Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video nasty? This could be a book nasty! Beware the lobster!
A must read for any fan of 80's horror/Slasher movies, I have read a few of CM3's books and I like the BIZARRO factor, I thought this book lacked that some what but this wasn't a bad thing, this was more of a straight up horror read, with great characters and plenty of atmosphere. It is well written story with gritty detail and some truely stomach churning moments not...
Published on 6 April 2010 by G. McDonough

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money
I thought the sexual prefferences of the characters were a bit too far fetched and the perverse side of each idiossincrasy ruined the rest of the book. The author has some very good books indeed but this one is not one of those.
Published 4 months ago by Goncalo rocha


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video nasty? This could be a book nasty! Beware the lobster!, 6 April 2010
By 
G. McDonough "Schism" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apeshit (Paperback)
A must read for any fan of 80's horror/Slasher movies, I have read a few of CM3's books and I like the BIZARRO factor, I thought this book lacked that some what but this wasn't a bad thing, this was more of a straight up horror read, with great characters and plenty of atmosphere. It is well written story with gritty detail and some truely stomach churning moments not felt since I read Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk. Once you enter the woods, you'll never leave!
Haunted
The Cannibals of Candyland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Explicit slasher-whorer, 2 Mar 2011
By 
J. Ody (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apeshit (Paperback)
Despite what the author may proclaim in the foreword of this book, Mr Mellick does like to shock. A writer that does not do this intentionally would not have a handful of characters with various strange interests, and with whom are willing participants in such depraved sexual acts. It is therefore these explicit and mind-raping details that will depend on whether or not you will enjoy this book.

As a storyline this is book is best described as a dark erotic-horror comic minus pictures. It grabs hold of slasher-movie clichés quite unapologetically and boasts ,"Bet they didn't go this far..." and of course no film would go as far as this author quite unashamedly does, for what it's worth. It is quick and tongue-in-cheek, and will leave your head spinning with the visuals described in the penultimate scene...

This is cult literature. It makes the likes of King, Koontz, Little, Nicholson, and Herbert seem like a bunch of prissy pansies and their work more likened to Blyton or Dahl. It's the mark of an author that sees the moral line and ejaculates over it whilst taking pictures of himself and self-harming. This stuff is really bad or really good, and I'm still none the wiser as to which I conclude it is. It is original and nothing like you will have ever read before, so if that is not worth the money then you can shoot me in the head and use the bullet hole as you see fit...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars read if you dare, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apeshit (Paperback)
Funny sick rude porno and depraved,oh yeah and gory,I loved it a great book,not for the squeamish,brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not recommended to normal people, 24 Feb 2014
This review is from: Apeshit (Kindle Edition)
Oh my...what a story ( am I sick that I want to see this in a film? ) not recommended to normal people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Splatter bizarre, 16 Sep 2013
This review is from: Apeshit (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book it's easy to read in one sitting and the characters are well developed I like the idea that all the characters have some dark secret in their closet which comes out in the course of the book I won't give the ending away but the twist in the tail is good at the end if your a fan of mellick you will enjoy this as the author says its his tribute to the slasher movie and it is really enjoyable I'm quite new to this author but the books I've purchased through amazon by this author I've thoroughly enjoyed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It'll make you sick (in your brain), 29 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Apeshit (Paperback)
Apesh** is a completely new predator dressed in an old wolf's fur. True, it fits into the B-movie slasher horror genre. But that's only on the surface. The promise of blood and gore and horror is real, but it won't come true nearly the way you think it will. Most slasher stories feature several teenagers ripe for the killing (and indeed there are three football players and three cheerleaders in Apesh**) and a deformed and unstoppable monster pursuing them (again, there is a monster). Usualy the psycho killer is the main character of these sorts of things, right? Usually the teenagers are just props to be torn apart and spray blood on teh wall, right?

Not so. This is where Mellick's twisted imagination turns everything on its head. The monster has little to do with this story. The teenagers are surprisingly three dimensional, each with problems and issues all their own. They are far from normal, but you feel for them because they are trapped by their situations. The monster lurking in the woods is kind of an afterthought. Now, when I say these kids have problems... well, you'll just have to read the book to realize what I'm talking about, won't you?

When I got Apesh** I thought it would be a traditional slasher story done Mellick style. I was expecting a roller coaster ride of thrills and kills with a bizarro twist. What I got was something a little different. And way better. Carlton Mellick isn't satisfied by just writing weird stuff. With a children's book on the way, Mellick's branching out, and with Apesh**, he has created something here utterly horrific and new. I hope to see more undefinable stuff in the future, because after all, that's what bizarro is all about. Read this book, it'll leave bloody chunks behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money, 16 Aug 2014
This review is from: Apeshit (Paperback)
I thought the sexual prefferences of the characters were a bit too far fetched and the perverse side of each idiossincrasy ruined the rest of the book. The author has some very good books indeed but this one is not one of those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apeshit
Apeshit by Carlton Mellick III
£5.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews