Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars442
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2011
"Deluxe", "Remastered"! That sounds good! Yes?

Well, no.

The simple fact is that the mastering on the original version of Nevermind was excellent. Howie Weinberg was tasked with making the original sound as good as he possibly could. And the result was a clear, lively, dynamic and very punchy record indeed!

Then this came along. Unfortunately, the music industry no longer cares in any way about quality - really, they don't! So for this supposedly "Deluxe" version, they simply asked the mastering engineer to forget all about sound quality and just make the album sound artificially loud. And he's done that! All of the dynamics are gone, clear passages are replaced with digital distortion, the drums sound flatter and the whole album has a flat, lifeless and fatiguing sound to it.

And there we have it. A "Deluxe" version of this album which sounds 10 times worse than the original.

Sure the bonus tracks are a nice addition, but they aren't anything which hasn't been floating around on bootlegs for the last 15+ years. So, my advice is to keep hold of your superior "original" copy - A good memorial for those times when the music industry used to care about the quality of the stuff they release. Don't touch this shoddy re-release with a barge pole!

----

As a quick update to this for all those who are curious about the sheer number of positive reviews here (or why I seem to have reviewed it twice), Amazon have pulled all the reviews from the original album, the "remastered" album and the "deluxe" album (remastered plus bonus material) all together into one group. Hence these reviews here also now cover the original release as well. Personally, I'd give the original 5 stars as well. It's this shoddy "remaster" that only deserves 2. If you haven't heard this album yet, track down a copy of the original. You won't regret it!
2424 comments|165 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
Let me get one thing straight: Nevermind is a fantastic and incredibly influential album. However with this version, there's one major problem.

The simple fact is that the mastering on the original version of Nevermind was excellent. Howie Weinberg was tasked with making the original sound as good as he possibly could. And the result was a clear, lively, dynamic and very punchy record indeed!

Then this came along. Unfortunately, the music industry no longer cares in any way about quality - really, they don't! So for this supposedly "Remastered" version, they simply asked the mastering engineer to forget all about sound quality and just make the album sound artificially loud. And he's done that! All of the dynamics are gone, clear passages are replaced with digital distortion, the drums sound flatter and the whole sound has a flat, lifeless and fatiguing sound to it.

And there we have it. A "Remastered" version of this album which sounds 10 times worse than the original.

So, my advice is to keep hold of your superior "original" copy - A good memorial for those times when the music industry used to care about the quality of the stuff they release. Don't touch this shoddy re-release with a barge pole, the quality of it is rubbish!
55 comments|73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
This mix we can call of Pure Loudness War Audio, doenst make sense a bluray audio and a terrible mix like this
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2005
If you don't already have this album in your CD collection, I suggest that you purchase it now, because it's an absolute must-have.
It may be over a decade since the band was abruptly halted by singer and guitarist Kurt Cobain's suicide, and yet this is still one of those albums that keeps selling and keeps selling.
Thousands of teens every year get their first taste of Nirvana. More addictive than any narcotic, and there's no horrible come-down. You can just keep listening and keep listening, and the high just gets better and better.
Smells Like Teen Spirit is the band's most famous song, without a doubt. The raw guitar into, the moment where the drums cascade into action and the fuzz peddle is pushed hard to the floor...it's the soundtrack to so many great experiences.
Come As You Are is arguably one of the best songs they ever recorded. With Krist's watery bass into, and the infectious yet simple vocal arragement is truly magic.
But skip straight to number four if you want something to headbang, jump around, scream your lungs out to! Breed is the epitome of all things loud and amazing.
Then Drain You, Lounge Act and On A Plain are the best of the rest, although it broke my heart to have to choose my favourites. This whole album is astoundingly good, and you should buy it immediately, and play it as loud as your stereo will allow you.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
Terrible...just terrible..
What has happened to quality? This is a pile of garbage, loud and flat
They have already destroyed Jesus Lizards Goat with their so called superior mastering..
Keep hold to your original copies.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
in a 2009 article Bob Ludwig stated "People talk about downloads hurting record sales, I and some other people would submit that another thing that is hurting record sales these days is the fact that they are so compressed that the ear just gets tired of it. When you're through listening to a whole album of this highly compressed music, your ear is fatigued. You may have enjoyed the music but you don't really feel like going back and listening to it again. It's been really rough, folks, But it can get better and I think it will get better. I'm glad it's going to be over."

This is the same guy who's remastered this version of 'Nevermind' 2 years later to the very same loudness war standard he has criticised and seemed to suggest was reversing.

All the dynamic range on this classic album is gone. Which means there's no punch to the music, every song stays the same volume throughout so when a chorus kicks in it doesn't get louder than the verse and lift the song.

From what i've read over the years, Kurt loved using the quiet verse LOUD chorus technique, so for a band that was obviously about dynamics it's baffling that this remaster even made it onto a commercially available CD/download. A whole new generation of Nirvana fans are going to be robbed of the way this album should really sound as mastered dynamically in 1991 by Howie Weinberg.

UMG don't care, they just want your money, but that's ok, you don't have to give it to them, no matter how big a Nirvana fan you are, you can download the extra content for free 'illegally' after all they're offering you an inferior 'new' product when your original copy of Nevermind sounds perfect -- you just have to use that thing known as a volume knob or volume buttons.

"All the kids will eat it up, if it's packaged properly".
44 comments|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 August 2007
It doesn't matter that this album became popular. It doesn't matter that Cobain moved away from the underground scene by injecting a bit more melody in his songs on 'Nevermind'. It doesn't matter that the ethos of American indie music or the 'grunge' scene didn't start with Nirvana. The fact is that this is an outstanding record. Why did it sell more copies than anything by The Pixies? Because it's better than The Pixies.

Music doesn't always have mass appeal just because it conforms to the lowest common denominator. Sometimes it really is just that good. And you can make the argument that everything is derivative - all music builds upon something that came before it.

The truth is that there isn't a bad track on this album. Beatle-esque harmonies are interwoven with grinding guitars and bouncy little bass loops. The drums drive everything on with frenetic energy. Cobain's voice cracks and howls throughout, bridging the gap between blues and punk. And the lyrics speak to the angst-ridden teenager in us all. Everything just seems to gel perfectly. And when music is this good, all that other nonsense is meaningless. 'Selling out', in this case, is just a euphemism for 'getting better'.

My favourite track is probably 'Lounge Act' because it shimmies along in a vaguely sleezy kind of way. But 'Drain You' has a great opening; 'On a Plain' has these great, breathy vocal harmonies; 'Stay Away' is a proper shriek-along song; and 'Something in the Way' is creepy and uplifting at the same time - no mean feat. I surely don't need to say much about the 4 singles that were lifted from the album, you will have heard them a zillion times already. But what I will say is that if you like those tracks, you'll be amazed at how the record actually gets better after them (ie. on the vinyl copy I owned originally, the b side is actually better than the a side). Which is saying something when you're talking about 4 of the best songs of the early 90s: 'Smells Like Teen Spirit', 'In Bloom', 'Come As You Are' and 'Lithium'.

Seriously, don't get put off by the opinions of people who want to appear cool by rejecting something just because it was popular, or by pointing out that someone else did something similar before. Quality is quality. Who cares if someone wants to make themselves look clever?
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2006
i'm quite old, and have listened to music, particularly rock music for years. when this album came along it clearly stuck out as something that would be talked about (even before kurt's untimely death) for years. not all bands hit it right on their first albums, and this is a case in point, when you listen to Bleach though, you can feel the rumblings. there must have been some particular set of magical circumstances that came together to make this sort of album happen (see my listmania list for those albums). as you can tell by reading all of the reviews, some people think that not all of the tracks are absolute classics, but which albums can you say that of anyway. this was an album that made the connection to youth, and brought many younger people back to listening to rock music at the time. OK so Nirvana weren't the first grunge band, they weren't the heaviest grunge band, but who cares. how some reviewers can only give this album 2 stars i just don't know. i'd love to know what constitutes a 5 star album. if your just getting into rock music then buy this album, as it represents one of the classics of the genre.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
Nirvana always struck me as the type of band to be heard either live or on vinyl. So the CDs are pretty good, but they don't come close to this.... this is ferocious. The packaging isn't what I expected (it ISN'T a box set), but it's still pretty neat.... like I said, never mind ! Treat yourself to it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2008
I've no doubt that all my opinions on this album have been mentioned in previous reviews so I'll be brief.

Every song on Nirvana is a classic. The better known songs (Smells...,Come as you are, Lithium) don't overshadow the other 9(10?) at all. For this kind of sound to be generated by a 3 piece is remarkable.

At the time of release Kobain's dark lyrics and manic delivery might have seemed a bit over the top and false but unfortunately time proved that he really was pissed off with everything.

A must for any rock fans collection.

PS 10 minutes after the end of the last song on the track listing another song starts up. Sounds a bit like a jam session but worth listening to.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)