that the engineer has been saving her blushes on a couple of the runs.
Reservations aside (and I am being awfully picky) it is a pleasant, classy, digital recording of Donizetti's masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best "Lucia" on the market, 15 Feb. 2003
By 
V. Chau (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The London Symphony Orchestra is great. So is Domingo. So is Ramey. So is Pons. Great singing and diction from the three men. Domingo's voice is heavenly and his singing is outstanding. His high notes are thrilling and show what a huge voice he has. Truly a world-class tenor. Ramey is his usual excellent self. Pons is more than capable in the role of Raimondo. However, this recording has one serious fault. That is Lucia. Cheryl Studer's voice is too loud and robust for fragile Lucia. She holds on to high notes for very short amounts of time. The high E-flats in the mad scene are missing. She really does not convey Lucia's character that well. Jennifer Larmore has a very dark, rich mezzo that is perfectly suited to the role of Alisa. This would have been a great "Lucia" had a different soprano been cast in the role of Lucia. The men do a fine job in their roles, but a recording of "Lucia" stands or falls by its soprano. This one has a horribly miscast soprano. Therefore, it falls. Cheryl Studer has a wonderful coloratura technique but it is wasted in this challenging role, which she butchers. I own Sills' excellent recording with Thomas Schippers conducting and three excellent male singers: Carlo Bergonzi as Edgardo, Piero Cappuccilli as Raimondo, and Justino Díaz as Raimondo. That is the best recording of "Lucia" available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A production above one Diva, 11 April 2003
By 
I have listened to numerous recordings of Lucia, and this has to be the best so far.
Reading other reviews, this recording has been repeatedly compared to the Sutherland one and to be honest I dont think the Sutherland recording was as great as made out.
Firstly Sutherland totally overshadowed the opera, and this is wrong. The "mad" scene was totally overplayed, and is certainly used as a stage for her colouration. Although opera, is generally overplayed ,obviously, this extracted attention from the subject which was being dealt with, to the soprano and simply didnt make sense.
However this production, was great, Studer is a wonderful Soprano, one of my favourites, has a great wide vocal range, and has been in many many productions, she doesnt want to steal the show, and we have a great deal of drama as a result, we have domingos shininh ringing notes, and the great Pons amongst others, this is a truly brilliant recording.
I bought the Pavarotti/Sutherland recording, and although its good, much prefer this, its much more human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nearly unlistenable., 5 July 2000
By A Customer
This is an historical recording and while the noise could be accepted the many pitch fluctuations make it easily the worst recording I have listened to in a very, very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Noisey live recording is the only drawback
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews