Customer Reviews


320 Reviews
5 star:
 (236)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana - Nevermind
If you don't already have this album in your CD collection, I suggest that you purchase it now, because it's an absolute must-have.
It may be over a decade since the band was abruptly halted by singer and guitarist Kurt Cobain's suicide, and yet this is still one of those albums that keeps selling and keeps selling.
Thousands of teens every year get their first...
Published on 20 Feb 2005

versus
127 of 131 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A deluxe edition that's worse than the original
"Deluxe", "Remastered"! That sounds good! Yes?

Well, no.

The simple fact is that the mastering on the original version of Nevermind was excellent. Howie Weinberg was tasked with making the original sound as good as he possibly could. And the result was a clear, lively, dynamic and very punchy record indeed!

Then this came along...
Published on 27 Oct 2011 by D. Knight


‹ Previous | 1 2 332 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Aug 2007
By 
Cuban Heel "Neil Schiller" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nevermind (Audio CD)
It doesn't matter that this album became popular. It doesn't matter that Cobain moved away from the underground scene by injecting a bit more melody in his songs on 'Nevermind'. It doesn't matter that the ethos of American indie music or the 'grunge' scene didn't start with Nirvana. The fact is that this is an outstanding record. Why did it sell more copies than anything by The Pixies? Because it's better than The Pixies.

Music doesn't always have mass appeal just because it conforms to the lowest common denominator. Sometimes it really is just that good. And you can make the argument that everything is derivative - all music builds upon something that came before it.

The truth is that there isn't a bad track on this album. Beatle-esque harmonies are interwoven with grinding guitars and bouncy little bass loops. The drums drive everything on with frenetic energy. Cobain's voice cracks and howls throughout, bridging the gap between blues and punk. And the lyrics speak to the angst-ridden teenager in us all. Everything just seems to gel perfectly. And when music is this good, all that other nonsense is meaningless. 'Selling out', in this case, is just a euphemism for 'getting better'.

My favourite track is probably 'Lounge Act' because it shimmies along in a vaguely sleezy kind of way. But 'Drain You' has a great opening; 'On a Plain' has these great, breathy vocal harmonies; 'Stay Away' is a proper shriek-along song; and 'Something in the Way' is creepy and uplifting at the same time - no mean feat. I surely don't need to say much about the 4 singles that were lifted from the album, you will have heard them a zillion times already. But what I will say is that if you like those tracks, you'll be amazed at how the record actually gets better after them (ie. on the vinyl copy I owned originally, the b side is actually better than the a side). Which is saying something when you're talking about 4 of the best songs of the early 90s: 'Smells Like Teen Spirit', 'In Bloom', 'Come As You Are' and 'Lithium'.

Seriously, don't get put off by the opinions of people who want to appear cool by rejecting something just because it was popular, or by pointing out that someone else did something similar before. Quality is quality. Who cares if someone wants to make themselves look clever?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity - Nevermind, 16 Nov 2011
By 
BD "bigdave2020" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Original Album - an easy 5 stars. Nevermind has proven to be as influential to a generation as The Sex Pistols - Never Mind the Bollocks, or the Stone Roses - The Stone Roses, the original album captured the hearts, minds and attitudes of millions and in most cases held on to them for good. If you are reading this, you know the track listing, probably able to recite it backwards, so I won't bore you with it again. Nevermind is a landmark album that people have bought, formed bands because of it (myself included), destroyed it, got mashed to it, driven too fast to it, made love to it, and then bought it again.

The Re-mastered album - The songs are still five stars, but the re-mastering is woefully bad. The quiet verse parts loud chorus parts dynamic has been obliterated at the hands of an engineer who maybe left a trainee in charge. Dynamic crunching guitars and sharp drums have become a muddy mix of distorted clipping mush. How or why the record industry seems so intent on destroying the sound quality on so many re-releases is a mystery to me. I bought this hoping the album would sound better not worse, my 10 year old daughter can tell it sounds like junk. I compared the original CD which I own next to this re-issue and the difference is startling. Save your money and keep hold of the original, or buy a second hand copy of the original. The re-release is an insult to your ears and your wallet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Say no to loudness war, 25 Feb 2014
By 
Elton Luiz Rabello (São Paulo, São Paulo Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This mix we can call of Pure Loudness War Audio, doenst make sense a bluray audio and a terrible mix like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential purchase for any music fans collection, 1 Jan 2004
This review is from: Nevermind (Audio CD)
This album is often criticised for being caught up in the whole ‘look at me, I’m a so called troubled teenager full of angst’ scene.
You may or may not relate to the angst-ridden lyrics but there’s still no denying over a decade later, ‘Nevermind’ remains a masterpiece in the grunge genre alongside Sound garden’s ‘Bad Motor Finger’ and Pearl Jam’s ‘Ten’.
The album is opened with the song that remains a firm favourite of everyone, ‘Smells Like Teen Spirit’, still on heavy rotation on all the music channels, this song is easily one of the most classic of all time, simple guitar riffs, a smooth bassline, tortured vocals and an anthemic chorus, this is one of the many highlights of this fantastic album.
Other tracks bound to take your attention include ‘Come As You Are’, this is most definitely one of my all time favourite songs - the haunting bassline and the lyrical message is just perfect.
‘Lithium’ is another firm favourite of mine along with ‘Polly’ and the pounding ‘Territorial Pissings’ - check out those vocals at the end of the track! Pretty scary if you ask me.
No matter what anyone may say, ‘Nevermind’ is definitely one of the greatest rock albums ever made and if you like good, listenable rock music - go ahead and add it to that missing gap in your cd collection - because listen to this with an open mind and whether you are 16 - like myself - or in your mid 40’s, you will most probably enjoy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definately worth 5 stars, 18 Nov 2006
This review is from: Nevermind (Audio CD)
i'm quite old, and have listened to music, particularly rock music for years. when this album came along it clearly stuck out as something that would be talked about (even before kurt's untimely death) for years. not all bands hit it right on their first albums, and this is a case in point, when you listen to Bleach though, you can feel the rumblings. there must have been some particular set of magical circumstances that came together to make this sort of album happen (see my listmania list for those albums). as you can tell by reading all of the reviews, some people think that not all of the tracks are absolute classics, but which albums can you say that of anyway. this was an album that made the connection to youth, and brought many younger people back to listening to rock music at the time. OK so Nirvana weren't the first grunge band, they weren't the heaviest grunge band, but who cares. how some reviewers can only give this album 2 stars i just don't know. i'd love to know what constitutes a 5 star album. if your just getting into rock music then buy this album, as it represents one of the classics of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Superfluous, 25 Oct 2011
Just what the the world didn't need. Another remastered re-issued anniversary edition of an iconic album with some godawful rehearsals and sessions added to make you feel better about shelling out for something you don't need.In fact, disc two with its rehearsals and sessions only serve to make you appreciate the production job on the original. Course, if you really wanna be sure some record company executive's son or daughter get an expensive present this Christmas, rush out and buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 24 Oct 2008
By 
J. Huxtable (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nevermind (Audio CD)
Quite simply the best peice of music to exist today. Each and every song is an epic and will leave you listening to it over and over again. Cobains voice is powerful throughout the album and for me its hard to pick out a favourite song but it will have to be "Drain You". If you like music and havent heard this album yet, then you must. it was the beginning of a passion for rock music for me and it still gets played very loudly on my hi-fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A victim of The Loudness War, 30 Sep 2011
The original CD release sounds A LOT better than the remastered version (more dynamic) .
The remastered CD is over-compressed to the point where there's clipping all over the place.
Dave Grohl's drums sound flat and lifeless now. It's a shame that such a legendary album
gets such a terrible treatment.
Google "Loudness War" to find out more about the technical details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Mr. Ludwig for keeping the loudness war alive., 3 Oct 2011
By 
Scentless Apprentice (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
in a 2009 article Bob Ludwig stated "People talk about downloads hurting record sales, I and some other people would submit that another thing that is hurting record sales these days is the fact that they are so compressed that the ear just gets tired of it. When you're through listening to a whole album of this highly compressed music, your ear is fatigued. You may have enjoyed the music but you don't really feel like going back and listening to it again. It's been really rough, folks, But it can get better and I think it will get better. I'm glad it's going to be over."

This is the same guy who's remastered this version of 'Nevermind' 2 years later to the very same loudness war standard he has criticised and seemed to suggest was reversing.

All the dynamic range on this classic album is gone. Which means there's no punch to the music, every song stays the same volume throughout so when a chorus kicks in it doesn't get louder than the verse and lift the song.

From what i've read over the years, Kurt loved using the quiet verse LOUD chorus technique, so for a band that was obviously about dynamics it's baffling that this remaster even made it onto a commercially available CD/download. A whole new generation of Nirvana fans are going to be robbed of the way this album should really sound as mastered dynamically in 1991 by Howie Weinberg.

UMG don't care, they just want your money, but that's ok, you don't have to give it to them, no matter how big a Nirvana fan you are, you can download the extra content for free 'illegally' after all they're offering you an inferior 'new' product when your original copy of Nevermind sounds perfect -- you just have to use that thing known as a volume knob or volume buttons.

"All the kids will eat it up, if it's packaged properly".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana forever, 26 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Nevermind (Audio CD)
Personally, I absolutely love this album, in my opinion there is not a single bad track on it. However, Despite how famous "Smells Like Teen Spirit" and the entire Nevermind album has become, this isn't something everybody could listen to and appreciate. Nirvana are a rock band, and anyone who normally dislikes rock music is unlikely to relate to or like this, despite the vast amount of recognition it has received.
Anyone who is into rock-type music will almost certainly love this album, as it is what converted me to the genre in the first place. The album also has tracks which offer quite some variety throughout; while there is a definite theme listeners are unlikely to be bored by lack of change in style.
While tracks such as "Lounge Act," "Stay Away," and "Territorial P***ings" offer heavy beats and powerful driving rhythms, they are offset by the more gentle tracks such as "Polly" and "Something in the Way." Anyone who thought that Nirvana is purely angry music would also be very wrong; "On A Plain," "Lithium" and in some ways "Come As You Are" demonstrate an intelligent - if a little twisted - sense of humour.
Overall, I'd say that despite the large amount of hype about Nevermind it isn't over-rated in any respect. Every track on the album has its value. However, in the same way that not everyone likes the genre of Nirvana's music, not everyone will like Nevermind - a misconception which is probably what lead Kurt Cobain himself to dislike the album so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 332 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nevermind
Nevermind by Nirvana
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews