Customer Reviews


325 Reviews
5 star:
 (240)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana - Nevermind
If you don't already have this album in your CD collection, I suggest that you purchase it now, because it's an absolute must-have.
It may be over a decade since the band was abruptly halted by singer and guitarist Kurt Cobain's suicide, and yet this is still one of those albums that keeps selling and keeps selling.
Thousands of teens every year get their first...
Published on 20 Feb 2005

versus
128 of 132 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A deluxe edition that's worse than the original
"Deluxe", "Remastered"! That sounds good! Yes?

Well, no.

The simple fact is that the mastering on the original version of Nevermind was excellent. Howie Weinberg was tasked with making the original sound as good as he possibly could. And the result was a clear, lively, dynamic and very punchy record indeed!

Then this came along...
Published on 27 Oct 2011 by D. Knight


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

128 of 132 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A deluxe edition that's worse than the original, 27 Oct 2011
By 
D. Knight - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Deluxe", "Remastered"! That sounds good! Yes?

Well, no.

The simple fact is that the mastering on the original version of Nevermind was excellent. Howie Weinberg was tasked with making the original sound as good as he possibly could. And the result was a clear, lively, dynamic and very punchy record indeed!

Then this came along. Unfortunately, the music industry no longer cares in any way about quality - really, they don't! So for this supposedly "Deluxe" version, they simply asked the mastering engineer to forget all about sound quality and just make the album sound artificially loud. And he's done that! All of the dynamics are gone, clear passages are replaced with digital distortion, the drums sound flatter and the whole album has a flat, lifeless and fatiguing sound to it.

And there we have it. A "Deluxe" version of this album which sounds 10 times worse than the original.

Sure the bonus tracks are a nice addition, but they aren't anything which hasn't been floating around on bootlegs for the last 15+ years. So, my advice is to keep hold of your superior "original" copy - A good memorial for those times when the music industry used to care about the quality of the stuff they release. Don't touch this shoddy re-release with a barge pole!

----

As a quick update to this for all those who are curious about the sheer number of positive reviews here (or why I seem to have reviewed it twice), Amazon have pulled all the reviews from the original album, the "remastered" album and the "deluxe" album (remastered plus bonus material) all together into one group. Hence these reviews here also now cover the original release as well. Personally, I'd give the original 5 stars as well. It's this shoddy "remaster" that only deserves 2. If you haven't heard this album yet, track down a copy of the original. You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The remastered version is worse than the original!, 6 Jan 2012
By 
D. Knight - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nevermind (Audio CD)
Let me get one thing straight: Nevermind is a fantastic and incredibly influential album. However with this version, there's one major problem.

The simple fact is that the mastering on the original version of Nevermind was excellent. Howie Weinberg was tasked with making the original sound as good as he possibly could. And the result was a clear, lively, dynamic and very punchy record indeed!

Then this came along. Unfortunately, the music industry no longer cares in any way about quality - really, they don't! So for this supposedly "Remastered" version, they simply asked the mastering engineer to forget all about sound quality and just make the album sound artificially loud. And he's done that! All of the dynamics are gone, clear passages are replaced with digital distortion, the drums sound flatter and the whole sound has a flat, lifeless and fatiguing sound to it.

And there we have it. A "Remastered" version of this album which sounds 10 times worse than the original.

So, my advice is to keep hold of your superior "original" copy - A good memorial for those times when the music industry used to care about the quality of the stuff they release. Don't touch this shoddy re-release with a barge pole, the quality of it is rubbish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars JUST SAY NO!!!!!, 5 Dec 2011
By 
Terrible...just terrible..
What has happened to quality? This is a pile of garbage, loud and flat
They have already destroyed Jesus Lizards Goat with their so called superior mastering..
Keep hold to your original copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nirvana - Nevermind, 20 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Nevermind (Audio CD)
If you don't already have this album in your CD collection, I suggest that you purchase it now, because it's an absolute must-have.
It may be over a decade since the band was abruptly halted by singer and guitarist Kurt Cobain's suicide, and yet this is still one of those albums that keeps selling and keeps selling.
Thousands of teens every year get their first taste of Nirvana. More addictive than any narcotic, and there's no horrible come-down. You can just keep listening and keep listening, and the high just gets better and better.
Smells Like Teen Spirit is the band's most famous song, without a doubt. The raw guitar into, the moment where the drums cascade into action and the fuzz peddle is pushed hard to the floor...it's the soundtrack to so many great experiences.
Come As You Are is arguably one of the best songs they ever recorded. With Krist's watery bass into, and the infectious yet simple vocal arragement is truly magic.
But skip straight to number four if you want something to headbang, jump around, scream your lungs out to! Breed is the epitome of all things loud and amazing.
Then Drain You, Lounge Act and On A Plain are the best of the rest, although it broke my heart to have to choose my favourites. This whole album is astoundingly good, and you should buy it immediately, and play it as loud as your stereo will allow you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe the hype., 26 July 2009
By 
P. Anderton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nevermind (Audio CD)
I bought this album back in 2001, when rock music was still relatively new to me. When you are first beginning to build up a record collection, each and every album purchase is a significant event. The purchase of this album was a unique experience, in that its reputation as an absolute classic did create a high level of expectation.

Well I can certainly say that it did not disappoint. An album that receives so much praise is always likely to attract the usual 'overrated' remarks from people who believe that swimming against the tide gives their opinions more worth, but this should not discourage you. When I first listened to this album I knew I'd discovered something special - the most well-known track is merely a spectacular opener, but this album's strengths go far beyond a hit single.

Attempting to offer a technical explanation of how and why the songs work is a waste of time - music is a form of art, not a science. Music critics often overlook this point. All that matters is how an album makes you feel, and this is still providing me with many hours of listening pleasure all these years later. I own around 150 albums, and this album always makes my top 5 list.

Buy this album, and if you're too young to have been there in 1991, try to imagine being there when the world of music changed forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERSE CHORUS VERSE, 18 Nov 2004
This review is from: Nevermind (Audio CD)
All through time there have been bands that have influenced certain groups of people so much that they become voices of a generation. Nirvana is one of these bands. There is no point in any of you old rockers out there trying to deny it. Nirvana didn't do anything new, but what they did do was done in such a way that they made a whole generation of bored teenagers want to start a band and do it for themselves. For Nirvana, it was all about the timing. If i heard Nevermind now i would think "Yup, that is pretty heavy, but at the same time, pretty cool" but when i heard it when i was 14 years old i just thought "That is the most amazing, cool, angry, fingers up to society thing i have ever heard". It was like hearing my mums Beatles records being played with attitude, and this was something i could totally identify with at the time. The first song i ever heard was "Smells Like Teen Spirit" and i only heard the chorus first time. It blew me away so i went out and bought the single. Back in these days, buying a single or album was the most exciting thing in the world because you just couldn't wait to hear what you had just bought. I remember rushing home and putting single on. What i heard truly blew me away and i had to play it again about 10 times to take it all in. It was the verses i couldn't understand. I was supposed to be into all things angry and heavy at the time yet i totally loved the quite parts of the song as much as the heavy chorus. For me, and i'll bet for millions of other young teenagers at that time, hearing that one song was enough for me to go and buy every Nirvana record i could find, and every time having that weird sense of anticipation before you could get the record to a record player and finally hear another Nirvana masterpiece. Don't get me wrong, while all of Nevermind is truly classic and pretty much invented "Alternative" music, Nirvana did have some bad songs, and even now i am getting into bands that i might even go as far as saying i like more than Nirvana, but at the time of its release Neverming was an absolute classic, powerful, cool and life changing album. People are forgetting the fun to be had in dicovering an album like this and because its so easy to download music these days, the true experience of dicovering a band is fading very fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 19 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Nevermind (Audio CD)
Being one of the most hardcore Nirvana fans in the world, I think this album is one of the greatest and is a must have for anyone. It has many tracks including the ever popular "smells like teen spirit". I actually dont like this song very much as people only seem to remember Nirvana for it. Nirvana made much better songs some of which are on this album. An interesting fact: Nirvana HATED Smells like teen spirit. They were fed up of playing it and thought the same as I did about it. This is why they started smashing up there equiptment at the end of a concert, just so they wouldnt get an encore to play it. If you can get hold of the VHS "Nirvana - Live Tonight Sold out" it influences on this a lot and shows nirvana "playing" it on top of the tops. have fun :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a box set, but "Nevermind"., 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nirvana always struck me as the type of band to be heard either live or on vinyl. So the CDs are pretty good, but they don't come close to this.... this is ferocious. The packaging isn't what I expected (it ISN'T a box set), but it's still pretty neat.... like I said, never mind ! Treat yourself to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every song a classic, 16 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Nevermind (Audio CD)
I've no doubt that all my opinions on this album have been mentioned in previous reviews so I'll be brief.

Every song on Nirvana is a classic. The better known songs (Smells...,Come as you are, Lithium) don't overshadow the other 9(10?) at all. For this kind of sound to be generated by a 3 piece is remarkable.

At the time of release Kobain's dark lyrics and manic delivery might have seemed a bit over the top and false but unfortunately time proved that he really was pissed off with everything.

A must for any rock fans collection.

PS 10 minutes after the end of the last song on the track listing another song starts up. Sounds a bit like a jam session but worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and misleading description, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Ms. A. J. Winter (Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was really excited about this, so I managed to buy a copy, but when it arrived I felt really let down. It's not a box set at all, but a gatefold album, with two of the discs glued into the middle. Be very careful opening it, because it's not strong enough to hold the weight of the records and would very easily tear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews